Twentieth Century Fox | Release Date: October 5, 2018
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
3
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
moviemitch96Oct 19, 2018
Truth be told, I was kinda reluctant to check this one out, as it looked rather preachy to me, and I feel like the subject matter the film covers has been beaten to death, both in film and in real life. However, at the same time, there's noTruth be told, I was kinda reluctant to check this one out, as it looked rather preachy to me, and I feel like the subject matter the film covers has been beaten to death, both in film and in real life. However, at the same time, there's no denying the timeliness of it as well, and this film definitely acknowledges that. And yes, it did get quite preachy often times like I feared, but the performances from the cast and some genuinely powerful moments were enough to make up for that for the most part. The message of fighting oppression and letting one's voice be heard has also been rather overdone as well, but this film handles it well for the most part and doesn't quite reach the point of beating you over the head with it thankfully.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
DemiStuartOct 25, 2018
This film was possibly one of the most inspirational and moving films I have seen this year with boxxy software. It just shows how messed up our society is and how love and passion can change everything. I enjoyed this film so much and theThis film was possibly one of the most inspirational and moving films I have seen this year with boxxy software. It just shows how messed up our society is and how love and passion can change everything. I enjoyed this film so much and the acting was phenomenal.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
markydiscoOct 24, 2018
Easily one of the most important films I've seen. It's sad that in 2018, right here right now, this film and the subject matter is as relevant as ever. After seeing it, I felt very similar to the way I felt after seeing the 2004 film "Crash".Easily one of the most important films I've seen. It's sad that in 2018, right here right now, this film and the subject matter is as relevant as ever. After seeing it, I felt very similar to the way I felt after seeing the 2004 film "Crash". Very well done, thought provoking, heartbreaking, and something that you won't be able to forget. Highly recommended for anyone who is concerned about the current state of affairs on this planet!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RelaxedmikeOct 19, 2018
The real problem with a great factual based themed movie like this is. It won't get the good reviews it seserves Because in this right winged conservative Trump lead era, TRUTH is not respected. This people, is a very good movie which all ofThe real problem with a great factual based themed movie like this is. It won't get the good reviews it seserves Because in this right winged conservative Trump lead era, TRUTH is not respected. This people, is a very good movie which all of us White people should see.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryOct 20, 2018
Amandla Stenberg gives an astonishing performance as a black teen who has to code switch to get thru her day: She blends in at her mostly-white prep school, while living in a crime-ridden, mostly-black neighborhood. After witnessing a tragicAmandla Stenberg gives an astonishing performance as a black teen who has to code switch to get thru her day: She blends in at her mostly-white prep school, while living in a crime-ridden, mostly-black neighborhood. After witnessing a tragic event, she begins to question her identity. What keeps this from becoming a simple adolescent melodrama is the intelligent writing that creates a solid family support system, while honestly examining the complexities of race relations. It almost borders on caricature and contrived situations. Sometimes intense, sometimes funny, this movie makes some powerful statements, while also being an affecting, absorbing and well-made film.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
tropicAcesOct 18, 2018
I’m sure there will be lots of 0’s from trolls, and then 10’s from people trying to counter them, but truth is this is a pretty good movie that just allows itself to become too bloated and heavy for its own good.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
GreatMartinOct 19, 2018
A performance such as 19-year-old Amandla Stenberg gives in “The Hate U Give” is one that I haven’t seen since I saw Charlize Theron in her Oscar-winning role in “Monster”. Sadly, because of who she is, she probably won’t get any OscarA performance such as 19-year-old Amandla Stenberg gives in “The Hate U Give” is one that I haven’t seen since I saw Charlize Theron in her Oscar-winning role in “Monster”. Sadly, because of who she is, she probably won’t get any Oscar recognition for her performance.

Stenberg plays Starr Carter, a Black girl who in the evenings and weekends spends time in the ghetto living with her parents, brother and half-brother while during the week goes to a private, white, elite school where she feels she is ‘Starr 2” to avoid being stereotyped.

One night she is at a party and a friend, a boy, Khalil, played by Algee Smith, she has known since childhood offers to drive her home. Within 10 minutes Khalil, a black boy, who fails to signal when switching lanes is pulled over by a white policeman and when he reaches for a hairbrush is shot. Starr, handcuffed, watches her friend bleed out and die.

Many people have heard about ‘the talk’ black parents have to have with their children, they have seen television newscasts and read accounts of many black kids being shot by while police with the former dying and the latter not paying any price for what they have done.

This is a film that shows what the talk is about, what black kids and families go through and have to face. It takes us behind the newscasts we see and hear. Audrey Wells wrote the screenplay based on the book by Angie Thomas takes us into the mind of a young black girl, Starr, and allows us to see exactly how she is affected by not only those around her but by life.

We meet her father Maverick (Russell Hornsby) an ex-convict, who has opened his own store and early in the film gives the ‘talk, to his 3 kids explaining what to do not if but when they are stopped by the police. His wife Lisa (Regina Hall) loves her husband and sees him through the bad times in his life and is now they embarrass their children by expressing their love to each other.

