User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 48
  2. Negative: 21 out of 48
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2018
    8
    There was a period of time in my life where all I wanted in this world was a god damn chicken dinner. Oh, I craved it, I would go home sit down and grind for hours and hours trying to win the elusive dinner but it wasn’t meant to be. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, this game PUBG has the cool call it has a screen when you win that says “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner” Or at leastThere was a period of time in my life where all I wanted in this world was a god damn chicken dinner. Oh, I craved it, I would go home sit down and grind for hours and hours trying to win the elusive dinner but it wasn’t meant to be. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, this game PUBG has the cool call it has a screen when you win that says “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner” Or at least that’s what I think it says. I wouldn’t know because I’m a loser.

    In case you have been living under a rock for the last 9 months and don’t know this game is. Its a game last inspired the movie Battle Royale where one hundred people dropped onto an Island with nothing but the clothes on your back and you must fight one another to be the lone survivor. You battle one another with primarily guns and there are multiple guns for all scenarios and you find these guns throughout the map. You can also acquire guns by killing other people and taking their guns.

    In case you didn’t figure it out before (primarily because I didn’t tell you), this game is perma-death so what that means is when you die its game over. You can start a new match but your match is done so what this does is it encourages Camping. I know people really hate camping but if I have the opportunity to do so, I will happily sit back and camp away. I’m very weird in that sense because if I’m playing an offline campaign, I want to run and gun. I don’t want to sit in one spot and that’s why I love the campaign of Doom but if I’m playing a competitive online shooter I am the exact opposite. I will find a nice cozy spot that I can sit back and just wait for people.

    Now you may be wondering if it’s a large Island and plenty of places to hide, what’s keeping everyone from camping? The simple answer is the game condenses everyone into a smaller and smaller area. The longer explanation is initially you can go anywhere on the Island but about 5 minutes in a large circle will show up on the map. You want to get into that circle because the map will start condensing and once that happens, if you’re outside the circle you will start to lose health and eventually die. Just like the image above shows, the circle keeps getting smaller and smaller. So if you’re lucky then circle may condense on you (I was never that lucky). Its also important to note that in every game, the circle is random and you never know how it’s going to go. You just have to hope for the best.

    I’m sure anyone reading this is curious about how this game plays on the Xbox One S and for the most part, it runs well enough. It is far from polished and rubber-banding is still an issue but the game is still technically in early access so I give it somewhat of a free pass (for now).

    One of the reason camping is so effective in PUBG is because of sound. This is a very auditory game, you want to sit back and listen. Listen for footsteps because you can hear the footsteps outside of the house, then maybe you can hear the door open up, Then you can hear the person walking towards you. So then you can surprise and ambush them. There is this nervousness with the game that’s almost hard to describe.

    Imagine what I’ve just said, you’ve set up a trap and you’ve dropped some loot right in front of you. You hear footsteps, they’re coming in the door, they’re walking towards that loot they’re not going to see you. You’re ready for them, you’ve been waiting for 10,20,30 maybe even 40 minutes for someone to come. But you only have 1 chance to kill them, if you mess up and they get the jump on you. Now you’re dead and you just wasted all of that time. So there is this nervousness because you don’t want to mess up but you still do because you suck.

    The truth of this game is, its a very fun game but it wore on me after a month. As I joked before about never winning, it was something that I was really trying hard to get but this is a hard game and I suck at video games. I’m not good at competitive games, I enjoy playing them but I’m bad so that’s why I typically avoid competitive games and tougher games. I love a good story but for whatever reason, I got the PUBG fever and I wanted to win. But sadly after a month of sitting down every day and playing for a few hours. I couldn’t do it anymore. So that’s something to certainly keep in mind.

