• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 8, 2018
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 5 out of 56

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 27, 2018
    8
    I had the case all solved by the end of episode 1. Done and dusted. By the middle of episode 2, I was aghast, enthralled, and very wrong. By the time we decided to go to bed it was 1:30 am, so we watched the rest the next day. Other than some episodes (mostly the latter) being a little long, this was a series I enjoyed immensely, and would recommend to anyone with an interest in crime,I had the case all solved by the end of episode 1. Done and dusted. By the middle of episode 2, I was aghast, enthralled, and very wrong. By the time we decided to go to bed it was 1:30 am, so we watched the rest the next day. Other than some episodes (mostly the latter) being a little long, this was a series I enjoyed immensely, and would recommend to anyone with an interest in crime, psychology,
    psychopathy and humans in general.
  2. Jun 12, 2018
    5
    As fascinating as it is {and it really is a fascinating story} the first two episodes were a bit of a slog at times which made me think I lacked the staying power to sit through all THIRTEEN!

    Maybe I should have stuck with it instead of Googling the full story.
  3. Jun 22, 2018
    6
    Highly engaging story, extremely bloated series. The last several episodes, at least, should have been heavily edited and condensed.
  4. Aug 9, 2018
    5
    I watched this and was enthralled by it - fantastic exciting TV and journalism. Edge of the seat stuff. HOWEVER - I then did some more research and found that the team producing this series was very selective in what they included. For example there was virtually no mention of the very significant financial issues the couple were in, or the fact that one of the french crew (Sophie Brunet,I watched this and was enthralled by it - fantastic exciting TV and journalism. Edge of the seat stuff. HOWEVER - I then did some more research and found that the team producing this series was very selective in what they included. For example there was virtually no mention of the very significant financial issues the couple were in, or the fact that one of the french crew (Sophie Brunet, the film's editor) was having a relationship with Michael for many years during the making of the program. What about the fact that Kathleen had a large life insurance policy.... These and other issues either were totally ignored or at best mentioned in passing. This is unforgivable for was is presented as impartial journalism.
  5. Jun 9, 2018
    9
    A fascinating, refreshingly candid look into the lives of the accused and those around him as they craft their legal defense and navigate its challenges.

    The filmmakers' access to the Petersons and their legal team allows them to uniquely capture the ongoing humanity of all involved. Although this touches the familiar registers of grief, what makes The Staircase most surprising and
    A fascinating, refreshingly candid look into the lives of the accused and those around him as they craft their legal defense and navigate its challenges.

    The filmmakers' access to the Petersons and their legal team allows them to uniquely capture the ongoing humanity of all involved. Although this touches the familiar registers of grief, what makes The Staircase most surprising and effective—not to mention valuable as a case study in social psychology—is how Peterson & Co confront their frustrations and predicaments with a sort of casual aplomb and even macabre humor, apparently no subject too taboo to resist being made light of.

    Most fascinating, however, is that in Peterson family loyalty, as well as the incidental friendships that form through the close relationship with legal counsel—and perhaps also due to the simple mundanity of the legal process itself—we get the impression that several of our main characters are beginning to lose sight of the disturbing facts that, deep inside, they must suspect (or in fact know) to be true.
  6. Jul 6, 2018
    2
    Sooo many episodes and not that much happening. Waiting for a story twist or something unexpected the whole time. Nothing compared to "Making a murderer".
  7. Jul 10, 2018
    10
    Riveting, absorbing and captivating from beginning to end. Do yourself a favour and go in blind. Don't read anything about it. It's very easy to binge this though I watched it over about a week as I didn't want to finish it too soon.
  8. Jun 22, 2018
    1
    I am forced to give it a low score because as much at is a interesting exercise in style, it is excessively demanding. You have to give it your full attention and it doesn't make any effort to be entertaining. It is real life in real time portrayed. If you want to know everything about this case and its trial, then it is perfect, but is far from a TV show you can recommend if you'reI am forced to give it a low score because as much at is a interesting exercise in style, it is excessively demanding. You have to give it your full attention and it doesn't make any effort to be entertaining. It is real life in real time portrayed. If you want to know everything about this case and its trial, then it is perfect, but is far from a TV show you can recommend if you're looking for any sort of ENTERTAINMENT.
  9. Jul 5, 2018
    10
    I remember the case, but I'd never heard of this before the last 3 episodes were on Netflix. It was fascinating throughout. Mike Peterson wasn't exactly likeable, but his family certainly made up for that. There is a lot of complexity to the family life and legal staff that make this very interesting to watch. Truly a case study in how the news media can totally miss the point and showI remember the case, but I'd never heard of this before the last 3 episodes were on Netflix. It was fascinating throughout. Mike Peterson wasn't exactly likeable, but his family certainly made up for that. There is a lot of complexity to the family life and legal staff that make this very interesting to watch. Truly a case study in how the news media can totally miss the point and show their true colors in forcing opinions on others for ratings.
  10. Sep 2, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Riveting! I watched all episodes in 2 days. I realize that any doc is going to be biasedly edited depending on the production team and their views but even if the whole story may not have been presented, the facts that were presented to the viewers were enough to make you really think about how perverted the criminal justice system can be and how often our rights as US citizens are not upheld. Regardless of what really happened, the show puts a spotlight on how our right to be innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt is not something that we can take for granted as cititzens of this country 100% of the time.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Like a good novel, The Staircase never seems to bore. It does, however, give viewers pause when it comes to the justice system.
  2. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Jun 11, 2018
    80
    In a way, The Staircase is like a true-crime version of the Up series, albeit on a much more modest scale. It is compelling, but like many entries in this genre, not exactly an objective work of journalism.
  3. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Jun 10, 2018
    80
    It’s a gorgeous ending, complete with a post-credits coda.

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 79 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254

Warning: tempnam(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/tmp) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html:/home/admin/tmp) in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 251

Warning: file_put_contents(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254