• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 14, 2018
User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 107
  2. Negative: 78 out of 107

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    it's not even a TV show, just a mess tries to use glory of the original to make money, bad casting, using dirty drama to promo,...
    please show some respect to The Original Charmed and cancel this show
  2. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    The new Charmed is a mess. Bad casting. Very poor writing... just horrible. Full of political innuendos.
    Not even watchable!
  3. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    why can no one come up with an original idea? the original charmed aint that old. if you are going to reboot something, don't make it so obvious about the financial motive behind it --- let's remake a tv show that did very well, BUT NOW, we'll get the latino audience and pick up revenue from marketers that are dying to tap this audience. it's a shame and a crime.
  4. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    As a fan of the original series, I tried to enjoy this. Let's put it this way, I would be surprised if it lasts the whole season.
  5. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    I was a fan of the original series as a kid, and I really looked forward to a reboot to capture the *ahem* charm of the original. Unfortunately, this paint-by-numbers SJW snooze-fest is a waste of time. Except perhaps as a cure for insomnia.
  6. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    Pretentious agenda, horrible acting and cheap effect.
    Cancel, just cancel this terrible disgrace to the original show
  7. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    Charmed? More like SJWed. Can we make a white version of The Cosby Show?! Of course not, that would be ridiculous. Get it?
  8. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    I am sorry. I feel when a show was good before why go and screw it up. There were multiple political innuendos that were not even funny. I feel for a strong independent group of women in the original more then i do in the new one. The acting absolutely sucked, the show was boring, special effects felt like a rip off from titans and game of thrones. Frankly i expected a whole lot more.
  9. Oct 17, 2018
    0
    Oh my, where to start ugh is that appropriate lol. I won't compare it to the original Charmed but will say it's not even close to being as good as The Secret Circle. Which had far better actors, storyline and CGI. The first episode is a mess bad dialogue, bad CGI and actors who have no chemistry don't look like sisters and push the man hate, consent and ditzy sorority girl to new levels.Oh my, where to start ugh is that appropriate lol. I won't compare it to the original Charmed but will say it's not even close to being as good as The Secret Circle. Which had far better actors, storyline and CGI. The first episode is a mess bad dialogue, bad CGI and actors who have no chemistry don't look like sisters and push the man hate, consent and ditzy sorority girl to new levels.

    I mean come on really let's throw some baking soda on a demon. Mel is a lesbian fantastic but has zero chemistry with her girlfriend and she's angry and violent to the extent that she hits a man in the face. Not because he's an evil demon but because he has a different opinion. How is man-hating and being violent to a man feminist or empowering? Maggie comes off as an airhead whose only concern is getting into a sorority. Every single character talks about consent. Maggie's boyfriend has to ask permission to kiss her but she doesn't ask him and he's nearly unconscious and doesn't know where he is.

    Let's move onThe possessing demon made no sense and the main demon who put a girl in a coma (using drugs) after sexually assaulting her came straight from Game of Thrones. The death of a mother (Secret Circle) their house (Witches of Eastend) Book of Shadows (Beautiful Creatures) Charmed Poster (Demimonde) Harry's Powers (Harry Potter/Iron Man) Cold Demon (White Walker Game of Thrones).

