User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1301 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2018
    4
    Why not such a great rating? The world is Amazing, immersive and an absolute masterpiece. The acting is incredible and the story line is interesting. All of this doesn't matter however when the controls are equally horrible. The character actions are not smooth like pretty much any game out there and definitely not as smooth as AC odyssey. This ruins the immersion of this beautiful game.Why not such a great rating? The world is Amazing, immersive and an absolute masterpiece. The acting is incredible and the story line is interesting. All of this doesn't matter however when the controls are equally horrible. The character actions are not smooth like pretty much any game out there and definitely not as smooth as AC odyssey. This ruins the immersion of this beautiful game. Much of the time you will feel frustrated because of the clunkyness of the controls especially during action scenes. It's almost like you feel disconnected from the avatar. The Avatar is also slow as in it's like playing a 70 year old man. Because Rockstar can't seem to get it together with controls and clunkyness of their game's characters so this will not be fixed anytime soon if ever. What's worse is they don't allow the player to fully customize the controls themselves and reassign the buttons. Deadeye requires to push both sticks in but the problem is you could find yourself crouching as well because the left stick pushed in is also the crouch... The movement stick is good for walking forward but not running because you have to push a button for that... the LB is used for taking out your gun but it's also used for inventory wheel so you can accidentally pull out your gun on people.. the whole scheme is just horrible and I quit playing after 40 hours. Also your Avatar grows hair faster than Big Foot and it seems the overall time in the game could be slowed down by double of what it is. I tried fishing, hunting, robbing some of the wonderful story line and is great but I just got tired of the BS controls ripping me out of the immersion and went back to AC odyssey that is actually fun to play. I think rock star really messed this up and it's sad. It would have rated this a 9 but the controls are what we use to interact with the game and should be considered the foundation of the user end experience not an after thought. It would be like getting a Lamborghini and finding out the brake peddle is for the dome light, the steering wheel controls the mirrors and so on... still an amazing car but...
  2. Nov 4, 2018
    5
    Great looking game backed up by clumsy, overly complicated, and slow character controls. Even further backed up by 15fps every time a gunfight happens or seeing a vista (not cool when the environment is the best part of the game). Controller mapping so watered down that there are multiple actions linked to a single button depending on what you are doing at the time or standing next to.Great looking game backed up by clumsy, overly complicated, and slow character controls. Even further backed up by 15fps every time a gunfight happens or seeing a vista (not cool when the environment is the best part of the game). Controller mapping so watered down that there are multiple actions linked to a single button depending on what you are doing at the time or standing next to. Don't worry, you don't need to bother remembering them, they know it's rubbish so there are HUD elements all over the place to remind you which buttons do what.

    I never knew there were so many tattle tales in the late 1800's. I can't even shoot my gun into the air in jubilation without it being considered assault... I clear out a gang hideout, someone was able to get away and run crying to the sheriff, that's right, a criminal ran to the sheriff when things went bad for him. It only took the sheriff and a posse 30 seconds to show up and kill me. Might as well just add stars like GTA with cowboys rappelling out of choppers they arrive on the scene so fast. I respawn in the forest to find I have a $50 bounty constantly nagging at me as it takes over the map's cursor icon. Did people actually talk so damn much back then? Everyone has SOO much to say it just comes off as regurgitated story filler. Can they please shut up, or do I really just have to kill them to end the mind numbing back stories each NPC demands the need to share?

    This "game" is hyper-reality overload, in all the bad ways. It's apparent they took so long on this game because it's absolutely full of unwanted features and bloat, which do not add anything of value in my eyes, but only retract from what would have been an amazing experience. I feel like I just took on a second job I have to slog through.

    Why is it so hard to get excited to play this game?
  3. Oct 31, 2018
    6
    I’ll give it credit for how outstanding the visuals are. The hard work that went into that deserves its praise.

    Aside from that, this game is not fun. It is boring. The controls are terrible. You do dumb tedious things constantly that are not fun. I don’t understand the appeal to this game at all.
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    3
    Rockstar have only shipped 1/2 the game so I can only give a max of 5/10.

    Losses 1/2 a point for the grind that gets in the way of playing the game - brush you horse, shave your face, remember to sleep and eat. Losses another 1/2 for the significant AI bugs that prevent progress on some missions, and in some cases result in in forced fail. (Also very poor service from Rockstar not to
    Rockstar have only shipped 1/2 the game so I can only give a max of 5/10.

    Losses 1/2 a point for the grind that gets in the way of playing the game - brush you horse, shave your face, remember to sleep and eat.
    Losses another 1/2 for the significant AI bugs that prevent progress on some missions, and in some cases result in in forced fail. (Also very poor service from Rockstar not to have patched these yet).
    Final mark off, for Rockstar one shot killing my horse and stealing all my money as part of the story.
  5. Nov 10, 2018
    5
    The open world is great, the graphics are pretty, the writing is unmitigated trash. The two good parts about the game mentioned above are ruined by the HORRIBLE fps drops. Why is this even on consoles if they can't optimize it to work?

    I didn't think they'd be able to replicate RDR 1, and I was right, but it's still sad.
  6. Nov 1, 2018
    7
    The main problem is, that it's not a real open world game. If you focus on the main story, like many reviewers and some users do, you will experience a linear and scripted game with almost no freedom. Every time you try something different the missions will fail.

    Controls aren't very good, so it's also hard to recommend the game for that linear story experience. The separate and real
    The main problem is, that it's not a real open world game. If you focus on the main story, like many reviewers and some users do, you will experience a linear and scripted game with almost no freedom. Every time you try something different the missions will fail.

    Controls aren't very good, so it's also hard to recommend the game for that linear story experience.

    The separate and real open world part is done quite well, but it doesn't have enough interesting and coherent/interlocking elements to keep you motivated very long. If you remove the linear story and high production value, it's the usual open world stuff, we've known for years, mixed with light survival elements.

    So what you will get is an average to good open world sandbox for maybe 15-20 hours of random fun and a separate, very scripted and cinematic game with high production value. Both parts have average gameplay and problematic controls. The only highlights and reasons to play the game are its great graphics, atmosphere and story.
  7. Nov 4, 2018
    4
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is a beautiful looking game, supported by clunky controls and a slow paced story that will ultimately not keep you playing.

    It looks absolutely amazing in the GFX department and the sound direction is almost flawless but again the chunkiness let's it all down. 4/10
  8. Nov 5, 2018
    7
    Entertaining game in parts but way too much time spent travelling between locations. Looks great but last one was more fun.
  9. Nov 3, 2018
    7
    The game is made very well - it has great graphics and detailed environment. The glorifying reviews make you think it's a must play for everyone - but it's not. It's suitable for GTA5 and western genre fans. If you're more into fast-paced shooters like Doom, Wolfenstein, Far Cry or adventure games like Last of Us, Tomb Raider, Evil Within 2 and Uncharted, then RDR2 will be extremely boringThe game is made very well - it has great graphics and detailed environment. The glorifying reviews make you think it's a must play for everyone - but it's not. It's suitable for GTA5 and western genre fans. If you're more into fast-paced shooters like Doom, Wolfenstein, Far Cry or adventure games like Last of Us, Tomb Raider, Evil Within 2 and Uncharted, then RDR2 will be extremely boring for you. The story and gameplay are simply too slow, gunplay is clumsy and you'll need a lot of time to get into it and actually see any progress in the story. I know that the reviewers try to make you think that it's not the case with RDR2, but I feel that it is, just like it was with GTA5 for example. So if you have a job, kids and only want to shoot something up before going to bed every night, then this game is not for you, unfortunately.
  10. Nov 7, 2018
    5
    This game should be called The Sims Western Version or Gta 5.5, I'm kidding lol.
  11. Nov 5, 2018
    7
    Visually superb (except cutscenes), good (not amazing) characters/writing, great music but this game isn't 97/100
    I'm 25 hours in (chapter 4) and so far:
    - too much horse (~ half of the game is about riding your horse from A to B... really?!) not allergic to it but that's simply too much - slow animations (walking in camp, picking up stuff or when stuff happens during missions) and slow
    Visually superb (except cutscenes), good (not amazing) characters/writing, great music but this game isn't 97/100
    I'm 25 hours in (chapter 4) and so far:
    - too much horse (~ half of the game is about riding your horse from A to B... really?!) not allergic to it but that's simply too much
    - slow animations (walking in camp, picking up stuff or when stuff happens during missions) and slow pace in general. Interesting bet but doesn't really trigger anything outside of frustration and boredom.
    - game forces you to play the good guy - rewards you by doing so (discounts in shops, no bounty hunters to harass you - which is a good thing as most of them are magical bounty hunters with teleporting abilities) and punishes you if you don't; go make $100 with robbing a train and you'll get a $200 bounty. You can pay it or go to jail for 2 minutes to repay those $200 (and the killing 17 persons). Reality simulation often has its limits.
    - clumsy controls (the wheel thing.. misleading tutorials etc) and frequent collision glitches (horse+tree... horse+rock... horse+dude walking on the street etc). Very 2008.
    - gang life: you do 95% of the heavylifting for a gang of 20 persons.. wtf. Don't get the point of buying camp upgrades and/or give more money. After 20+ hours of gameplay you don't really get WHY you're doing all this for them
    - it's not original. if you played RDR1 and Far Cry 4 or 5 you won't be lost to say the least.. Not really a pb if it's your first Rockstar game. It's the more Rockstar game ever made.
    - most importantly this game isn't super fun to play which imho is the biggest pb here. It's Far Cry/GTA funny maybe 50% of the time.. the rest is frustration of horse riding, reloading some checkpoint and retry some (very scripted) mission, chores, taking your stuff before leaving your horse etc RDR1 was more fun. GTA5 (campaign) is more fun.

