Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 28, 2018
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 18 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
7
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
tropicAcesSep 28, 2018
Kevin Hart is always a mixed bag for me, and I really liked Tiffany Haddish in Girls Trip, but this film is just aimless and all-too-often boring. Scenes run on for far too long, punchlines don’t land and an SNL skit is stretched to a thinKevin Hart is always a mixed bag for me, and I really liked Tiffany Haddish in Girls Trip, but this film is just aimless and all-too-often boring. Scenes run on for far too long, punchlines don’t land and an SNL skit is stretched to a thin 110 minutes.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
DufreshestOct 7, 2018
Stay in School, Even If It's Not for Everyone (Night School Review)

Cinematography: 7.396/10 It's alright. I think Night School's priority is to make people laugh.  Costume Design: 8/10 Decent. The juice of the film comes from the acting
Stay in School, Even If It's Not for Everyone (Night School Review)

Cinematography: 7.396/10 It's alright. I think Night School's priority is to make people laugh. 

Costume Design: 8/10 Decent. The juice of the film comes from the acting talent.

Film Editing: 6.321/10 Ehh... If action in the background doesn't make sense to the intentions of the film and processes in the foreground it looks really awkward. There were definitely some awkward film editing moments that could have been capitalized on to get more laughs. It makes a film more memorable: ever notice when people recognize ad-libs more than actual songs? Yeah.

Make-up and Hair-styling: 8/10 Decent. 

Sound Editing: 7/10 Ehh…

Visual Effects: - /10 N/A

Story: 7.491/10 I don't remember watching another comedic film about going to Night School which is different in a good way. There are good points in the film about ambition, relationships, and integrity. After a while I was only watching the film for the antics. 

Acting: 6.888/10 Honestly, I feel like Tiffany Haddish is about to have a Precious Paula Patton moment and the film refuses to ever come to being that type of film (which makes sense…). I think the casting works well together. I don't think all of their areas of strengths making the film funnier are best appropriated. 
Personal: It is a film that I appreciate more looking back on than actually in the moment of watching it. I understand school is not for everybody but a really strong point shown in the film is the dichotomy between working with/without certification(s). Teddy Walker, played by Kevin Hart, is a great salesperson that may get a better job with a High School Diploma or GED. In a broader world closer to reality, Teddy Walker is capable of getting a better paying Sales job without particular credentials. I support excellent growths; good education and good learning are important for uplifting societies. Still - capable-good people stimulate these motions. I'm not talking about a subjective good either: humans should be able to discern between bad and good. If you need help doing so, contact me. On another note, "Lingerie" by Usher comes to mind when I think of Night School. 

Overall: 7.299/10

-K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryOct 4, 2018
Pair two of today's hottest talents and you can't go wrong…ish. There are comic sparks when Kevin Hart and Tiffany Haddish go toe to toe, but this movie puts them more in complimentary, even sweet mode (not as funny). He plays a high schoolPair two of today's hottest talents and you can't go wrong…ish. There are comic sparks when Kevin Hart and Tiffany Haddish go toe to toe, but this movie puts them more in complimentary, even sweet mode (not as funny). He plays a high school dropout who returns to get his GED in her class. Hart is his usual fast-talking energy bundle and Haddish is best when she's snarky. The other misfit classmates add personality and additional humor. There's a lot of talent, but the script doesn't do them justice (anytime there are 8 credited writers you can expect trouble). Fans will likely excuse the weakness, but as a well-conceived comedy, this one falls short (no Kevin Hart pun intended).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
thedaywalkerSep 30, 2018
Night School promises with a good premise, but fails to make it count.

The story of what could be a dive into different characters lives and their problems is totally skipped, making all the characters (expect for Kevin Hart's) seem like
Night School promises with a good premise, but fails to make it count.

The story of what could be a dive into different characters lives and their problems is totally skipped, making all the characters (expect for Kevin Hart's) seem like props, just to be used.

With this movie, Tiffany Haddish shows that she might just be able to play one type of character, a very bad performance from someone who really seemed uncomfortable in her role.

There are some hilarious moments, but really they don't completely make up for the moments of pure stupidity, bad acting and really making learning disabilities seem like a joke, then a problem
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rexrcr9Sep 30, 2018
I liked this movie. It is not going to win an Oscar, but it is pleasing. I mostly like Tiffany Haddish. She is showing she is upping her game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WonderZOct 4, 2018
But if you've seen the trailer, you have already heard the only funny lines in the entire film. If you want to pay money to watch the interminable minutes between them, then knock yourself out. Luckily I watched it for free using boxxy software.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
louis123456Oct 22, 2018
Very funny film. Don't take children below 12 as it is rude with bad language but both Tiffany & Kevin are funny together with a interesting storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 92197 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254