Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 3, 2018
    100
    The best classic fantasy RPG on console, ever.
  2. Aug 29, 2018
    100
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition is more than just a port. Within, Larian has rewritten and reworked massive pieces to address players concerns and make it the best version yet of an already excellent turn-based RPG.
  3. Aug 29, 2018
    97
    Divinity Original Sin 2 has everything necessary to become a modern classic. It's one of the greatest exponents of the traditional RPG games that we can find today on the market. If we allow ourselves to be seduced by its history, its rich conversational system and its complex combat, we will be captivated by a title that offers endless hours of play to discover all the secrets of a magical medieval fantasy world.
  4. Aug 31, 2018
    96
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition is a new way to play one of the absolute best RPGs in years...It’s flexibility, personality, and charm make for an amazing adventure.
  5. Sep 13, 2018
    95
    I can go on and on about how great Original Sin II is and honestly, I’d love to, but I think I have said what needs to be said here. ANY role playing fan needs to pick this game up. It has the options, the story, the look, and the feel of a truly amazing RPG, and it shows. D&D players will love the role playing aspects of it, and tactical fans will fall in love with the turn-based combat. It has damn near everything in it including co-op, so you won’t even have to experience this alone. It’s one of the best RPGs I have played in years and one that no one should pass up.
  6. Sep 6, 2018
    95
    Divinity Original Sin 2 was one of the best RPGs released in recent years. This Definitive Edition doesn’t change that fact. Loaded with content, it also features a good controler’s compatibility, allowing all console players to enjoy this gem.
  7. Aug 30, 2018
    95
    Divinity: Original Sin 2 Definitive Edition is the best version of the best RPG of 2017. If you like these games and have a console you’d be a fool not to play it.
  8. Sep 25, 2018
    91
    Larian Studios masterfully rescues the spirit of the RPG giants of yesteryear. A deep game strongly marked by an exciting main plot, which also offers unprecedented freedom in decisions, dialogues and character development. The best that has been created in the RPG genre in recent years.
  9. Aug 31, 2018
    90
    The world of Divinity is exceedingly vast, but it's full to the brim with meaningful content that you'll enjoy exploring through for dozens or even hundreds of hours. There are few RPGs I'd dare to call essential, but Divinity: Original Sin 2 stands out among all others as deserving of that accolade. It's undoubtedly one of the best tactical and role-playing experiences you'll ever have on any platform.
  10. 85
    Divinity Original Sin 2: Definitive Edition is a fine installment in the Divinity series and despite a few odd design decisions and the balance being completely out of whack, it’s still a truly memorable and enjoyable experience.
  11. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Oct 21, 2018
    80
    A compelling story with a huge amount of player freedom, but overwhelming at points. [Nov 2018, p.93]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 72
  2. Negative: 16 out of 72
  1. Aug 31, 2018
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed the story in the game because not only were the characters fantastic but the whole experience was a very interestingI thoroughly enjoyed the story in the game because not only were the characters fantastic but the whole experience was a very interesting affair as well. The combat has an incredible amount of depth to it and each element included in the combat works extremely well and makes it stand out even more.
    There is a huge amount of content for you to get to grips with and this content will no doubt keep you intrigued and satisfied for quite a while. Both the visuals and sound design have been done to perfection and I’m also pleased to say that the technichal side of the game is also perfect as well.
    The multiplayer components in the game work really well and this does give the game even more in terms of replayability. Sometimes the controls tend to be a little awkward and you will find yourself pressing the wrong button every now and then. If can get a little too complicated from time to time and this will cause you to endure a few frustrating moments at times. Does Divinity: Original Sin II – Definitive Edition do enough to get a recommendation from me? All in all I was very pleased to see that this game was making its way to the Xbox One because on PC the game is universally loved and without a doubt I can see Divinity: Original Sin II being loved just as much on the Xbox One now. I will say right from the get go that everything about the console version of this game impressed greatly because there are hardly any issues and everything plays just like it does on the PC. You will however have to get used to the controls because they can be a little awkward at first but when you do get used to them you’re greeted with combat elements that are simply stunning and a story that will keep you invested throughout your time with the game. At the end of the day if you have any interest in the RPG genre then this game is a must own because as far as RPG’s go Divinity: Original Sin II is up there with the very best.
  2. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    By far the best PC Games of the year and of all time.
    This is a must buy PC Game
  3. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    Fantastisk spil!
    God historie, godt gameplay, FANTASTISK SPIL!
    Kan kun anbefalde det!