    When its all said and done, I think this is a game that I can recommend. It’s not the price of a full $60 game. Keep in mind that it is in early access so it’s not complete so it does have mechanical issues but every week the game is getting patched and improving. If you have a small group of friends and looking for something to play, I would recommend looking into this game.
  2. Sep 7, 2018
    9
    RATING: 9.0/10

    PUBG is a game that may not have debuted the Battle Royale genre, but it certainly brought the idea to the forefront of video game culture in an innovative way. The buzz created by the 2016 PC version set my expectations fairly high for the release of its' Xbox One console exclusive edition which came out December 12th, 2017. Although this game was released as a part of
    RATING: 9.0/10

    PUBG is a game that may not have debuted the Battle Royale genre, but it certainly brought the idea to the forefront of video game culture in an innovative way. The buzz created by the 2016 PC version set my expectations fairly high for the release of its' Xbox One console exclusive edition which came out December 12th, 2017. Although this game was released as a part of Microsoft's Xbox Game Preview program and was only in an initial testing phase, I believe I speak for most of the community in saying it was not up to par. Plagued by framerate issues, crashes at the most vital times, piercingly harsh sound effects and fuzzy textures, I honestly considered that the game may just be unplayable. Keep in mind I was playing on the Xbox One X when experiencing such dark times, so I would like to extend my sympathies to those who experienced these problems on the OG Box.
    Since it released, I have had a very unstable relationship with PUBG, mainly because of how many times I was eliminated from a round for reasons that were out of my control – my vehicle hitting an invisible lip in the terrain and immediately exploding, getting stuck in a wall in the early stages of a match only to be shot gunned by someone who had a more fortunate landing, creeping through bushes with the stressful pride of making it to the top 5 before being booted back to the title screen.
    I am happy to finally be able to fully endorse this game. With the 1.0 release, players were provided with a more stable framerate, faster rendering times, enhanced textures, less crashes and an amazing battle royale experience. In addition to these quality of life improvements, players can now parachute in to 3 different maps, all with unique environments ranging from the barrens of Miramar to the dense, tropical greenery of Sanhok. And for those players who found the commitment of a full match to be overbearing, you can now choose to play a Mini-Royale on Sanhok, the smaller and more densely populated of the 3 maps and the newest in the lineup. This way, you're able to find action a lot easier and reach the top 10 slightly quicker.
    Unlike any other competitive multiplayer games on the market right now, PUBG is able to create a very real suspense, where my palms get sweaty and my heart beats twice as fast – I am not sure if this is a good thing but for many competitive gamers it can become addicting. And for those who have been lucky or skilled enough to bring home their own chicken dinner, the sense of accomplishment is very satisfying. Along with the full game release are a few new guns and attachments that players can experiment with as well as new customization options, including gun skins and fresh threads. Although, this being a game released in 2018, micro transactions have been introduced in the form of G points used to purchase crates. This has upset many in the PUBG community but these crates provide strictly cosmetic items having no effect on gameplay. You can also still purchase those same loot boxes, such as the biker crate containing many of the games rarest items using BP, the in-game currency. In my experience, cosmetic items sold through micro transactions do not affect my ability to enjoy or succeed in PUBG because no matter what hat or pair of kicks my opponent is wearing, I'm still going to humiliate them in a gun fight.
    Part of the reason many players including myself found PUBG so frustrating was because of the potential it had hidden under a surface of bugs, crashes and lack of refinement. The full game release really cleared up the squalor of its' initial console preview and made it into the game we wished it was almost a year ago. I gave PUBG a 9/10 simply because it is the most fun I have ever had playing a game alone, and especially with friends. That said, there is still room for improvement in terms of content variety (maps, modes and customization) and optimization (smoothness). See you on the battleground.

