User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1292 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2018
    5
    Great looking game backed up by clumsy, overly complicated, and slow character controls. Even further backed up by 15fps every time a gunfight happens or seeing a vista (not cool when the environment is the best part of the game). Controller mapping so watered down that there are multiple actions linked to a single button depending on what you are doing at the time or standing next to.Great looking game backed up by clumsy, overly complicated, and slow character controls. Even further backed up by 15fps every time a gunfight happens or seeing a vista (not cool when the environment is the best part of the game). Controller mapping so watered down that there are multiple actions linked to a single button depending on what you are doing at the time or standing next to. Don't worry, you don't need to bother remembering them, they know it's rubbish so there are HUD elements all over the place to remind you which buttons do what.

    I never knew there were so many tattle tales in the late 1800's. I can't even shoot my gun into the air in jubilation without it being considered assault... I clear out a gang hideout, someone was able to get away and run crying to the sheriff, that's right, a criminal ran to the sheriff when things went bad for him. It only took the sheriff and a posse 30 seconds to show up and kill me. Might as well just add stars like GTA with cowboys rappelling out of choppers they arrive on the scene so fast. I respawn in the forest to find I have a $50 bounty constantly nagging at me as it takes over the map's cursor icon. Did people actually talk so damn much back then? Everyone has SOO much to say it just comes off as regurgitated story filler. Can they please shut up, or do I really just have to kill them to end the mind numbing back stories each NPC demands the need to share?

    This "game" is hyper-reality overload, in all the bad ways. It's apparent they took so long on this game because it's absolutely full of unwanted features and bloat, which do not add anything of value in my eyes, but only retract from what would have been an amazing experience. I feel like I just took on a second job I have to slog through.

    Why is it so hard to get excited to play this game?
  2. Nov 10, 2018
    5
    The open world is great, the graphics are pretty, the writing is unmitigated trash. The two good parts about the game mentioned above are ruined by the HORRIBLE fps drops. Why is this even on consoles if they can't optimize it to work?

    I didn't think they'd be able to replicate RDR 1, and I was right, but it's still sad.
  3. Oct 31, 2018
    6
    I’ll give it credit for how outstanding the visuals are. The hard work that went into that deserves its praise.

    Aside from that, this game is not fun. It is boring. The controls are terrible. You do dumb tedious things constantly that are not fun. I don’t understand the appeal to this game at all.
  4. Nov 1, 2018
    7
    The main problem is, that it's not a real open world game. If you focus on the main story, like many reviewers and some users do, you will experience a linear and scripted game with almost no freedom. Every time you try something different the missions will fail.

    Controls aren't very good, so it's also hard to recommend the game for that linear story experience. The separate and real
    The main problem is, that it's not a real open world game. If you focus on the main story, like many reviewers and some users do, you will experience a linear and scripted game with almost no freedom. Every time you try something different the missions will fail.

    Controls aren't very good, so it's also hard to recommend the game for that linear story experience.

    The separate and real open world part is done quite well, but it doesn't have enough interesting and coherent/interlocking elements to keep you motivated very long. If you remove the linear story and high production value, it's the usual open world stuff, we've known for years, mixed with light survival elements.

    So what you will get is an average to good open world sandbox for maybe 15-20 hours of random fun and a separate, very scripted and cinematic game with high production value. Both parts have average gameplay and problematic controls. The only highlights and reasons to play the game are its great graphics, atmosphere and story.
  5. Nov 7, 2018
    5
    This game should be called The Sims Western Version or Gta 5.5, I'm kidding lol.
  6. Nov 3, 2018
    7
    The game is made very well - it has great graphics and detailed environment. The glorifying reviews make you think it's a must play for everyone - but it's not. It's suitable for GTA5 and western genre fans. If you're more into fast-paced shooters like Doom, Wolfenstein, Far Cry or adventure games like Last of Us, Tomb Raider, Evil Within 2 and Uncharted, then RDR2 will be extremely boringThe game is made very well - it has great graphics and detailed environment. The glorifying reviews make you think it's a must play for everyone - but it's not. It's suitable for GTA5 and western genre fans. If you're more into fast-paced shooters like Doom, Wolfenstein, Far Cry or adventure games like Last of Us, Tomb Raider, Evil Within 2 and Uncharted, then RDR2 will be extremely boring for you. The story and gameplay are simply too slow, gunplay is clumsy and you'll need a lot of time to get into it and actually see any progress in the story. I know that the reviewers try to make you think that it's not the case with RDR2, but I feel that it is, just like it was with GTA5 for example. So if you have a job, kids and only want to shoot something up before going to bed every night, then this game is not for you, unfortunately.
  7. Nov 5, 2018
    7
    Entertaining game in parts but way too much time spent travelling between locations. Looks great but last one was more fun.
  8. Nov 5, 2018
    7
    Visually superb (except cutscenes), good (not amazing) characters/writing, great music but this game isn't 97/100
    I'm 25 hours in (chapter 4) and so far:
    - too much horse (~ half of the game is about riding your horse from A to B... really?!) not allergic to it but that's simply too much - slow animations (walking in camp, picking up stuff or when stuff happens during missions) and slow
    Visually superb (except cutscenes), good (not amazing) characters/writing, great music but this game isn't 97/100
    I'm 25 hours in (chapter 4) and so far:
    - too much horse (~ half of the game is about riding your horse from A to B... really?!) not allergic to it but that's simply too much
    - slow animations (walking in camp, picking up stuff or when stuff happens during missions) and slow pace in general. Interesting bet but doesn't really trigger anything outside of frustration and boredom.
    - game forces you to play the good guy - rewards you by doing so (discounts in shops, no bounty hunters to harass you - which is a good thing as most of them are magical bounty hunters with teleporting abilities) and punishes you if you don't; go make $100 with robbing a train and you'll get a $200 bounty. You can pay it or go to jail for 2 minutes to repay those $200 (and the killing 17 persons). Reality simulation often has its limits.
    - clumsy controls (the wheel thing.. misleading tutorials etc) and frequent collision glitches (horse+tree... horse+rock... horse+dude walking on the street etc). Very 2008.
    - gang life: you do 95% of the heavylifting for a gang of 20 persons.. wtf. Don't get the point of buying camp upgrades and/or give more money. After 20+ hours of gameplay you don't really get WHY you're doing all this for them
    - it's not original. if you played RDR1 and Far Cry 4 or 5 you won't be lost to say the least.. Not really a pb if it's your first Rockstar game. It's the more Rockstar game ever made.
    - most importantly this game isn't super fun to play which imho is the biggest pb here. It's Far Cry/GTA funny maybe 50% of the time.. the rest is frustration of horse riding, reloading some checkpoint and retry some (very scripted) mission, chores, taking your stuff before leaving your horse etc RDR1 was more fun. GTA5 (campaign) is more fun.