    It remains interesting to play and enjoyable overall but 7 ouf of 10 it is. Not 10.
    A fun online experience may bump it to 8.
  12. Oct 30, 2018
    6
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is an amazing game that is plagued with an outdated control scheme and a bounty system that needs some understanding.

    Save a few exceptions, in gaming controls are paramount. A perfect score with this wretched classic Rockstar control scheme is mind-boggling. In 2001 Rockstar graced the world with Grand Theft Auto 3 and this control setup. We tripped over ledges,
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is an amazing game that is plagued with an outdated control scheme and a bounty system that needs some understanding.

    Save a few exceptions, in gaming controls are paramount. A perfect score with this wretched classic Rockstar control scheme is mind-boggling. In 2001 Rockstar graced the world with Grand Theft Auto 3 and this control setup. We tripped over ledges, fell off buildings, ran into fences. This isn't 2001. This isn't the PS2-era. Controls have greatly evolved. Should we just accept it cause we've used this mess for so long?

    Here are some basic issues that anyone playing will experience with the controls:
    -RT to Aim... but only sometimes, and sometimes it just shoots
    -Walking, Riding on horseback, or on a coach becomes a spam the A button simulator
    -While riding and spamming A, add in LB to open a menu + RB to change pages + R-stick in the direction to highlight + RT/LT to cycle items let go of LB to select - really? I haven't had to do this much hand yoga since I've played Monster Hunter on the PSP.
    -RB to take cover, but sometimes you climb on top of cover with RB... completely exposed for the world to see!
    -Animation queues can be painfully long after a button press, so your actions can be very slow to initiate.
    -Getting the target for looting isn't always easy and you may need to re-approach again and again

    In addition to the control scheme comes the Wanted/Bounty system. It can be exceptionally touchy, and not so clear. For example while riding and trying to avoid an everyday bystander, you go out of your way to avoid them but due to the controls inadvertently bump into them. This could easily lead to assault, with a witness that runs off, which then escalates because you try to chase them down to prevent it being reported and well... even more chaos ensues. Suddenly you have an outrageous bounty on your head, which wouldn't be so bad if making money in the game was a bit easier (which it is not), or if the bounty decayed over time (which it does not). So you're left as a Wanted Man only to ensure that your debt to society will grow way faster than the funds in your pocket ever could.
    So anytime there is an incident occurring with a potential bounty? I just close the game and hope the last auto save wasn't too long ago.

    After closing the software sometimes I come back right away, but it seems each time I close the game because of this, the break I take grows longer. I'm still hyped enough to push on, and hope to finish it, but it is starting to feel like I'm punishing myself to a degree.

    The world is absolutely beautiful and so incredibly engaging. Everything you've seen and possibly read about it cannot do it justice. It's quite unreal how this world can be so real!
    This afternoon while living the real life, I saw a squirrel by my car outside and immediately wanted to get my bow... because RDR2 genuinely fooled me for a moment! However, the flock of birds I saw later in the day didn't fool me, but I still thought of Red Dead.

    Still, as beautiful as this world is, I cannot forgive Rockstar for these controls. If Mega Man or Mario played like this, there would be pitchforks and fire... Rockstar might just need a good slap to look at this outdated control scheme. Beautiful, realistic, and fantastical... but 10/10? Naaaaaaah.
  13. Nov 2, 2018
    4
    The game may be expansive, ambitious, and artistic, but it is also a joyless slog to play through. The number of cut-scenes (admittedly de riegeur these days, and the least glaring of its errors), "gameplay' consisting of walking with a companion (on foot or horse) for long periods of time while they talk, or other similarly uninspired activities, there is almost no FUN to be had playingThe game may be expansive, ambitious, and artistic, but it is also a joyless slog to play through. The number of cut-scenes (admittedly de riegeur these days, and the least glaring of its errors), "gameplay' consisting of walking with a companion (on foot or horse) for long periods of time while they talk, or other similarly uninspired activities, there is almost no FUN to be had playing the game.
    The rare moments of actual action, or even basic navigation, yield controls that feel mawkish and awkward, even compared to the game's 8 year old predecessor., and light years behind the standards set in current AAA tittles, giving you the feeling that even getting to the sweet spots of the game won't be fun. Add to that a system of "cores" and stats that seem far overcomplicated, especially for this type of an action game.

    I'm left giving up after 5 or 6 hours, not from any frustration but with the overwhelming sense that this is not an enjoyable activity, while RDR1 was ridiculously fun to play.

    One is left with the feeling that Rockstar was overwhelming intoxicated with their great artistic vision, and somewhat condescending to gamers that they should sit back and enjoy their incredible tale. Truth be told, even the story and the conversation isn't particularly impressive, and you can't even garner much interest or empathy for any of the characters from even a narrative perspective.

    For a game with such universally stratospheric critical scores, it seems that professionals are ignoring that simple, visceral sense of fun, whether it's a shooting action sequence or even an enjoyable way to stroll around or ride your horse. All I can say as a user is there was no joy or fun from playing this game, and that's really unusual with the typical high quality games we get today.
  14. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    I just seems redundant now, leaving my review. Everything has already been said.
    Probably the best world that has been created in a videogame but maybe a little shallow when it comes to the actual content.
    Once you get past the graphical awe, which is possible for you teen 10/10 people, there are some really bad flaws. It's just so awkward and clunky and tbh my little pony companion app
    I just seems redundant now, leaving my review. Everything has already been said.
    Probably the best world that has been created in a videogame but maybe a little shallow when it comes to the actual content.
    Once you get past the graphical awe, which is possible for you teen 10/10 people, there are some really bad flaws.
    It's just so awkward and clunky and tbh my little pony companion app could have been released separately.
    Maybe the online will do it justice (pun intended) but until then it's just so samey, mundane and expected.
    It's ok but i'm not impressed at all with the mechanics and the campaign as a whole
  15. Nov 5, 2018
    4
    This game is beautiful, organized, and offers amazing storytelling. It’s also boring, clunky and overrated.
  16. Nov 6, 2018
    4
    The game looks great but after 20 hours of gameplay I'm done. Everything about this game feels tedious with the same RS clunky controls they've been using since GTA3. This game is great if you were looking for a solid hunting simulator but it's incredibly low on fun and action.
  17. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    It's not a bad game but the gameplay is an outdated one. It by no means a 10 out of 10:

    - "Realism" is annoying. I hate watching Ioot, skin and cook animations 100 times. - Parking a horse or picking up something is frustrating as you have to stand in the exact right position to do so. - 75% of the game time it takes riding to the destination to play the game a bit. - The cover
    It's not a bad game but the gameplay is an outdated one. It by no means a 10 out of 10:

    - "Realism" is annoying. I hate watching Ioot, skin and cook animations 100 times.
    - Parking a horse or picking up something is frustrating as you have to stand in the exact right position to do so.
    - 75% of the game time it takes riding to the destination to play the game a bit.
    - The cover system, menu system and controls are retrograde
  18. Oct 31, 2018
    5
    DULL, DULL... is Arthur... he is a dullard... noting interesting about him whatsoever... well into Chapter 2 and NOTHING memorable has happened other then excessive horseback riding and accidental shooting of folks because the "interact with folks" button is the SAME BUTTON as shoot... what-the-heck??? Very, very disappointed. I was killed, failed a mission, returned to camp, and MY TENTDULL, DULL... is Arthur... he is a dullard... noting interesting about him whatsoever... well into Chapter 2 and NOTHING memorable has happened other then excessive horseback riding and accidental shooting of folks because the "interact with folks" button is the SAME BUTTON as shoot... what-the-heck??? Very, very disappointed. I was killed, failed a mission, returned to camp, and MY TENT WAS GONE... what-the-heck? and what a miserable way to get access to the map... some menus you'll need to back out with 4-5 button pushes just to return to the game... ugh!... and can I PLEASE skip the overlong skinning scenes... I simply don't want to hunt because I know it just slows down the slow tempo even more. there doesn't seem to be a way to brake my horse, which results in me running over or past folks... went from a 6 to a 5. absolutely nothing wow.
    ==========
    BORING... I played about 8 hours (after the initial 2 hour mostly QuickTime session) and found nothing interesting or compelling. You end of at a camp and stroll around looking for something to do. Go into town, have a little scuffle, go to the stores where you don't have nearly enough money to buy anything useful, go back to camp, stroll around. Doesn't come close to Horizon Zero Dawn, God of War, and even Shadow of the Tomb Raider in terms of intriguing. Not looking for crazy action, just something that engages me to want to play... will try for a little longer to see if something interesting happens that is more than just running errands.
  19. Nov 4, 2018
    4
    I absolutely loved RD1 and never got tired of playing it. I was so excited to play this game and at first was struck by the beauty of the world and the quality of the voice acting. Love how real the horses are and how they behave exactly like real horses. The first game was full of fun things to do and surprises to find in the wilderness. This game has none of that. The constantI absolutely loved RD1 and never got tired of playing it. I was so excited to play this game and at first was struck by the beauty of the world and the quality of the voice acting. Love how real the horses are and how they behave exactly like real horses. The first game was full of fun things to do and surprises to find in the wilderness. This game has none of that. The constant maintenance of your character your horse and the camp are tedious beyond belief. The controls are ridiculously convoluted and you can't stay out of trouble no matter how careful you are. The game crashes or locks frequently and everything you try to do is ruined by the weakness of your character. I fail constantly and as for objectives to get a gold, forget about it. I am so sad that the game I love so much has become one I freaking hate. The four points are for the beauty of the game and the things that they did right, everything else has ruined this game for me. I will pass it on to my son and see if he can wring any fun out of it and maybe show me where the fun is. Biggest disappointment since Mafia 3.
  20. Oct 31, 2018
    3
    Fantastic atmosphere and visuals, great voice acting and generally an impressive technical achievement.