    Alex Garnett
    Freelance Video Game Journalist
    E: alexander.garnett@outlook.com |
  3. Sep 14, 2018
    8
    Ah PUBG, how I love/hate thee. Let me count the ways. Having joined the community from the inception of the game preview all the way through the current commercial release (played entirely on the One X), I have experienced the lows of the initial release and the highs of the current one. From jump this thing was filled with bugs. I've lost count of how many times my game has crashed andAh PUBG, how I love/hate thee. Let me count the ways. Having joined the community from the inception of the game preview all the way through the current commercial release (played entirely on the One X), I have experienced the lows of the initial release and the highs of the current one. From jump this thing was filled with bugs. I've lost count of how many times my game has crashed and kicked me back to the title screen while in the top 10 of a match; or my motorcycle inexplicably blew up because I ran over a lip in the terrain in the wrong manner. However, the majority of this appears to be in the past. With the commercial release, having played consistently since it went live, I can say that the only bug I have experienced (and really, it's only been once) was the always frustrating, and previously very prevalent one in which the game refuses to allow you to sprint, consistently kicking you back a couple of feet every time you try. For the vast majority of my time in-game, the experience has been smooth, stable and VERY exhilarating. I can't speak for gameplay on the OG Xbox One or the One S, but on the One X, this thing is smooth and looks good.

    If you've never played PUBG, I envy the feelings you are going to experience in your first match. The game will bring you to the brink of cardiac arrest and pull you back again. It will bring you to incredible highs as you score a chicken dinner, or even just finish in the top 5 or 10, and the lows, really, for me, aren't that bad; I never feel pissed when I lose a match because with the commercial release it's on me for not being good enough or just unlucky. I expect to die every time I boot up PUBG. It's like knowing when the scares are going to come in a horror film. I just assume that around every corner, in every room and over every ridge, I am going to get shot to hell. Thus, when I do die, it's expected. When I smoke some fool hiding in the grass or behind a rock, I feel like a rock star living on borrowed time. The rush is amazing.

    What makes this game so special is the story that you craft. You see, there is no story. There is no reason given for your being involved in a sick game of cat and mouse to the death. Every single match allows you to craft your own story and no two matches are EVER the same. Maybe you parachute in and immediately beat a guy to death with your fists over a can of red bull and a backpack. Alternatively, you could have a good 3 or 4 minutes to yourself to scavenge for guns and loot and plan your movement in a tactical manner. What is for certain is that in every match you join, your heat will pump, your adrenaline will flow like GD water over a broken dam and you will come back for more.

    There are no cartoon worlds here, with flying school buses, rainbow hang gliders, acme guns and little kid backyard forts. There is only the constant fear of imminent death and the slight hope of sweet salvation. It's worth it. Join up. You know you want to. See you in game.
  4. Oct 15, 2018
    0
    Player Unknown. What are you doing with your life? You put out an unfinished game onto the market. It honestly seems like Player Unknown couldn't be bothered to develop this game any more so he just put it out there for everyone to be disappointed.

    I heard praise and high appeal for this game, then bought it but was disappointed by the glitchy, buggy, unplayable mess that is PUBG.
    Player Unknown. What are you doing with your life? You put out an unfinished game onto the market. It honestly seems like Player Unknown couldn't be bothered to develop this game any more so he just put it out there for everyone to be disappointed.

    I heard praise and high appeal for this game, then bought it but was disappointed by the glitchy, buggy, unplayable mess that is PUBG.

    Bluehole are lazy. They cant be bothered to update this game but just wait for the profit to slide into their bank accounts. Every game is littered with cheaters. People with hacks ruin the experience. I can't count how many times I reported someone because of spewing out incredibly homophobic comments to me and Bluehole DIDN'T LISTEN. They have no other use for their lives so should ban someone.

    The proximity voice chat in PUBG sucks. People can hear team tactics and most of the time just someone having an argument with their mum because their mum either wants them to go outside or play a good game.