    It remains interesting to play and enjoyable overall but 7 ouf of 10 it is. Not 10.
    A fun online experience may bump it to 8.
  9. Oct 30, 2018
    6
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is an amazing game that is plagued with an outdated control scheme and a bounty system that needs some understanding.

    Save a few exceptions, in gaming controls are paramount. A perfect score with this wretched classic Rockstar control scheme is mind-boggling. In 2001 Rockstar graced the world with Grand Theft Auto 3 and this control setup. We tripped over ledges,
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is an amazing game that is plagued with an outdated control scheme and a bounty system that needs some understanding.

    Save a few exceptions, in gaming controls are paramount. A perfect score with this wretched classic Rockstar control scheme is mind-boggling. In 2001 Rockstar graced the world with Grand Theft Auto 3 and this control setup. We tripped over ledges, fell off buildings, ran into fences. This isn't 2001. This isn't the PS2-era. Controls have greatly evolved. Should we just accept it cause we've used this mess for so long?

    Here are some basic issues that anyone playing will experience with the controls:
    -RT to Aim... but only sometimes, and sometimes it just shoots
    -Walking, Riding on horseback, or on a coach becomes a spam the A button simulator
    -While riding and spamming A, add in LB to open a menu + RB to change pages + R-stick in the direction to highlight + RT/LT to cycle items let go of LB to select - really? I haven't had to do this much hand yoga since I've played Monster Hunter on the PSP.
    -RB to take cover, but sometimes you climb on top of cover with RB... completely exposed for the world to see!
    -Animation queues can be painfully long after a button press, so your actions can be very slow to initiate.
    -Getting the target for looting isn't always easy and you may need to re-approach again and again

    In addition to the control scheme comes the Wanted/Bounty system. It can be exceptionally touchy, and not so clear. For example while riding and trying to avoid an everyday bystander, you go out of your way to avoid them but due to the controls inadvertently bump into them. This could easily lead to assault, with a witness that runs off, which then escalates because you try to chase them down to prevent it being reported and well... even more chaos ensues. Suddenly you have an outrageous bounty on your head, which wouldn't be so bad if making money in the game was a bit easier (which it is not), or if the bounty decayed over time (which it does not). So you're left as a Wanted Man only to ensure that your debt to society will grow way faster than the funds in your pocket ever could.
    So anytime there is an incident occurring with a potential bounty? I just close the game and hope the last auto save wasn't too long ago.

    After closing the software sometimes I come back right away, but it seems each time I close the game because of this, the break I take grows longer. I'm still hyped enough to push on, and hope to finish it, but it is starting to feel like I'm punishing myself to a degree.

    The world is absolutely beautiful and so incredibly engaging. Everything you've seen and possibly read about it cannot do it justice. It's quite unreal how this world can be so real!
    This afternoon while living the real life, I saw a squirrel by my car outside and immediately wanted to get my bow... because RDR2 genuinely fooled me for a moment! However, the flock of birds I saw later in the day didn't fool me, but I still thought of Red Dead.