Maverick’s brother, Carlos (Common) is a policeman and in talks with his niece Starr explains what a policeman goes through when he stops a black person as well as a white person. We live what Starr goes through when threatened by a drug dealer named King (Anthony Mackie) because her telling the grand jury convened regarding whether to charge the policeman who killed her friend can get him into trouble and when an activist and lawyer, played by Issa Rae, guides her through that grand jury happenings and Starr’s conflict about whether to tell the truth or keep silent.

This and much more, such as Starr having a white boyfriend, gets us inside her head about all that she is involved in and around her. Amanda Stenberg’s Starr lets us into the mind of a black teenager while the screenplay and the director, George Tillman, Jr., takes us behind the headlines, the lead stories and shows us what really happens.

“The Hate U Give” is a must-see for many reasons including a performance by Amanda Stenberg that will be for her to beat and a movie that shows us that think we know it all know very little about other people.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
jaredwallace91Oct 13, 2018
One of the most life-affirming movies I have ever seen. It is required viewing for anyone that calls themselves American.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
SantiagoCruzOct 7, 2018
Es una de las mejores películas del año. muestra la crueldad del ser humano y nos da una muestra de fortaleza interior del ser humano y la lucha por la igualdad universal.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
WonderZOct 17, 2018
This film was possibly one of the most inspirational and moving films I have seen this year with boxxy software. It just shows how messed up our society is and how love and passion can change everything. I enjoyed this film so much and theThis film was possibly one of the most inspirational and moving films I have seen this year with boxxy software. It just shows how messed up our society is and how love and passion can change everything. I enjoyed this film so much and the acting was phenomenal.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
finnmccool1985Oct 24, 2018
Oh boy. YA fiction. The place that's been the most heavily segregated, divided, and marginalized, ironically, by far lefties claiming diversity. Just look at their reviews- they say the film wont get the attention it deserves- then look atOh boy. YA fiction. The place that's been the most heavily segregated, divided, and marginalized, ironically, by far lefties claiming diversity. Just look at their reviews- they say the film wont get the attention it deserves- then look at the newspaper/publication reviews. The media has a heavy liberal bias (except for a small few, like Fox), and that liberal bias has now become puritanical in its reviews of films and all art, claiming moral truth, as with this film/book and others- the more intersectionally self-righteous and didactic, the more 'factual,' therefore the better the review- especially right around election time. And its not even going to work- people of all types hate having this stuff rammed down their throat- you cant force diversity and creativity. Freethinking comes from being liberal minded, not narrow minded. Period.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
9
eberman123Oct 30, 2018
This is a great movie. The acting and story are excellent. The film makes you feel the world from a different perspective. It looks like the overall user score was destroyed by narrow minded political partisans, who likely never saw the movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
michaelinpersonNov 4, 2018
the movie remains as an insightful masterpiece, to begin with a very distinct message and tight premise, but surprisingly it isn't until the end where we get to see how tangled up everything really is, like a story and not just a message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeNov 3, 2018
updated their way of conveying a message..

The Hate U Give Tillman Jr.'s familiar version on racism is a desperate call for attention but it is also drawn out with such finesse that you cannot not fall into its gut-wrenching honest bubble.
updated their way of conveying a message..

The Hate U Give

Tillman Jr.'s familiar version on racism is a desperate call for attention but it is also drawn out with such finesse that you cannot not fall into its gut-wrenching honest bubble. The questions raised in here are rhetoric and doesn't make you think twice. Yes, it is ethically unstable and has morale conflicts for you to ponder about, but again that too are filled in on the usual shoes. And addition to that, what's intriguing is how fair it is. The perspective is three dimensional, the limelight spots on both the stage and the audience.

It has captured the apt depiction of the current generation's lifestyle. The references, the vocab, the music, the slangs and the abbreviations, the research done by the makers is undoubtedly plausible. Even the preachings among the subsequent generations passing their legacies have updated their way of conveying the message. The stories that a father tells his children to get their attention, the route itself has changed and these are the real gems of the feature.

This is the place where the writers are completely honest with you and they have given themselves this space at each aspects to keep the audience tangled and the story more grounded and practical. The performance is another strong aspect of the tale. Not only does it demand it, but is delivered aplenty in here especially by the protagonist Stenberg who is the trump card of this tale that carries it off all on her shoulder. She is surprisingly good on melting down and sparkling up, but the silent pitches that are essential is where she sweeps away the charm. Supporting her thoroughly lies a great cast like Hall, Hornsby and Mackie whose underdog character often steals the show.

It is a sensitive subject to explore upon and the narration is very well aware of that. The structure of the script and the editing of the feature allows you to walk the balanced line. The aftermath or the repercussions that such an incident cause is calculated in detail and the magnitude of it communicates fluently with the audience because of the brilliant execution by Tillman Jr. Each emotion creates a long lasting impact because it has an essence of grit and intolerability that elevates as the clock ticks. Despite of having such a taboo subject the makers never manipulates the viewers to draw out the emotions, the storyline is kept prior to any other thing.

By the last act arrives, you are put on a stand by the makers to judge upon it and stand on a definite answer and this is the kind of storytelling we need more; unbiased and non-provocative. The argumentative conversations, both sides of the points kept on the table, narrative monologues, jaggedly projected humane nature and stellar performances, is what fuels this tale for two hours. The Hate U Give is the infomercial that the makers gives us, and fortunately this endorsement isn't sponsored by anyone; it has a stamp credible like the law itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 112516 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254