Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    90
    Soul Calibur is easily my favorite traditional style fighting game, and seeing it get back to form with a solid new entry in Soul Calibur VI warms my heart, and my thumbs. Bandai Namco has taken great strides in getting the franchise back on track, and it seems all they had to do was listen to its fans. Gone are the weird and increasingly questionable combat mechanics; instead what we have is a product that feels clean, inviting, and refreshingly fun.
  2. Oct 26, 2018
    90
    It’s fun, challenging, accessible and deep enough to keep this casual player around, and the few negatives can’t stand in the way of what makes the game so excellent. I’d recommend this to anyone with even a passing interest in the fighting genre, and especially to those like me who just want a fighting game that’s fun to play.
  3. Oct 18, 2018
    90
    You owe it to yourself to play SOULCALIBUR VI if you have even the slightest interest in fighting games.
  4. Oct 17, 2018
    89
    Despite some minor issues, the soul of Soulcalibur 6 is so strong that they don’t do much to bring down what is one of the best entries in the series. The new Reversal Edge and Soul Charge mechanics add new layers of strategy and mind games while the one-two punch of Libra of Soul and Soul Chronicle will provide hours upon hours of fantastic single-player content. Beyond that, Soulcalibur 6 is just straight up fun for players of any skill level.
  5. Oct 20, 2018
    88
    SoulCalibur VI is the most dignified return to the stages of the Soul saga, which recovers the throne of 3D fighting games. With two intense story modes and solid gameplay that returns to its origins by adding new features that make it even more accessible, we'll enjoy exciting battles filled with epic nature and fun.
  6. Oct 28, 2018
    87
    Soul Calibur VI has returned to bring a outstanding fighting experience, becoming one of the most finest games of the genre in this generation. With interesting campaign modes adds to the rest of game modes, with a great roster and the creating tool gives a lot of possibilities to keep fighting. Is in the gameplay where everyone can notice than Soul Calibur VI is one of the best experiences, giving a thrilling experience for fighting fans.
  7. Oct 26, 2018
    85
    Soulcalibur VI is a great way to bring back the franchise. There is a ton of content to be found and outside of a few omissions, the roster is great. Character creation leaves the door open for plenty of interesting designs. The Xbox One version had a few loading hitches and issues, but it never hindered my enjoyment. For anyone who grew up playing the original in dorms with friends, this is the first entry to capture that magic in years. The soul still burns, and it burns hot.
  8. Oct 20, 2018
    85
    One of the best games in Bandai Namco's series, with a great roster of fighters and two very compelling and well-thought-out story modes with a very good character editor. We would have avoided the new Reversal Edge mechanic, though.
  9. Oct 17, 2018
    85
    As a reboot to the series’ story, Soulcalibur VI is interesting and accessible to all players. As a fighting game, the title is just as accessible and is a quality addition to the genre as well. Though the game could use some more characters, Soulcalibur VI brings the series to contemporary gamers with its classic roster of characters, fun game modes, and robust gameplay under a fresh coat of paint and improvements. If you enjoy fast-paced, exciting combat that is easy to pick-up (and hard to master, as per usual), give Soulcalibur VI a look.
  10. Oct 17, 2018
    85
    Back after a six year hiatus, SoulCalibur VI proves that the series has lost none of its sparkle. If this is the final SoulCalibur we ever see (and we sincerely hope it isn't), at least we can rest assured that the series went out with a bang rather than a clang.
  11. Oct 21, 2018
    84
    I always thought that the Soulcalibur series is superior to Tekken - and Soulcalibur 6 as rather a reboot than a sequel proves my point. The fighting mechanics are among the best on this console generation. Unfortunately some lackluster solo modes hold the whole experience back.
  12. Oct 17, 2018
    83
    If I was a more cynical and lazy person, I could have written this review in one sentence: Yup, it’s Soulcalibur. But I also happen to like Soulcalibur, so I won’t complain too much.
  13. Oct 17, 2018
    81
    Soulcalibur VI offers a surprisingly deep game with some robust systems laying on its impressive foundation. Here, strategy and timing is equal to brute force, making for a fighter that’s tactical, fluid, and engrossing. The game’s two lore-heavy story modes, although convoluted, serve up a great deal of content on top of the game’s PvP sections, with no shortage of additional extras to unlock elsewhere.
