Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 16, 2018
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
6
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LamontRaymondNov 16, 2018
I had been looking forward to this one for months. It's a VERY good movie, just not something revelatory like I hoped it might be. Every actress in the film is right on the money (and special shout-out to Jackie Weaver for an incredible jobI had been looking forward to this one for months. It's a VERY good movie, just not something revelatory like I hoped it might be. Every actress in the film is right on the money (and special shout-out to Jackie Weaver for an incredible job in a very small part). Where it falls just slightly short is in the pacing - about half way through, I thought this was going to be a set-up for a 10-hour TV season. But as a film, it needed to kick in to gear more quickly. It establishes for about 60% and then truly gets moving in the last 20%. But I would certainly recommend this to anyone. It absolutely deserves its Must-See status.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
foxgroveNov 16, 2018
'Let's Go' exclaims Viola Davis around the 2 hour mark of what has up to this point proved to be a tedious and unexciting venture purportedly based on the British 80's tv series. One suspects that she should have made this remark to director'Let's Go' exclaims Viola Davis around the 2 hour mark of what has up to this point proved to be a tedious and unexciting venture purportedly based on the British 80's tv series. One suspects that she should have made this remark to director Steve McQueen a lot earlier. The subsequent 20 minutes do nothing to redress the balance and the film ends up a long and pretentious dud demonstrating no 'GO' whatsoever.
The cast do their best with Davis demonstrating one pained expression after another and Elizabeth Debicki providing eye catching support. However, it is Robert Duvall who really brings his few scenes to life as the retiring politician disenchanted with the political path being taken by his son (Colin Farrell). McQueen seems to be better at handling more complex/important issues in films like '12 Years a Slave' and 'Shame'. His direction here is as slow as a tethered tortoise lacking any urgency or pace that the genre requires. The routine screenplay doesn't help and the movie ends up feeling messily truncated in many scenes, although at nearly 2 and a quarter hours tighter editing would have been a welcome relief.
The final heist is an almost insignificant let down and the film on the whole is a major disappointment. Also what is it about Daniel Kaluuya that has critics reaching for superlatives? His appeal definitely eludes me! The best thing about this misconceived enterprise is the end titles song by Sade called 'The Big Unknown'. On this evidence the film deserves to remain just that!
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
AlrisaNov 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Greatest film of the year. not only that. but it is also one of the Greatest film of all time ever made. All cast as Awesome especially Viola Davis and Daniel Kaluuya are extraordinary. Another Masterpiece from Steve Mcqueen after 12 years of slave. You always Make a Great film Mr. Steve
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
ProteusNov 18, 2018
Why is it critics cannot spot a bad movie? Because they overvalue writing, they overvalue character development and they overvalue leftist political ideology. Jerky non sequitur scene choices and pacing for a full hour to start the movie?Why is it critics cannot spot a bad movie? Because they overvalue writing, they overvalue character development and they overvalue leftist political ideology. Jerky non sequitur scene choices and pacing for a full hour to start the movie? Very bad first half of this movie folks there is no way around it. The second half is better, ....could have been a good heist movie and character study. Instead it falls flat in too many places. Watch this under perform at the box office. Luckily audiences can spot a loser if critics cannot.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticNov 17, 2018
Widows is a fabulous heist movie with terrific performances. Steve McQueen directs this film with great detail and while there were a couple of moments that had me puzzled but overall there is a lot to appreciate here. Overall a middle 8 an A-.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Nov 16, 2018
This was a solid film that had a little bit of everything to offer! A daring heist, criminals and gangsters, corrupt politicians, but most of all: four bold women willing to risk everything, all in the name of justice for themselves and theirThis was a solid film that had a little bit of everything to offer! A daring heist, criminals and gangsters, corrupt politicians, but most of all: four bold women willing to risk everything, all in the name of justice for themselves and their late husbands who were killed in a heist gone wrong. The film boasts and A-list all-star cast, and every one of them give such great performances that I can't really single anybody out for praise. However, I will say that it was really nice to see the four main women this film centered on given a great opportunity to shine in such a bold and gritty narrative that's almost always reserved for men. Themes of empowerment towards them definitely run heavy throughout the film, but the material and story they're given to work with definitely lives up to its potential and blends very well with said themes. The biggest issue with ensemble films however is that sometimes when there's so many characters and story arcs, it's hard to give equal balance to all of them and they aren't quite fully resolved or given the full closure that they deserve. Such is the case with the final act of this film, which felt a little rushed in many regards, but the rest of the film was definitely compelling with a solid story to tell and a very talented cast to help tell it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Rebecca31Nov 17, 2018
Set in Chicago, four women are left with the debt left behind by their dead husband’s crimes. Rather than sit back and take it Veronica (Viola Davis), Alice (Elizabeth Debicki), Linda (Michelle Rodriguez) and Belle (Cynthia Erivo) takeSet in Chicago, four women are left with the debt left behind by their dead husband’s crimes. Rather than sit back and take it Veronica (Viola Davis), Alice (Elizabeth Debicki), Linda (Michelle Rodriguez) and Belle (Cynthia Erivo) take matters into their own hands.