    Not to mention the TOXIC community. I am pretty sure 50% of the matches that I have played of PUBG someone has called me the N word or the C word without consequence. WTF?!?!?!??!
  5. Sep 15, 2018
    10
    The best Battle Royale game
    The First Person Shooter os The best more in The game
  6. Oct 27, 2018
    7
    Buggy, unfinished, graphics are OK
    has improved but still not a smooth gameplay experience.
  7. Sep 19, 2018
    4
    If you like this game on xbox, God help you. This runs like **** looks like **** and feels like **** Good mechanics are something this game has never heard of. If you honestly think this is good, you need to play more video games. This feels like it was made in 2006
  8. Nov 3, 2018
    0
    the worst performance I've ever seen in a console. Low frame rate, late-rendered objects, bad graphics... I can't recommend this anymore.
  9. Oct 4, 2018
    7
    Even though the game is fun, it has a lot of glitches. The gameplay is a little slow, but when it’s not it’s very fun. I like how 100 can be in a single match. The graphics aren’t great, but that’s not a huge problem. My main problem is glitches. The vehicles glitch a lot making you lose. Overall, I recommend it.
  10. Sep 23, 2018
    6
    While excellent in it's core game play, PUBG struggles to provide a consistent experience from a technical standpoint. It's more "survival based" pacing helps it stand out from other games of the genre. However, while it may be fun when it's running well, its plagued by a variety of technical issues on the Xbox One version.
  11. Sep 30, 2018
    9
    I like the close to reality of the game over other competitors, at least in term of look!
    It will be perfect if it adds a train/tutorial campaign for freshmen.
  12. Oct 23, 2018
    9
    This has been one of the most addictive and realistic shooters I played since CoD MW/Black Ops 1. They redefined the online battle world with the 100 player royal - it makes each kill you get that much more satisfying. Their shooting mechanics are great - recoil is realistic and it's really hard to hit a target more than 100m out, just as in real life (none of that HitScan cod crap) - noThis has been one of the most addictive and realistic shooters I played since CoD MW/Black Ops 1. They redefined the online battle world with the 100 player royal - it makes each kill you get that much more satisfying. Their shooting mechanics are great - recoil is realistic and it's really hard to hit a target more than 100m out, just as in real life (none of that HitScan cod crap) - no killstreaks, exploding drones, RC bombs, or juggernaut suits - just plain modern day warfare.

    However, as the time goes by...the game's rating steadily drops because it seems as if the developers have no interest in furthering the game unfortunately. I hope they can one day bring this back to life because I LOVE(D) THIS GAME. I have played well over several thousand matches and each has brought me joy and even funny moments with my friends.
  13. Nov 6, 2018
    0
    game is an unfinished pile of hot garbage. have been sitting on this since release, revisiting occasionally to see if its fixed. Seems like they're more concerned with profit gimmicks rather than making their game work. Fortnite is a free alternative, but im not a fan. if you're gonna spend money on a battle royal black ops 4 is at least the same experience but playable. its a sad day whengame is an unfinished pile of hot garbage. have been sitting on this since release, revisiting occasionally to see if its fixed. Seems like they're more concerned with profit gimmicks rather than making their game work. Fortnite is a free alternative, but im not a fan. if you're gonna spend money on a battle royal black ops 4 is at least the same experience but playable. its a sad day when i'd push a cod game over anything
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 18, 2018
    88
    All the small issues and problems aside, I personally spent more than 200 hours playing through PUBG, including 650 rounds, and do not feel bored at all. At first glance, PUBG may seem like a dangerous entry to the video games industry, and Battle Royale may not be acceptable as a standalone genre, but maybe 5 years from now, when Battle Royale will be the main focus of every multiplayer title, we will admire PUBG and understand the importance of ultimate freedom.
  2. Sep 16, 2018
    85
    A huge improvement on the Game Preview version PUBG confirms itself as the best Battle Royale game around, with very satisfying gameplay dynamics especially in team. It still needs a lot of optimization and polishing, but it definitely deserves a try.
  3. Sep 15, 2018
    89
    Its unique brand of tense, realistic shooting mixed with slow-paced tactical combat manages to stay fresh and exciting even after hundreds of matches.