User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 198
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2018
    0
    This game ditches single player in favor of battle royale, a genre I despise and is dying quickly. Yes, campaigns in cod games were getting stale, but they could have created something fresh and fun again if they just freaking tried. Just do what assassin’s creed did and take a year off. But NOPE! They decided to just get rid of it all together to hop on the battle royale bandwagon! ThisThis game ditches single player in favor of battle royale, a genre I despise and is dying quickly. Yes, campaigns in cod games were getting stale, but they could have created something fresh and fun again if they just freaking tried. Just do what assassin’s creed did and take a year off. But NOPE! They decided to just get rid of it all together to hop on the battle royale bandwagon! This game stands for everything wrong with the industry right now, and the fact that this made so much money disgusts me. Even though I’m not personally interested in red dead redemption 2, I’m still glad that more people are buying that than COD: BO4. Do not buy this game. Don’t even rent it. Stay far away from it. If you want a battle royale game, just play fortnite. Even though I personally despise the game, at least its free! BO4 has a $60 paywall, and still has microtransactions! This game and metal gear survive are this year’s Battlefront 2, and we should not be supporting them. #BoycottBlackOps4.
  2. Oct 24, 2018
    8
    The latest in the popular Call of Duty series has arrived with Call of Duty: Black Ops IIII. The game has made the controversial decision to forgo the traditional campaign in favor of a Battle Royale mode known as Blackout and a more expansive online experience which includes more Zombie modes and a greater emphasis on gameplay.

    I played the game first at E3 and then again during the
    The latest in the popular Call of Duty series has arrived with Call of Duty: Black Ops IIII. The game has made the controversial decision to forgo the traditional campaign in favor of a Battle Royale mode known as Blackout and a more expansive online experience which includes more Zombie modes and a greater emphasis on gameplay.

    I played the game first at E3 and then again during the Beta phases for the game so I had a decent familiarity with what to expect when the full release version of the game arrived.

    After several days of playing the game, I have to say it is to me a mixed bag and many aspects of it disappointed me which is very frustrating as fan of the series since the very first game.

    The look and feel of the game does not come across to me as a new game but instead to me look and play like DLC for Call of Duty: Black Ops 3. Many of the maps seem familiar and have been updated from their appearances in previous games. The same holds true for the weapons and kill streaks. I am not saying it is not fun, but it all has a sense of having seen most of it before.

    Another very annoying change to the game is the severe limitation of grenades in the game. Usually a player has a grenade option which comes in handy when Snipers setup behind cover. Without the ability to lob a grenade to get Snipers out from cover, players are easy pickings, especially when the first appear on the screen. You can unload a full clip into a player at a distance and still end up dead with one shot from a sniper. As such you have to wait until you reach level 42 in order to add them to your customized loadout and even then they are very Nerfed from what players have come to expect.

    The multiplayer modes are what you have come to expect as there are the Team Deathmatch variations as well as the Capture and Control modes and a new mode called Heist where players need to capture or prevent the capture of a target.

    For me the most enjoyable aspect of the game was the Zombie modes as not only were the players I was matched with usually very helpful, but they were also much friendlier than many of the other people I encountered.

    The Blackout mode is very popular with gamers but not being a fan of the One and Done mode of play, I found myself enjoying the vast details of the map and preferring to work with a team, capturing vehicles, and such. I have seen multiple players unload point blank on a player in this mode only to see them walk away and one shot kill their attackers. This is either a hack or an example of how imbalanced things can be at times and you will see multiple instances of players taking numerous hits and walking away while others go down with one shot.

    Black Ops IIII does not have a regenerative health system and instead requires players to use a timed injection in order to restore health.

    This is all designed to foster teamwork and to make the game more appealing to the eSports community. While this is nice, it deviates from much of what has made the game so appealing from the start.

    The game to me seems like it was hurried to market as it released on October 12th vs the traditional November release date. I am sure a big part of this was a desire to beat Red Dead Redemption 2 to market but in doing so it seems that things are missing from the final product.

    There is much to like about the game as it is still an exciting and intense experience but to me is the first Call of Duty game to not feel shiny and new but instead more of the same in many cases.
    The developers have supported the game with numerous updates and there are more on the way as well as planned DLC down the road so the game as it is now is likely to change in the next few months as more feedback is given to developers and new features are added.

    Hopefully they will also look to add a campaign at a later date as although it is fun, it seems lacking and dated in many aspects as the changes seem like a step back to me rather than progress.

