Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Oct 21, 2018
    90
    The closest any racer has come to completely simulating its target sport. [Nov 2018, p.94]
  2. Sep 10, 2018
    90
    F1 2018 is the best game in the series we've seen in this console generation. It is just about as complete an F1 experience as it can get without going into the realm of full-blown simulation both from the action and management side. The extra depth added by contracts, rivalries, media and team management may not be for those who just want to race, but diehard fans of the sport who follow the headlines day in and day out will have a sense that they are really being involved in a virtual version of the sport. Racing remains the core of the game and Codemasters has continued to make this accessible to all players regardless of their racing proficiency.
  3. Sep 5, 2018
    90
    A complete, positive and visually very good experience. One of the best F1 games.
  4. Aug 24, 2018
    90
    With an in-depth Career mode, incredibly life-like visuals, plenty of content and a faithful simulation experience of everyone’s favourite racing discipline recreated to the finest detail, there aren't many better places to experience the thrill of race day besides heading down to the track in person.
  5. Aug 20, 2018
    90
    Quite how Codemasters has managed to top last year's incredible effort is quite beyond me, but F1 2018 manages to eclipse F1 2017, delivering an even more definitive and just as essential Formula One game that fans will 'lap' up. Get it bought.
  6. Aug 19, 2018
    90
    Codemasters keeps on perfecting its F1 sim, adding even more gameplay choices and making its Campaign yet more engaging and interesting. Visually, moreover, it's almost like watching the real thing on TV, especially at 4K. A must buy for every Formula One lover.
  7. Aug 19, 2018
    86
    Despite some very minor issues, F1 2018 is the best of its kind, and certainly the best in the series so far. The high level of visual and audio detail, grouped with the care and attention to authenticity, collectively makes for an experience that’s robust, faithful and deep. Codemasters’ subtle yet noticeable changes over F1 2017 takes an already distinguished racer and makes it bigger and better than ever.
  8. Sep 7, 2018
    85
    F1 2018 is by far the best F1 racing sim that has ever been made. It has the graphics, career mode, and blissful racing to make anyone go ga-ga. It is also no better than the F1 2017 from last year in virtually every way.
  9. Sep 6, 2018
    85
    F1 2018 may not be the next be landmark game in the series, but Codemasters have continued to develop and improve the franchise, making it more involved for those that care and more fun for those that don’t and it is these changes, and their commitment to making these games as appealing as possible, that continue to cement them as one of the best driving game developers out there.
  10. Aug 23, 2018
    85
    F1 2018 features the finest handling and force feedback for a dedicated F1 game to date, some welcome visual improvements, and a career mode that does a better job than ever at capturing the nuances of the world’s most-popular motorsport.
  11. Aug 20, 2018
    85
    F1 2017 was great and we didn’t expect much more with F1 2018. And we were wrong. Driving is more demanding, Career mode gets richier and visuals are finally on the same page. This is greatness.
  12. Aug 17, 2018
    85
    If you are a fan of Formula One, F1 2018 is a game you can’t pass up. It can feel a little bit continuist with some technical flaws that are recurrent, but its new options in Career Mode and its multiplayer will make you feel the passion of the real Formula One Circus.
  13. Oct 25, 2018
    80
    The latest and greatest F1 game for Codemasters roster, with just enough new about it to make it an update from last years. It’ll be a hard push to see what they do for 2019, that’s for sure, but Codemasters have had a long run with the F1 license, and it doesn’t look like they’re keen to stop anytime soon.
  14. Sep 12, 2018
    80
    F1 2018, just as with last year's game, is a game worthy of your attention and something fans of the franchise will love. It's stunning to look at, excellent fun to drive in, and the single-player mode has more than enough depth to keep keener players entertained.
  15. Aug 30, 2018
    80
    Hopefully, Codemasters are well underway with 2019’s development and I look forward to eating humble pie when they announce a raft of new features and updates. Until then F1 2018 is worthy of a spot in your library and takes on the mantel of the best ever official F1 to date.
  16. Aug 21, 2018
    80
    F1 2018 is a very, very good racing game. The authenticity is exceptional, whether you’re twiddling with the ERS system’s electronic boost-delivery as you figure out a way past the car in front, or trying not to get penalised for driving too quickly in a virtual safety car situation. For die-hard Formula One fans, it’s essential, but an abundance of driver aids make it forgiving enough to welcome more casual motor-racing fans, too.
  17. Sep 5, 2018
    70
    I’m barely two races into my career mode and can’t even compete against people from all over the world to test my skills against I really can’t say/do much more. When the game works, it’s great, incomplete sure but great, but that’s just the problem, when it works. I’ll keep at it and hopefully more patches will bridge the gap in play-ability and maybe with a few little tweaks as well this game can return it is series’ former glory.
  18. Aug 22, 2018
    70
    Avid players of F1 2017 would be wise to wait until the inevitable F1 2019 – unless they really must engage in some multiple choice PR interviews between races right now.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Aug 29, 2018
    9
    The presentation side of the game is absolutely fantastic because both the visuals and sound design create a very realistic F1 experience.The presentation side of the game is absolutely fantastic because both the visuals and sound design create a very realistic F1 experience. There's a lot of content for you to get to grips with and fans of the series will no doubt be satisfied for a long time to come. I really enjoyed the improvements that have been made in this year’s game because both the racing and handling feel more tight and stable this time around. The career mode is without a doubt the best the series has delivered so far and I was very impressed with the level of detail that’s been included in this mode. This game is accessible to all gamers because the assist and difficulty options means gamers of all skill levels can enjoy the game.
    I enjoyed the online components of the game more this year because they’ve catered to my needs much more this time around.The media interactions are a nice little touch there just isn’t enough variety in them so they do end up becoming quite repetetive and tedious after a short while. Does F1 2018 do enough to get a recommendation from me? Last year’s F1 game was without a doubt my favourite game of the series so far and I was hoping that F1 2018 would build on the momentum that was built from F1 2017, and thankfully I’m pleased to say that this year’s game has built on the momentum and then some. In fact F1 2018 is now probably my most favourite game of the series so far and that’s mainly because its made improvements again. The career mode is absolutely fantastic and it has a depth to it that we’ve never experienced before. You’ll be pleased to know then that the racing that accompanies the career mode and every other mode feels better than ever and this does make the racing feel even more rewarding. As far as problems go the game doesn’t really have any and when it’s all said and done if you’re looking for an F1 game that gets as close to the real thing as can be then I thoroughly recommend that you make a purchase of F1 2018.
  2. Sep 19, 2018
    3
    I see a progress from 2017, but it still can't recommend anybody to buy it.
    Improved graphics can't improve enough the most buggy racing game
    I see a progress from 2017, but it still can't recommend anybody to buy it.
    Improved graphics can't improve enough the most buggy racing game on the market as release was rushed as every season. Old bugs are not fixed and new added, from experience from last 4 years, we can't count with fixes. Multiplayer is still a garbage and nothing improved with the new driver license as drivers are penalized for being hit by others or pushed off the track.
    Even singleplayer lost the main reason to play in longterm as you can negotiate with top tier teams after few races and they will accept you, so after 4 horrible races in Williams you are gladly accepted to Mercedes. Safety car is broken since it was added to the game years ago.
    AI is blindly stupid and hit you in every occasion.