    As for the rest, clunky gameplay with some bizarre ergonomic choices, and a game that represents the pinnacle of what Rockstar have been creating for years : an excessively scripted experience where choices and consequences don't seem to matter. You will be given the freedom to go
    Fantastic atmosphere and visuals, great voice acting and generally an impressive technical achievement.

    As for the rest, clunky gameplay with some bizarre ergonomic choices, and a game that represents the pinnacle of what Rockstar have been creating for years : an excessively scripted experience where choices and consequences don't seem to matter. You will be given the freedom to go anywhere and kill anyone, but god forbid you want to approach a mission in a different manner than what's been planned.

    I've been reading in places that things get better later in the game in that regard. That's nice. Maybe Season 12 of the Knight Rider remake will be awesome.

    Add to that the classic Rockstar things that always irk me such as locking content behind certain missions or steps of the storyline, and at no point do I feel like I'm able to play the game the way I want. I'm being forced to follow a very particular sequence of events and every situation must play out in a very particular way.

    Just not my thing - it just amounts to a very frustrating experience as far as I'm concerned. I can understand the praise, though.
  21. Oct 29, 2018
    6
    Open world is not as open as BOTW or minecraft nothing revolutionary. Cannot steal as many things as in GTA. NPC will give you a wanted status because of clunky controls. Hunting is pointless as if you do some missions your hunted animals disappear. This does not diserve 97% rating from critics as this is not up to par with open world greats such as the witcher skyrim BOTW or evenOpen world is not as open as BOTW or minecraft nothing revolutionary. Cannot steal as many things as in GTA. NPC will give you a wanted status because of clunky controls. Hunting is pointless as if you do some missions your hunted animals disappear. This does not diserve 97% rating from critics as this is not up to par with open world greats such as the witcher skyrim BOTW or even minecraft. No one should be shooting at you over a $7.50 bounty. And the camp and getting to know all of the stupid friends aurthor has is very dumb and time consuming. I wish i could return this game but i bought the digital edition and the game doesnt actually start until you get off of the mountain. I cannot believe it took rockstar 5 years to com out with this overrated game.
  22. Nov 1, 2018
    7
    The game is good, maybe even great but definitely not excellent as many people say it is. Many aspects are astonishing and excellent like the wildlife, the amount of detail put in the world and in the things that you can do, the exploration, the well written story, the charachters etcetera. That alone is enough to make the game fairly enyojable and does do a lot for the total experience.The game is good, maybe even great but definitely not excellent as many people say it is. Many aspects are astonishing and excellent like the wildlife, the amount of detail put in the world and in the things that you can do, the exploration, the well written story, the charachters etcetera. That alone is enough to make the game fairly enyojable and does do a lot for the total experience. However, many aspects of the game lack that same attention to detail, such as lack of a proper fast travel system (not the one currently in game), the tedious and overly slow animations, and most importantly the absolutely terrible, terrible controls. I will elaborately explain how the controls bring down the game.

    The controls are of the most clunky, messy, delayed and annoying kind I may have ever experienced. Not only does this, combined with slow animations, make simple actions a chore, such as walking around in your camp or picking up items/searching areas, but it ruins the combat system. The controls make the combat system miserably bad and ruin the game to a great extent for me personally. The clunky controls make aiming at enemies incredibly frustrating and hard to do in free aim. This means you are forced to choose lock-on, which is a very unsatifsying way of shooting enemies and makes it feel as if the game is playing itsself for you. That is not fun.

    Another blow to the combat system is the delayed and slow animations. This will make you perform an action which the character carries out so slow or delayed, you think you didn't press the according button or push the joystick all the way so often you will either do it again or adjust your charachter by performing another action. However the game will register all these actions leading up to Arthur doing anything but that which you want him to do, and there you go, you screw up and get killed or injured badly. Another example: the game's abundant focus on the need to lock onto things, so that it can decide whether or not to give you the options to carry out an action on a person or an object, also means that you will often have to look at something, press L2 and then another button to carry out an action of choice. Not only is this intricate when trying to combine multiple actions in a hurry, it also ruins the combat system because the game often goes its own way and doesn't know what you want to do in a firefight. Like when you try to shoot an enemy but the game locks onto your horse because it is onscreen at the same time and near the enemy. By the time you can react to this you get shot dead. Great. Rockstar could and should easily be able to patch something like this, and I truly hope they do so that they can allow us players to enjoy the game as intended, fighting the enemies rather than the controls.
  23. Nov 2, 2018
    4
    If you want to begin the journey of this game, be warned, that the first 40 minutes goes by slowly. In fact, everything become tedious and slow. had to stop 20 hours into it. Lost interest.
  24. Nov 7, 2018
    4
    Overrated ...... Overrated
    There are better games out there I don't understand how God Of War has 94 and this game 97 seriously.
  25. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    Huge fan of Rockstar. Love Red Dead 1 and all of the GTA's. Been hyped for this game for a long time.

    The graphics are stunning. Great attention to detail. Story telling is well done and organic. Love the fact that *Spoiler Alert* John Marston is in the game! That really helps. Once you get passed the graphics, you see a game that is more of a chore to play and not THAT fun.
    Huge fan of Rockstar. Love Red Dead 1 and all of the GTA's. Been hyped for this game for a long time.

    The graphics are stunning. Great attention to detail. Story telling is well done and organic. Love the fact that *Spoiler Alert* John Marston is in the game! That really helps.

    Once you get passed the graphics, you see a game that is more of a chore to play and not THAT fun. The auto aim makes the game very easy, especially since you can mark your spots and slow down time. The mundane animations are a huge time suck. Do I have to watch this guy skin EVERY animal with such detail? Do I have to wait +5 seconds to search a through a drawer...twice over? Do I have to ride a horse 5-10 minutes to the destinations before every mission? I appreciate realism in a game, but there is a fine line when it comes to this and having fun. There are many times you can not sprint to the destination because you must listen to some type of story. This is important obviously to follow a story, but also exhausting. Let's get to the action!

    The controls are fine. I like diving in and out of cover max payne style. I'm still only on Chapter 4 so there is much to see. I'm sure fast travel will be more accessible. My early impressions are that this game is one of the best looking games and has a immersive story. This is a game though and to me is lacking in the fun department. I give this game a 7.5-8.0 rating. Definitely not a 10.
  26. Nov 2, 2018
    3
    Disappointing. Like most of us I think the hype and anticipation and clever gameplay trailers Rockstar released and overwhelming positive critic reviews led me to buying this the second it was released but the user reviews tell the real story. This is a game that promised so much and I really really want to love it. If I’d written a review in the first day I would have given it a 10 butDisappointing. Like most of us I think the hype and anticipation and clever gameplay trailers Rockstar released and overwhelming positive critic reviews led me to buying this the second it was released but the user reviews tell the real story. This is a game that promised so much and I really really want to love it. If I’d written a review in the first day I would have given it a 10 but now, about a third of the way through I give it a 3. It is beautiful to look at and things one cinematic camera mode are great - to begin with. But the gameplay and controls are a massive let down. I kidded myself that it would take a bit of time to get used to and whilst that’s true it doesn’t mean it isn’t a poor experience overall. Gunplqy is clunky. Searching and looting slow and clunky. You have to hold a button for a second each time. Should be an option to skip the animation and just loot. And if it’s about realism then who loots a drawer in a robbery slowly and takes one item out at a time? Arthur can’t move quickly in combat situations, take cover quickly and basically react like a controllable character some of the time. Most of the hyped interactions with NPCs are boring hello and goodbye situations or antagonise and fight situations often where the NPC starts the fight because you said the wrong thing twice or walked into them but you end up either dead or wanted for a crime after beating them up. The controls are all over the place so sometimes I ended up shooting someone by accident. In fact a lot of the time you’re doing the wrong thing because Arthur isn’t standing in exactly the precise right spot. Overall it feels like an interactive movie where you get to push buttons to make some decisions and to move the story along rather than a video game. I like open world games and Zelda: BotW, Assassins Creed Odyssey, even Far Cry 5, have been much more fun to play for me in the last 12 months.
  27. Oct 27, 2018
    5
    Only playable on the Xbox One X, if you have the Xbox One S or the original Xbox One then don't bother as it runs terrible with low fps
  28. Oct 26, 2018
    5
    The story telling of the game is top notch and the atmosphere is great, but I bought this game after sinking tons of time into the original Red Dead so that was expected. What was not expected was just how completely awful the controls and mechanics of this game are. The gun fighting felt clunky and underdeveloped, gunfights without cover are pointless because the enemies demolish you,The story telling of the game is top notch and the atmosphere is great, but I bought this game after sinking tons of time into the original Red Dead so that was expected. What was not expected was just how completely awful the controls and mechanics of this game are. The gun fighting felt clunky and underdeveloped, gunfights without cover are pointless because the enemies demolish you, NPC's start fights with you and shoot if you accidentally get in their way on the road, the main character needs to play fetch and do chores after every mission, and the home camp is apparently completely incapable of doing anything for themselves. The worst part is that I will bet the cost of the game that once online comes out single player won't get a single update to fix the clear and present issues. As is, this game deserves nowhere near a 98 rating and it is pretty clear how and why it is getting that kind of rating.
  29. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    Ok, for those of you who haven't played it yet, here's my honest take without a bunch of obvious observation.