    Still, as beautiful as this world is, I cannot forgive Rockstar for these controls. If Mega Man or Mario played like this, there would be pitchforks and fire... Rockstar might just need a good slap to look at this outdated control scheme. Beautiful, realistic, and fantastical... but 10/10? Naaaaaaah.
  10. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    I just seems redundant now, leaving my review. Everything has already been said.
    Probably the best world that has been created in a videogame but maybe a little shallow when it comes to the actual content.
    Once you get past the graphical awe, which is possible for you teen 10/10 people, there are some really bad flaws. It's just so awkward and clunky and tbh my little pony companion app
    I just seems redundant now, leaving my review. Everything has already been said.
    Probably the best world that has been created in a videogame but maybe a little shallow when it comes to the actual content.
    Once you get past the graphical awe, which is possible for you teen 10/10 people, there are some really bad flaws.
    It's just so awkward and clunky and tbh my little pony companion app could have been released separately.
    Maybe the online will do it justice (pun intended) but until then it's just so samey, mundane and expected.
    It's ok but i'm not impressed at all with the mechanics and the campaign as a whole
  11. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    It's not a bad game but the gameplay is an outdated one. It by no means a 10 out of 10:

    - "Realism" is annoying. I hate watching Ioot, skin and cook animations 100 times. - Parking a horse or picking up something is frustrating as you have to stand in the exact right position to do so. - 75% of the game time it takes riding to the destination to play the game a bit. - The cover
    It's not a bad game but the gameplay is an outdated one. It by no means a 10 out of 10:

    - "Realism" is annoying. I hate watching Ioot, skin and cook animations 100 times.
    - Parking a horse or picking up something is frustrating as you have to stand in the exact right position to do so.
    - 75% of the game time it takes riding to the destination to play the game a bit.
    - The cover system, menu system and controls are retrograde
  12. Oct 31, 2018
    5
    DULL, DULL... is Arthur... he is a dullard... noting interesting about him whatsoever... well into Chapter 2 and NOTHING memorable has happened other then excessive horseback riding and accidental shooting of folks because the "interact with folks" button is the SAME BUTTON as shoot... what-the-heck??? Very, very disappointed. I was killed, failed a mission, returned to camp, and MY TENTDULL, DULL... is Arthur... he is a dullard... noting interesting about him whatsoever... well into Chapter 2 and NOTHING memorable has happened other then excessive horseback riding and accidental shooting of folks because the "interact with folks" button is the SAME BUTTON as shoot... what-the-heck??? Very, very disappointed. I was killed, failed a mission, returned to camp, and MY TENT WAS GONE... what-the-heck? and what a miserable way to get access to the map... some menus you'll need to back out with 4-5 button pushes just to return to the game... ugh!... and can I PLEASE skip the overlong skinning scenes... I simply don't want to hunt because I know it just slows down the slow tempo even more. there doesn't seem to be a way to brake my horse, which results in me running over or past folks... went from a 6 to a 5. absolutely nothing wow.
    ==========
    BORING... I played about 8 hours (after the initial 2 hour mostly QuickTime session) and found nothing interesting or compelling. You end of at a camp and stroll around looking for something to do. Go into town, have a little scuffle, go to the stores where you don't have nearly enough money to buy anything useful, go back to camp, stroll around. Doesn't come close to Horizon Zero Dawn, God of War, and even Shadow of the Tomb Raider in terms of intriguing. Not looking for crazy action, just something that engages me to want to play... will try for a little longer to see if something interesting happens that is more than just running errands.
  13. Nov 1, 2018
    7
    The game is good, maybe even great but definitely not excellent as many people say it is. Many aspects are astonishing and excellent like the wildlife, the amount of detail put in the world and in the things that you can do, the exploration, the well written story, the charachters etcetera. That alone is enough to make the game fairly enyojable and does do a lot for the total experience.The game is good, maybe even great but definitely not excellent as many people say it is. Many aspects are astonishing and excellent like the wildlife, the amount of detail put in the world and in the things that you can do, the exploration, the well written story, the charachters etcetera. That alone is enough to make the game fairly enyojable and does do a lot for the total experience. However, many aspects of the game lack that same attention to detail, such as lack of a proper fast travel system (not the one currently in game), the tedious and overly slow animations, and most importantly the absolutely terrible, terrible controls. I will elaborately explain how the controls bring down the game.

    The controls are of the most clunky, messy, delayed and annoying kind I may have ever experienced. Not only does this, combined with slow animations, make simple actions a chore, such as walking around in your camp or picking up items/searching areas, but it ruins the combat system. The controls make the combat system miserably bad and ruin the game to a great extent for me personally. The clunky controls make aiming at enemies incredibly frustrating and hard to do in free aim. This means you are forced to choose lock-on, which is a very unsatifsying way of shooting enemies and makes it feel as if the game is playing itsself for you. That is not fun.

