User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 57
  2. Negative: 25 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2018
    5
    Destiny 2: Forsaken was an impulse buy for me. Wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it, but I can say that ultimately I did.

    Destiny 2 has set the bar very low for DLC; Curse of Osiris and Warmind, to put it lightly, sucked. Bungie doesn't seem to understand how to tell the story of Destiny's universe without excessively long exposition and a stack of cards that give you the really juicy stuff, but
    Destiny 2: Forsaken was an impulse buy for me. Wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it, but I can say that ultimately I did.

    Destiny 2 has set the bar very low for DLC; Curse of Osiris and Warmind, to put it lightly, sucked. Bungie doesn't seem to understand how to tell the story of Destiny's universe without excessively long exposition and a stack of cards that give you the really juicy stuff, but nobody's actually going to want to read.

    Story was nothing to be amazed at. I felt that the driving forces behind the story were ultimately hollow, and didn't ring true for a majority of the enemies fought. Speaking of enemies, the Scorn are a very welcome addition, the first enemy type that ISN'T A COPY FROM THE BASE GAME OF DESTINY 1. They are a real pain to defeat, though, and I feel like the faction really ups the ante from any of the other five.

    The new areas feel far more barren than other Destiny 2 areas, and that's saying something. Destiny has plenty of barren areas. Somehow, Bungie managed to one-up themselves in the worst way in that sense. Missions are still long, tedious and repetitive, and I'm sure this review sounds hopelessly negative.