    What I feel while playing (25 hours in): -I frequently wondering what i should do next (doesn't feel smooth for a good story) -obviously, i'm enjoying it given the time i've spent on it -no real drive to go run a side mission to get $25 after you've made a few big heists
    Ok, for those of you who haven't played it yet, here's my honest take without a bunch of obvious observation.

    What I feel while playing (25 hours in):

    -I frequently wondering what i should do next (doesn't feel smooth for a good story)
    -obviously, i'm enjoying it given the time i've spent on it
    -no real drive to go run a side mission to get $25 after you've made a few big heists
    -highly scripted with boring cut scenes that i'd like to skip (something I can do in other games.
    -when the action starts, im constantly looking at directions (go shoot from that window etc...)
    -right now i feel like making THE big heist seems pointless since I have yet to find a way to upgrade/spend the money) this is a big downside unless it changes later on.
    - the characters are the closest thing to feeling like im living as a gunslinger, but just when i think there is a growing bond between characters, the next encounter with them is like we hardly know each other.
    -yes the game play mechanics are odd, but i can deal with that. Wish the shooting was more satisfying...
    -just when i get used to my horse and its trusting me, it gets killed and doesn't come back to life like my character does.
    -looting is annoyingly slow and that same old problem of being in just the right place to click loot/take

    i'd give it a 7.5/10. Its enjoyable and has a little something for everyone's taste, but I was expecting more given the time that it took to make it.

    Maybe it will ramp up and clear some of these issues by the time im done...hope so!
  30. Oct 27, 2018
    5
    Reasons for my score:

    - Controls are slow and sticky. Responsive time appears delayed. - Interface is non-intuitive. Too many steps to perform any task. - Long and tedious tutorial. - Dialogue almost appears to being used as a replacement for loading screens. Every time you go from point A to point B, there is some long story being told. To sum up, the overall game seems to
    Reasons for my score:

    - Controls are slow and sticky. Responsive time appears delayed.

    - Interface is non-intuitive. Too many steps to perform any task.

    - Long and tedious tutorial.

    - Dialogue almost appears to being used as a replacement for loading screens.
    Every time you go from point A to point B, there is some long story being told.

    To sum up, the overall game seems to lacks any cohesion. It literally feels like one long and tedious tutorial. So many of the game mechanics are not relayed to you until you happen to come across them while exploring, so you end up feeling so lost. And this keeps taking you out of the game experience. Only reason I gave this game a "5" is because the environment is beautiful. I waited so long for this game as I considered Red Dead Redemption to be a masterpiece. It feels like they had all the pieces to make an amazing game, but rushed at the very end to put them together. Ultimately, I could handle the drawn out dialogue and the confusing direction, but the slow and painful responsive of the controls and interface, was just too much for me. While I appreciate not everybody will share my opinions, I seriously cannot understand the 10/10 scores. I get the critics are bought off, but the users?
  31. Oct 30, 2018
    7
    Ehh, want to give this game an 8 but I can't make myself do it because that would be wrong. When companies and news articles say, "this game is gonna be 2x the size of the prequel" do not get your hopes up. If you like running with a horse for 10 min from county to county, this is the game for you.

    The only thing this game has for you is attention to details, story and graphics. But
    Ehh, want to give this game an 8 but I can't make myself do it because that would be wrong. When companies and news articles say, "this game is gonna be 2x the size of the prequel" do not get your hopes up. If you like running with a horse for 10 min from county to county, this is the game for you.

    The only thing this game has for you is attention to details, story and graphics. But everything gets blown away when you find out that this game becomes unrelenting and tedious to some extent. So much so that you will get annoyed and angry at the game mechanics this game has to offer.

    This game really disappointed me when I was getting **** game mechanics like fast traveling, horse riding, and the GOD DAMN BOUNTY HUNTERS RUINING MY GOD DAMN EXPERIENCE BY SHOWING UP RANDOMLY AND SHOOT AT ME. I know what you are going to say, but because of the robbing that you must do in order for you to progress at the game makes it much harder to pay your bounty because you are broke and gave everything to the camp so you could upgrade it.

    Fast traveling from camp works only one way and not back. If you need something from the camp, expect 2-3 min of horse riding which also gets tedious after awhile

    Ohh and bugs, lots of bugs. Worse than GTA V.
  32. Oct 31, 2018
    6
    I'll give it a 6 out of 10. The visuals and audio are fantastic. However, the travel time is overly burdensome, even with cinematic mode on. Shame to have to play 20+ hours before fast travel is available. The major problem I have with the game, aside from online multiplayer not being available for at least a month, is the following:

    I believe the most important aspect of a video game
    I'll give it a 6 out of 10. The visuals and audio are fantastic. However, the travel time is overly burdensome, even with cinematic mode on. Shame to have to play 20+ hours before fast travel is available. The major problem I have with the game, aside from online multiplayer not being available for at least a month, is the following:

    I believe the most important aspect of a video game is that it must have the option where, if I can get good enough at the game, I can make a living playing professionally. Examples of these include: League of Legends, Dota 2, Hearthstone, Overwatch, Fortnite, CS GO.

    This game does not have that possibility, so it's basically just time invested for no potential monetary return.
  33. Nov 1, 2018
    4
    Crap combat, crap controls, crap story, really slow and boring, the world is pretty barren and every story mission is about shooting waves of enemies...

    RDR2 sucks.
  34. Oct 30, 2018
    4
    Игра очень сырая, во многих местах лагает, баги просто ужас. Графика вроде и фпнтастическая но парой очень плохая. Бесит непонятная прокачка лагеря. Где Русский язык, и мне пофигу на политику rock star , а как 1с обосрасиль это же прото феноминально досих пор нельзя купить физическую версию.Игра очень сырая, во многих местах лагает, баги просто ужас. Графика вроде и фпнтастическая но парой очень плохая. Бесит непонятная прокачка лагеря. Где Русский язык, и мне пофигу на политику rock star , а как 1с обосрасиль это же прото феноминально досих пор нельзя купить физическую версию.
  35. Oct 26, 2018
    5
    Playing a Rockstar game is like playing a blast from the past, similar to playing World of Warcraft. All the old gaming mechanics that have been left behind by most for decades, like twitch-reflex challenges coupled with checkpoints that you have to keep retrying, reams of quest text, and being penalized for going off of designated paths during escort missions instead of being able to pickPlaying a Rockstar game is like playing a blast from the past, similar to playing World of Warcraft. All the old gaming mechanics that have been left behind by most for decades, like twitch-reflex challenges coupled with checkpoints that you have to keep retrying, reams of quest text, and being penalized for going off of designated paths during escort missions instead of being able to pick your own route, are here and kicking. Hi there 1996!

    These things are "old fashioned" because games these days use a lot of super interesting stuff about psychology to stay engaging, and older games just didn't. They keep you in the same general frame of mind throughout most of the experience, and if you have to change to feeling more tense or more relaxed, it's a gentle transition with lots of signals. On the other hand, Red Dead Redemption 2 is all over the place. You'll be sitting through a 10-minute horse ride sequence with everyone talking and talking (I know it's supposed to be 'character development', but seeing another set of rolling foothills in another video game just isn't interesting anymore, no matter how pretty they are now), and then suddenly you'll need to instantly have the controller in your hands and shoot five guys really fast or you'll die -- and if you die, you have to watch THE ENTIRE CUTSCENE OVER AGAIN! This was sadistic years ago, and moments like these in games got panned universally by critics. Now it just looks like whoever is running Rockstar has a vendetta against the way that modern games act, and is forcing their philosophies down everyone's throats and power tripping off of it.

    Also, I'm sorry, but the scriptwriting in Rockstar games is just plain insulting. They make some of the most mature, violent games around, and they have some of the best camera cinematics, great music, great understanding of technique. But the characters all sound very game-y, saying things like "shucks" and other stereotypical 'Western' words a little too often to be believed. The prime example is when Penny Arcade made fun of your friend in GTA4 asking if you want to go see the strip joint with the "Big American Tee Tees!" I mean, who talks like that? Who actually says 'big american' anything in a sentence? Usually people are more subtle, indirect, joke around a little bit. There's adultness, nuance, signs of life experience. I found the characters in RDR2, and indeed most Rockstar games, to be lacking any signs of adult life experience, and thus impossible to believe.

    For a *good* example of an old sandbox series that's been revitalized, I'd suggest checking out AC Odyssey, which I've also been playing. If any Rockstar devs read this, please give it a try. I loved the "Prince of Persia" quest near the start of the game, where you visit places around the world and then a mysterious character tells you about their past. It's pretty quick to finish, and despite talking about some really farfetched and heady things, the NPC sounds truly wise and grizzled throughout, instead of sounding like a caricature. On the other hand, pretty much everyone in RDR2 is a really obvious caricature.

    Also, AC Odyssey shows how to modernize an old game's interface to new standards - let a player walk and climb anywhere, why do you need terrain barriers when making things inconvenient is good enough? And most of all, streamline the quest system. What to do and where to go should be obvious and constant. It's 2018, why do we need to traverse the entire map twice just to talk to a quest giver? Receiving quests instantly (through the mail, perhaps?) is a shorthand that most players are fine with, that doesn't break most people's immersion.