  14. Oct 30, 2018
    80
    Soulcalibur 6 might not be quite as groundbreaking as past games, but it’s still a must-buy for fighting game enthusiasts or fans of the franchise.
  15. Oct 30, 2018
    80
    SoulCalibur is back! Even if it feels visually out-dated, and it is, SoulCalibur VI brings many new mechanics and game modes which make it the best entry in the serie since SoulCalibur III.
  16. Oct 23, 2018
    80
    This is a very thorough arcade fighter, which offers many different fighting styles and dynamic fights. The controls are spot on and and the new gameplay mechanics are a welcome addition to the franchise.
  17. Oct 19, 2018
    80
    Like all the best titles in the genre, it has a low barrier to entry and high skill ceiling. For those looking to get in a few games with friends it's welcoming and immediately enjoyable. For those committed to ploughing the depths of its systems to get tournament ready, it has plenty to unpack and understand. Better still, those that want to play alone will find SoulCalibur VI has some of the most substantial single-player content in any fighting game today.
  18. Oct 17, 2018
    80
    SoulCalibur VI is an addictive and satisfying fighter, and more importantly the strongest the series has been in years.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    It has depth if you want to find it, but you can also mash away for hours and still do some pretty sweet combos. You could climb the ranked ladder, contesting the world’s best, or just wander the map of Libra of Soul, finding more fights and challenges. Soulcalibur VI is like fighting game comfort food for me, and really, I’m just happy to have a good one around again.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 90
  2. Negative: 57 out of 90
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised by the game’s story because I didn’t expect it to have as much depth as it did and I didn’t expect it to be asI was pleasantly surprised by the game’s story because I didn’t expect it to have as much depth as it did and I didn’t expect it to be as interesting as it was. The presentation side of the game is absolutely superb in my opinion and that’s mainly because both the visuals and sound design have plenty of style. In terms of content there’s a huge amount for you to get to grips with and the amount of characters available to you means the game has lots of replayability. Technically the game suffers with not many problems at all and I found that to be especially the case when I played the online components of the game. The gameplay is an incredible amount of fun and each different mechanic combines together almost flawlessly. Sometimes the difficulty spikes out of nowhere and this can cause you to experience a few frustrating moments every now and then. During your time with the game you will notice that the game doesn’t always reward skill. I will admit to you now that SoulCalibur is a series that I haven’t invested a great deal of time into and the main reason for that is because I didn’t think it was as good as other fighting game’s in the market. That being said I often found its story to be better than other fighting game’s and once again SoulCalibur VI delivers a fine story that will keep you invested throughout your time with the game. This isn’t the only thing that will keep you invested as well because it has an array of varied content that will no doubt keep you satisfied for many hours and you’ll be pleased to know that both the single player and online multiplayer offerings don’t suffer with many technical issues at all. This then means the gameplay stays fun and makes each different mechanic stand out and the only real frustration you get is when the difficulty curve spikes out of nowhere. Thankfully though I was easily able to look past this because the strategy side of the game still feels rewarding despite the difficulty. At the end of the day then for me SoulCalibur VI is without a doubt the most enjoyable game I’ve played in the series so far and if you’re a fan of fighting game’s then this title is a must buy.
  2. Oct 21, 2018
    10
    Probably the best Soul Calibur to play right now. On par with first and second. 2 good campaign modes. Art and audio harks back to old days ofProbably the best Soul Calibur to play right now. On par with first and second. 2 good campaign modes. Art and audio harks back to old days of the series but modernized. Does a great job of retelling the Soul Calibur story from many different perspectives and is the most coherent way to consume the story and lore. If you like Soul Calibur you will like this. One warning is that on the regular Xbox One (not X) the load times are overly long and probably not worth getting for the platform until they fix it. I have it on the X and it looks and plays good and smooth. If you plan to get, skip the season pass and wait until that is on a sale and rest of the content is out for it.
  3. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Tekken 7 was very underrated, I don't even like Street Fighter or MvC, but I hope more people play Tekken 7, I love playing as King because itTekken 7 was very underrated, I don't even like Street Fighter or MvC, but I hope more people play Tekken 7, I love playing as King because it let's me play as a furry and we are very under represented in media.

    10/10