    For a show that has promoted itself as being fresh and original, it has certainly pulled from a lot of other sources. Treating a man who is hurt, confused and had done nothing wrong like crap is not empowering. Casting an African American and African Carribean woman as being Latino is simply ratings baiting. There are many Latina woman who would have loved those parts. Casting a non-lesbian Latina to play a lesbian Latina is another miscast.
  10. Oct 16, 2018
    0
    Is it a bad joke or is it really happening ?
    Charmed version 2018 is worse than a mediocre fan fiction made by a 12 year old. Actually, I don't know what's the worst. Is it the scenario ? The acting ? Or maybe the special effects worthy of a "good" 2000s dud. And what about the A-list actors ? Well, I think it's safe to say they have as much charisma as an oyster. Oh and yes, for those
    Is it a bad joke or is it really happening ?
    Charmed version 2018 is worse than a mediocre fan fiction made by a 12 year old. Actually, I don't know what's the worst. Is it the scenario ? The acting ? Or maybe the special effects worthy of a "good" 2000s dud. And what about the A-list actors ? Well, I think it's safe to say they have as much charisma as an oyster. Oh and yes, for those who were still wondering, the editing is awful.
  11. Oct 17, 2018
    1
    I watched the premiere twice and hated it both times. The girls don't look like sisters, the story is not well written. The original Charmed was perfect and had better actresses for one. I'm sorry...baking soda to get rid of a demon??? Absolutely stupid. This show was picked up when a better one "Wayward Sisters" was also available. That show has better actresses and more acceptedI watched the premiere twice and hated it both times. The girls don't look like sisters, the story is not well written. The original Charmed was perfect and had better actresses for one. I'm sorry...baking soda to get rid of a demon??? Absolutely stupid. This show was picked up when a better one "Wayward Sisters" was also available. That show has better actresses and more accepted demon fighting tools just like the old Charmed did. This reboot of Charmed is awful.
  12. Oct 17, 2018
    0
    Это полная херня...просто солянка "анти"клише , нелеповплетеные силы ведьм, а сверху бантик в виде запомнившегося всем сериала "Зачарованые"
  13. Oct 19, 2018
    3
    First, let's start with the fact that there is no chemistry between the characters/actress, what made the original Charmed series so cool was that we could see the connection (the vibe) between the 3 main chars, the passed the feeling that they where, indeed, sisters with all the affection, fights, arguments that comes with it.
    ---
    Second, it was awesome to start discovering more of that
    First, let's start with the fact that there is no chemistry between the characters/actress, what made the original Charmed series so cool was that we could see the connection (the vibe) between the 3 main chars, the passed the feeling that they where, indeed, sisters with all the affection, fights, arguments that comes with it.
    ---
    Second, it was awesome to start discovering more of that universe, the history behind them, their family, heritage, the demons they discovered and confronted... bit by bit, every week there was something new, a new mystery, suspense, fear, that was snark, fun, but also fear and dread in each episode....
    ---
    The new series, in just one episode, just destroyed all sense of wonder, mystery/suspense we could expect to have...
    ---
    Third, Where is the storytelling??? Where is the originality??? Seems like they where reciting cake recipes...
    ---
    The dialogue was all over the place, with hardly any dept, just trowing catchphrases all over the place and the characters (oh those pesky beings designed to make you want to watch the series/movies) had the emotional range of teaspoons, they hardly seemed affected by everything happening and took everything in stride....
    ---
    I watched the 1st episode with a sense of sadness but, it is good to know already and leave it behind. I will just go back to watching the original Charmed series (s01, s02 and s03).
  14. Nov 1, 2018
    0
    Horrible show. Trying way too hard. Also very rude to the original and the originals cast that is not right. The creator blocked me on twitter because of my opinions. Stay away. This one is "dark magic."
  15. Oct 22, 2018
    0
    It's horrible! Charmed 90's - not replace! This remake is terrible! I hope this show ends quickly and will not continue any further!
  16. Oct 22, 2018
    0
    Mass Effect Andromeda in the world of TV shows.
    It just looks like a mockery of the original Charmed.Plot?Play of actors?
    What for?But we are super tolerant!
  17. Oct 22, 2018
    0
    the effects were ok ,but rest is kinda bad from acting to story arc ,nothing new just a wrong reboot of an classic Telly serie that was ok ,sadly
  18. Oct 29, 2018
    0
    It is very painful to watch. What makes a reboot or a revival successful is that it holds nostalgic elements and incorporates the original cast into its story; whether it's a "passing of the torch" moment or still are active in the plotline. But this reboot only spits on what was once fun, progressive, and inspirational.
  19. Nov 3, 2018
    0
    What utter trash. The actresses are awful at acting (go figure). They don't come off as genuine or relatable... or even likeable. The plots are basically making fun of important equality issues as far as sexuality and women's rights. They even copied exact lines from the original series and position the actresses in the same bodily positions as the original actresses in their scenes. It'sWhat utter trash. The actresses are awful at acting (go figure). They don't come off as genuine or relatable... or even likeable. The plots are basically making fun of important equality issues as far as sexuality and women's rights. They even copied exact lines from the original series and position the actresses in the same bodily positions as the original actresses in their scenes. It's a mockery of these issues, and everything in this series has rung disingenuous. It's very superficial, and obviously JUST a cash grab. There's NO artistic integrity in this show and they play off of peoples' ignorance to rake in the dough. If anyone is reading this, please at least CONSIDER what I've written and don't just look on the surface of this show- that's what they want (why they are so LOUD in their announcing what they are & stand for). Look at what's BEHIND the show. It is MUCH uglier than they would have you believe.
  20. Nov 3, 2018
    0
    Awful. Dismal. Uncreative cash grab, trying to erase the original and FAILING.
  21. Nov 11, 2018
    0
    Possibly one of the most offensive TV shows I've seen to date. Blatantly sexist. Promotes stereotypes of the LGBT community, and is racially offensive by continuing to show that Hollywood sees all people of colour as interchangeable. Poorly written, poorly performed, poorly filmed. No structure, bad story setup with inconsistent plot points. Takes most of its creative ideas from otherPossibly one of the most offensive TV shows I've seen to date. Blatantly sexist. Promotes stereotypes of the LGBT community, and is racially offensive by continuing to show that Hollywood sees all people of colour as interchangeable. Poorly written, poorly performed, poorly filmed. No structure, bad story setup with inconsistent plot points. Takes most of its creative ideas from other television shows and films leaving it with very little of anything original. Incapable of landing a single joke, and relies far too heavily on shoving a political (and irrelevant) agenda down the viewer's throats. Worst of all there is no chemistry to be found in the lead characters. Absolutely abysmal.
  22. Nov 12, 2018
    0
    I loved the original show, I watched the original Charmed from the pilot to the last episode. But this reboot, had me shaking at the fact that this Charmed(Doesn't deserve the name)is full of political bias. If I wanted to watch politics and feminist ideology, I would watch the news and YouTube. When I watch a TV show I want to be entertained, not lectured at. CANCEL THIS TRAVISTY OF A SHOW.
  23. Oct 16, 2018
    0
    Completely offensive to the senses for its blatant racism, sexism and cultural appropriation.

