User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1291 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 isn't a game that should be taken lightly. This is true in most of Rockstar's long list of games, which often overwhelm the player with their sheer size and mechanical depth. Red Dead Redemption 2, however, stands out as a pinnacle among masterpieces. You may, understandably, assume that I'm simply riding the "Red Dead hype wagon" but, unless the game drasticallyRed Dead Redemption 2 isn't a game that should be taken lightly. This is true in most of Rockstar's long list of games, which often overwhelm the player with their sheer size and mechanical depth. Red Dead Redemption 2, however, stands out as a pinnacle among masterpieces. You may, understandably, assume that I'm simply riding the "Red Dead hype wagon" but, unless the game drastically changes after the first 10 hours or so, this is certainly not the case.

    From what I've experienced so far, Red Dead Redemption 2 offers the player an unprecedented amount of options in what to do and how to tackle the, both optional and integral parts of the game. Fortunately these options do not overwhelm the player, but are instead revealed progressively, allowing you to first master what is already there. After several hours spent with the game I was still constantly being surprised by a steady stream of new features and added complexity to pre-existing mechanics.

    All this depth, however, wouldn't be worth 2 cents if it wasn't for the incredibly high degree of fine tuning and polishment that went into the game. The frame rate stays smooth and constant throughout the whole experience and, incredibly enough, so far I haven't encountered a single bug during my 14 hours of playing the game. Rockstar have certainly nailed the shooting mechanics, but there are also more discreet options for those who aren't completely certain that lead is the be-all end-all problem solver.

    To summarize: Red Dead Redemption 2 is a must buy for anyone looking for a deep and fleshed out experience, that gradually unfolds during many hours of game time. It's not a game that you can rush through over the weekend (though, admittedly, I myself might in retrospect have been a bit too hasteful in order to experience as much as possible in a short time window). If you're willing to put in the time however, Red Dead Redemption 2 is guaranteed to offer you a complete and thrilling experience, brimming with possibilities for the player to discover. If I have one complaint regarding the game it's that it didn't come out sooner.
  2. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This game is so much. Looks fantastic on Xbox One X. Looking forward to online mode.
  3. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Сосните х.йца пк-бояре, как же всё-таки бомбят ваши жопы от отсутствия игры на Intel core I9 и RTX 2080ti! муахахахахахаха

    10 сморщенных яичек из 10!

    P.s. Игра унылая...
  4. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    best game ever and best rockstar game and best game in the series this is red dead this is game of the year
  5. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Lamentablemente tengo que decir, que la comunidad gamer es sucia, embustera y mediocres. En la página de metacritics de Xbox y aquí de PS4 se llenaron de gamers de Pc. Ya niños ratas criticando algo que no jugaron. Las personas muchas veces como aquí queda reflejado son mediocres Aguante Rockstar Y #RedDeadRedemption2 #RDR2
  6. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Amazing game, simply amazing! From the immersion, to the world building, to the writing, this game is fantastic!
  7. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Excelent performance, good graphics, good sound and gameplay, best game so far on the xbox one x
  8. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Excelente juego en Xbox one x 4k nativos impresionante, definitivamente el juego se disfruta muchísimo más en esta consola
  9. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Benchmark of console games for this generation. Not many negative things to say about the game when you are getting use to how things work in the game.
  10. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Without a doubt the best game ive ever played, a true Next Generation game. The visuals the sound and the attention to detail makes this the most immersive game ever. The characters and the story is also one of the best from rockstar. Also see the return of characters like Jon marsten make you even more connected to the game. The game is deserving of a 10. The best open ive played in aWithout a doubt the best game ive ever played, a true Next Generation game. The visuals the sound and the attention to detail makes this the most immersive game ever. The characters and the story is also one of the best from rockstar. Also see the return of characters like Jon marsten make you even more connected to the game. The game is deserving of a 10. The best open ive played in a very long time.
  11. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I understand everyone has different tastes in games, but with that being said the people giving this game a 4 or lower are just being ridiculous. Regardless of how you feel about it personally there is no doubt that this is one of the most finely crafted video games ever made, there's no subjectivity about it.
  12. Oct 28, 2018
    8
    I cannot find the reasons to give this a 10 as so many others have, however, this is a good game. The storyline and attention to detail with characters and NPCs fully fleshed out in an open world is typical Rockstar and the improvements in this area are superior to their last outing in GTAV....It loses a couple of points from me in the gameplay area. The searching and looting is longI cannot find the reasons to give this a 10 as so many others have, however, this is a good game. The storyline and attention to detail with characters and NPCs fully fleshed out in an open world is typical Rockstar and the improvements in this area are superior to their last outing in GTAV....It loses a couple of points from me in the gameplay area. The searching and looting is long drawn out and clearing up the loot after a big showdown (Black Belle for example) takes way too long. Walking around inside buildings looking for things to loot and open up - again, takes too long. I get that the developers wanted things to move at a slower pace compared to their mainstay GTA, but this is way too slow...….. Getting from A to B is also laborious with POIs and quest markers miles apart. I've played around 8 hours and feel like I've achieved almost nothing.....Yes, I have likely only scratched the surface of the game but 8 hours into a storyline? I should be well embedded in it by now.
  13. Oct 31, 2018
    10
    Rockstar games siempre ha llevado el gaming a un nuevo estándar y gracias al primer Red Dead Redemption, varios juegos de mundo abierto son lo que son hoy en día. Red Dead Redemption 2 es un juego hecho a mano, con cuidado y mucho detalle, capaz de sorprender en cualquier instante, llevándonos por una obra que nos hace sentir que la espera por este juego, valió la pena.
  14. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    10/10 just to nullify all these ridiculous 1/10's from fascist PC gamers crying about how this game doesn't come out on their platform. And yes, people like you are the reason I hope it stays like that, you don't deserve games like these.
  15. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Even the Critics got it right! This is one of the Greatest games ever made.. Hands down
    btw if you're in the mood for a good laugh, read some of the fake negative reviews!
    "#1 Best Game of 2018" --->
    Ask Forbe$
  16. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This is an absolute masterpiece. All of these people that rated it 0 or whatever that complain about "wahhhhh it's not on pc, wahhhhh". Well most ACTUAL games have a PC and a console and if you don't, then you're just behind the times. Get with the program and stop whining about PC master race when what you should be doing is having ALL the gaming hardware of different platforms.This is an absolute masterpiece. All of these people that rated it 0 or whatever that complain about "wahhhhh it's not on pc, wahhhhh". Well most ACTUAL games have a PC and a console and if you don't, then you're just behind the times. Get with the program and stop whining about PC master race when what you should be doing is having ALL the gaming hardware of different platforms.