    There are, of course, positives. Your light level rises rapidly throughout the DLC, giving you a sense of accomplishment at every turn, and I can say that Destiny 2 hit it out of the park with the addition of Gambit, which is the most fun I've had with Destiny, period. The price point is a bit of an issue, and I hope they fix that soon, but overall, it is an enjoyable experience. Would I recommend it over most other RPG shooters? No. Go play Borderlands if you want a loot-based shooter, it's superior in every way. But is it serviceable, and a positive addition to the base game of Destiny 2? Yes. The price is far too high, but should it go on sale or drop in any way, pick this up. It will provide you numerous hours of entertainment, until you finally realize Bungie doesn't know how to do a post-game grind whatsoever.
  2. Sep 9, 2018
    10
    Simply breath-taking. It's an amazing expansion and it breaks me to see that 90% of the negative reviews are from people who want to hate on Activision or haven't even played the campaign yet. The Narrative is unlike anything we have previously seen on destiny, the feel of the came is crisp (the new weapon system and TTK changes make sure of that), and for the first time in destinySimply breath-taking. It's an amazing expansion and it breaks me to see that 90% of the negative reviews are from people who want to hate on Activision or haven't even played the campaign yet. The Narrative is unlike anything we have previously seen on destiny, the feel of the came is crisp (the new weapon system and TTK changes make sure of that), and for the first time in destiny history, there is a pvp-PvE mode. Just because Bungie made massive screw-ups (the curse of the disappointment and a less disappointing Warmind) we need to remember that they orchestrated one of the greatest franchise of video game history Halo. Let's not forget that they also made The Taken King, which it is seen and Destiny 1's savior. What I am trying to say is that Bungie is capable of creating an iconic and Forsaken is nothing short of a masterpiece. Oh, and for those oblivious who say that the expansion is overpriced and that you have to pay 150$ if you haven't got the expansions, there is a bundle that you can buy for sixty bucks that include Destiny 2, Curse of Osiris, Warmind, and Forsaken. In my opinion, that IS worth the sixty dollars. Take a look at the taken king. It was also 40$ and only included 16-18 GB of content. Forsaken is ALSO 40$ and it has 47 GB OF CONTENT. That is almost enough to make Forsaken a stand-alone game. Therefore, be happy that you got a full game worth's of story, content, lore, equipment, and exotics for just 60 bucks.
  3. Sep 7, 2018
    7
    Destiny 2: Forsaken offers a solid story and a very intuitive new game mode in "Gambit". The new weapon class of bows adds a fresh new way to defeat your opponents in PvE and PvP. The main problem comes with the final boss fight. *SPOILERS* The fight starts out solid with you killing the final baron. The problem is if you have two people the fight is very difficult. Bring in a third andDestiny 2: Forsaken offers a solid story and a very intuitive new game mode in "Gambit". The new weapon class of bows adds a fresh new way to defeat your opponents in PvE and PvP. The main problem comes with the final boss fight. *SPOILERS* The fight starts out solid with you killing the final baron. The problem is if you have two people the fight is very difficult. Bring in a third and its a breeze. You run through hordes of enemies afterwards to get to the final fight. The fight you expected with Uldren turns out to be a fight with a floating monster that is nothing short of disappointing. The boss is just another bullet sponge that isn't very challenging to defeat. After you fight the monster you are treated with a cutscene where you appear to kill Uldren, but it isnt what you wanted when you saw him kill Cayde.
  4. Sep 21, 2018
    8
    Reality check review:
    Was vanilla Destiny 2 bad and a step back from D1? - yes
    Is Forsaken a good expansion and is the content worth 40$ - yes
    Is it ok to have new players pay 60$ for a game with 3 DLC and day one players 120$+ - No
    Is an Annual Pass (second season pass) a money scheme - yes
    Will it be worth to buy Destiny 3 - probably yes after a year at a discount price with all the DLC's
  5. Sep 11, 2018
    10
    le doy un 10 por los estúpidos que han dado un 0. Esta expansión es posiblemente la mejor hasta la fecha, trae la típica historia que realmente da un poquete igual pero luego llega lo bueno con la ciudad onirica que es básicamente un postgame larguísimo y lleno de secretos
  6. Sep 4, 2018
    0
    Worthless. They release a game for yet another 70€ and the servers are down. Don't release a game if you are not ready. This was the last time I bought a destiny game. What a ripoff
  7. Sep 4, 2018
    0
    More of the same. If you quit D2 because of the shady business practices, they awful storytelling and the repetition of gameplay, Forsaken isn’t the answer. Pack it in, bungie.
  8. Sep 6, 2018
    9
    Forsaken did what The Taken King did for Destiny 1, basically changed the game. All the mats that were worthless from each world all of a sudden have become gold, as infusing has become harder. Destiny isn't for everyone but I have a blast playing and have gotten my money's worth out of their universe.
  9. Sep 5, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed the game unlike most people, and knowing Cayde-6 as one of the more fun characters to be around it sucked to see him go, but the ending made up for all of it. You end Uldren the same way he ended Cayde and that's the most satisfying part about this dlc.
  10. Sep 5, 2018
    10
    Honestly, I was surprised. I have enjoyed the story as far as I have played it, and for good reason. Yes, the launch was disastrous. But despite that, this story is really delivering to me that Destiny may have a real chance to redeem itself. Price is under the typical price for a triple-A game, there's now ways to actually earn some of the previously transaction-blocked items, and a wholeHonestly, I was surprised. I have enjoyed the story as far as I have played it, and for good reason. Yes, the launch was disastrous. But despite that, this story is really delivering to me that Destiny may have a real chance to redeem itself. Price is under the typical price for a triple-A game, there's now ways to actually earn some of the previously transaction-blocked items, and a whole ton of new content to add alongside. Sure, some parts get a bit chaotic and focus on the hunt, but to me that was the whole point. It was meant to be some sort of chaotic, it was meant to have a hunting to explore the world mechanic. I have the previous expansions, and even if I didn't I could play Forsaken. It just feels like what I expected: Nothing too perfect, but it was good enough for me to think they really have a shot. Keep in mind I haven't finished it, but as my opinion stands, I think this is worth the buy, and for a damn good reason.
  11. Sep 6, 2018
    10
    Absolutely the best release in the series to date. Taking notes on the failures of the past, Bungie has created an update to the game that finally gives the series a serious and adult storyline. Changes to the sandbox, with its redone weapon slots, new abilities/subclasses, and completely reworked randomized rolls and relevant mod systems, have added much more depth in playstyle that itsAbsolutely the best release in the series to date. Taking notes on the failures of the past, Bungie has created an update to the game that finally gives the series a serious and adult storyline. Changes to the sandbox, with its redone weapon slots, new abilities/subclasses, and completely reworked randomized rolls and relevant mod systems, have added much more depth in playstyle that its players craved.