    Another blow to the combat system is the delayed and slow animations. This will make you perform an action which the character carries out so slow or delayed, you think you didn't press the according button or push the joystick all the way so often you will either do it again or adjust your charachter by performing another action. However the game will register all these actions leading up to Arthur doing anything but that which you want him to do, and there you go, you screw up and get killed or injured badly. Another example: the game's abundant focus on the need to lock onto things, so that it can decide whether or not to give you the options to carry out an action on a person or an object, also means that you will often have to look at something, press L2 and then another button to carry out an action of choice. Not only is this intricate when trying to combine multiple actions in a hurry, it also ruins the combat system because the game often goes its own way and doesn't know what you want to do in a firefight. Like when you try to shoot an enemy but the game locks onto your horse because it is onscreen at the same time and near the enemy. By the time you can react to this you get shot dead. Great. Rockstar could and should easily be able to patch something like this, and I truly hope they do so that they can allow us players to enjoy the game as intended, fighting the enemies rather than the controls.
  14. Oct 29, 2018
    6
    Open world is not as open as BOTW or minecraft nothing revolutionary. Cannot steal as many things as in GTA. NPC will give you a wanted status because of clunky controls. Hunting is pointless as if you do some missions your hunted animals disappear. This does not diserve 97% rating from critics as this is not up to par with open world greats such as the witcher skyrim BOTW or evenOpen world is not as open as BOTW or minecraft nothing revolutionary. Cannot steal as many things as in GTA. NPC will give you a wanted status because of clunky controls. Hunting is pointless as if you do some missions your hunted animals disappear. This does not diserve 97% rating from critics as this is not up to par with open world greats such as the witcher skyrim BOTW or even minecraft. No one should be shooting at you over a $7.50 bounty. And the camp and getting to know all of the stupid friends aurthor has is very dumb and time consuming. I wish i could return this game but i bought the digital edition and the game doesnt actually start until you get off of the mountain. I cannot believe it took rockstar 5 years to com out with this overrated game.
  15. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    Huge fan of Rockstar. Love Red Dead 1 and all of the GTA's. Been hyped for this game for a long time.

    The graphics are stunning. Great attention to detail. Story telling is well done and organic. Love the fact that *Spoiler Alert* John Marston is in the game! That really helps. Once you get passed the graphics, you see a game that is more of a chore to play and not THAT fun.
    Huge fan of Rockstar. Love Red Dead 1 and all of the GTA's. Been hyped for this game for a long time.

    The graphics are stunning. Great attention to detail. Story telling is well done and organic. Love the fact that *Spoiler Alert* John Marston is in the game! That really helps.

    Once you get passed the graphics, you see a game that is more of a chore to play and not THAT fun. The auto aim makes the game very easy, especially since you can mark your spots and slow down time. The mundane animations are a huge time suck. Do I have to watch this guy skin EVERY animal with such detail? Do I have to wait +5 seconds to search a through a drawer...twice over? Do I have to ride a horse 5-10 minutes to the destinations before every mission? I appreciate realism in a game, but there is a fine line when it comes to this and having fun. There are many times you can not sprint to the destination because you must listen to some type of story. This is important obviously to follow a story, but also exhausting. Let's get to the action!

    The controls are fine. I like diving in and out of cover max payne style. I'm still only on Chapter 4 so there is much to see. I'm sure fast travel will be more accessible. My early impressions are that this game is one of the best looking games and has a immersive story. This is a game though and to me is lacking in the fun department. I give this game a 7.5-8.0 rating. Definitely not a 10.
  16. Oct 27, 2018
    5
    Only playable on the Xbox One X, if you have the Xbox One S or the original Xbox One then don't bother as it runs terrible with low fps
  17. Oct 26, 2018
    5
    The story telling of the game is top notch and the atmosphere is great, but I bought this game after sinking tons of time into the original Red Dead so that was expected. What was not expected was just how completely awful the controls and mechanics of this game are. The gun fighting felt clunky and underdeveloped, gunfights without cover are pointless because the enemies demolish you,The story telling of the game is top notch and the atmosphere is great, but I bought this game after sinking tons of time into the original Red Dead so that was expected. What was not expected was just how completely awful the controls and mechanics of this game are. The gun fighting felt clunky and underdeveloped, gunfights without cover are pointless because the enemies demolish you, NPC's start fights with you and shoot if you accidentally get in their way on the road, the main character needs to play fetch and do chores after every mission, and the home camp is apparently completely incapable of doing anything for themselves. The worst part is that I will bet the cost of the game that once online comes out single player won't get a single update to fix the clear and present issues. As is, this game deserves nowhere near a 98 rating and it is pretty clear how and why it is getting that kind of rating.
  18. Oct 30, 2018
    7
    Ehh, want to give this game an 8 but I can't make myself do it because that would be wrong. When companies and news articles say, "this game is gonna be 2x the size of the prequel" do not get your hopes up. If you like running with a horse for 10 min from county to county, this is the game for you.

    The only thing this game has for you is attention to details, story and graphics. But
    Ehh, want to give this game an 8 but I can't make myself do it because that would be wrong. When companies and news articles say, "this game is gonna be 2x the size of the prequel" do not get your hopes up. If you like running with a horse for 10 min from county to county, this is the game for you.