    This game is one of the best i've ever played. Period. 10 out of 10.
  17. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Rockstar made every aspect of the game perfect as can be. Only about 10 hours into the game and I can say its already in my top 5 games of all time. Please ignore all of the pc morons. I have a pc and xbox and yes i would rather have it on pc but still is really impressive for an original Xbox One. If they can afford aRed Dead Redemption 2 is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Rockstar made every aspect of the game perfect as can be. Only about 10 hours into the game and I can say its already in my top 5 games of all time. Please ignore all of the pc morons. I have a pc and xbox and yes i would rather have it on pc but still is really impressive for an original Xbox One. If they can afford a $900 pc then I don't see how they can't afford a $199-$299 console.
  18. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Perfect game, and best played on Xbox regardless of the PS4 fanboys review bombing. Native 4k vs PS4s half 4k
  19. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Masterpiece! One of the most beautiful games I’ve ever played in a while. You should go buy this for sure and right now.
  20. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This game is amazing, the attention to detail is next level. Game of the year for sure. Do not listen to all the salty PC players. Hopefully they will dry their tears and move on shortly.
  21. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The game is a masterpiece, 100% game of the year!!! 10/10Red Dead Redemption 2 is simply one of the finest open world games ever crafted.
  22. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This game looks better on the xbox compared the ps4, why the user score difference? is the same game after all, besides the graphics.
  23. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    now yes here is the best version of the game because now if the gaming experience is the best and with real 4k not like the competition that lies
  24. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Its time to say thx for rockstar for the best expirience on xbox one x
    And this is the time wen burning negative points from pc users makes game more great 11/10
  25. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Playing on an XBOX 1X. Regular Xbox has some issues I have heard. Amazing game. Story, graphics and world building are heads above anything released this year. Like playing a Sam Peckinpah western. Highly recommended.
  26. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I don't understand the user score.. like these people seem to forget how to value a good single player game this days.. just want to play multiplayer, battle royal e.t.c e.t.c. single player is boring to them..
  27. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    This is my first perfect score. This game is technically superb. You can get lost in a small piece of area of the map for hours, admiring the lush landscape and doing some activities. This is a live and vibrant world that capture you and dont want let you go anymore. Storytelling, AI, graphic and details are the most advance you could find in a game in 2018. I believe that this is the bestThis is my first perfect score. This game is technically superb. You can get lost in a small piece of area of the map for hours, admiring the lush landscape and doing some activities. This is a live and vibrant world that capture you and dont want let you go anymore. Storytelling, AI, graphic and details are the most advance you could find in a game in 2018. I believe that this is the best product of a softwerehouse can reach in this console gen. Rockstar broken the market, set a new level for the future open world games . That is why its deserve 10
    Metacritic should propose a smart test before allow some users to write a review. Some of you are ridiculous.
  28. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The attention to detail in this game is fantastic. Great story telling and a good balance between story and gameplay so far. Rockstar has outdone them selves
  29. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    ok so you are probably seeing a low score don't trust that its just a lot of pc owners who can't get the game when they never touched it anyway, Red dead 2 is much better than the 1st one I feel like red dead 2 is the best open world I have ever seed and the most realistic world and games I have played
    Only deadshot is not that realistic but thats it my suggestion if you own an xbox or
    ok so you are probably seeing a low score don't trust that its just a lot of pc owners who can't get the game when they never touched it anyway, Red dead 2 is much better than the 1st one I feel like red dead 2 is the best open world I have ever seed and the most realistic world and games I have played
    Only deadshot is not that realistic but thats it my suggestion if you own an xbox or ps4 get this game right now
  30. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Best Open World Game I ever played.... story is amazing...there are no MTX in single player also you can use cheat codes
  31. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised of the graphics on the Xbox One S. Honestly i thought it would look bad considering the console at its core is not very powerful. The world is massive, the voice acting is great and the gun play is my favorite. I love using dead eye with dual-wield revolvers. Would recommend 10/10
  32. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    La experiencia de juego de nueva generación es tan inmensa y llena de cosas por hacer que te adentraras mas en la historia que otros juegos, la relación de estos también es buena y disfrutaras de sus gráficos en la consola mas potente de la generación Xbox One X.
  33. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Exelente ambientación un paso adelante respecto al primer Red Dead, unos efectos, gráficos, diseños y paisaje y ciudades muy elaboradas, infintas misines que hacer, con un buen manejo, e historia absorbente.
    Luego en Xbox One X se ve de lujo, aunque deberián revisar el tena del HDR el cual parece roto.
    Un juegazo, a disfrutarlo. p.d. para los del 0, creo que ni el superman de nitendo
    Exelente ambientación un paso adelante respecto al primer Red Dead, unos efectos, gráficos, diseños y paisaje y ciudades muy elaboradas, infintas misines que hacer, con un buen manejo, e historia absorbente.
    Luego en Xbox One X se ve de lujo, aunque deberián revisar el tena del HDR el cual parece roto.
    Un juegazo, a disfrutarlo.