    The original show was alright but this copy cat seems powerless to avoid being a perfect example of everything it is trying way too hard to fight against with its propagandized message.
  24. Oct 16, 2018
    2
    Was nice to see Charmed getting revamped, of course the new characters have nothing on the original, no wonder everyone wants them back. But they are trying, but failed. Sorry but this Charmed lacks charm...
  25. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    như lòn ấy hehe =))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
  26. Oct 16, 2018
    3
    Only the graphic is good, everything else sucked. I repeat because my review must be at least 75 characters long. Everything else sucked.
  27. Oct 21, 2018
    1
    Loved the old shows. I just binge watched the whole series in fact to warm up for this. I wanted to like it, but there was just too much PC junk rammed down my throat. My wife thought it was ok, but unless it gets way better I won't be able to watch it. Collapse
  28. Oct 29, 2018
    0
    This reboot is such a waste!
    The story is abysmal, even if the actors were trying their best, the show would be a total wreck. And they are not even trying ...
  29. Oct 16, 2018
    0
    When Constance Burge created Charmed it was a fun adventure with three (and eventually a fourth) sisters. There were great stories and an emotional family bond that resonated in the stories. Today we are presented with a "reboot" (in name only) that is more "in your face" with "Social Justice," extreme feminism, "Metoo" themes, being "woke," hysterical men, lesbianism, and ethnic diversityWhen Constance Burge created Charmed it was a fun adventure with three (and eventually a fourth) sisters. There were great stories and an emotional family bond that resonated in the stories. Today we are presented with a "reboot" (in name only) that is more "in your face" with "Social Justice," extreme feminism, "Metoo" themes, being "woke," hysterical men, lesbianism, and ethnic diversity than any show previously.

    It is as if every mantra of the current man-hating Misandrist movement is encapsulated in this program. It is so over the top that the enjoyment of just being entertained is completely sucked out of the show. These ethnically "diverse" kids are not Charmed. They ARE the demonstration of feminism, Social Justice Warriors and the present day of political correctness and the #(pound) Metoo movement. They are "woke" as one character proclaims which is defined as "a political term of African American origin that refers to a perceived awareness of issues concerning social justice and racial justice."

    If anything, this show is a further example of Hollywood demonizing white men. As far as being "Charmed" this show is ANYTHING but that. The Halliwell Sisters were and always will be "The Charmed Ones." They had a bond of sisterhood that showed and the program was not driving a political agenda like a freight train through a script. Hollywood can create a witch-themed show but call it what it is and not on the fake premise it is anything closely related to Charmed.
  30. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    A poor attempt to revamp a franchise that didn’t need revamping. Create something original.
  31. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    this just isnt charmed! the family relationship just seems forced and the the writing just lacks in every way.
    the original charmed was awesome and this just feels like a cheap dirty way to get money.
    Remakes of great things are generally worse and this just shows why
  32. Oct 29, 2018
    0
    I HAD SUCH HIGH HOPES! A.) Why is every show being rebooted/remade, and B.) Why is every show that is rebooted/remade SO AWFUL... And ...This is just... well ... awful... what a disgusting waste of my time this was... So much so that I created a profile to post a review so other people don't waste what precious time they have, watching this garbage. Lets not even compare it to the originalI HAD SUCH HIGH HOPES! A.) Why is every show being rebooted/remade, and B.) Why is every show that is rebooted/remade SO AWFUL... And ...This is just... well ... awful... what a disgusting waste of my time this was... So much so that I created a profile to post a review so other people don't waste what precious time they have, watching this garbage. Lets not even compare it to the original okay. This is just awful in and of itself. Bad acting. Bad plots. Bad writing. Horribly predictable drivel. I literally predicted everything would happen as it happened as I watched both episodes 1 and 2. Pandering is all this show does, and badly. The show, in an attempt to relate to young people, added text bubbles as a primary feature to the show, with all the annoying text sounds you know and hate, that every respectable person has disabled. They even killed a demon with a cellphone selfie as a rip off of the mirror killing a demon in the original Charmed. AND The blatant feminist extremism in episode 1 made me want to vomit.

