A24 | Release Date: October 19, 2018
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 34 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
7
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LamontRaymondOct 27, 2018
I enjoyed the film, but it's not a special movie. I expected more from the mom, the brother, and really from the kid himself. It was also a little creepy seeing what looked like a 5th-grader preparing to have sex with a high school girl. SadI enjoyed the film, but it's not a special movie. I expected more from the mom, the brother, and really from the kid himself. It was also a little creepy seeing what looked like a 5th-grader preparing to have sex with a high school girl. Sad but true.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryOct 30, 2018
Sunny Suljic plays a 13-year-old who's desperate to fit in with an older group of skaters, while escaping the bullying of his brother (Lucas Hedge effective as a tough guy). Comparisons to Larry Clark's KIDS (which was actually made in theSunny Suljic plays a 13-year-old who's desperate to fit in with an older group of skaters, while escaping the bullying of his brother (Lucas Hedge effective as a tough guy). Comparisons to Larry Clark's KIDS (which was actually made in the 90s) are inevitable. Writer/director Jonah Hill shot this in a 4:3 ratio to mimic the video standard of that time. It has the same kind of raw style that surrounds a cast of mostly real skaters, jiving, cussing and getting high. While there's not a plot as such, things happen and Suljic creates an earnest, sweet kid in search of friendship. The skaters are completely at home being themselves (or variations). It's a rambling, but genuine and interesting first effort.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MattyiceOct 28, 2018
I'll start off by stating what I did like about this movie: the cinematography, acting, nostalgia, and soundtrack, all of which were great. The ultimate problem in this movie comes through its realism (or lack thereof). Most A24 films of thisI'll start off by stating what I did like about this movie: the cinematography, acting, nostalgia, and soundtrack, all of which were great. The ultimate problem in this movie comes through its realism (or lack thereof). Most A24 films of this style succeed in the fact that they are supposed to be "gritty observations of real life." Mid90s breaks this realism with its main character, a middle-class 10 year-old who drinks Colt 45, smokes cigarettes, and hooks up with women almost 8 years older than him. While it can be seen as satirical/urban fantasy in a certain light, the film does not paint it as such and continues to suggest realism with its subject matter. The film also is inconsequential, as characters do not develop after moments where they are clearly designed to (namely the supporting characters, but also the lead). In addition, plot threads drop or pop up with little purpose and the film ends anti-climactically. Overall, there was potential in the film's design, but it needed better execution, which I can see with refinement from Jonah Hill in future projects.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesOct 25, 2018
It’s a little aimless and has only one sympathetic character, but there are a few scenes that make me excited for Jonah Hill’s future as a director.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Oct 30, 2018
As far as A24-produced, semi-autobiographical, period-based, coming-of-age directorial debuts are concerned, "Mid90s" is certainly no "Lady Bird," but you get about as much of Jonah Hill poured into this movie as you did Greta Gerwig in theAs far as A24-produced, semi-autobiographical, period-based, coming-of-age directorial debuts are concerned, "Mid90s" is certainly no "Lady Bird," but you get about as much of Jonah Hill poured into this movie as you did Greta Gerwig in the 2017 Best Picture nominee. And it's ultimately Hill's familiarity and love for the subject matter at hand that ends up translating into the most worthwhile bits in this film. The characters, dialogue, and set-dressing are all evocative of a bygone era. And the performances are as brilliantly textured and as nuanced as you'd expect a movie directed by an actor to be. Overall, I had a great time with "Mid90s," and I'd say it's an absolute must for indie film fans.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Oct 25, 2018
The mid90s is the era I was born in, so a big part of my excitement for this film prior to seeing it was the nostalgia factor that I was really looking forward to, and it definitely delivered on that front! A pretty solid 90s soundtrack andThe mid90s is the era I was born in, so a big part of my excitement for this film prior to seeing it was the nostalgia factor that I was really looking forward to, and it definitely delivered on that front! A pretty solid 90s soundtrack and other great nods to the era were great to hear and see! What's more, the entire film was shot on an old 16 mm camera in a 4:3 aspect ratio to make it feel like a film straight outta the 90s, which was really neat! As for the story, with the exception of the main child and a couple side characters, there weren't too