Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 19, 2018
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 286 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
194
Mixed:
67
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
Honest-YanNov 13, 2018
This is rather slow and dull compared to a lot of slasher movies. Some nostalgia inducing references to the original that will be missed by newcomers. A few cool moments that are all in the trailer. Strange soap opera moments where the knifeThis is rather slow and dull compared to a lot of slasher movies. Some nostalgia inducing references to the original that will be missed by newcomers. A few cool moments that are all in the trailer. Strange soap opera moments where the knife fodder discuss their relationships, and this isn't scary, it is actually rather dull. Terrible ending, makes the whole thing look like a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
AxeTOct 21, 2018
Beyond reboot, beyond chronic sequelitis, beyond unnecessary. Though conventionally well made and competently delivering for its audience it's also exactly the predictable retread of gore and bore anyone of sound mind would expect and avoidBeyond reboot, beyond chronic sequelitis, beyond unnecessary. Though conventionally well made and competently delivering for its audience it's also exactly the predictable retread of gore and bore anyone of sound mind would expect and avoid including old fans of the classic original, the one that started the whole slasher thriller sub-genre and a clever deservingly praised little movie at that. It feels much longer than it actually is with the only viewers who could possibly be entertained being the young who have not seen this schlock all before and maybe the mentally retarded.
The makers and marketers are so vapid and lazy they couldn't (or stupidly chose not to) even come up with a variant on the original title which is nonsensical since it's not a remake and will only lead to pointless confusion in the future with the duplicate titles.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
ladymontecarloOct 20, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I get the feeling some may not have actually watched Halloween 1978 via all the reviews on various sites. They seem to say this new Halloween is the "sequel" to the 1978 original and that Michael has been incarcerated ever since. Problem: Michael got away in the original Halloween. It would work if they called this movie Halloween 3, but the body count referred to would have to be higher than "5 people". It would be feasible considering Michael "burned to death" in Halloween 2 they could have captured him then since both movies occurred on the same night. Some critics have said there was closure by the end. I say, It was left wide open and there was absolutely no closure. There were way too many valleys/painfully slow moments. It could have been so much better than it was. Die hard Michael Myers fan here, but I couldn't disregard enough of this movie to keep it interesting for me. Way too much just didn't make sense or attempt to stay in line with how the story really went. You just have to imagine that there were no Halloween movies after the original 1978. Also, Michael would not have gotten away in the original's ending. I had such high hopes for this film, but personally, I walked away disappointed.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
deecatOct 26, 2018
Ghostbusters with Guns

Not worth the $12 admission! The only thing good about this film is John Carpenter's original score. This is not a horror movie; it's a chick flick with a guest appearance by Michael Myers. The characters are a sitcom
Ghostbusters with Guns