    Don't listen to the Bungie haters here -- if you have ever seen the potential of the series, now is the time to check out the update.
  12. Sep 4, 2018
    10
    I thought id never come back to this game but forsaken has proven me wrong.
  13. Sep 7, 2018
    9
    At the story alone, I laughed, I cried, I felt vengeful and glorious. They expanded the world in the biggest way they ever have. While not technically part of the expansion they released weapon slot changes, time to kill changes, and uncountable quality of life changes that make the game an absolute joy to play. I was embarrassed to admit that I still played Destiny 2 throughout year one.At the story alone, I laughed, I cried, I felt vengeful and glorious. They expanded the world in the biggest way they ever have. While not technically part of the expansion they released weapon slot changes, time to kill changes, and uncountable quality of life changes that make the game an absolute joy to play. I was embarrassed to admit that I still played Destiny 2 throughout year one. Bungie kept dragging me along with a handful of decent changes in hopes that this expansion would fix the game. It did more than that, it made this the best version of destiny to ever exist. I will say, the reason I can't give it a 10/10 is the remaining lootboxes. They break my belief in the world far too often. They are bad for the consumer and while all of that is pretty bad in my eyes the game being good makes it less obvious. They have added a lot of things to mitigate the lootboxiness of it and I'm positive that if you play a decent amount every week and use your items wisely you will get everything (just like I did in season 3).
  14. Sep 25, 2018
    0
    This is the reason why gaming is being ruined nowadays. So Destiny 2 launched as some of the biggest s*** ever made in Video gaming history. I bought it at launch and sold it away within 4 days(NO JOKE). So let me explain what was so wrong with that game and what is wrong with this game. So Destiny 2 was supposed to be a massive revolution and was suppose to have an excellent story. TheThis is the reason why gaming is being ruined nowadays. So Destiny 2 launched as some of the biggest s*** ever made in Video gaming history. I bought it at launch and sold it away within 4 days(NO JOKE). So let me explain what was so wrong with that game and what is wrong with this game. So Destiny 2 was supposed to be a massive revolution and was suppose to have an excellent story. The developers said something like, but not exactly, there will be so much story in Destiny 2 you will go crazy. Absolutely true BUNGIE. This game had so much s*** story it'll make you go crazy. On top of that, the microtransaction system was made to make you spend money. At this point, I have pretty much no choice but to accept these s*** systems, even though I would rather not, because fanboys would not let people who spoke out against the game. Not only that, the gameplay was so easy, like seriously you can beat it so easily. I know at this point I might as well go on the main game talk some of this **** on it, but I doubt anyone looks at that game anymore. This is the new s*** that everyone is talking about. I was hearing so many good things about this expansion and so I decided to buy it(Thank god I didn't buy the other expansions). And OMG. At first I thought they actually fixed this game...but I realized what they did later and was so disappointed. They did what they did in Destiny 1, in which they improved the game through the Taken King, but it was too late and it cost money, not a free DLC. This is what makes me realize that this game is a complete cash grab and please, if you love video games, or ever have, don't buy Destiny 2, this expansion and any other expansion. This is the review of an old timer that wants games to be great again.
  15. Sep 13, 2018
    9
    After about a 4 month hiatus from Destiny 2 because Osiris sucked so much, I was pleasantly surprised by this DLC. Like most AAA companies, they promise this and that and don't typically deliver on every "promise". Most of them are met in Forsaken. The story itself took me roughly 6-8 hours to complete because I had to keep grinding to up my power level to take on the next baron.

    With
    After about a 4 month hiatus from Destiny 2 because Osiris sucked so much, I was pleasantly surprised by this DLC. Like most AAA companies, they promise this and that and don't typically deliver on every "promise". Most of them are met in Forsaken. The story itself took me roughly 6-8 hours to complete because I had to keep grinding to up my power level to take on the next baron.

    With that, every baron is unique in their own way which entails for thrilling boss fights. Sadly though, at the right power level, you can end them quickly with your super. Hopefully Bungie follows what they did in Forsaken for future DLC's so we never have to endure Osiris again. Also hoping they kill off the rest of the vanguard because I can't stand Ikora and I hate Zu Zu Vala. Operation Piccolo is no longer a go.

    Overall, I'm very impressed with what Forsaken has done and introduced for the future of Destiny. The only downfall is that I wish we got a lot more new/unique gear other than year 1 re-skins.
  16. Sep 23, 2018
    10
    For everyone who downvotes the game on the grounds of "you have to pay to get the game fixed" you're wrong. The game update that fixed the core mechanical issues was free. you're paying for new content, not the game fixing update. Forsaken is a new destiny experience that focuses 90% of its content in the end game. That combined with the update that fixed the mechanical issues, such as theFor everyone who downvotes the game on the grounds of "you have to pay to get the game fixed" you're wrong. The game update that fixed the core mechanical issues was free. you're paying for new content, not the game fixing update. Forsaken is a new destiny experience that focuses 90% of its content in the end game. That combined with the update that fixed the mechanical issues, such as the weapon system, creates, in my opinion, the best destiny experience yet. And as a disclaimer, the physical expansion costs $40, not $180, saying that is factually incorrect and is only used to purposely mislead people.
  17. Oct 15, 2018
    1
    Highly disappointed in the amount of content, and the need to grind. Bungie can't seem to get the formula right, and this will be the last time I purchase a DLC from the Destiny franchise.
  18. Nov 7, 2018
    0
    you cannot play this game with 2 consoles on the same router and there's no split-screen so there's no way for multiple people in the same place to do co-op, chat, party or be in fireteam. and no way to get your money back. i've worked hours with xbox live and router tech support and they all say it's the game
  19. Oct 25, 2018
    8
    Forsaken is the latest installment in Bungie’s looter shooter Destiny 2. The story takes Guardians to darker shores, different from the sparkling, shining, virtuous tower we have come to know. If you are looking to avoid spoilers, click the X in the top right of your browser now. The first mission, is incredible. Our Guardian interacts with two different NPC’s throughout the mission, andForsaken is the latest installment in Bungie’s looter shooter Destiny 2. The story takes Guardians to darker shores, different from the sparkling, shining, virtuous tower we have come to know. If you are looking to avoid spoilers, click the X in the top right of your browser now. The first mission, is incredible. Our Guardian interacts with two different NPC’s throughout the mission, and the writing and cutscenes are some of the best they have ever done, and that is just in the first mission. There is real joy in Cayde-6, as he runs around restoring order to the Prison of Elders. He runs around the level with you. This is something that has been missing from most of Destiny’s content; interaction from the world we run through.