many particularly sympathetic characters, and while the first half started out pretty light-hearted and fun for the most part, the story became unnecessarily heavy-handed and dramatic more and more as the film progressed, and I therefore felt that the film had kind of a hard time finding a good and consistent tone balance. Overall, it did have great nostalgic and charming moments throughout, but really when all's said and done with the film, it felt a little too obvious to me that this was Jonah Hill's first attempt at directing, which isn't quite what I was hoping for. Truth be told, I was hoping I'd really like or even love it, but I simply liked it. Like I said though, the film certainly wasn't without its great qualities, such as the retro filming style, soundtrack, and good ol' nostalgia from start to finish, so if that intrigues you, it may be worth checking out at least once.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsNov 12, 2018
Mid90s is a film that made me feel a lot of emotions that I did not expect it to. Jonah Hill's writing and directing are incredible. This is a very strong directorial and writing debut, and it's very easy to see the passion that Jonah HillMid90s is a film that made me feel a lot of emotions that I did not expect it to. Jonah Hill's writing and directing are incredible. This is a very strong directorial and writing debut, and it's very easy to see the passion that Jonah Hill put in to this movie. There is a lot of powerful imagery, particularly Christ imagery, that drives the film, and the aspect ration and nostalgia help it in that regard. The acting is really well done and very fun. Sunny Suljic and Lucas Hedges are great, and Sunny definitely carries the film. My favorite performance was actually Na-Kel Smith as Ray, the leader of the little gang of skaters. He was incredibly vulnerable, and he was a breath of fresh air on the screen.

The story feels like a dream or a fantasy. The nostalgia really drives the atmosphere and world of the movie. While it is palpable, it sometimes feels like "oh look at that cool thing from the 90s!" which can be distracting. When it delves into the story it is trying to tell, Mid90s really shines. You'll walk out of this one thinking more than laughing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MetaflixOct 30, 2018
'Mid90s' is largely a reflection of first time writer/director Jonah Hill himself--smart, grounded, and oftentimes nostalgic. The film delves into the ubiquitous skate culture of the 1990's replete with all the trimmings, including Discmans,'Mid90s' is largely a reflection of first time writer/director Jonah Hill himself--smart, grounded, and oftentimes nostalgic. The film delves into the ubiquitous skate culture of the 1990's replete with all the trimmings, including Discmans, WWF buddy pillows, and Big Brother magazines. Hill took inspiration from other street culture movies that were actually made during the period in which this film is set, most notably Harmony Korine's 'Kids,' though 'Mid90s' is far less visceral and provocative, which is to be expected considering Korine presumably has a chapter written about him in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.

Though a handful of scenes would've played out better had Hill chosen a slightly older actor to play the lead, his camera work is top notch and the film picks up steam along the way, resulting in a pleasing and somewhat evocative debut.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
roooooooooNov 6, 2018
It perfectly summed up what it was like to be a skater as a teenager. the soundtrack was dope, the characters felt... real. it felt like the movie kids but if it kids had been focused solely on the skaters. there are people talking about howIt perfectly summed up what it was like to be a skater as a teenager. the soundtrack was dope, the characters felt... real. it felt like the movie kids but if it kids had been focused solely on the skaters. there are people talking about how it wasn't cohesive or that it lacked structure and... i mean.. that's kind of the point. the film is about kids who aren't worried about their future and are just skating. why would there be more of a point if that's what the premise is? the anti-climatic ending also made sense... I like that the movie didn't force some bullsh*t ending or some stupid "moral of the story" wrap-up. maybe this was just me because that was more or less my exact 15 year old experience but whatever. as far as i'm concerned it perfectly nailed every aspect of what it was like
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
dchipps1945Oct 28, 2018
Everyone who's ever been a 12-year-old boy has written this story in his head. This film plays like a pre-adolescent super-fantasy, including sexual encounters with hot teenage girls, enough substance abuse to knock out a horse (with noEveryone who's ever been a 12-year-old boy has written this story in his head. This film plays like a pre-adolescent super-fantasy, including sexual encounters with hot teenage girls, enough substance abuse to knock out a horse (with no effects whatsoever), and accidents and mishaps that would kill the horse and the whole posse.