    4 stars out of 5
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    5
    No campaign. Too low TTK, no chance for counterplay. If you're being shot at, you're dead before there's time to turn and shoot back. Too high latency, always getting killed around corners, etc. The interface in the battle royale mode is TERRIBLE.
    Also... why the ops gotta be black?
  4. Oct 26, 2018
    6
    The last Call of Duty I bought was Infinite Warfare which ended having a surprisingly decent campain, unfortunately in Black Ops 4 you wont find a surprisingly decent campain but a Battle Royale mode called Blackout. When I first heard that they were doing a Battle Royale mode my reaction was "What the **** are you doing!" After playing it for about a week I enjoyed it more than i thoughtThe last Call of Duty I bought was Infinite Warfare which ended having a surprisingly decent campain, unfortunately in Black Ops 4 you wont find a surprisingly decent campain but a Battle Royale mode called Blackout. When I first heard that they were doing a Battle Royale mode my reaction was "What the **** are you doing!" After playing it for about a week I enjoyed it more than i thought i would but the graphics are **** I unsderstand why they did this but why can't they update their ****ing engine, especialy since they make so much money every year? Anyway the multiplayer mode is in my opinion my favorite out of the three modes. Call of Duty finally requires some actual skill with the healing mechanic and the whole tacticle gameplay instead of running around a small map with your head cut off, shooting everything around you. Next is the Zombies mode and honestly I'm not impressed at all, im sick of Call of Duty Zombies since every game in this franchise has it, so I really bother playing more than 12 rounds on each map. Overall the game is better than i thought it would be but most of my problems with this game have to do Activision themselves and how basically locked 25% of the game behind a $50 Black Ops Pass. When will Activision stop being so ****ing greedy?
  5. Nov 1, 2018
    0
    fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers fix the serversfix the servers
  6. Nov 6, 2018
    0
    More of the same **** nothing new just fire and loot boxes just what activision wants ($$$$)
  7. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    The game looks and sounds awesome and the added little details dotted around not only make the gameplay more fun but it also makes it more immersive as well. There’s plenty of different multiplayer modes and customisation for you to try out and this will no doubt keep fans satisfied for quite a while.
    Shooting feels very tight and responsive and using each gun feels different and
    The game looks and sounds awesome and the added little details dotted around not only make the gameplay more fun but it also makes it more immersive as well. There’s plenty of different multiplayer modes and customisation for you to try out and this will no doubt keep fans satisfied for quite a while.
    Shooting feels very tight and responsive and using each gun feels different and satisfying the whole way through. Blackout surprised me a great deal because I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did, but I must admit it felt fresh and unique in some ways. There are a decent variety of maps at your disposal and playing on them felt rewarding and fun for the most part. I was a little disappointed that there was no single player campaign and I think this will be off-putting for quite a few people.
    There isn’t really anything new when it comes to the gameplay mechanics so it basically plays like all the previous Call of Duty game’s. Overall the Call of Duty franchise is an absolute juggernaut that has prided itself on its vast and at times unique multiplayer experience. This time around though they’ve definitely made the multiplayer experience even bigger than normal and for me Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 offers you the best multiplayer experience in the series so far. There’s a ton for you to do in the game and being able to chop and change various details not only keeps certain modes fun but it also keeps them fresh as well. Of course the gameplay wouldn’t be as fresh if they didn’t have a few intricate maps, and thankfully I’m pleased to say that they’ve done a brilliant job with the maps that are present in the game. They’ve also done a brilliant job with the shooting elements in the game as well and trying out each gun was very fun and satisfying. In terms of issues my biggest one with the game is that it offers no single player campaign and unfortunately I can see that putting a few people off. That being said it still doesn’t stop me from recommending Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 to you because it offers a lot of varied content and it offers you a battle royale mode that feels fresh and it will no doubt keep you satisfied for months to come.
  8. Oct 15, 2018
    9
    Haven't played a CoD since Black Ops 3, skipped Infinite Warfare and WW2. I was burned out on the franchise. I didn't even finish the campaign mode of BO3 so the lack of a campaign in this game isn't a huge loss for me. I came back to CoD with this entry for the gameplay. The multiplayer feels like BO2 (which I consider the best in the series). Zombies is better and bigger than it's everHaven't played a CoD since Black Ops 3, skipped Infinite Warfare and WW2. I was burned out on the franchise. I didn't even finish the campaign mode of BO3 so the lack of a campaign in this game isn't a huge loss for me. I came back to CoD with this entry for the gameplay. The multiplayer feels like BO2 (which I consider the best in the series). Zombies is better and bigger than it's ever been. Blackout mode is strangely addictive. There's so much content here that it easily justifies the price. I'll be playing this consistently for the next year, easily. I'll more than get my money's worth out of the three modes on offer. I needed the break from the last 2 and BO4 is the perfect game to jump back in. Don't let the haters dissuade you. This game is fun. There's even offline bots for Zombie and Multiplayer modes for those that don't like to play with others online. It's great.
  9. Oct 22, 2018
    4
    Black Ops 4 is a messy hodgepodge. Treyarch compiled a greatest hits tribute of popular fps modes, minus a campaign. Unfortunately, the tribute contains sloppy, off tune renditions of better games. BO4 isn’t nearly as fun or innovative as Black Ops 2, the last good game of the series. If BO4 had launched under a different brand, it would’ve immediately failed. BO4 looks and feels rushedBlack Ops 4 is a messy hodgepodge. Treyarch compiled a greatest hits tribute of popular fps modes, minus a campaign. Unfortunately, the tribute contains sloppy, off tune renditions of better games. BO4 isn’t nearly as fun or innovative as Black Ops 2, the last good game of the series. If BO4 had launched under a different brand, it would’ve immediately failed. BO4 looks and feels rushed to market. And that’s likely since rumors suggest the original version was scrapped midway thru development. COD is struggling to stay relevant because it's out of ideas.