    I hope it doesn't sound like I'm spending an entire review talking about another game. I'm just pointing out that in a lot of ways, RDR2 is a reboot of a pretty ancient video game, and it was also a chance for Rockstar to revamp and 'reboot' their storytelling style for the new, modern, 4K/HDR generation, and for all the new gamers who might be playing a Rockstar game for the first time. Instead they look totally incompetent to me, with dialogue that insults your intelligence and a core "game loop" that hasn't been updated since GTA1 basically.

    It also enrages me sometimes that all of the main gaming publications seemingly have to give these games good ratings "or else", because it destroys my trust in writers I like. When I get used to a reviewer's personality and trust their deep thoughtful opinions on something, and then they give the latest GTA/RDR a glowing review even though I don't think they actually liked it (for example, if it doesn't seem consistent with their personality for them to like it), I briefly hate the world and feel like everything's a lie, and I get upset that all the publications fall in line the way they do.

    Rockstar has some very talented people. But in general, they're a toxic "bad actor", made even worse because everyone acts like they can do no wrong.
  36. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 isn't a game that should be taken lightly. This is true in most of Rockstar's long list of games, which often overwhelm the player with their sheer size and mechanical depth. Red Dead Redemption 2, however, stands out as a pinnacle among masterpieces. You may, understandably, assume that I'm simply riding the "Red Dead hype wagon" but, unless the game drasticallyRed Dead Redemption 2 isn't a game that should be taken lightly. This is true in most of Rockstar's long list of games, which often overwhelm the player with their sheer size and mechanical depth. Red Dead Redemption 2, however, stands out as a pinnacle among masterpieces. You may, understandably, assume that I'm simply riding the "Red Dead hype wagon" but, unless the game drastically changes after the first 10 hours or so, this is certainly not the case.

    From what I've experienced so far, Red Dead Redemption 2 offers the player an unprecedented amount of options in what to do and how to tackle the, both optional and integral parts of the game. Fortunately these options do not overwhelm the player, but are instead revealed progressively, allowing you to first master what is already there. After several hours spent with the game I was still constantly being surprised by a steady stream of new features and added complexity to pre-existing mechanics.

    All this depth, however, wouldn't be worth 2 cents if it wasn't for the incredibly high degree of fine tuning and polishment that went into the game. The frame rate stays smooth and constant throughout the whole experience and, incredibly enough, so far I haven't encountered a single bug during my 14 hours of playing the game. Rockstar have certainly nailed the shooting mechanics, but there are also more discreet options for those who aren't completely certain that lead is the be-all end-all problem solver.

    To summarize: Red Dead Redemption 2 is a must buy for anyone looking for a deep and fleshed out experience, that gradually unfolds during many hours of game time. It's not a game that you can rush through over the weekend (though, admittedly, I myself might in retrospect have been a bit too hasteful in order to experience as much as possible in a short time window). If you're willing to put in the time however, Red Dead Redemption 2 is guaranteed to offer you a complete and thrilling experience, brimming with possibilities for the player to discover. If I have one complaint regarding the game it's that it didn't come out sooner.
  37. Oct 29, 2018
    3
    Management on consoles causes sadness, changing day and night is very bad. after 6-8 hours of play it gets boring :(
  38. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This game is so much. Looks fantastic on Xbox One X. Looking forward to online mode.
  39. Oct 27, 2018
    6
    I dont understand the hybe for such game its not bad by all means but it doesn't feel like a rockstar game for me at least
  40. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Lamentablemente tengo que decir, que la comunidad gamer es sucia, embustera y mediocres. En la página de metacritics de Xbox y aquí de PS4 se llenaron de gamers de Pc. Ya niños ratas criticando algo que no jugaron. Las personas muchas veces como aquí queda reflejado son mediocres Aguante Rockstar Y #RedDeadRedemption2 #RDR2
  41. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Сосните х.йца пк-бояре, как же всё-таки бомбят ваши жопы от отсутствия игры на Intel core I9 и RTX 2080ti! муахахахахахаха

    10 сморщенных яичек из 10!

    P.s. Игра унылая...
  42. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    best game ever and best rockstar game and best game in the series this is red dead this is game of the year
  43. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Excelent performance, good graphics, good sound and gameplay, best game so far on the xbox one x
  44. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I understand everyone has different tastes in games, but with that being said the people giving this game a 4 or lower are just being ridiculous. Regardless of how you feel about it personally there is no doubt that this is one of the most finely crafted video games ever made, there's no subjectivity about it.
  45. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Amazing game, simply amazing! From the immersion, to the world building, to the writing, this game is fantastic!
  46. Oct 26, 2018
    7
    I've seen several gameplays of this game, but ... it's a bit boring, it's a copy of Grand Theft Auto V, but only in the old west and instead of cars they are horses
  47. Oct 26, 2018
    7
    It's a great game but it's really feels like GTA V with a lot of mods like a lot of people said, also the gameplay is pretty much the same as GTA V. The story is decent and really boring at times, also you stuck at a tutorial missions for at least 3 hours in the beginning of the game. The hunting which takes almost 50% of this game is really basic and really feels like FarCry games. TheIt's a great game but it's really feels like GTA V with a lot of mods like a lot of people said, also the gameplay is pretty much the same as GTA V. The story is decent and really boring at times, also you stuck at a tutorial missions for at least 3 hours in the beginning of the game. The hunting which takes almost 50% of this game is really basic and really feels like FarCry games. The map is really huge with few cities and huge empty green areas.
    Also WHY THE F*CK IS RUNNING ON 846P on the original XONE and the S and running on a native 1080p on the original PS4 and The slim considering the Xone s has better specs than the original ps4. I feel like this is Microsoft Idea to make it run like that on these two and make it run at a native 4K at the X.
  48. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Excelente juego en Xbox one x 4k nativos impresionante, definitivamente el juego se disfruta muchísimo más en esta consola
  49. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Benchmark of console games for this generation. Not many negative things to say about the game when you are getting use to how things work in the game.
  50. Oct 26, 2018
    3
    El doblaje a sido el motivo que no lo quiero ,paso de leer parrafadas y perderme escenas de accion.
    Un juego de 10 tiene que gustar a todo el mundo
  51. Oct 29, 2018
    1
    No amount of story and graphics can make up for clunky mechanics and boring gameplay. Instead of playing this game, watch an 80-hour cowboy movie.
  52. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Its time to say thx for rockstar for the best expirience on xbox one x
    And this is the time wen burning negative points from pc users makes game more great 11/10
  53. Oct 26, 2018
    2
    This games feels like a DLC of RDR 1 with better graphics, you spend more time hunting than doing anything fun, I really dislike the pace of the story, they try to cover every detail but by doing this they make the game too slow.

    Also the game is full of bugs, flying npcs, invisible animals and horses with magnets on their hooves, plus my game crashed once even after downloading that
    This games feels like a DLC of RDR 1 with better graphics, you spend more time hunting than doing anything fun, I really dislike the pace of the story, they try to cover every detail but by doing this they make the game too slow.

    Also the game is full of bugs, flying npcs, invisible animals and horses with magnets on their hooves, plus my game crashed once even after downloading that day 1 patch which adds to the slow installation process.
  54. Oct 26, 2018
    4
    The star of the show here is the open world itself. Everything else is just so mundane, tedious and boring. The game world itself is another technical marvel from Rockstar. The world is packed full of neat attention to detail. But that's pretty much all it has going for it. Every game has a tutorial level. Tutorial levels usually last 5 to 10 minutes and then you get stuck into the actualThe star of the show here is the open world itself. Everything else is just so mundane, tedious and boring. The game world itself is another technical marvel from Rockstar. The world is packed full of neat attention to detail. But that's pretty much all it has going for it. Every game has a tutorial level. Tutorial levels usually last 5 to 10 minutes and then you get stuck into the actual game. Well, in Red Dead 2 the tutorial level is 2 and a half to 3 hours long. So it takes forever to get going. And when you do finally get going its pretty boring stuff. Travel from point A to point B do something like kill some baddies, repeat. But when you go from playing Grand Theft Auto V and having thousands of vehicles to travel across the map in, to all of a sudden being given a horse, and only a horse, it is very tedious. You spend most of the time tapping the sprint button zoning out waiting to get to the next objective. The objectives are the same as always. And get this, if you don't build up a relationship with your horse it won't run as good as it can, it will slow down and won't be as loyal. You have to care for your horse by brushing and cleaning it and feeding it etc. It's a Tamagochi! You even have to take care of your character by having a candle lit bubble bath and shaving. I can't even be bothered to shave in real life let alone worry about shaving a virtual pixelated character. Outside of the slow burning story of running from point A to point B shooting some baddies and repeat. They have tried to pack the world out with filler items like mini games. You can play cards, a knife game where you put your hand on the table and try stab between your fingers with a knife, go hunting and hunt animals and skin them, or go see and show etc. These filler mini games are the equivalent or arm wrestling, tennis, golf and going to the cinema in Grand Theft Auto V. And let's be honest, how many times did we do those things? Options are nice to have don't get me wrong, but Rockstar's mini games aren't what keep us playing their games is it. Graphics wise it isn't much better than Grand Theft Auto V. It has HDR support but the only thing that really stands out is things like street lamps in the night. I'm playing on a 65" 4K HDR Premium TV btw. I've played the game on Xbox One X and the standard Xbox One. The Xbox One X is native 4K and looks like quite good. Not the sharpest 4K game i've ever seen, but not the worst. It looks pretty dreadful on the standard Xbox One. Very blurry and fuzzy. Both version suffer poor performance. Both versions stutter slow down and drop down to as low as 22fps, even the Xbox One X. So both versions can get pretty choppy. The story is also pretty boring. It's just so slow and takes hours to get going. Then when it does get going its nothing special and nothing we haven't seen before in movies.
  55. Oct 26, 2018
    4
    Stable 21 fps for that true cinematic experience. GTA V with horses, so nothing new, basically played this game for few hundred hours few years ago, but hey, at least horse testicles got a lot of attention in the studios, so that's what matters.
  56. Oct 26, 2018
    3
    Grand Theft Auto V DLC mixed in with Assassins Creed 3. That's what i've gotten from this after 10 hours of play. Won't bother finishing it as i'm bored now. Too grindy and not much going on other than the usual stuff that we've already played in a Rockstar game a million times over already. Runs poorly with bad frame rate dips and clunky controls.
  57. Oct 27, 2018
    0
    This is so pretty. Can say anything on graphics.