    The only thing this game has for you is attention to details, story and graphics. But everything gets blown away when you find out that this game becomes unrelenting and tedious to some extent. So much so that you will get annoyed and angry at the game mechanics this game has to offer.

    This game really disappointed me when I was getting **** game mechanics like fast traveling, horse riding, and the GOD DAMN BOUNTY HUNTERS RUINING MY GOD DAMN EXPERIENCE BY SHOWING UP RANDOMLY AND SHOOT AT ME. I know what you are going to say, but because of the robbing that you must do in order for you to progress at the game makes it much harder to pay your bounty because you are broke and gave everything to the camp so you could upgrade it.

    Fast traveling from camp works only one way and not back. If you need something from the camp, expect 2-3 min of horse riding which also gets tedious after awhile

    Ohh and bugs, lots of bugs. Worse than GTA V.
  19. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    Ok, for those of you who haven't played it yet, here's my honest take without a bunch of obvious observation.

    What I feel while playing (25 hours in): -I frequently wondering what i should do next (doesn't feel smooth for a good story) -obviously, i'm enjoying it given the time i've spent on it -no real drive to go run a side mission to get $25 after you've made a few big heists
    Ok, for those of you who haven't played it yet, here's my honest take without a bunch of obvious observation.

    What I feel while playing (25 hours in):

    -I frequently wondering what i should do next (doesn't feel smooth for a good story)
    -obviously, i'm enjoying it given the time i've spent on it
    -no real drive to go run a side mission to get $25 after you've made a few big heists
    -highly scripted with boring cut scenes that i'd like to skip (something I can do in other games.
    -when the action starts, im constantly looking at directions (go shoot from that window etc...)
    -right now i feel like making THE big heist seems pointless since I have yet to find a way to upgrade/spend the money) this is a big downside unless it changes later on.
    - the characters are the closest thing to feeling like im living as a gunslinger, but just when i think there is a growing bond between characters, the next encounter with them is like we hardly know each other.
    -yes the game play mechanics are odd, but i can deal with that. Wish the shooting was more satisfying...
    -just when i get used to my horse and its trusting me, it gets killed and doesn't come back to life like my character does.
    -looting is annoyingly slow and that same old problem of being in just the right place to click loot/take

    i'd give it a 7.5/10. Its enjoyable and has a little something for everyone's taste, but I was expecting more given the time that it took to make it.

    Maybe it will ramp up and clear some of these issues by the time im done...hope so!
  20. Oct 27, 2018
    5
    Reasons for my score:

    - Controls are slow and sticky. Responsive time appears delayed. - Interface is non-intuitive. Too many steps to perform any task. - Long and tedious tutorial. - Dialogue almost appears to being used as a replacement for loading screens. Every time you go from point A to point B, there is some long story being told. To sum up, the overall game seems to
    Reasons for my score:

    - Controls are slow and sticky. Responsive time appears delayed.

    - Interface is non-intuitive. Too many steps to perform any task.

    - Long and tedious tutorial.

    - Dialogue almost appears to being used as a replacement for loading screens.
    Every time you go from point A to point B, there is some long story being told.

    To sum up, the overall game seems to lacks any cohesion. It literally feels like one long and tedious tutorial. So many of the game mechanics are not relayed to you until you happen to come across them while exploring, so you end up feeling so lost. And this keeps taking you out of the game experience. Only reason I gave this game a "5" is because the environment is beautiful. I waited so long for this game as I considered Red Dead Redemption to be a masterpiece. It feels like they had all the pieces to make an amazing game, but rushed at the very end to put them together. Ultimately, I could handle the drawn out dialogue and the confusing direction, but the slow and painful responsive of the controls and interface, was just too much for me. While I appreciate not everybody will share my opinions, I seriously cannot understand the 10/10 scores. I get the critics are bought off, but the users?
  21. Nov 2, 2018
    7
    Best looking game I have ever played and the most boring game i have ever played. I feel asleep in my chair two times playing this game but after the first 5 hours it takes off. you get used to the controls and find the rhythm of the game. Most games are like playing a movie but this game is like playing a book.
  22. Oct 31, 2018
    6
    I'll give it a 6 out of 10. The visuals and audio are fantastic. However, the travel time is overly burdensome, even with cinematic mode on. Shame to have to play 20+ hours before fast travel is available. The major problem I have with the game, aside from online multiplayer not being available for at least a month, is the following:

    I believe the most important aspect of a video game
    I'll give it a 6 out of 10. The visuals and audio are fantastic. However, the travel time is overly burdensome, even with cinematic mode on. Shame to have to play 20+ hours before fast travel is available. The major problem I have with the game, aside from online multiplayer not being available for at least a month, is the following:

    I believe the most important aspect of a video game is that it must have the option where, if I can get good enough at the game, I can make a living playing professionally. Examples of these include: League of Legends, Dota 2, Hearthstone, Overwatch, Fortnite, CS GO.

