• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Sep 5, 2018
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 66
  2. Negative: 9 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2018
    9
    Yves Tumor has completeley outdone himself on this record. It's experimental music that is actually incredibly easy to listen to and accessible, hitting hard and being memorable. There are so many beautiful instrumental and vocal moments on this album, especially on the first half of it. The whole album balances this intent to almost a post industrial sound while also appreciating theYves Tumor has completeley outdone himself on this record. It's experimental music that is actually incredibly easy to listen to and accessible, hitting hard and being memorable. There are so many beautiful instrumental and vocal moments on this album, especially on the first half of it. The whole album balances this intent to almost a post industrial sound while also appreciating the beauty in singer songwriter music and dream pop so well. This is one of the best albums of the year, and I predict it'll be a future classic, and looked upon as one of the most cutting edge albums of the 21st century.
    Rating: 9.5/10
  2. Sep 10, 2018
    10
    I won't soak my words in hyperbole but I listened to this and found it to be enjoyable, hence the positive experience. I also can't think of anything that detracts from it as an experience either, hence the 10.
  3. Sep 12, 2018
    10
    Unlike SOPHIE or Arca who push the limits of pop sonically and aesthetically, Yves Tumor with Safe In The Hands of Love goes back to his influences, filter and enrich them with pure ideas and emotional depth and delivers a masterpiece. An incredible blend of melodies, noise and rhythms that would just be unfair to call it experimental. Its just singer-songwriting of the future.
  4. Oct 1, 2018
    7
    This is perfectly fine, but a little hyped. I'm not sure people remember what a masterpiece can sound like sometimes. When i heard this album described i thought it would be some kind of mind bending, sci fi weirdness psych. Its just some slickly produced pop music with some slight fringe production.
  5. Sep 11, 2018
    10
    Yooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo this album goood af boiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 25, 2018
    90
    What pushes Safe in the Hands of Love beyond the producer's previous works is the emotion that the record transmits. No matter if the synths are harsh, or the rhythm section arrives with the perfect groove, this is a work filled with an emotive purpose, and it is that core that makes it such a wonderful listen.
  2. The Wire
    Sep 21, 2018
    80
    Sometimes the sensuousness of Serpent Music is missed, but Tumor’s drive to take this radically new music to audiences as big as Blake’s, Ocean’s or even Radiohead’s is exhilarating. [Oct 2018, p.63]
  3. Sep 17, 2018
    90
    Bowie’s only consistent trajectory has been one of tearing down his mythos even as his builds it, and his latest manages to knock down yet another wall as he steps more fully into the light than he’s ever dared tread before. On Safe in the Hands of Love, Yves Tumor isn’t concerned with being “experimental;” he’s simply concerned with being.

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 111858 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254