• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 28, 2018
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 5 out of 24

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 7, 2018
    9
    Possibly the best political comedy show since the departure of Jon Stewart. Where these shows tend to fall into traps of smugness, anger or condescension, Minhaj manages to ooze empathy and warmth, while still hitting the hard points.
    The format isn't miles away from Last Week Tonight, focusing on a single topic. Hasan has less production value than his HBO counterpart, with little
    Possibly the best political comedy show since the departure of Jon Stewart. Where these shows tend to fall into traps of smugness, anger or condescension, Minhaj manages to ooze empathy and warmth, while still hitting the hard points.
    The format isn't miles away from Last Week Tonight, focusing on a single topic. Hasan has less production value than his HBO counterpart, with little graphics and no desk, so the show has the air of a stand-up routine. Love it. Excited to see more.
  2. Oct 31, 2018
    9
    Very nice show. Appealing and covering topics more in depth. Hasan makes sure the topic is brought up in a very understandable way
  3. DBE
    Nov 3, 2018
    9
    I stumbled upon this while surfing Netflix. Some of the criticisms is it’s another political commentary, but actually I found it refreshing and an interesting perspective from a brown Indian/Muslim. I like the style, the pics, news clips and self reflection from his Muslim/Indian point of view. It is not overly over the top, but right down to the details of the situation. Loved the bootyI stumbled upon this while surfing Netflix. Some of the criticisms is it’s another political commentary, but actually I found it refreshing and an interesting perspective from a brown Indian/Muslim. I like the style, the pics, news clips and self reflection from his Muslim/Indian point of view. It is not overly over the top, but right down to the details of the situation. Loved the booty wipe skit!
  4. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I got to see the live taping and the audience loved it! He had really good stage presence and kept us engaged the whole time. I think he has a cool perspective and style of delivery that resonates well with young people. I just hope the field isn't too crowded already and he can stand out. Not focusing daily headlines and Trump tweets definitely helps!
  5. Nov 8, 2018
    1
    Aside of some interesting insights, Hasan Minhaj is a racist Indian/Asian with superiority complex spewing hate about white people.
  6. Oct 28, 2018
    1
    Yet another actor to throw a hat into the already overcrowded political talk show arena. No depth to the show or any ounce of political insight gleamed here. Just awful and not funny to anyone other than his family or friends.
  7. Nov 4, 2018
    10
    The show is funny, informative and engaging. Looking forward to the next episodes.
  8. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    I'm sure I'm biased, but as a brown Muslim man I find this show to be the most relatable talk show on TV. (I also did go to his stand-up show.) I understand how someone who is not brown and/or Muslim would be less able to relate to it though. I look forward to this show every week.
  9. Dec 13, 2018
    7
    To fully get what's going on with the show, check Tablet magazine's new article on the women's movement, and Bill Binney's youtube videos on Russiagate- adds to the comedy.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Oct 30, 2018
    80
    In the second episode, he refers to his show jokingly as “a woke TED Talk” and that gets it pretty right, except this woke TED Talk is not only informative and incisive, but funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Danette Chavez
    Oct 29, 2018
    83
    Patriot Act, an appealing comedy-talk show hybrid from longtime collaborators Hasan Minhaj and Prashanth Venkataramanujam, isn’t going to singlehandedly swing things Netflix’s way, but it is the streamer’s best offering yet in the genre. ... The result is an engrossing mix of deep dives, personal asides, and current events, all delivered with Minhaj’s winning aplomb.
  3. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Oct 29, 2018
    80
    The result is bracing, funny, informative, and occasionally, like Last Week Tonight, a little dry. But it’s homework that you wanna do, even if you never forget that it’s ultimately an assignment. I don’t consider that description a knock on the show.

Warning: tempnam(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/tmp) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html:/home/admin/tmp) in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 251

Warning: file_put_contents(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254