    This game does not have that possibility, so it's basically just time invested for no potential monetary return.
  23. Oct 26, 2018
    5
    Playing a Rockstar game is like playing a blast from the past, similar to playing World of Warcraft. All the old gaming mechanics that have been left behind by most for decades, like twitch-reflex challenges coupled with checkpoints that you have to keep retrying, reams of quest text, and being penalized for going off of designated paths during escort missions instead of being able to pickPlaying a Rockstar game is like playing a blast from the past, similar to playing World of Warcraft. All the old gaming mechanics that have been left behind by most for decades, like twitch-reflex challenges coupled with checkpoints that you have to keep retrying, reams of quest text, and being penalized for going off of designated paths during escort missions instead of being able to pick your own route, are here and kicking. Hi there 1996!

    These things are "old fashioned" because games these days use a lot of super interesting stuff about psychology to stay engaging, and older games just didn't. They keep you in the same general frame of mind throughout most of the experience, and if you have to change to feeling more tense or more relaxed, it's a gentle transition with lots of signals. On the other hand, Red Dead Redemption 2 is all over the place. You'll be sitting through a 10-minute horse ride sequence with everyone talking and talking (I know it's supposed to be 'character development', but seeing another set of rolling foothills in another video game just isn't interesting anymore, no matter how pretty they are now), and then suddenly you'll need to instantly have the controller in your hands and shoot five guys really fast or you'll die -- and if you die, you have to watch THE ENTIRE CUTSCENE OVER AGAIN! This was sadistic years ago, and moments like these in games got panned universally by critics. Now it just looks like whoever is running Rockstar has a vendetta against the way that modern games act, and is forcing their philosophies down everyone's throats and power tripping off of it.

    Also, I'm sorry, but the scriptwriting in Rockstar games is just plain insulting. They make some of the most mature, violent games around, and they have some of the best camera cinematics, great music, great understanding of technique. But the characters all sound very game-y, saying things like "shucks" and other stereotypical 'Western' words a little too often to be believed. The prime example is when Penny Arcade made fun of your friend in GTA4 asking if you want to go see the strip joint with the "Big American Tee Tees!" I mean, who talks like that? Who actually says 'big american' anything in a sentence? Usually people are more subtle, indirect, joke around a little bit. There's adultness, nuance, signs of life experience. I found the characters in RDR2, and indeed most Rockstar games, to be lacking any signs of adult life experience, and thus impossible to believe.

    For a *good* example of an old sandbox series that's been revitalized, I'd suggest checking out AC Odyssey, which I've also been playing. If any Rockstar devs read this, please give it a try. I loved the "Prince of Persia" quest near the start of the game, where you visit places around the world and then a mysterious character tells you about their past. It's pretty quick to finish, and despite talking about some really farfetched and heady things, the NPC sounds truly wise and grizzled throughout, instead of sounding like a caricature. On the other hand, pretty much everyone in RDR2 is a really obvious caricature.

    Also, AC Odyssey shows how to modernize an old game's interface to new standards - let a player walk and climb anywhere, why do you need terrain barriers when making things inconvenient is good enough? And most of all, streamline the quest system. What to do and where to go should be obvious and constant. It's 2018, why do we need to traverse the entire map twice just to talk to a quest giver? Receiving quests instantly (through the mail, perhaps?) is a shorthand that most players are fine with, that doesn't break most people's immersion.

    I hope it doesn't sound like I'm spending an entire review talking about another game. I'm just pointing out that in a lot of ways, RDR2 is a reboot of a pretty ancient video game, and it was also a chance for Rockstar to revamp and 'reboot' their storytelling style for the new, modern, 4K/HDR generation, and for all the new gamers who might be playing a Rockstar game for the first time. Instead they look totally incompetent to me, with dialogue that insults your intelligence and a core "game loop" that hasn't been updated since GTA1 basically.

    It also enrages me sometimes that all of the main gaming publications seemingly have to give these games good ratings "or else", because it destroys my trust in writers I like. When I get used to a reviewer's personality and trust their deep thoughtful opinions on something, and then they give the latest GTA/RDR a glowing review even though I don't think they actually liked it (for example, if it doesn't seem consistent with their personality for them to like it), I briefly hate the world and feel like everything's a lie, and I get upset that all the publications fall in line the way they do.