    p.d. para los del 0, creo que ni el superman de nitendo 64 sería un 0... se os ve el plumero pcculerdos y piperos. La mejor versión la de Xbox One X. :)
  34. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is simply one of the finest open world games ever crafted.

    Playing this since the midnight launch and I am floored at the level of detail Rockstar have managed to pack into this game. 8 years of development and ungodly hours have shone through to create a game which is just unbelievable! It is absolutely stunning in native 4k on the One X and definitely the best
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is simply one of the finest open world games ever crafted.

    Playing this since the midnight launch and I am floored at the level of detail Rockstar have managed to pack into this game. 8 years of development and ungodly hours have shone through to create a game which is just unbelievable!

    It is absolutely stunning in native 4k on the One X and definitely the best way to experience this game.

    I would strongly suggest not reading many reviews or watching any videos about this game and rather going in blind, turning the mini-map off (you can always turn it back on quickly with the d-pad to get your bearings) as it will make it that much more immersive.

    Everywhere you go there is something to do, and the world is just enormous.

    Playing 10 hours and only having completed around 10% of the game I am so excited to see what happens in the next 50-100 hours I'm sure it'll take to complete this masterpiece.

    Disregard the salty PC users who have given this game a 0, it is absolutely worth playing and definitely deserving of the crazy 98 critic score it currently sits on.

    Bravo Rockstar!
  35. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    this is the best game i've played this year hands down. after getting screwed by treyarch and bluehole it's nice to see a few studios like ninja, cdprojekt red, and rockstar still care about taking their time to deliver a finished, polished product upon release
  36. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Somebody is spamming the user's review with the same negative review. Played 10 hours of it and I am bored. Never gonna play it again. Played this already ten years ago, it's the same thing. Same game. Same game.
  37. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    juego mde 10 lastimas que los haters vengan a crearse cuenta a darle negativos lamentable
  38. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    A perfect experience game. Open world gameplay, story... Everything. And it's great on Xbox One X.
  39. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    The overwhelming majority of negative (and fake) reviews I keep reading here look like they were writtenl by the same mouth breather who has made such arguments such as they don’t have a car to drive (in the old west) like in GTA and are left to care for a horse it takes away from their gaming experience, being mad because it’s not a PC game, or any other number of completely asinine andThe overwhelming majority of negative (and fake) reviews I keep reading here look like they were writtenl by the same mouth breather who has made such arguments such as they don’t have a car to drive (in the old west) like in GTA and are left to care for a horse it takes away from their gaming experience, being mad because it’s not a PC game, or any other number of completely asinine and trivial one-takes! Idiots like this one and others need not even purchase this game if you’re looking for non-stop GTA action style brainless stupidity, the Red Dead Redemption series is definitely not for you! Like it’s predecessor Red Dead Redemption 2 is not only beautiful but it’s story is every bit as much rich and entertaining enough to pull you in a keep the player yearning for what comes next for multiple hours on end as the original!

    Red Dead Redemption 2 is definitely deserving of all the praise it’s received, will continue to do so, and it is every bit worthy enough to be named 2018’s best game and like the original a true masterpiece! Anyone who’s making claims to the contrary has obviously never even played the this game or it’s predecessor or they aren’t just to blinded by jealousy for the praise it’s garnered they aren’t willing to even give it a chance! It never fails to amaze me how brainless children show up from the bowls of the internet after anything good comes along with the same tired claims of everything is “over hyped” simply because it’s popular, worthiness isn’t to be questioned for a sake of adolescence conformity!
  40. Oct 26, 2018
    9
    If you are a fan of open world games,
    Westerns or rockstar in general you will love this game. I am playing it on a Xbox one s and it’s a beautiful game with only small dips happening during the most hectic sequences it’s easily the most polished rockstar game yet. If I am going to complain about anything it would be the fact the controls are not streamlined and can be unnecessarily
    If you are a fan of open world games,
    Westerns or rockstar in general you will love this game. I am playing it on a Xbox one s and it’s a beautiful game with only small dips happening during the most hectic sequences it’s easily the most polished rockstar game yet. If I am going to complain about anything it would be the fact the controls are not streamlined and can be unnecessarily confusing in the heat of battle. An amazing experience so far definitely a must buy
  41. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    A masterpiece which stands tall with open world greats like The Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt. A fully realized open world with exploration and tasks which actually are enjoyable to undertake with further depth being able to be undertaken by those who crave for it, meanwhile those who don't care for aren't severely punished. A true testament to video games as an art form.
  42. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This game was developed over eight years, by thousands of people working long hours. And it shows. The level of polish is unparalleled, and the level of quality is immense; this is quite simply the best game of this console generation and easily one of the best games of all time. Am I surprised though? No. This is Rockstar after all, and anything they touch is gold, they have a knack forThis game was developed over eight years, by thousands of people working long hours. And it shows. The level of polish is unparalleled, and the level of quality is immense; this is quite simply the best game of this console generation and easily one of the best games of all time. Am I surprised though? No. This is Rockstar after all, and anything they touch is gold, they have a knack for making extremely high quality games and every Rockstar game release is a big event in the world of gaming. Games like this don't come out every year, so cherish this game. The only idiots hating on this game are the salty PC fan-boys who are sad that they cannot play this masterpiece.

