Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2018
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
10
Mixed:
13
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
tropicAcesNov 3, 2018
The plot is practically incoherent, the acting is all over the place and it’s not even very Christmasy. Who was this thing even made for?
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
2
evilgregNov 3, 2018
An incoherent slog. The story is a mess and the characters aren't compelling enough to make you care about any of them.

On the bright side, at least they've managed to add in the multiculturalism so often lacking in Germanic fairy tales.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Nov 2, 2018
Reviews seem really divided on this. Though I admit the film could've been stronger in parts, I was still entertained.

The whole thing looks great with deeply detailed sets, costumes, and makeup that evoke a classic fantasy feel. There are
Reviews seem really divided on this. Though I admit the film could've been stronger in parts, I was still entertained.

The whole thing looks great with deeply detailed sets, costumes, and makeup that evoke a classic fantasy feel. There are some clever design ideas, especially in the Land of Amusements.

Acting's pretty good. Admittedly the fantasy characters are more interesting. Keira Knightly is fun in a quirky over-the-top performance. There are a couple of fairly funny guards and the Nutcracker himself is likable. Unfortunately, those three are not as well-utilized as they could be, especially considering that the Nutcracker is one of the main characters.

Admittedly, the film is a little weak in the plot department. The main character Clara experiences a by-the-numbers getting over the death of a parent and learning to believe in them-self story-line. The Four Realms and its current threat could've been a lot clearer. Also, we could've spent more time exploring and experiencing the Realms. A little too much time is spent on throwing Clara from plot point to plot point. Her struggles are solidly delivered, but they spend so much time on it at expense of the world-building.

The movie's not perfect, but it's all about the experience. The Nutcracker is fun and looks good. And though the story is flawed, it isn't bad. I think kids will like it and parents will like it or be indifferent.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
Amir84dorriNov 3, 2018
I don't know but critics can't disney films reviews.be cause this film for children.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
7
BigbroNov 9, 2018
Ok so let's get started here this movie was not as bad as people said I loved the action and adventure this one really got me in the holiday mood very good and fun movie one of the most imaginative movies this year and one of the most magicalOk so let's get started here this movie was not as bad as people said I loved the action and adventure this one really got me in the holiday mood very good and fun movie one of the most imaginative movies this year and one of the most magical Christmas movies in years
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryNov 10, 2018
This film has numerous references to the classic ballet, including the title, many of the characters and bits of Tchaikovsky's music. The plot revolves around Clara, who enters a fantasy world in search of a special key. Since the script isThis film has numerous references to the classic ballet, including the title, many of the characters and bits of Tchaikovsky's music. The plot revolves around Clara, who enters a fantasy world in search of a special key. Since the script is pretty insipid and the "action" is never exciting, the lovely art direction is the only real reason to see the film. Young girls may appreciate the sweetness and the preponderance of strong female characters, but the overall effect is rather bland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Compi24Nov 6, 2018
When it comes to live action entertainment, Disney's track record has been inarguably dominant as of late. Whether its the MCU films, the recent Star Wars installments, or the live-action adaptations of their animated classics, it wouldWhen it comes to live action entertainment, Disney's track record has been inarguably dominant as of late. Whether its the MCU films, the recent Star Wars installments, or the live-action adaptations of their animated classics, it would appear that they have their stuff together. But every once in a while you get your "John Carter's," your "Lone Ranger's," and your "A Wrinkle In Time's." They're certainly rare. But they exist. This is one of those. This is a complete, hot mess of a movie, with a couple of unironically enjoyable elements. For one, it looks good. Now, don't confuse "good" with "real." The backdrops and scenery may be cool-looking, but don't think you'll be watching anything out of an "Avatar" sequel or anything. Also the music -- of course -- is quite a delight. But when you have a movie called "The Nutcracker" that has the titular character reduced to a role of mere spectatorship and chauffeur work, I can't give you anything higher than the above score. This is about as far away from a "Nutcracker" adaptation as you can get. And when the swings come, boy, do they miss hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dtlNov 17, 2018
I do not understand the poor reviews at all. It was engaging, fun, funny, etc. The acting was well done, especially for the more important parts. The story was well done, and the movie was exactly the right length for it. When I finished theI do not understand the poor reviews at all. It was engaging, fun, funny, etc. The acting was well done, especially for the more important parts. The story was well done, and the movie was exactly the right length for it. When I finished the movie , my first thought was that I should just sit there and watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JamesIrish68Nov 4, 2018
Very weak A list casted Narnia/Cinderella with a tinge of ballet. Surprisingly the storyline is poor and unengaging for small kids(or Adults) . If they compensated with laughs the kids would been happy but they didn't unfortunately.Very weak A list casted Narnia/Cinderella with a tinge of ballet. Surprisingly the storyline is poor and unengaging for small kids(or Adults) . If they compensated with laughs the kids would been happy but they didn't unfortunately. Negatives are the nutcracker soldier actor who is especially bad, the script, and the two contrasting directors whose styles jarred.
Positives are the costume and makeup people had a blast, my eyes have diabetes after so much colour. The CGI was nifty. Strictly for pre teen girls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2018
Visually dazzling but also incredibly empty.