Not worth the $12 admission! The only thing good about this film is John Carpenter's original score. This is not a horror movie; it's a chick flick with a guest appearance by Michael Myers. The characters are a sitcom level of complexity at best, with the standard women smart - men dumb shtick. The lead women have all these kick ass combat skills, whereas the men couldn’t find their own asses with map. The plot meanders aimlessly, like Michael Myers, from scene to scene. Characters, dull and shallow, appear and disappear without rhyme, reason or entertainment. In the end, Halloween is a disjointed humourless, horrorless sleepwalk through Haddonfield, Illinois.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
RavenPaulOct 26, 2018
I thought it was a very poorly written film with very boring characters. It was supposed to follow the first film but way too much violence and language. It was supposed to ignore the sequels but had references to them all through it. I gotI thought it was a very poorly written film with very boring characters. It was supposed to follow the first film but way too much violence and language. It was supposed to ignore the sequels but had references to them all through it. I got bored quickly and the only tension I felt was wanting them to get to the Michael vs Laurie showdown, even though she’s “not his sister!” It seemed like I was watching a fan fiction movie on youtube.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Kurt_KaufmanOct 23, 2018
The Movie was terrible. Why were there so many plot holes and terribly written dumb ass characters taking up all the run time? All we wanted to see was a conclusion between Michael and Laurie... Not pointless exposition on a background mostThe Movie was terrible. Why were there so many plot holes and terribly written dumb ass characters taking up all the run time? All we wanted to see was a conclusion between Michael and Laurie... Not pointless exposition on a background most people not hiding under a rock for the last 40 years would have already known. Such a bad mis-mesh of unbelievable characters doing the opposite of what any sane person would do.
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
3
AxebrossiaOct 20, 2018
Killing list: Fan service, fan service, copy paste, fan service, fan service, copy paste and final confrotation with Laurie (Kind of Home Alone movie); GREAT! (the only great from the movie)
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
TrentsteelOct 30, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Reporting from Studio 35, it’s Date Night at the Movies, with Trent Steel. With date Angel Doyle. The new Halloween is a f$&$ing sh$$$how. Let me just save you the time and effort of reading further. I really feel badly that I’m devoting these 3 minutes to even recognize it as a thing that exists. It’s the worst piece of film I’ve seen in years; I couldn’t even laugh. It’s edited in the classic style of a bipolar chimpanzee with scissors and glue, and severe ADHD. What are your thoughts , Angel? “(loud laughter, followed up with a jarring snort, proclaiming to the house with an all inclusive sweep of her arm:)These motherf%%*#^s think this is a great movie!? F$&@ing idiots!” Yes Angel, we are in Clintonville, hipsters like things that suck, for the irony or something. The terrifying thing about the original Michael Myers: his absence from the screen. The Shape is a phantom, he just exudes his menace, not his visage, silently hides in the shadows, stalking, offering a split second glimpse, or was that just my eyes playing tricks? Smelling out and savoring the palpable unease he creates in his prey, until that day comes, then....BAM!!!! There he is !!! Stab Stab Stab kill Stab kill, cock head slowly to watch death settle into a victim’s pupils! Angel, hey! Angel! “Zzzzzzzzzz snort zzzz” The Shape it turns out is now a balding grey haired man with stubble. And he basically wears a camera on his back like a third person video game; It’s Grand Theft Auto without robbing the hos after you beat them to death. This is the point where I drifted off to a far off theater in my mind, and watched “Die Hard.” If I were JC I’d take every copy of that film, bury Danny McBride alive with them, set the mountain alight and throw myself on the pyre. Angel, it’s time to go. “Has the movie started yet? Hey, give me some popcorn, B$&ch!” Until next time, goodnight, and “We’ll see you at the next date night !”
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
Zisis151Nov 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. And here I thought movie critics were a bunch of frauds, but nope... 7.1 user score LMAO! 7.1 for another steretypical horror movie that throws logic out of the window and has people act retarded in order to be slaughtered in a fancy way. A kid just came running downstairs telling you that there's a weirdo that broke into his room? Better check it out alone. You see a car with 2 dead people in front of your house, what's the first thing you're gonna do? Stare at them for 30 straight seconds with an open mouth of course. Killer and cop in the same house, the killer walks slowly in front of the cop, then keeps the same slow tempo while walking down the stairs and out of the house, where he takes a turn on the garden. The cop did nothing during that time period other than missing a shot(lol) and just following him down, then suddenly looses sight of him. Lastly, there's a scene where this guy literally walks among children holding a knife and on a neighborhood where every door is unlocked. Seriously though, the murder scenes were so predictable and cliche I was actually surprised at the end that there's no deer jumping in front of someones car in the middle of nowhere.

So what's left? Well, the "plot".. There's this killer guy named Michael that slaughtered a bunch of people some time ago, with only 1 of them surviving. During his time in prison, there are characters wondering why isn't Michael talking, and what is it that drives him to kill people.. What's his connection to the last victim that survived? Why does he want to kill her so badly? Will he talk if they meet? Well nobody the **** knows because nothing happens in the end! The guy gets trapped in a cell and then they set the house on fire. Boom that's it folks.. Also, that scene where he kills a woman but leaves the baby be even though he sits on top of it for a moment made no sense. I suppose it was "inappropriate".. slaughtering people left and right, choking 12 year old kids is fine but the baby? God damn man, too much violence!

I don't care if this is a sequel or a reboot of some previous movie, because that's what I'm seeing in the comments. As a standalone, it's trash. If you watch this and think it's good or even decent, please assassinate yourselves immediately.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
whackjackerOct 23, 2018
Alien was the most overrated movie of all time. I hate it. Ridley Scott is a jackass and needs to get knocked out and put in his place. He is a bad director. American Gangster was his best movie. Denzel 4 Life.

3/10
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
DatSchnizzleNov 2, 2018
So i saw Halloween today and i really want to write a constructive critic about this movie but it is really bad. The Jump-Scares in this film are so bad placed and also the main theme is so bad placed... i dunno.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
dspnetOct 27, 2018
Хайпанули в преддверии Хеловина. Ни одного страшного момента за фильм, пару скримеров и все. Разочарован, ожидал напряженки а получил очередной проходняк. Тухленько и не логично как всегда в фильмах подобного уровня...Хайпанули в преддверии Хеловина. Ни одного страшного момента за фильм, пару скримеров и все. Разочарован, ожидал напряженки а получил очередной проходняк. Тухленько и не логично как всегда в фильмах подобного уровня...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
OlivierPielDec 2, 2018
It's not that cliches and tired tropes abound. It's that there are truly some of the stupidest plot holes and implausible character decisions in horror film history that would have a normally constituted 8 year old roll his eyes. Plus we loseIt's not that cliches and tired tropes abound. It's that there are truly some of the stupidest plot holes and implausible character decisions in horror film history that would have a normally constituted 8 year old roll his eyes. Plus we lose half the film in filler cum plot exposition. The teenage actors are ...rubbish . 1 point for Jamie Lee Curtis who plays the paranoid mom very well. 1 point for the photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews

Warning: tempnam(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/tmp) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html:/home/admin/tmp) in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 251

Warning: file_put_contents(): Filename cannot be empty in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254