    If I could rate this game higher I would but unfortunately Metacritic wont let me. This is an 11/10 for me, games like this only come along once in a generation and this game deserves all the praise it gets. Pure quality.
  43. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    easily the best game of this generation, better than BOTW, even the minimal details are polished to the extreme, there is nothing quite like it
  44. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Excelente jogo, um dos melhores do ano talvez o melhor do ano fácil. A melhor versão rodando em 4k no Xbox one x traz uma experiência sensacional. recomendo a todos
  45. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Десять из десяти. Великолепный открытый мир. Единственный минус игры, то что уже 19 часов без остановки играю и не могу оторватся
  46. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Que suerte tienen los de xbox one x es impresionante , que porquería de ps4 pro como se ve ,tengo que admitir que que a ganado la xbox one x por goleada .
  47. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is not a game, it’s a masterpiece. I made a Metacritic account just to rate it.

    The world is full of things to interact with, such as people, animals, vegetation, secrets and much more. The world is gigantic and has loads to do in it. The world also feels very alive. As you’re walking down a street, people actually say hello to you, react to what you do and you
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is not a game, it’s a masterpiece. I made a Metacritic account just to rate it.

    The world is full of things to interact with, such as people, animals, vegetation, secrets and much more. The world is gigantic and has loads to do in it.

    The world also feels very alive. As you’re walking down a street, people actually say hello to you, react to what you do and you can talk to them. I’ve never felt so immersed into a game’s world before, it’s fascinating.

    The gameplay itself is better than ever. The gun mechanic is amazing. You have multiple options of how you want to handle your gun, you can customize it however you want, with tons of options, it can get dirty, you can get better at shooting it and much more.

    The physics engine has returned from GTA IV and the original Redemption. Everyone in the world behaves very realistically, to the point where you can actually feel the pain. People now stumble when shot, roll down mountains, cover their wounds and just behave better than any other Rockstar game of all time.

    The graphics are astonishing. The attention to detail is incredible. There is too much and too good to talk about the graphics.

    And last but not least, the story is very well thought out, full of surprises and fun activities. You also determine who Arthur is. When you play missions, you always have options of what to do, save or kill someone, help or abandon, hurt or help. Those choices actually shape Arthur into either a hero or a villain, so you determine the story yourself, to how you want it to turn out.

    Overall, this game is the best game I’ve played in the past 20 years of my life and I would give it a “game of the century” award. It is as if Rockstar listened to everyone and took all of the best features of each of their games and combined them all into one ambitious project. It is a must have for everyone and I give it a 10 our of 10.
  48. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    El juego es una obra de arte es hermoso en casi todos sus aspectos y lo mejor de todo que la versión de Xbox One X es un deleite gráfico de calidad sin duda alguna la mejor versión de RDR2 es la de la consola de Microsoft con su Xbox One X .
  49. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 truly exceeded even the highest exspectations and proved that Rockstargames still holds the title of being #1 at creating immersive and innovative open-world games. Red Dead Redemption 2 is an experience like no other. This is the game of the generation.
  50. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    ignore all of those fake reviews those are just fanboys who love to hate on rockstar.
  51. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Пекари в очередной раз в унынии, а когда-то орали мол консоли сосо
  52. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Amazing game laughable that some pc gamers spend their time creating fake accounts just to give this game 0/10 scores I'm truly starting to hope it never comes to pc. Not the absolute best game ever made, but really really good.
  53. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Not really a western fan but this game is just amazing from visuals 2 gameplay
  54. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Every once and a while you find a game that is worthy of giving criticism to while also praising it. The game itself is in my opinion a master piece. To me it doesn’t feel like a scripted story. It just feels like you’re watching aurther as he goes through his life and struggles. Along with the gang, if feels like your watching them as they go through their lives rather than just “playing”Every once and a while you find a game that is worthy of giving criticism to while also praising it. The game itself is in my opinion a master piece. To me it doesn’t feel like a scripted story. It just feels like you’re watching aurther as he goes through his life and struggles. Along with the gang, if feels like your watching them as they go through their lives rather than just “playing” a game with a story. You have multiple options of solving problems. Some not all of which is restricted in a button press, it is a truly amazing experience, I have been playing nonstop since Thursday release and iv only just hit 39% story completion and 33% overall completion. The game does a masterful job teaching you the mechanics of the game while you play. So it doesn’t completely feel like aurther just knows how to do anything. Everything aurther learns, you learn. I feel games REALLY fail to deliver this in a way that seamlessly molds with the story. Rather than just being in a “fire fight” and learning things mid battle. You take time to hunt with someone in your gang that knows how to hunt and track. Later on you follow a con man and he teaches you how to pick lock safes. It’s truly amazing.