    On menus, layout, missions, linearity and moving of character its very bad. If you have played AC Odyssey, Just Cause, Fallout or Farcry you will notice a big difference in how smooth and easy the character moves in those games compared to this. Its clumsy/clunky and incredible slow. im sitting reading online while moving joystick up
    This is so pretty. Can say anything on graphics.

    On menus, layout, missions, linearity and moving of character its very bad.

    If you have played AC Odyssey, Just Cause, Fallout or Farcry you will notice a big difference in how smooth and easy the character moves in those games compared to this. Its clumsy/clunky and incredible slow. im sitting reading online while moving joystick up waiting for character to get to its target. There is so much "overriding" by developer that it doesnt feel like Im playing a game but following a very detailed and scripted first day of school..... Press that button, go to excactly that spot, mount horse, get off horse, follow X, carry X.......

    It took 6 hours before I could do something close to freeroam/sandbox and even then, after 6 hours tutorial, the missions are full of following someone in slowest speed possible and cutscenes.

    No good overview over missions and no idea what you are doing in fistfights. The buttoncommands change so in a fight your sitting watching bottom left of screen to see what button they want you to push.

    Menusystem is from the 90s and its not thought through very well. You pause the game 50 times an hour to eat, drink fix weapon and its not very smooth.
    Cant say i ever have played a game that was this tedious and annoyingly slow....

    Played a few hours more and it only gets worse. If its not enough follow people in general, the missions are full of this following with controls from hell.
    The best part is that you normally have to press aimbutton several times before game reacts.
    Surprisingly bad game that spent millions on marketing and people think this is good because they see ads all over the place. Sheeps.
  58. Oct 26, 2018
    2
    Bad open world, bad loot system, bad game.. Drops under 28 FPS When will this ridiculousness end?
  59. Oct 26, 2018
    0
    The first RDR wasn't a good game, and it's successor has the same flaws and problems.

    First of all open world is bland and empty. Yes, it made as a decoration for your riding from mission to mission. And yes, the game has gorgeous views, but it just so shallow that the graphics can't make it better. Empty world, lack of exploring and feeling of the artificial world. Even GTA 5 feels
    The first RDR wasn't a good game, and it's successor has the same flaws and problems.

    First of all open world is bland and empty. Yes, it made as a decoration for your riding from mission to mission. And yes, the game has gorgeous views, but it just so shallow that the graphics can't make it better. Empty world, lack of exploring and feeling of the artificial world. Even GTA 5 feels more alive.

    Second, the overall Rockstar's problem: you need only a few hours to experience almost everything in the game. It has no deep progression and after a few hours you will start thinking "Why am I doing the same things over and over?".

    Third, realism doesn't matter. It's just made for nothing. You can starve and stop caring about all of your bars, and it will slightly affect your gameplay.

    Fourth, the NPC behaviour is not as good as it was promoted. It's the same fake as it was with the "new revolutionary Skyrim system". Just a shame because it's not a big difference between the last GTA.

    I can honestly say that the game has a fake promotion campaign altogether with media overhype. Yes, Rockstar is a big studio, but it shouldn't be the primary reason to give the game such high ratings.
  60. Oct 26, 2018
    1
    Not as fun as Vice City. Story not as good as the first. Witcher 3 still the boss.

    Requiescat in pace.
  61. Oct 26, 2018
    1
    I am disappointed this game. Rockstar make again same game. I wanna new gameplay
  62. Nov 13, 2018
    1
    Look I'm going, to be honest, and not hop on the bandwagon, the game is simply boring. The graphics and voice acting are good but the story is so boring. The game forces you to grind way too much, like why do I need to brush my damn horse.
  63. Nov 11, 2018
    7
    This is insanely overhyped by both gamers and the media. The game is good, but there are severe issues. Graphics are one of them, of course poor console hardware is to blame, but they should not be parading this thing as the holy grail of graphics, because it's not. When and if, a PC version is released we can discuss it.
    The other big issue I have is the characters. They are not
    This is insanely overhyped by both gamers and the media. The game is good, but there are severe issues. Graphics are one of them, of course poor console hardware is to blame, but they should not be parading this thing as the holy grail of graphics, because it's not. When and if, a PC version is released we can discuss it.
    The other big issue I have is the characters. They are not likeable, these are felons and criminals. Even if you like the western theme, Rockstar seems to have a fixation with crime that is not healthy at all. Good stories can be about thieves in the old west, but this is not one of them.
    Third and last, the strategy of early console release to force people into buying the game twice should be denounced heavily.
  64. Nov 11, 2018
    7
    Here we have 2 games in 1: a wonderful open world, 10 star, and a frustrating linear story and push button to continue, 4 star. The scripted story requires to press A, holding A else the mission fails. No freedom to get out of the script, worse than Telltales's stories. Many instances this game will treat you as an idiot with a mental age of 4 years. So if you wish have fun, play the openHere we have 2 games in 1: a wonderful open world, 10 star, and a frustrating linear story and push button to continue, 4 star. The scripted story requires to press A, holding A else the mission fails. No freedom to get out of the script, worse than Telltales's stories. Many instances this game will treat you as an idiot with a mental age of 4 years. So if you wish have fun, play the open world, but do not play the fishing, and buy a hammer and place on the A button to follow the story as the useless dialogues on horseback while watching tv. The fishery? This activity requires that you damage the right joystick gear or have corns on the big toe by turning very and quickly. Forget it.

    Warning: when your horse, even on autopilot, stumbles on a tree/rock and falls, hold on and do not throw the hammer on the TV. The horses do not see trees in this game.

    I believe that reviews writers do not play this game for over 1 hour. They did review about the demo or the trailer. Impossible to give 100 score to that game after you play it.

    Numbers: 70% of the story, 60% fun, threw the control on the wall 20 times, broke 3 TVs, and was arrested 1 time for throwing the console out the window and breaking a car. I have fun.
  65. Nov 1, 2018
    2
    Graphically and technically brilliant. Gameplay a chore fest takes ages to do anything simple, even looting. Travel feels like a slog and the controls and handling feel like they are from a game 20 years ago not matching any of the recent AAA third person games such as MGSV or AC.
    You have to eat, wash, even make coffee and clean your horse, I don't want to do chores in a video game to
    Graphically and technically brilliant. Gameplay a chore fest takes ages to do anything simple, even looting. Travel feels like a slog and the controls and handling feel like they are from a game 20 years ago not matching any of the recent AAA third person games such as MGSV or AC.
    You have to eat, wash, even make coffee and clean your horse, I don't want to do chores in a video game to relax
    Overall huge disappointment
  66. Nov 13, 2018
    7
    I have loved every single rockstar game since GTA 3, and this game is no exception to the rule. You can tell that there was a whole lot of effort put into this title and it is understandable as to why it took so long to release. The vistas are gorgeous, the story and acting is excellent, and the amount of things you are able to do in the game are literally endless.

    Unfortunately, there
    I have loved every single rockstar game since GTA 3, and this game is no exception to the rule. You can tell that there was a whole lot of effort put into this title and it is understandable as to why it took so long to release. The vistas are gorgeous, the story and acting is excellent, and the amount of things you are able to do in the game are literally endless.

    Unfortunately, there are some glaringly obvious flaws with the game, the two major flaws for me are: the incredibly awful pacing for the storyline, there were some really fun missions alongside some really boring tedious missions, and it was hard for me to keep my attention on it and keep playing it sometimes, the other major flaw is the absolutely abysmal character movement and cover system that leave a lot to be desired.

    + Excellent story
    + Great voice acting
    + Great soundtrack
    + Lots of side activities
    + Gorgeous world
    + Some really fun missions
    + Extensive list of animals, customization options, clothing, etc.

    - Awful pacing in story
    - Incredibly boring missions and side quests here and there
    - Abysmal and clunky character movement and cover systems
    - Post game epilogue and explorable areas are less than interesting

    Overall, it is a great game, and a good effort put forward by Rockstar, but it is not their best effort. Felt more like a really long movie and less like a fun video game at some points. Looking forward to GTA 6.
  67. Nov 13, 2018
    7
    A stunning game, for sure. But more importantly, so many missed opportunities. The worst for me is how clunky the controls are. Nothing feels natural, the game needs to explain every command and many times during the game.

    Then there's the world. it is beautiful, sure, but it was inspired by some of the world's most breathtaking locations, namely the American west. And to be honest,
    A stunning game, for sure. But more importantly, so many missed opportunities. The worst for me is how clunky the controls are. Nothing feels natural, the game needs to explain every command and many times during the game.

    Then there's the world. it is beautiful, sure, but it was inspired by some of the world's most breathtaking locations, namely the American west. And to be honest, RDR2's locations never give you that awe. And before you say it's a game it's not the same, well many games have accomplished it, so this is not an excuse.