    Rockstar has some very talented people. But in general, they're a toxic "bad actor", made even worse because everyone acts like they can do no wrong.
  24. Oct 27, 2018
    6
    I dont understand the hybe for such game its not bad by all means but it doesn't feel like a rockstar game for me at least
  25. Oct 26, 2018
    7
    I've seen several gameplays of this game, but ... it's a bit boring, it's a copy of Grand Theft Auto V, but only in the old west and instead of cars they are horses
  26. Oct 26, 2018
    7
    It's a great game but it's really feels like GTA V with a lot of mods like a lot of people said, also the gameplay is pretty much the same as GTA V. The story is decent and really boring at times, also you stuck at a tutorial missions for at least 3 hours in the beginning of the game. The hunting which takes almost 50% of this game is really basic and really feels like FarCry games. TheIt's a great game but it's really feels like GTA V with a lot of mods like a lot of people said, also the gameplay is pretty much the same as GTA V. The story is decent and really boring at times, also you stuck at a tutorial missions for at least 3 hours in the beginning of the game. The hunting which takes almost 50% of this game is really basic and really feels like FarCry games. The map is really huge with few cities and huge empty green areas.
    Also WHY THE F*CK IS RUNNING ON 846P on the original XONE and the S and running on a native 1080p on the original PS4 and The slim considering the Xone s has better specs than the original ps4. I feel like this is Microsoft Idea to make it run like that on these two and make it run at a native 4K at the X.
  27. Nov 11, 2018
    7
    This is insanely overhyped by both gamers and the media. The game is good, but there are severe issues. Graphics are one of them, of course poor console hardware is to blame, but they should not be parading this thing as the holy grail of graphics, because it's not. When and if, a PC version is released we can discuss it.
    The other big issue I have is the characters. They are not
    This is insanely overhyped by both gamers and the media. The game is good, but there are severe issues. Graphics are one of them, of course poor console hardware is to blame, but they should not be parading this thing as the holy grail of graphics, because it's not. When and if, a PC version is released we can discuss it.
    The other big issue I have is the characters. They are not likeable, these are felons and criminals. Even if you like the western theme, Rockstar seems to have a fixation with crime that is not healthy at all. Good stories can be about thieves in the old west, but this is not one of them.
    Third and last, the strategy of early console release to force people into buying the game twice should be denounced heavily.
  28. Nov 11, 2018
    7
    Here we have 2 games in 1: a wonderful open world, 10 star, and a frustrating linear story and push button to continue, 4 star. The scripted story requires to press A, holding A else the mission fails. No freedom to get out of the script, worse than Telltales's stories. Many instances this game will treat you as an idiot with a mental age of 4 years. So if you wish have fun, play the openHere we have 2 games in 1: a wonderful open world, 10 star, and a frustrating linear story and push button to continue, 4 star. The scripted story requires to press A, holding A else the mission fails. No freedom to get out of the script, worse than Telltales's stories. Many instances this game will treat you as an idiot with a mental age of 4 years. So if you wish have fun, play the open world, but do not play the fishing, and buy a hammer and place on the A button to follow the story as the useless dialogues on horseback while watching tv. The fishery? This activity requires that you damage the right joystick gear or have corns on the big toe by turning very and quickly. Forget it.

    Warning: when your horse, even on autopilot, stumbles on a tree/rock and falls, hold on and do not throw the hammer on the TV. The horses do not see trees in this game.

    I believe that reviews writers do not play this game for over 1 hour. They did review about the demo or the trailer. Impossible to give 100 score to that game after you play it.

    Numbers: 70% of the story, 60% fun, threw the control on the wall 20 times, broke 3 TVs, and was arrested 1 time for throwing the console out the window and breaking a car. I have fun.
  29. Nov 13, 2018
    7
    I have loved every single rockstar game since GTA 3, and this game is no exception to the rule. You can tell that there was a whole lot of effort put into this title and it is understandable as to why it took so long to release. The vistas are gorgeous, the story and acting is excellent, and the amount of things you are able to do in the game are literally endless.

    Unfortunately, there
    I have loved every single rockstar game since GTA 3, and this game is no exception to the rule. You can tell that there was a whole lot of effort put into this title and it is understandable as to why it took so long to release. The vistas are gorgeous, the story and acting is excellent, and the amount of things you are able to do in the game are literally endless.

    Unfortunately, there are some glaringly obvious flaws with the game, the two major flaws for me are: the incredibly awful pacing for the storyline, there were some really fun missions alongside some really boring tedious missions, and it was hard for me to keep my attention on it and keep playing it sometimes, the other major flaw is the absolutely abysmal character movement and cover system that leave a lot to be desired.

    + Excellent story
    + Great voice acting
    + Great soundtrack
    + Lots of side activities
    + Gorgeous world
    + Some really fun missions
    + Extensive list of animals, customization options, clothing, etc.

    - Awful pacing in story
    - Incredibly boring missions and side quests here and there
    - Abysmal and clunky character movement and cover systems
    - Post game epilogue and explorable areas are less than interesting

    Overall, it is a great game, and a good effort put forward by Rockstar, but it is not their best effort. Felt more like a really long movie and less like a fun video game at some points. Looking forward to GTA 6.
  30. Nov 13, 2018
    7
    A stunning game, for sure. But more importantly, so many missed opportunities. The worst for me is how clunky the controls are. Nothing feels natural, the game needs to explain every command and many times during the game.

    Then there's the world. it is beautiful, sure, but it was inspired by some of the world's most breathtaking locations, namely the American west. And to be honest,
    A stunning game, for sure. But more importantly, so many missed opportunities. The worst for me is how clunky the controls are. Nothing feels natural, the game needs to explain every command and many times during the game.

    Then there's the world. it is beautiful, sure, but it was inspired by some of the world's most breathtaking locations, namely the American west. And to be honest, RDR2's locations never give you that awe. And before you say it's a game it's not the same, well many games have accomplished it, so this is not an excuse.