    While I rated the game a 10 there are indeed some negatives and some other little things that really can ruin it for some people. According to someone in a discord chat if you don’t change clothing, guns and I
  55. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Played all Rockstar games since 2004, GTA, LA NOIRE, RED REVOLVER, RDR, Max Payn, and the RDR2 is the climax of rockstars' expertise in story telling, graphics and open world's management.
    Thank you !
  56. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    It's quite a massive achievement and one of those rare gaming experiences and it's so gigantic it comes on 2 Bluray discs. Whether it be on the PS4 or XBOX One, you're in for a visual treat in this expansive game with great audio and a brilliant soundtrack. I also love how intricate the features are such as being careful when running downhill as a single trip and fall could seriouslyIt's quite a massive achievement and one of those rare gaming experiences and it's so gigantic it comes on 2 Bluray discs. Whether it be on the PS4 or XBOX One, you're in for a visual treat in this expansive game with great audio and a brilliant soundtrack. I also love how intricate the features are such as being careful when running downhill as a single trip and fall could seriously injure you or kill you and the game has you nurturing your bond with your horse as you carefully explore the huge landscape trying not to accidentally injure or kill it all the while keeping yourself, your camp and your horse clean, well fed and staying in good health.

    It's all wonderfuly oldschool where it demands patience from you so you can really appreciate this wonderfully realized world, it's slow paced but held together with deep and well done mechanics where every action feels meaningful and weighty. The attention to detail in absolutely everything will astound you and the atmosphere in this game will stay with you forever.

    My only negative so far is that we had to wait for so long for this kind of gaming experience, RDR2 is a whole new type of open world game which only very few devs can deliver. It will be very interesting to see how Cyberpunk 2077 holds up after experiencing RDR2.

    Just imagine all the best westerns you've ever seen such as Once Upon a Time in the West, Tombstone, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, Unforgiven, Appaloosa, Open Range, The Hateful Eight, Blackthorn, 3:10 to Yuma, True Grit, A Fistful of Dollars, For a Few Dollars More etc and you've summed up what you're getting with RDR2.
  57. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    It is the feeling of realism that makes RDR2 such a great game.

    RDR2 goal is to show you the hard life of an outlaw in these days. It does this with the story missions but the real strengh of RDR2 is how it does this with the world Rockstar created. And what a world this is.