    There was a point where THIS was said by one of the witches "LET HIM TELL PEOPLE, NO ONE WILL BELIEVE ANOTHER HYSTERICAL MAN"... "TRUE, IT'S A HE SAID, SHE SAID SITUATION" Chimes in another sister. "3 she's in fact" chimes in the third. "DON'T MESS WITH US, CAM. Go home and change your kaki's"... THEN to top it off, the screen cuts to the three sisters walking out of the college to the backdrop of a protest with signs that say AND I QUOTE... "MEN ARE BORN GUILTY", "END SEXUAL HARRASSMENT", "NO means NO!", the girls walking arm in arm smiling smugly. What the heck does this teach young girls? It teaches them that they can say anything they want, and they'll be believed, because men are always assumed guilty when accused by a woman. WOW. JUST ... WOW...
  33. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    Weak, unimpressive, boring and nobody is surprised. Rebooting something which was good already never works. Cut the crap, cut the politics, cut the new age feminism, and bring back our actual Charmed ones and the writers.
  34. Oct 30, 2018
    0
    If you compare this show to the original its just a joke. i remember watching the old charmed series when i was younger and absolutely loving it, that made me so hyped up when i heard they were remaking the show. watching the first 10 minutes of the first episode I was so damn disappointed a pilot episode should give us a taste of what the show should look like i honestly regret watchingIf you compare this show to the original its just a joke. i remember watching the old charmed series when i was younger and absolutely loving it, that made me so hyped up when i heard they were remaking the show. watching the first 10 minutes of the first episode I was so damn disappointed a pilot episode should give us a taste of what the show should look like i honestly regret watching the rest of the episode. I don't really hate feminism the name is just a joke (in my name), i loved the way the old charmed series showed the 3 witches as strong women who could handle anything coming their way but the way this show tries to send its message is just terrible subtle is the way to go. It was so bad i had to write a review just so i could spare someone the waste of time watching this horribly written political nonsense.
  35. Oct 16, 2018
    0
    No, noooooo, no NOOOOO...... Ugh, a new charmed could have been amazing, but this show is not worth your time, do not watch it! X_X I would rather watch inhumans
  36. Oct 19, 2018
    5
    I am a huge fan of the original. I love how the show always represented strong women. I was excited to watch the new version of the Charmed ones. However the reboot is pushing a political agenda that is not needed. I just want to enjoy a show without biases. I hope future episodes are not so political.
  37. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Decent enough, I enjoyed the modern twist of engaging in current issues. I think all the 0 scores are more about them being black then whether or not the show is decent. I love the original charmed, its not perfect however I will overscore to counteract the " they wouldn't remake the Cosby show with white people" scores
  38. Oct 14, 2018
    9
    Was it as good as the original, no. But it is not the horrible pile of garbage that countless people will undoubtedly try to make it out to be. My advice don’t go into it trying to compare it to the original and you might actually enjoy it.
  39. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    I absolutely LOVED the pilot to the new Charmed. i understand that a lot of people have a problem with the ethnicity of the cast and are writing bogus critiques because of this White Fragility. But the reality is that this show captured my interest from the first moments and kept it with cliffhangers from then on to the very end with the final twists. I am certain the actresses will honeI absolutely LOVED the pilot to the new Charmed. i understand that a lot of people have a problem with the ethnicity of the cast and are writing bogus critiques because of this White Fragility. But the reality is that this show captured my interest from the first moments and kept it with cliffhangers from then on to the very end with the final twists. I am certain the actresses will hone their craft as the series continues. They are all certainly quite lovely and energetic. I look forward to seeing the show each week I would give it 100%
  40. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Best show I ever watched. The demon battle scene was amazing. I liked Mel's freezing power it was so cool watching her freeze time. I hope this show gets 10 seasons. It's so much better than the original show. please give it a chance.
  41. Oct 15, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I feel the reboot is awesome but they need to try to bring the original vibes back
  42. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    I want to live in that Victorian house! I love the sisters. I guess there is no way to do a step sister twist should one of them not work out, lol. The special effects are wonderful. Looks like it will be M cubed fun. Comparing what is the same and what is different is part of the fun.
  43. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    FANTASTIC reboot!!! I even bought the season pass on iTunes. It's standing on it's own and doing a great job! Great sunday ratings as well! The pilot seemed a little fast but that's fine we got 18 episodes this season.
  44. Oct 15, 2018
    10
    I am so here for this reboot. I am a die hard Charmed fan, and I thoroughly enjoyed the pilot. I look forward to more. I really enjoyed the way the signs of the apocalypse were worded LOL.
  45. Oct 15, 2018
    7
    Seems like lots of dudes are crying over #MeToo and voting with their emotions. It's a cute show like the original, about sisterhood. There's a good story arch to solve the mystery of a murder. It seems campy on purpose, and scarier than the original but not too scary. All art is political and I like seeing ppl like me represented. I'm excited for the next episode.
  46. Dec 3, 2018
    0
    In our current date and time it seems like the LGBT and the sjw are all that matters in the damn shows, they take a previous show that was a success and they butcher it. Not only they make fun of so many things that are controversial but they also try to push those ideologies on every user. This show is an insult to the original show and its creators. Shame on you all.
  47. Nov 26, 2018
    9
    I loved that original series and this is just as amazing. The visuals are spectacular. The writing is great. The cast give stupendous performances especially Sarah Jeffrey, Madeleine Mantock, and Melonie Diaz.
  48. Nov 12, 2018
    1
    This reboot is trying too hard. The pilot was just god awful. I lost count how many times I rolled my eyes, the writing is poor and so is the acting, the only decent actor on the show is the white lighter. Not sure what the critics are smoking to give this a decent score, but I wouldn't mind some. Oh and ps...way to go pi**ing off your ready established fan base.
  49. Nov 28, 2018
    2
    (PC)harmed?