    Luckily, the writing is simply excellent. But even then, the quests never feel like a big deal, but that's not such a problem. I wish I had a bit more guidance in what i am supposed to do next but then, the writing more than makes up for that particular problem.

    As much as i hate saying this, I must admit RDR2 is way too overrated. it's clearly an excellent game but a new Witcher 3 this isn't.
  68. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Without a doubt the best game ive ever played, a true Next Generation game. The visuals the sound and the attention to detail makes this the most immersive game ever. The characters and the story is also one of the best from rockstar. Also see the return of characters like Jon marsten make you even more connected to the game. The game is deserving of a 10. The best open ive played in aWithout a doubt the best game ive ever played, a true Next Generation game. The visuals the sound and the attention to detail makes this the most immersive game ever. The characters and the story is also one of the best from rockstar. Also see the return of characters like Jon marsten make you even more connected to the game. The game is deserving of a 10. The best open ive played in a very long time.
  69. Nov 3, 2018
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Good:
    1. It looks nice I suppose though its not better than any other AAA open world game I've played in recent years
    2. Collecting Bounties are fun but they are just a fetch quest.
    3. The cores system combined with the food is nice however it quickly became apparent that it was better to manage it through tonics and just eat to keep at the right weight.
    The Bad
    1. The story. i'm almost done with chapter 2, so far i dislike the people the game has me interact with and i'm already hoping the gang fails. I dread going to that stupid camp full of horrible people asking you to do there work for them
    2. The combat. Boring cover based shooter but without proper aiming, think a less imaginative gears of war one
    3. The World. Empty and not in a good way. In a why does every town feel like there's no one there way. There's just a few people to sell you stuff and normally one person just saying or shouting the same few sentences over and over again and as there is only life in the towns you hear it a lot
    4. Riding my horse around to get to somewhere has quickly become the most boring thing i have done in a game. I'm not a fan of holding A for 20 mins for 5 mins of game play the another 20 mins of holding A to get back to civilisation and any thing to do, its just boring
    5. No reward for exploration, I've spent about five hours riding around exploring the world and my main memory of it was just sitting there holding A for hours with nothing much to do there are some people in the world that wanted help but that quickly became repetitive and boring again.
    6. I don't like playing the bad guy, i thought you where actually going to be seeking redemption like in Red Dead Redemption 1" this leads to many thing that I see as options being completely ignored because i have no interest in them, also my character isn't very nice. I find it hard to play a game where I dislike the person I play as.
    7. Nothing ever really gets explained properly. For instance in Chapter two there as a quest to get a legendary bear. you can chose to go after it or leave it( The games way of telling you that pictures of animals on the map are locations where you can find legendary ones). I want after it killed it then chucked it on my horse and spent 20 mins holding A to get back to town to sell it for some major money to find that no one wanted it. OK I thought to camp it must be a crafting thing. Lets hold A and go there. Nope no one hear wants it, by this point i'm starting to think it just a game object and doesn't have a use so i look online find there's a trapper that can be found in 3 different locations. the next 3 hours is spent holding A looking for him. That's just not fun game-play for me

    Other Issues

    There where a few glitches but I expect that. Mirrors went crazy at one point. Game objects kept going black at certain angles.

    You can climb up but as far as I can tell you cant climb down leading to some annoying deaths

    I think you're meant to bond with your horse but they have stats so there treated like changeable parts and as soon as I find a better one I swap. Give me a horse close to the beginning that has the potential to be one of the best horses in the game if i stick with it then I might care but until I find one that's maxed out whats the point i'm going to sell it as soon as i find a better one

    You may find different but i just find it a bit boring. It has the sense of a tech demo to it, arr look how big and beautiful our world is with it's "immersive" animations and story telling.

    Hopes

    Online. its all its got left, I hope it plays like a full on MMO with character creation, fast travel, ability to join the law or a gang, you're own camp with people you recruit rather than that horrible dutch guy and his mates. I was looking for a full on single player game that I could spend hours doing stuff in. I got a sparsely populated horse riding simulator with an arcade combat system and I'm now hoping for a full online game because unfortunately there attempts at a single player experience haven't really worked. At least not for me. It feels like an really badly written 80 hour cowboy movie where all the extra time is spent just watching one silent person sit on a horse and ride around
  70. Oct 28, 2018
    8
    I cannot find the reasons to give this a 10 as so many others have, however, this is a good game. The storyline and attention to detail with characters and NPCs fully fleshed out in an open world is typical Rockstar and the improvements in this area are superior to their last outing in GTAV....It loses a couple of points from me in the gameplay area. The searching and looting is longI cannot find the reasons to give this a 10 as so many others have, however, this is a good game. The storyline and attention to detail with characters and NPCs fully fleshed out in an open world is typical Rockstar and the improvements in this area are superior to their last outing in GTAV....It loses a couple of points from me in the gameplay area. The searching and looting is long drawn out and clearing up the loot after a big showdown (Black Belle for example) takes way too long. Walking around inside buildings looking for things to loot and open up - again, takes too long. I get that the developers wanted things to move at a slower pace compared to their mainstay GTA, but this is way too slow...….. Getting from A to B is also laborious with POIs and quest markers miles apart. I've played around 8 hours and feel like I've achieved almost nothing.....Yes, I have likely only scratched the surface of the game but 8 hours into a storyline? I should be well embedded in it by now.
  71. Oct 29, 2018
    1
    I honestly loved the first one and couldn’t wait for RDR2 but I could barely get past the tutorial without turning it off. I then completed chapter 1 and moved on and I can honestly say it doesn’t get ANY better.
    It stays the same pace, from walking, talking, horse riding is god aweful I’m sorry but I don’t like games where I’m mashing the A button for 10 minutes straight just to get to
    I honestly loved the first one and couldn’t wait for RDR2 but I could barely get past the tutorial without turning it off. I then completed chapter 1 and moved on and I can honestly say it doesn’t get ANY better.
    It stays the same pace, from walking, talking, horse riding is god aweful I’m sorry but I don’t like games where I’m mashing the A button for 10 minutes straight just to get to my quest, then when your at the quest you have to ride 10 minutes more. I just want to shoot people and move onto the next mission. Oh and the sheep herding mission. REALLY I almost shot all my sheep before herding them into town just to make it more fun.

    The bounty system is also terrible I went broke just to keep playing mission without getting killed instantly I mean the game is a terrible version of rpg.
  72. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This is an absolute masterpiece. All of these people that rated it 0 or whatever that complain about "wahhhhh it's not on pc, wahhhhh". Well most ACTUAL games have a PC and a console and if you don't, then you're just behind the times. Get with the program and stop whining about PC master race when what you should be doing is having ALL the gaming hardware of different platforms.This is an absolute masterpiece. All of these people that rated it 0 or whatever that complain about "wahhhhh it's not on pc, wahhhhh". Well most ACTUAL games have a PC and a console and if you don't, then you're just behind the times. Get with the program and stop whining about PC master race when what you should be doing is having ALL the gaming hardware of different platforms.

    This game is one of the best i've ever played. Period. 10 out of 10.
  73. Oct 31, 2018
    10
    Rockstar games siempre ha llevado el gaming a un nuevo estándar y gracias al primer Red Dead Redemption, varios juegos de mundo abierto son lo que son hoy en día. Red Dead Redemption 2 es un juego hecho a mano, con cuidado y mucho detalle, capaz de sorprender en cualquier instante, llevándonos por una obra que nos hace sentir que la espera por este juego, valió la pena.
  74. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The game is a masterpiece, 100% game of the year!!! 10/10Red Dead Redemption 2 is simply one of the finest open world games ever crafted.
  75. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I don't understand the user score.. like these people seem to forget how to value a good single player game this days.. just want to play multiplayer, battle royal e.t.c e.t.c. single player is boring to them..
  76. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The attention to detail in this game is fantastic. Great story telling and a good balance between story and gameplay so far. Rockstar has outdone them selves
  77. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Best Open World Game I ever played.... story is amazing...there are no MTX in single player also you can use cheat codes
  78. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    La experiencia de juego de nueva generación es tan inmensa y llena de cosas por hacer que te adentraras mas en la historia que otros juegos, la relación de estos también es buena y disfrutaras de sus gráficos en la consola mas potente de la generación Xbox One X.
  79. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Exelente ambientación un paso adelante respecto al primer Red Dead, unos efectos, gráficos, diseños y paisaje y ciudades muy elaboradas, infintas misines que hacer, con un buen manejo, e historia absorbente.
    Luego en Xbox One X se ve de lujo, aunque deberián revisar el tena del HDR el cual parece roto.
    Un juegazo, a disfrutarlo. p.d. para los del 0, creo que ni el superman de nitendo
    Exelente ambientación un paso adelante respecto al primer Red Dead, unos efectos, gráficos, diseños y paisaje y ciudades muy elaboradas, infintas misines que hacer, con un buen manejo, e historia absorbente.
    Luego en Xbox One X se ve de lujo, aunque deberián revisar el tena del HDR el cual parece roto.
    Un juegazo, a disfrutarlo.

    p.d. para los del 0, creo que ni el superman de nitendo 64 sería un 0... se os ve el plumero pcculerdos y piperos. La mejor versión la de Xbox One X. :)
  80. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is simply one of the finest open world games ever crafted.

    Playing this since the midnight launch and I am floored at the level of detail Rockstar have managed to pack into this game. 8 years of development and ungodly hours have shone through to create a game which is just unbelievable! It is absolutely stunning in native 4k on the One X and definitely the best
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is simply one of the finest open world games ever crafted.