    Masterpiece!!
  58. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 might be first game I came across this generation where I can honestly give it a 10 and not come up with any reasons why it shouldn't be a 10. Know what I mean? For example when God of War released I gave it a 10 but there was a voice in the back of my head that would come up with reasons it doesn't deserve a 10, but it absolutely did. I did not get that at allRed Dead Redemption 2 might be first game I came across this generation where I can honestly give it a 10 and not come up with any reasons why it shouldn't be a 10. Know what I mean? For example when God of War released I gave it a 10 but there was a voice in the back of my head that would come up with reasons it doesn't deserve a 10, but it absolutely did. I did not get that at all with Red Dead. The giant and gorgeous open world is breath taking. That may sound cliche' but I honestly have NO IDEA how Rockstar made everything look SO damn good. The lighting, the shadows, the way the sun pierces the clouds, to the thunderstorms coming from a distance that you can literally see rolling over the hills. It should be illegal how good this game works, and that's an understatement. Some may feel like the world is a bit empty but it really needs to be in some cases. It makes you feel like you are roughing it out in the wilderness, with no one around for miles. Combat is super fun, and of course dead eye is back with a vengeance. This sounds super crazy I know but please before you completely disregard my review hear me out. RDR 2 reminds me so much of Metal Gear Solid 5 TPP, but with a much more coherent story. What I mean by that is like in MGS5 you have a base, or in RDR's case a camp which you can donate money to to upgrade it by adding additional supplies, lodging, ammunition, etc. Before each mission start you choose a load out by standing next to your horse and opening saddle bags to show your inventory. Since you can't carry everything on Arthur (the protagonist) you leave most of it for your horse to carry. A small piece of advice: Upgrade the camp as soon as possible so you can unlock fast travel. If you don't you will have a lot of long horse rides which honestly didn't bother me at all but I kept getting side tracked for hours, so if you are like me you probably want a good way to get about without being sucked into whatever instance out in the wilderness. The attention to detail here would give The Witcher 3 a run for it's money, its insane. You'll be able to figure that out for yourself just by looking up at the sky lol. Combat is super fun and can sometimes be incredibly intense, if not a little sluggish. You know, the normal GTA type character movement. The only gripe I could possibly come up with is the UI. The weapon/item wheel can be a bit confusing, especially while on the horse, but it just takes a bit getting used to. It's not completely un-wielding. Anyway, I don't want to give too much away so I will stop now. What I will say is that I can absolutely guarantee that if you see someone give this game a 1, they are completely and utterly garbage, and have no business writing reviews. I can understand people that just didn't like the game, but to give it a 1? I know no one takes those people seriously (at least anyone even slightly intelligent) but it's just sad to see. SSSSSOOOOOOO much work went into making this game and even though I don't always agree with the direction Rockstar goes sometimes, they always find a way to go above and beyond for every release.
  59. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    The presentation side of the game is simply stunning and both the visuals and sound design create an immersive experience that stays with you throughout. I love a good story and Red Dead Redemption 2 delivers in all areas here keeping things interesting and exciting at all times. There’s a ton of content for you to get to grips with and you will definitely not be getting bored anytime soonThe presentation side of the game is simply stunning and both the visuals and sound design create an immersive experience that stays with you throughout. I love a good story and Red Dead Redemption 2 delivers in all areas here keeping things interesting and exciting at all times. There’s a ton of content for you to get to grips with and you will definitely not be getting bored anytime soon because the content has tons of variety as well. I really enjoyed the world in which the game takes place in because the detail is off the charts and traversing around the nooks and crannies always feels rewarding. Each different mechanic that’s present in the game has been done to perfection and the best thing is that they all feel important and combine together extremely well. There’s plenty of progression to be made in a number of key areas and the way you’re able to interact with NPC’s is very clever and creative to say the least. It does take a while for the game to get going at the start. Overall Red Dead Redemption was a masterpiece in my opinion and without a doubt it was my favorite game that Rockstar had ever done. The reason I say was is because Red Dead Redemption 2 is now my favourite Rockstar game of all time and to say it reached my huge expectations and then some would be a massive understatement. My excitement levels for this game were simply off the charts and after only a few hours with this game it became quite clear that a lot of love and effort has gone into all areas. Visually the game looks superb and when you combine that with the stunning and very immersive sound design you end up experiencing an adventure and story like no other. If that wasn’t enough then you also get mechanics and gameplay that are compelling at all times and you won’t be getting bored anytime soon either because there’s more than enough varied content here to keep you satisfied for a while. In terms of problems the game basically doesn’t have any and apart from a slow start you won’t find any issues within the fantastic world in which the game takes place in. At the end of the day then I can’t recommend Red Dead Redemption 2 enough because it’s took what was good from the first game and improved it while also adding its own unique features, and when it’s all said and done I can definitely see this game ending up being game of the year for 2018, with Tomb Raider coming in 2nd.
  60. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Simplesmente um dos melhores jogos da geração atual, gráficos, história, controles, enfim tudo para se tornar um GOTY. Certos jogos são obrigatórios para qualquer game e RDR2 é um deles
  61. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    First time playing RDR and I must say, this is the best ever game I've ever played. Stunning graphics, amazing history, just a masterpiece!!
  62. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    La mejor version de este juego, siempre en Xbox One X.
    4K HDR reales y no estafados o reescalados como en ps4 pro.
  63. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is one of those rare games that will make your jaw drop saying "Wait? You can do that?" I don't think I have ever seen so much attention to detail in one game before. It's not just for show too, every moment of the game left me with even more things to do. The beauty of it all is that none of the world is overwhelming, but all of it is fun. Red Dead Redemption 2 is aRed Dead Redemption 2 is one of those rare games that will make your jaw drop saying "Wait? You can do that?" I don't think I have ever seen so much attention to detail in one game before. It's not just for show too, every moment of the game left me with even more things to do. The beauty of it all is that none of the world is overwhelming, but all of it is fun. Red Dead Redemption 2 is a game about the journey and the destination. The story captured me, and I was excited to see the ending; yet I enjoyed every step of the way. Red Dead Redemption 2 is a game that we'll look back on for years to come as one of gaming's great classics.
  64. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Best Open World Game 2018. Nothing to complain about graphically and it works very well. If you love open world this is the game for you and the world is massive. I play this on xbox one x and I am very impressed. I usually play on my gaming PC but i have no problem to play this on my xbox one x. I am happy I bought this game and not not f .... 76!
  65. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Increible juego. espectacular. los movimientos del caballo es genial. La nieve esta muy bien lograda
  66. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Лучшая игра за последних 5 лет. А пекашники реально нелюди
  67. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Increíble videojuego, super recomendado para jugar en xbox one x. En latino América es muy costosa la consola, pero vale mucho la pena por todo lo que ofrece, retrocompatibilidad gratis, calidad de servisio, calidad en productos.
  68. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Игра шедевр. 12 Антонов Логвиновых из 10. По поводу "недостатков". 1) Да, нету русской озвучки, но русской озвучки нету и в гта5. 2) Игры нету на ПК, но и первой части тоже нету на ПК.
  69. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Writing this review pretty much to try and balance out at least 1 of the fake reviews or PC users that are raging because it isn't out on PC.

    Not fair whatsoever to this fantastic game or the devs.

    So take this one trolls.
  70. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's not let stupid PC gamers underestimate the game

    Не дадим тупым пк геймерм занизить оценку игры
  71. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    epic game. fantastic graphic and nice views. so many details. you can kill what you want haha. endless open world :D every ride gives much fun.
  72. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    The best game of this console generation. Thank you, Rockstar for this awesome feelings and beautiful story. I love you R*.
  73. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    amazin game, Looks fantastic full immersion Looking forward to online mode.
  74. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I have only just gotten used to hunting in the game, it is huge, just buy it seriously. Not interested in the online component but most likely it will be similar to Rockstar's GTA V Online, full of micro-transactions and toxic 14 year olds, the game gets a 10 because of Rockstar Games's brilliant storytelling and world building.