Story by Gillian Flynn and directed by Steve McQueen. A thriller with brilliant performances that will have you on the edge of your seat. An original and slightly different take on a heist film. And lets face it the heist genre has been done again and again so it’s refreshing to see one that isn’t just a rehash of Oceans 11. The chemistry between the women is what made this for me, along with the character development. Throw in a slimy politician in the form of Colin Farrell and the generic movie psychopath in the form of Daniel Kaluuya and you’ve got yourself a must see crime thriller. It reels you in with it’s sharp script and realistic characters you don’t sit there questioning the logistics of the plan or the heist you’re fully invested. My only criticism is Liam Neeson, he’s completely miscast and clearly just put in the film to get more people to see it. You’re not going to see this for Liam Neeson, everyone else fit into their parts yet he just stood out the whole time for me. Don’t let that put you off, Widows is worth your time. Dark, gritty and highly recommended.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
capt_morganNov 18, 2018
So what is this? Women trying to be as bad criminals as their husbands? is this a story of empowerment? why is debt left behind by their dead husband’s crimes the motivator here?
Nothing but bad fiction story, do not file under drama.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesNov 16, 2018
The cast is great (Kaluuya really shines) and half of the script has the same popping dialogue as Flynn’s “Gone Girl”. Unfortunately, McQueen gets a little pretentious and/or silly with his half of the screenplay, as well as his direction,The cast is great (Kaluuya really shines) and half of the script has the same popping dialogue as Flynn’s “Gone Girl”. Unfortunately, McQueen gets a little pretentious and/or silly with his half of the screenplay, as well as his direction, creating a film that drags before it picks up.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
zlatanmazuidiNov 18, 2018
another triggered right-winger group which wants to destroy critics as it already was in get out and black panther- this movie is an instant classic - not like oceans' 8 which can be thrown in the "poubelle"
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
thedaywalkerNov 18, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Widows did not disappoint, and instead was even better than I expected.

Widows starts already banging, letting you know it's serious from the first minute. Viola Davis, Michelle Rodriguez and Elizabeth Debicki are amazing as the leading roles, it's probably the best I've seen Michelle Rodriguez act... ever.

But this doesn't feel like the typical heist movie, it does a lot of character work. The editing is great, in no instance this movie feels dragged out, the scene where the heist is taking place, they put some masks on, and you can hear their heavy breathing, you can feel how nervous they are.

There's a scene where Collin Farell gets in a car, but instead of filming the inside of the car, the camera is on the hood of the car, and you just listen to Collin Farell argue with his assistant, I thought it was great, Steve McQueen does a great work directing this

Daniel Kaluuya is terrifying in this movie. Every time he's on screen, you sense something is going down, the way he taunts the people he's going to kill or hurt, is terrifying... just brilliant.

The politics in this movie, at times, felt distracting of the real deal going on, but it was quite necessary. Some scenes felt awkward and like they could have been cut out, like Michelle Rodriguez's character simply kissing another man, who's wife just died, I mean, i got the sentiment, but thought it was unnecessary to the movie.

Overall a great watch, Steve McQueen after a 5 year break after 12 years a slave, gives us another great movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
flannelmanNov 18, 2018
im going to show the numbers to this movie to explain how bad this movie is
"worldwide gross of $19.6 million, against a production budget of $42 million." This move is barely making half its production value. Also i will say i saw this movie
im going to show the numbers to this movie to explain how bad this movie is
"worldwide gross of $19.6 million, against a production budget of $42 million." This move is barely making half its production value. Also i will say i saw this movie for free, it was long and drawn out and left a bad taste in my mouth. I would have liked to have gotten a refund but i cannot get my time back.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
netflicNov 19, 2018
It is a heist film coming from a well known director Steve McQueen who has movies such as "12 Years a Slave" and "Hunger" to his name.
With great actor ensemble (Viola Davis, Liam Neeson, Colin Farrell, Robert Duvall just to name a few, and
It is a heist film coming from a well known director Steve McQueen who has movies such as "12 Years a Slave" and "Hunger" to his name.
With great actor ensemble (Viola Davis, Liam Neeson, Colin Farrell, Robert Duvall just to name a few, and many others) I had high expectations.

While actors were great, acting was mediocre. Script was not believable at all and had plenty of ends that led nowhere. Plus it was cliche after cliche after cliche.
"Politicians and criminals are all the same, be it in Chicago or elsewhere".
"Men are cheaters, especially white ones". "Women are great and strong".
Add to the mix exploitation of racism and bad cops, so fashionable in Hollywood today.