    Playing this since the midnight launch and I am floored at the level of detail Rockstar have managed to pack into this game. 8 years of development and ungodly hours have shone through to create a game which is just unbelievable!

    It is absolutely stunning in native 4k on the One X and definitely the best way to experience this game.

    I would strongly suggest not reading many reviews or watching any videos about this game and rather going in blind, turning the mini-map off (you can always turn it back on quickly with the d-pad to get your bearings) as it will make it that much more immersive.

    Everywhere you go there is something to do, and the world is just enormous.

    Playing 10 hours and only having completed around 10% of the game I am so excited to see what happens in the next 50-100 hours I'm sure it'll take to complete this masterpiece.

    Disregard the salty PC users who have given this game a 0, it is absolutely worth playing and definitely deserving of the crazy 98 critic score it currently sits on.

    Bravo Rockstar!
  81. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    this is the best game i've played this year hands down. after getting screwed by treyarch and bluehole it's nice to see a few studios like ninja, cdprojekt red, and rockstar still care about taking their time to deliver a finished, polished product upon release
  82. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Somebody is spamming the user's review with the same negative review. Played 10 hours of it and I am bored. Never gonna play it again. Played this already ten years ago, it's the same thing. Same game. Same game.
  83. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Masterpiece! One of the most beautiful games I’ve ever played in a while. You should go buy this for sure and right now.
  84. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This game is amazing, the attention to detail is next level. Game of the year for sure. Do not listen to all the salty PC players. Hopefully they will dry their tears and move on shortly.
  85. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    This game looks better on the xbox compared the ps4, why the user score difference? is the same game after all, besides the graphics.
  86. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    10/10 just to nullify all these ridiculous 1/10's from fascist PC gamers crying about how this game doesn't come out on their platform. And yes, people like you are the reason I hope it stays like that, you don't deserve games like these.
  87. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    now yes here is the best version of the game because now if the gaming experience is the best and with real 4k not like the competition that lies
  88. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Even the Critics got it right! This is one of the Greatest games ever made.. Hands down
    btw if you're in the mood for a good laugh, read some of the fake negative reviews!
    "#1 Best Game of 2018" --->
    Ask Forbe$
  89. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    ok so you are probably seeing a low score don't trust that its just a lot of pc owners who can't get the game when they never touched it anyway, Red dead 2 is much better than the 1st one I feel like red dead 2 is the best open world I have ever seed and the most realistic world and games I have played
    Only deadshot is not that realistic but thats it my suggestion if you own an xbox or
    ok so you are probably seeing a low score don't trust that its just a lot of pc owners who can't get the game when they never touched it anyway, Red dead 2 is much better than the 1st one I feel like red dead 2 is the best open world I have ever seed and the most realistic world and games I have played
    Only deadshot is not that realistic but thats it my suggestion if you own an xbox or ps4 get this game right now
  90. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption 2 is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Rockstar made every aspect of the game perfect as can be. Only about 10 hours into the game and I can say its already in my top 5 games of all time. Please ignore all of the pc morons. I have a pc and xbox and yes i would rather have it on pc but still is really impressive for an original Xbox One. If they can afford aRed Dead Redemption 2 is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Rockstar made every aspect of the game perfect as can be. Only about 10 hours into the game and I can say its already in my top 5 games of all time. Please ignore all of the pc morons. I have a pc and xbox and yes i would rather have it on pc but still is really impressive for an original Xbox One. If they can afford a $900 pc then I don't see how they can't afford a $199-$299 console.
  91. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Perfect game, and best played on Xbox regardless of the PS4 fanboys review bombing. Native 4k vs PS4s half 4k
  92. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    This is my first perfect score. This game is technically superb. You can get lost in a small piece of area of the map for hours, admiring the lush landscape and doing some activities. This is a live and vibrant world that capture you and dont want let you go anymore. Storytelling, AI, graphic and details are the most advance you could find in a game in 2018. I believe that this is the bestThis is my first perfect score. This game is technically superb. You can get lost in a small piece of area of the map for hours, admiring the lush landscape and doing some activities. This is a live and vibrant world that capture you and dont want let you go anymore. Storytelling, AI, graphic and details are the most advance you could find in a game in 2018. I believe that this is the best product of a softwerehouse can reach in this console gen. Rockstar broken the market, set a new level for the future open world games . That is why its deserve 10
    Metacritic should propose a smart test before allow some users to write a review. Some of you are ridiculous.
  93. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised of the graphics on the Xbox One S. Honestly i thought it would look bad considering the console at its core is not very powerful. The world is massive, the voice acting is great and the gun play is my favorite. I love using dead eye with dual-wield revolvers. Would recommend 10/10
  94. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    juego mde 10 lastimas que los haters vengan a crearse cuenta a darle negativos lamentable
  95. Oct 29, 2018
    0
    Terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible bounty system. Rockstar, seriously, why did you have to destroy this game with such a terrible bounty system?
  96. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    A perfect experience game. Open world gameplay, story... Everything. And it's great on Xbox One X.
  97. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    The overwhelming majority of negative (and fake) reviews I keep reading here look like they were writtenl by the same mouth breather who has made such arguments such as they don’t have a car to drive (in the old west) like in GTA and are left to care for a horse it takes away from their gaming experience, being mad because it’s not a PC game, or any other number of completely asinine andThe overwhelming majority of negative (and fake) reviews I keep reading here look like they were writtenl by the same mouth breather who has made such arguments such as they don’t have a car to drive (in the old west) like in GTA and are left to care for a horse it takes away from their gaming experience, being mad because it’s not a PC game, or any other number of completely asinine and trivial one-takes! Idiots like this one and others need not even purchase this game if you’re looking for non-stop GTA action style brainless stupidity, the Red Dead Redemption series is definitely not for you! Like it’s predecessor Red Dead Redemption 2 is not only beautiful but it’s story is every bit as much rich and entertaining enough to pull you in a keep the player yearning for what comes next for multiple hours on end as the original!

    Red Dead Redemption 2 is definitely deserving of all the praise it’s received, will continue to do so, and it is every bit worthy enough to be named 2018’s best game and like the original a true masterpiece! Anyone who’s making claims to the contrary has obviously never even played the this game or it’s predecessor or they aren’t just to blinded by jealousy for the praise it’s garnered they aren’t willing to even give it a chance! It never fails to amaze me how brainless children show up from the bowls of the internet after anything good comes along with the same tired claims of everything is “over hyped” simply because it’s popular, worthiness isn’t to be questioned for a sake of adolescence conformity!
  98. Oct 26, 2018
    9
    If you are a fan of open world games,
    Westerns or rockstar in general you will love this game. I am playing it on a Xbox one s and it’s a beautiful game with only small dips happening during the most hectic sequences it’s easily the most polished rockstar game yet. If I am going to complain about anything it would be the fact the controls are not streamlined and can be unnecessarily
    If you are a fan of open world games,
    Westerns or rockstar in general you will love this game. I am playing it on a Xbox one s and it’s a beautiful game with only small dips happening during the most hectic sequences it’s easily the most polished rockstar game yet. If I am going to complain about anything it would be the fact the controls are not streamlined and can be unnecessarily confusing in the heat of battle. An amazing experience so far definitely a must buy
  99. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    A masterpiece which stands tall with open world greats like The Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt. A fully realized open world with exploration and tasks which actually are enjoyable to undertake with further depth being able to be undertaken by those who crave for it, meanwhile those who don't care for aren't severely punished. A true testament to video games as an art form.
  100. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This game was developed over eight years, by thousands of people working long hours. And it shows. The level of polish is unparalleled, and the level of quality is immense; this is quite simply the best game of this console generation and easily one of the best games of all time. Am I surprised though? No. This is Rockstar after all, and anything they touch is gold, they have a knack forThis game was developed over eight years, by thousands of people working long hours. And it shows. The level of polish is unparalleled, and the level of quality is immense; this is quite simply the best game of this console generation and easily one of the best games of all time. Am I surprised though? No. This is Rockstar after all, and anything they touch is gold, they have a knack for making extremely high quality games and every Rockstar game release is a big event in the world of gaming. Games like this don't come out every year, so cherish this game. The only idiots hating on this game are the salty PC fan-boys who are sad that they cannot play this masterpiece.

    If I could rate this game higher I would but unfortunately Metacritic wont let me. This is an 11/10 for me, games like this only come along once in a generation and this game deserves all the praise it gets. Pure quality.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    100
    It doesn’t matter if you are gamer, a human being, or an alien from another planet; Red Dead Redemption 2 is a title that you just can’t miss. The bar set by RDR2 is so high that even Rockstar itself will probably have a hard time raising it. One of the best releases in the history of digital entertainment.
  2. 90
    While it has some notable but minor flaws, it's hard to argue that Red Dead Redemption 2 is not a masterpiece. The end result of the meticulous detail, wonderful writing and stunning looks is an open world that sets a new bar for believability, and a time and place I can't stop thinking about or wanting to be a part of.
  3. 80
    Red Dead Redemption 2’s missteps are few. The autosaving system is a little bit cruel, leading you to replay failed missions not from a pivotal point, but often from the very beginning of the mission or the section; the game should have taken cues from Ubisoft’s Far Cry and implemented far more friendly checkpoint saves. And while horseback riding in this game is largely fantastic, it’s odd to spend so much time tapping a button just to create your horse’s pace. This is intuitive -- but it feels unnecessary at times, too. The entire Red Dead experience, though, feels fantastic overall.