    Great game, and great story so far!, best on Xbox One X
  75. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    First time playing a RDRD game; I can't believe I missed out on this much fun in the first game. Only flaw is walking/Horse riding can be slowish sometimes. But overall 10/10 can't wait for online mode!
  76. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Reviewed On Playstation 4
    https://www.metacritic.com/user/ReadyFight
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
  77. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Incredible game and with the power of the Xbox One X its like having the graphics and performance of a high end PC.Who needs to spend alot of money on a PC when you can get these results on a home console.Have been playing non stop for hours and am still in awe at what im seeing.I can't recommend getting an Xbox One X along with this game enough.
  78. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    un maravilloso juego y en xbox x aun mejor, la nitidez, el 4k es totalmente real, la experiencia visual es perfecta a diferencia de los dientes de sierra e imagenes borrosas en la pley 4, sin duda la mejor versión y que se le saca el mayor provecho es en la xbox
  79. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Simply the best open world game in the history. Only The Witcher 3 come close. Just do yourself a favour and buy it. Standard edition will give you hundreds of hours of play time. People who scored it lower than 6 are PC users who are mad because they can't buy it. Or they are mentally challenged or blind. Must play.
  80. Oct 27, 2018
    9
    Does exactly what it set out to do. Dont listen to the cry babys. Try it for yourself.
  81. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    la mejor versión del juego 4k reales, muy disfrutable y recomendable para el que pueda hacerse de una xbox one x
  82. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Rockstar ha hecho el mejor juego de su historia y encima este juego estaba especialmente creado para sacar todo el provecho del hardware de xbox one X,que luce a 4k nativo real. Es un juego al cual ademas de tener un modo historia sencillamente espectacular ademas posee una inmensa cantidad de misiones secundarias que te haran que nunca te llegues a aburrir. Obra Maestra para la one X
  83. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This is literally the greatest game ever produced. The sheer amount of detail and polish is unrivaled. My favorite aspect of all rockstar games is the unapologetic social commentary that is ripe with satire and extremely intelligent. Especially when you delve into the stage plays etc. The more you explore everything the world has to offer, the more it tickles your brain. Plus it's simplyThis is literally the greatest game ever produced. The sheer amount of detail and polish is unrivaled. My favorite aspect of all rockstar games is the unapologetic social commentary that is ripe with satire and extremely intelligent. Especially when you delve into the stage plays etc. The more you explore everything the world has to offer, the more it tickles your brain. Plus it's simply fun to play, with plenty of variety in missions and side activities. The gunplay is great. Physics are unrivaled. I knew there would be a group of haters trolling the user scores with inappropriately low numbers. If you are a sophisticated human being, have enjoyed Rockstar worlds in the past, and want a wild west experience that goes beyond non-stop action sequences and truly makes you feel like you are living and breathing the life of an outlaw... you will love this game. The people throwing hate towards this game are either bitter PC gamers or youngsters with short attention spans withdrawing from FORTNITE, who can't handle the slower pace and no launch multiplayer options. For me, i knew exactly what i was getting into with RED DEAD 2, and it certainly delivered.
  84. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Десять из десяти. Почти сутки не могу оторваться, единственное управление лошадью немного неудобное
  85. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Rockstar’s best game yet. I can and will spend more and more hours playing and immersing myself within the world. I have never played such a perfect game before. Game of the year 100%.
  86. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Rockstar sacando lo mejor de esta generacion tanto en xbox y ps4. ojala el entusiasmo fuera de todos los videojugadores.
  87. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Никогда не верьте пользовательским оценкам, игра отличная берите, оценки обвалили недовольные пользователи ПК и недовольные отсутствием родной локализацией
  88. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    just amazing, plz haters chut up ;) this is the best game ever specialy on one x
  89. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    El mejor juego de la generación plays and looks best on the xbox1x true 4k!
  90. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Impresionante como se ve en xbox one x , una delicia poder jugarlo en esta gran consola.
  91. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Rockstar is very difficult to surprise the audience: the games of this company have a stable quality. And the quality is so high that every time you think unwittingly: they say, the next time the developers just somewhere so wrong. However, the company does not give up. Red Dead Redemption 2 was an exceptional Western, though not perfect.
  92. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This is the greatest game ever created in almost every aspect. The attention to detail is mind blowing and I've never entered such an immersive virtual world. Too bad a lot of butthurt PC gamers are whining in the reviews here. Don't be a dick, consoles are a lot cheaper than your PC. Just buy one already.
  93. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The game has an excellent optimization not only on Xbox One X but even in the first Xbox One model; by the way, the Xbox One X is, objectively, the best looking version of the game (you can go and check the reviws and analisis). If I had a Ps4 and could play the game, I'm sure I'll put a 10 too.

    Just a last thing: be more restrictive with the reviews, because there're some people (from
    The game has an excellent optimization not only on Xbox One X but even in the first Xbox One model; by the way, the Xbox One X is, objectively, the best looking version of the game (you can go and check the reviws and analisis). If I had a Ps4 and could play the game, I'm sure I'll put a 10 too.

    Just a last thing: be more restrictive with the reviews, because there're some people (from pc or ps4) that is boycott the user review. I hate the hate to Xbox, this game don't deserve the hate that the users are giving just for the console. RDR2 is a great game, Xbox is a great console, and neither the Ps4 or switch consoles are worst, or the RDR2 version for Ps4 is worst. Remember what make us gamers, this is not a football match, it's a hobby we must share.
  94. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    excelente un maravilloso juego muy entretenido y envolvente gracias rockstar games
  95. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Impresionante, es una auténtica película, si quieres jugar con calidad gráfica la X no defrauda, el juego me está encantando llevo 10 horas y es que ya hacía tiempo que no me enganchaba tanto a un juego, hay juego para rato.
  96. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Didn't play on Xbox One, but i know, that's game is amazing (real score i think 9/10), and i really sorry, that someone people stay this game 0 becouse this game doesn't release on PC

    Уважаемые соотечественники, не позорьтесь. Я также как и вы хочу рдр на пека, потому что на консолях как минимум мыльцо и как максимум отвратительное управление через джойстик (клава + мышь гораздо лучше).
    Didn't play on Xbox One, but i know, that's game is amazing (real score i think 9/10), and i really sorry, that someone people stay this game 0 becouse this game doesn't release on PC