This film makes the same mistake that A Wrinkle In Time, where they believed the production and its extravagance was good enough and despite being quite colorful, it suffers from a very diluted
Visually dazzling but also incredibly empty.

This film makes the same mistake that A Wrinkle In Time, where they believed the production and its extravagance was good enough and despite being quite colorful, it suffers from a very diluted script that hardly offers anything new.

It's a pity because this is a first level production but to tell the truth it didn't make me feel anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Vitor007Nov 10, 2018
Totally predictable. With a script that looks more like cake recipe, Disney makes a totally wrong bet at the time he thought of another "Alice in the Wonderland ". Its visual comes to be fluffy, but does not have the slightest coherence,Totally predictable. With a script that looks more like cake recipe, Disney makes a totally wrong bet at the time he thought of another "Alice in the Wonderland ". Its visual comes to be fluffy, but does not have the slightest coherence, both in script and in the performances. Even trying, Disney and its live-actions of recent stories (removing Cinderella, Christopher Robin and so on) are not giving more right at a time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
clarkaddisonNov 9, 2018
If your family is going to see any holiday film this season, make it the Grinch. This film has crazy plot, creepy clowns, weird innuendos, just not a whole lot going for it. The cast is not used to their full potential. There are some coolIf your family is going to see any holiday film this season, make it the Grinch. This film has crazy plot, creepy clowns, weird innuendos, just not a whole lot going for it. The cast is not used to their full potential. There are some cool shots but kids are not going to enjoy the entire film and just see some cool shots. I`d much rather take my kids to see the Grinch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
StraciatellasNov 12, 2018
Visually, this movie had everyting it needs to be epic. And then they went ahead and screwed the whole thing up with a terrible script. I laughed at several parts of the movie that were definitely not meant as comedy, never a good sign. KeiraVisually, this movie had everyting it needs to be epic. And then they went ahead and screwed the whole thing up with a terrible script. I laughed at several parts of the movie that were definitely not meant as comedy, never a good sign. Keira Knightly and Mackenzie Foy's acting saved the movie from being the biggest bust of the year. Why all time great Morgan Freeman decided to appear in this monstrosity is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
iarideNov 17, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay pros: It does look really amazing with the designs. Morgan Freeman's cool but then I again I've yet to see a bad Freeman performance and Keira Knightly as The Sugar Plum Fairy is pretty entertainingly funny. And I do give credit that they got professional ballet dancers for the scene where they show the history of the realms. But the cons: the story is predicable and full of tired cliches, the lead is pretty bland, the fact that the villain is a twist villain that comes out of no where where as the advertised villain isn't really the villain at all. And the message has been told before in other movies. But this is just my own opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 110014 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254