    Death of a Hero
    To the writer’s, and Nolan North’s credit, Cayde is Cayde until the end. (Nolan North replaced Nathan Fillion for Forsaken) Side note: There is a very real difference between Nolan North’s Cayde-6 and Nathan Fillion’s Cayde-6. The most accurate way to describe it, is that Fillion was playing Cayde, and North was playing Nathan Fillion. Fillion did leave some very large shoes to fill.

    The death of Cayde-6 was heart wrenching, and left me with a sense of loss. Throughout Destiny and Destiny 2, there has been one character that just shines, and that’s Cayde-6. When Bungie revealed his death at E3, the community was in upheaval. People who hadn’t played Destiny in months were swearing vengeance upon Uldren. This was something Bungie needed to do. They needed to get the community to become emotionally invested in their game again, and the only way to do that, was to kill the character most Guardians loved.

    The Tangled Shore
    The Tangled Shore is one of the new areas for players to experience. It’s large and full of activities. The space is designed differently from all the other playable spaces in any Destiny content. The developers at Bungie talked relentlessly about making the game feel desperate and gritty, and the Tangled Shore does that very well. It’s not a pretty space, but one that is worth exploring every inch of. Each corner of the map is slightly different than the other area, not always aesthetically, but with the enemies that are there and some of the accents. One of the more intriguing spaces is the Jetsam of Saturn, which includes wreckage from the battle that happens at the beginning of the Taken King. There’s a crashed Hive dreadnought in the area, and it brings some nostalgia with it. Running around the Tangled Shore feels like a space western; the characters, the scenery, and the voice acting all combine to make this a good experience.

    The Dreaming City
    The Tangled Shore is great. The Dreaming City is easily one of the most beautiful gaming spaces I have ever visited. If one is looking for comparisons, it feels like a Rivendell in space. The sky boxes are gorgeous, and there’s something to see in every direction. The first time you visit, you are surrounded by fog. As you venture forward, things become visible, and it’s breathtaking. My first adventure was to help Petra take back the Dreaming City, and speak to Mara Sov. Once this objective was completed, I was free to roam the area; and roam it I did. There are so many corners to explore, so many doors that won’t open. Areas that seem to be unreachable, are, if you have the right tincture. Explore this area, there are so many more secret things to find. The Dreaming City will change on Friday, as Bungie has stated that when the raid, Last Wish, launches, things are going to change. While I won’t be in the running for World’s First, I will be running around to see what is new.

    Verdict
    Destiny 2: Forsaken is worth the price of admission. While we have only reviewed the story here, there’s much more to explore. The story is one of those parts that makes this a great DLC from Bungie. There are missions and cinematics. Each Baron is their own mini adventure mission. The story does not drag on, and is challenging especially in the first play through. The Barons are unique, with personalities ranging from insanity to religious fervor; each fight is different. There is humanity in the Baron’s leader though. As you fight the leader of the Barons, The Fanatic, he tears through the facade of Light an goodness that the Guardians stand for. He taunts us with the words, “You enjoyed killing my friends!” and even our Ghost isn’t sure of our motives in the end.

    As I mentioned before, this is something that was sorely lacking in Destiny’s story. Humanity. Feeling. The lore has returned. Context can be found in the Grimoire again. For the first time, in some time, Destiny is headed in the right direction. Want to see the story for yourself? Playlist here. 8/10 and the second and third play throughs are good too.

    Review by KleeWee from the Mulehorn Gaming crew.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 29, 2018
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Sep 30, 2018
    80
    For the average player, this expansion has a much longer tail than previous iterations of Destiny 2. The variety and flexibility of activities established in the base game still work to make grinding a good time, and Gambit adds a consistently entertaining mode to the roster. The endgame, while difficult to reach, is also where the most satisfaction can be found.
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    87
    Much more content comes to Destiny 2 with Forsaken. A good expansion that only fails in not knowing the immediate future that the game will have.