    Уважаемые соотечественники, не позорьтесь. Я также как и вы хочу рдр на пека, потому что на консолях как минимум мыльцо и как максимум отвратительное управление через джойстик (клава + мышь гораздо лучше). Но вы не имеете право что-то требовать. Тем более большая часть орущих на отсутствие ПК версии скачают себе пиратку
  97. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    native 4k is excellent on xboxonex! and motion is real!
    it's my best game ever!
  98. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    El videojuego de Red dead redemption 2 supera bastante a la primera parte. Los de RockStar si pusieron esmero para que el producto salga lo mejor posible. Esta segunda parte, aunque como se sabe es una precuela, brinda una experiencia verdaderamente increíble, es estar en una película del lejano oeste de hace décadas. Se percibe el ambiente hostil y sucio de cómo pudo ser esa época. HayEl videojuego de Red dead redemption 2 supera bastante a la primera parte. Los de RockStar si pusieron esmero para que el producto salga lo mejor posible. Esta segunda parte, aunque como se sabe es una precuela, brinda una experiencia verdaderamente increíble, es estar en una película del lejano oeste de hace décadas. Se percibe el ambiente hostil y sucio de cómo pudo ser esa época. Hay más detalles como el de las relaciones con las personas, con el caballo, con los compañeros de la banda del protagonista, etc. Se puede jugar más de 100 horas con las misiones principales, secundarias, los juegos de mesa, y la exploración. En general es un videojuego conservador, pero lo que importa es la experiencia que gana o adquiere el video jugador. Recomendado.

    In English
    The video game of Red Dead redemption 2 far exceeds the first part. Those of RockStar if they put care so that the product comes out the best possible. This second part, although it is known as a prequel, provides a truly incredible experience, is to be in a film from the distant west of decades ago. It is perceived the hostile and dirty environment of how that era could be. There are more details such as the relationship with people, with the horse, with the companions of the protagonist's band, etc. You can play more than 100 hours with main missions, secondary, board games, and exploration. In general it is a conservative video game, but what matters is the experience that the video player wins or acquires. Recommended.
  99. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    For me, “a game from Rockstar” means the highest quality and many successful innovations, a high level of freedom and interactivity, full immersion in the game, games from R * are not comparable with anything like a stunning, meticulous attitude to creating a game, I haven’t met one studio. And RDR 2 confirms all of the above!
    In short. Pros:
    - a wonderful main character - a huge open
    For me, “a game from Rockstar” means the highest quality and many successful innovations, a high level of freedom and interactivity, full immersion in the game, games from R * are not comparable with anything like a stunning, meticulous attitude to creating a game, I haven’t met one studio. And RDR 2 confirms all of the above!
    In short. Pros:
    - a wonderful main character
    - a huge open world, dynamically living itself,
    - a huge range of drawing,
    - great picture, realistic, excellent lighting and shading (XboxOneX),
    - good sound,
    - very many-sided and varied gameplay,
    - Submission of the plot, well, this was not yet, my respect,
    - A lot of activities, which only cost hunting and fishing, as well as self-care, weapons, horse, camp, pumping stats and a lot of testing from above and not only.
    Minuses:
    - I can hardly find them in this game, everything is perfect.
    This is the world in which you want to live! Thank you so much from Russia Rockstar!
  100. Oct 28, 2018
    8
    Amazingly engrossing game. Let's you live the life of an outlaw. What Skyrim did for immersing you into a medieval fantasy world, this game does for the Old West. Only with about 10 times the polish and fewer bugs that any Bethesda game always has. The graphics on an Xbox One X are simply stunning. All the people giving this a 0 are childish, petty, and sad individuals. Even if you don'tAmazingly engrossing game. Let's you live the life of an outlaw. What Skyrim did for immersing you into a medieval fantasy world, this game does for the Old West. Only with about 10 times the polish and fewer bugs that any Bethesda game always has. The graphics on an Xbox One X are simply stunning. All the people giving this a 0 are childish, petty, and sad individuals. Even if you don't enjoy the setting or pace there's no way an intelligent person can give this game a 0. They're either stupid or just trolls who haven't played it because they can't afford the game or one of the consoles to play it on. It's not perfect, no game is, but it's fun as hell and massive. There is so much content that you are getting your money's worth at least 3x over. If you only buy one game this year, the best value has to be this one. Plus online is coming in November so the content just keeps on coming.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    100
    It doesn’t matter if you are gamer, a human being, or an alien from another planet; Red Dead Redemption 2 is a title that you just can’t miss. The bar set by RDR2 is so high that even Rockstar itself will probably have a hard time raising it. One of the best releases in the history of digital entertainment.
  2. 90
    While it has some notable but minor flaws, it's hard to argue that Red Dead Redemption 2 is not a masterpiece. The end result of the meticulous detail, wonderful writing and stunning looks is an open world that sets a new bar for believability, and a time and place I can't stop thinking about or wanting to be a part of.
  3. 80
    Red Dead Redemption 2’s missteps are few. The autosaving system is a little bit cruel, leading you to replay failed missions not from a pivotal point, but often from the very beginning of the mission or the section; the game should have taken cues from Ubisoft’s Far Cry and implemented far more friendly checkpoint saves. And while horseback riding in this game is largely fantastic, it’s odd to spend so much time tapping a button just to create your horse’s pace. This is intuitive -- but it feels unnecessary at times, too. The entire Red Dead experience, though, feels fantastic overall.