    I liked the original version so I decided to tune into the remake to see what was new. While it does have the same overlay of witches, demons , etc, the underlying plot structure is jarringly stupid and no less culturally intolerant that Amos and Andy. In the show, white people are Demons, socially inept, mentally vacant and generally dirt of the earth while those not white
    (PC)harmed?

    I liked the original version so I decided to tune into the remake to see what was new. While it does have the same overlay of witches, demons , etc, the underlying plot structure is jarringly stupid and no less culturally intolerant that Amos and Andy. In the show, white people are Demons, socially inept, mentally vacant and generally dirt of the earth while those not white can do no wrong. There is no such thing as 'Rape Culture' and 'Safe Space' and all I can see in that regard is more of the same coming down the pipe. Socially relevant is one thing but this show is as reverse racist as it can be.
  50. Dec 4, 2018
    7
    I loved and watched the original, and while this is not that, I still really like it! Sometimes it is a bit cheesy with the demons, but I love the humor and Harry. He is funny/charming. I DVR it and look forward to watching every week. I am glad to see Sarah Jeffrey after my fave Shades of Blue cancelled. I think she is a good actress, probably the best of the three girls. Please renewI loved and watched the original, and while this is not that, I still really like it! Sometimes it is a bit cheesy with the demons, but I love the humor and Harry. He is funny/charming. I DVR it and look forward to watching every week. I am glad to see Sarah Jeffrey after my fave Shades of Blue cancelled. I think she is a good actress, probably the best of the three girls. Please renew it! I think it is funnier than the original and would be disappointed to see it end too soon.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 26, 2018
    50
    Despite the timeliness of this dialogue, Charmed plays like a throwback to the schlocky original, which aired in the 1990s and to which it is surprisingly faithful in spirit. ... Charmed is more supernatural procedural than serial drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 16, 2018
    30
    The deluge of empowerment is relentless, repetitive, and boring. The supernatural elements of the plot seem borrowed from old episodes of Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The special effects are super-cheesy, not much better than an old episode of Bewitched.
  3. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Oct 15, 2018
    40
    The first episode of the new “Charmed” is clunkier than Rose McGowan’s late-‘90s shoe game. That said, a pilot’s job is to clearly let viewers know what the series is going to be about.

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 273536 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254