I get the impression this was an old screenplay Jonah Hill wrote in film school, and he could now produce (I have no idea whether Jonah Hill went to film school). It has events without consequences (the mishaps, substance abuse, and the film's great tragic event), resolutions without understandable cause (the character-transformation of the kid's brother and the final scene between the mom and the kid's friends), and situations without explanation (Just who owns the skateboard shop? Is there such a thing as school in this kid's life? Just how old is he supposed to be, anyway?).

I expected a sort of gritty-but-realistic portrayal of this life, not some squealing little kid's wet dream.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
GrantD243Nov 13, 2018
Mid90s is Jonah Hill’s directorial debut and it follows a kid named Stevie, who is a kid trying to find himself while dealing with his abusive brother and not so present mother, as he ends up hanging out with a group of teenagers whoMid90s is Jonah Hill’s directorial debut and it follows a kid named Stevie, who is a kid trying to find himself while dealing with his abusive brother and not so present mother, as he ends up hanging out with a group of teenagers who skateboard. These kids all come from different situations (which also provides the foundation for conflict), but most of them are from lower class families, and their days primarily consist of hanging out at the skate shop, skating, and going to parties. Stevie is by far the youngest kid in the group once he joins, and most of the film he’s just trying to fit in with them and find his way. He doesn’t even know how to skate when he starts hanging out with the group, but he keeps trying until he’s at least about to skate around. He’s also constantly trying to prove himself to the other guys in the group, and sometimes it bites him in the butt. Despite this sounding like an uplifting film, in a lot of ways it is not. Stevie does find friends, but as a result he starts to fall into bad habits and does some things that a kid his age should not be doing. He’s also constantly dealing with his brother who beats him up several times, and it’s clearly affected him at deeper levels as despite him being the nicest kid around, he does punish himself in physical ways sometimes that can be hard to watch. He gains some positive things in his life but a lot of negative things as well, and so the character arc is actually quite flat when you combine everything. There is also not a specified end goal that the story is heading towards. This is more of a slice of life film that focuses on skater kids. It’s not really aiming to wrap everything up in a bow for you at the end, and that’s just fine. I enjoyed the story for what it was. It’s rather surface level, which makes sense given the hour-and-twenty-five minute runtime, but it can be looked at in a deeper sense by the viewer if he/she wants. The characters are all likable on some level, and we are given just enough backstory on each one to care for them by the end of the film. The acting is also great, given that Sunny Suljic (Stevie) is pretty young and most of the rest of the main group of characters are pro skateboarders in real life. The only iffy moment for me story-wise while viewing this film was the ending, which makes a lot of sense given how everything was going towards the end, but it felt a little…forced? I’m not sure if that’s the right word, but it’s as if Jonah Hill knew he wanted it to not necessarily have a distinct end to the characters’ story, but also wanted something to end on for the general audience’s sake. As for production, this looks like a film that was made in the mid90s. Jonah definitely was able to capture the vibe and look of the era, while not solely relying on nostalgia to draw the audience in which I am always afraid of with films like this. Overall, Mid90s is a great debut for Jonah Hill. Some people may not want to watch it because it revolves around skateboarding, but I think if they actually watch it they’ll be pleasantly surprised.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GCOReviewsOct 31, 2018
Mid90s surprised the hell out of me. You wouldn't suspect anything of this film besides its in the mid 90s and its about skateboarders but the movie is much more than that. The movie shows the one possibility that can happen if you hang outMid90s surprised the hell out of me. You wouldn't suspect anything of this film besides its in the mid 90s and its about skateboarders but the movie is much more than that. The movie shows the one possibility that can happen if you hang out with a certain crowd. This movie does speak to kids in the 21th century not just the 90s. I really did care about the characters like they were real. The situations in the film are really similar to what happens now. As a kid born in the 2000s I did enjoy this film a lot. I can get why older people that were born in the 60s or 70s wouldn't enjoy this film because they haven't spent much of their childhood in the 90s. For people who were born in the 80s, they would thoroughly enjoy this because they were at least Stevie's age at the time. They also lived close to his lifestyle. So solid 8/10, this movie isn't perfect and I'm not going to tell you the flaws, you watch yourself and find out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 111194 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254