Emotionally I could not connect to any character in the movie.

I expected much, much more, especially with such a great cast and a talented director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 17, 2018
Acclaimed auteur Steve McQueen follows up his Best-Picture-winning masterpiece "12 Years A Slave" with "Widows," one of the year's stronger, yet still frustratingly lacking cinematic experiences. You get so much to chew on as a filmgoer. It'sAcclaimed auteur Steve McQueen follows up his Best-Picture-winning masterpiece "12 Years A Slave" with "Widows," one of the year's stronger, yet still frustratingly lacking cinematic experiences. You get so much to chew on as a filmgoer. It's shot and performed adeptly, and features one of the best final acts I've seen in a film so far this year. But if I'm being honest, there were some character dynamics I just didn't care for, and one scene in particular that's just so poorly conceived that I had to drop the film down another half-point. It's not a bad film by any stretch, and I appreciated a lot of the attention to detail (eapcially with the setting) but I just couldn't help but feel a tad disappointed with the final product.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 16, 2018
LIFF32 (2018) #2

“May a man live well-enough and long-enough, to leave many joyful widows behind him.” Remember Ocean's 8? Nah, neither do I. ‘Widows’ is an outstanding crime drama from director Steve McQueen. A female driven movie that
LIFF32 (2018) #2

“May a man live well-enough and long-enough, to leave many joyful widows behind him.”

Remember Ocean's 8? Nah, neither do I.

‘Widows’ is an outstanding crime drama from director Steve McQueen. A female driven movie that doesn't glorify itself as such. It's smart and compelling - emotional roller coaster through out. The themes of corruption, politicians, sexism, race relations, privileges, and greed that mirrors society we know. I was hooked from start till finish.

Steve McQueen took something that could’ve been a generic mainstream heist movie, but made it so refreshing. Just like ‘First Man’, it’s a complete departure from his other work, but isn’t too different where you can’t believe he directed it. Plenty of long shots, especially how he directed a freestyle rap with the camera spinning around a group of characters. I thought that scene was brilliantly done. There’s a scene where Colin Farrell drives to his house after a election promotion, but McQueen mounts the camera on the hood of the car and we only hear Farrell’s conversation while nothing is visible - which is all done in one shot. Rather than cutting back or forward, but McQueen isn’t flat. His directing is bold and makes every shot engaging.

How about the cast? It’s something to die for. Everyone manages to get their time to shine. Viola Davis is excellent as usual and the main center of a crowded cast. I love the little details with her character: Like how she always carries around a white fluffy dog almost like a child. She can express grief and the weight on her shoulders and play it effortlessly. Honestly, she’s one of the greatest actress of this generation.

Elizabeth Debicki, Michelle Rodriguez, and Cynthia Erivo command the screen whenever they are on. Just like Davis, these wife’s have nothing in common, which serves as development in character with different backgrounds. Great to see Rodriguez finally showing dramatic range.

But Daniel Kaluuya scared the sh*t out of me. The intensity in his presence and brutal killings makes him a true threat. Every Time he appears on screen, you know something horrible is going to happen. Colin Farrell and Robert Duvall are so great together, which surprised me to learn that both of they scenes, according to McQueen was completely improvised. Even Liam Neeson, despite the small screen time, but he’s really good and I wish he did more dramatic work than any other ‘Taken’ movie.

The other cast members are also great, but we’ll be here for days when naming them off. I could go on forever.

Han Zimmer’s score is nothing short of haunting. Gloomy with a heavy theme of loneliness. However, it picks up pace when the heist shifts in gear and everything from there is tension after tension. The beats gets higher and eventually becomes untamed.

For issues: There’s not a lot for complains. Although if I have to pick. Since there’s so much going on, it can sometimes interrupt the flow. Other than that, that’s really it.

Overall rating: I really struggled to catch a breath.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
slewis4449Nov 20, 2018
Overall, this was an enjoyable movie. Recently, I've seen some boring movies disguised as "thoughtful", but this is definitely the opposite. Even in the more "thought-provoking" parts of the movie, where the end is being set up, I found thatOverall, this was an enjoyable movie. Recently, I've seen some boring movies disguised as "thoughtful", but this is definitely the opposite. Even in the more "thought-provoking" parts of the movie, where the end is being set up, I found that the characters and direction kept me entertained. There are some scenes that only contribute to a sub-plot of the movie, and they are occasionally better than the main plot. This one scene in the car was particularly interesting. I think the main things that grounds this movie are the performances and characters. The plot isn't particularly engaging or action-packed, and the pacing could use some work, but the performances kept me engaged and entertained and I think that kept me feeling it was worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 120737 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254