    Luckily, the writing is simply excellent. But even then, the quests never feel like a big deal, but that's not such a problem. I wish I had a bit more guidance in what i am supposed to do next but then, the writing more than makes up for that particular problem.

    As much as i hate saying this, I must admit RDR2 is way too overrated. it's clearly an excellent game but a new Witcher 3 this isn't.
  31. Nov 12, 2018
    5
    -Chasing The Witcher 3, they just went too far.-

    The creation of Red Dead Redemption 2 is a marvel of physical beauty, astonishingly true humanistic creativity and technical prowess I don't think we've EVER seen in a video game before... And I hope we never do again. There will be no doubt others that are going to do justice to graphical fidelity or how well the framerate works
    -Chasing The Witcher 3, they just went too far.-

    The creation of Red Dead Redemption 2 is a marvel of physical beauty, astonishingly true humanistic creativity and technical prowess I don't think we've EVER seen in a video game before...

    And I hope we never do again.

    There will be no doubt others that are going to do justice to graphical fidelity or how well the framerate works (or doesn't), or how well unique things like combat mechanics work, I want to focus on the one thing that makes this game unplayable: The purpose.

    This is a game about playing a human life, and it has no place in Video Games ever.

    Rockstar is one of the most intuitive minded developers on the planet creating full worlds filled to the brim with things to do or places to see, even relationships to build (or destroy). RDR2 takes this so close to actual human life here that they quite literally flew too close to the sun and fell to the earth. And that is something not necessary in games, where the illusion of 'not-reality' takes precedent.

    There is just an absurd amount of interdependent mechanics to be found here that if you were to utilize them all, you might never leave. It becomes unnerving when personal hygiene can ruin a hunt (because you smell, bad) that eating (well or poorly) will affect your overall ability to survive, things like washing your horse can play a factor. And these are but a handful of things that ultimately make this game something akin to the Uncanny Valley and it's uncomfortable.

    As I wrote above, ever since CD Projekt Red's Witcher 3, there's been this unspoken charge to one-up it. Sometimes it misses the mark (Oh Hai AC Oddesy), other times they get damn close, but end up making something of their own (Horizon: Zero Dawn), RDR2 took it beyond that and is what ruined the game. It took it to "Ludicrous Speed" and lost itself because of it. It's a true marvel of video game development, and if you can get yourself past this you'll mine it for perhaps a life-changing experience, but I think because of how far Rocksteady took it, most will bypass it and never want to see it's ilk ever again.

    Still, if you DO want to play it on a console and want the absolute best experience (both in game and graphics), the Xbox One X is the best experience followed by the PS4 Pro and then both the original ps4 and finally the base Xbox One. I think though; this is a bridge too far.
  32. Nov 14, 2018
    7
    I had a ton of hope for this game but was overall disappointed. At 2-3 hours in I noticed that the game wasn't fun, and was borderline a chore to play. I was able to make my experience better by solely focusing on the main story, but even then the game's faults were at times glaringly obvious. It took me about 60 hours to complete the main story.

    Pros: Beautiful world Great main
    I had a ton of hope for this game but was overall disappointed. At 2-3 hours in I noticed that the game wasn't fun, and was borderline a chore to play. I was able to make my experience better by solely focusing on the main story, but even then the game's faults were at times glaringly obvious. It took me about 60 hours to complete the main story.

    Pros:
    Beautiful world
    Great main story
    Good Immersion

    Cons:
    You spend a ridiculous amount of time riding your horse from point A to point B.
    The horse has no intelligence and will run headfirst into a tree or jump off a cliff to its death.
    Game-play mechanics are clunky, especially in gunfights.
    Animations for looting, skinning an animal etc take too long.
    More often than not there is not enough time to loot enemies without failing your mission.
    Weapon load-outs get reset every time you ride your horse.
    Your active weapon gets reset every time you interact with an object.
    Overly scripted and offers very little choice.
    Situational restrictions on character actions break immersion.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    100
    It doesn’t matter if you are gamer, a human being, or an alien from another planet; Red Dead Redemption 2 is a title that you just can’t miss. The bar set by RDR2 is so high that even Rockstar itself will probably have a hard time raising it. One of the best releases in the history of digital entertainment.
  2. 90
    While it has some notable but minor flaws, it's hard to argue that Red Dead Redemption 2 is not a masterpiece. The end result of the meticulous detail, wonderful writing and stunning looks is an open world that sets a new bar for believability, and a time and place I can't stop thinking about or wanting to be a part of.
  3. 80
    Red Dead Redemption 2’s missteps are few. The autosaving system is a little bit cruel, leading you to replay failed missions not from a pivotal point, but often from the very beginning of the mission or the section; the game should have taken cues from Ubisoft’s Far Cry and implemented far more friendly checkpoint saves. And while horseback riding in this game is largely fantastic, it’s odd to spend so much time tapping a button just to create your horse’s pace. This is intuitive -- but it feels unnecessary at times, too. The entire Red Dead experience, though, feels fantastic overall.