    Graphically, BO4 is an obvious step back from Infinite Warfare. IW looks fantastic with its punchy, vibrant colors. Plus, it has speedy, consistent performance. BO4 resembles a scaled up 360 game. Its muddled colors and bland textures are inexcusable when considering the amount of money supporting the franchise. Frame rates drop during intense battles. Several maps are recycled from older games, but they aren’t improvements. Blackout is where the engine really struggles. Blackout looks ridiculously dated and has the substandard performance to match.

    B04’s multiplayer is an unbalanced mess. The Pick 10 system intentionally hampers open-ended customization. Guns of the same class have divergent upgrade paths. For example, one LMG gets several magazine upgrades and multiple FMJ’s types, while another LMG gets a laser to improve hip firing. These exclusive upgrades restrict gamers from playing how they want.

    Spawns are horrid. They're the biggest problem in multiplayer. Players are spawning into firefights, on top of grenades, and in front of the baddies who just killed them, etc. Spawn trapping is easily exploitable. In other matches, spawns will flip constantly. So it’s impossible to enact tactical map control. Treyarch acknowledged the broken spawns, but this should’ve been fixed before release.

    The insanely fast movement speed complicates the broken spawns. Players can traverse any map in a few seconds. Plus, they have unlimited stamina. I spawned into a domination game in progress. At the start of the second round, enemies called in a UAV. I immediately rocketed it into pieces. By then, enemies were already in our spawn and capping our objective. I was killed before I could switch back to my primary weapon. All that happened in about 3 seconds. Ridiculous. The rapid traversals wreak havoc on the broken spawns because players are literally everywhere at once. This problem is amplified tenfold on small maps. Unrestrained sprinting nearly killed Halo 4. It might kill BO4 as well.

    Basically, holding strategic positions is fruitless. Enemies will certainly spawn directly behind players holding key points and by the time those players turns around, enemies will have spawned on the opposite side as well. Constant flanking means 1v1 firefights nearly always tip towards 1v3’s and 1v4’s. It’s comparable to the chaos in Advanced Warfare. B04 forces players to play offensively and aggressively because of its bad design and broken mechanics.

    Specialist abilities are broken. Abilities range from overpowered to downright useless. BO4 shamelessly borrows from Destiny and Overwatch. Unlike Overwatch, abilities lack obvious counters. A flamethrower should roast someone camping behind a shield. Not in BO4. Dogs-which are now an ability and not a scorestreak-should be obliterated by rockets. Not in BO4. This exact same problem existed in BO3. Lazy. Lazy. Lazy developers.

    Lethals such as trophy system and grenades are now locked behind high level caps. Players must give up operator abilities to access them. That sucks. In order to eliminate grenade spam, Treyarch essentially removed grenades. It “fixes” one problem only to create 10 more.

    Hit detection is substandard. It's been confirmed that server tickrates were lowered 70% after B04's release. It's noticeable. B04 has terrible hit detection compared to Halo 5, Overwatch, and Titanfall. Host disconnects happen frequently. COD still uses bargain bin servers because it values the bottom line over the player experience. Cheap. Cheap. Cheap. As long as gamers support the series, that won't change.

    The health bar has negligible impact in firefights. The time to kill continues to be quick. The first to see, first to kill rule still largely applies. Flinching can prevent players from taking cover, which negates the role of health. BO4's poor design mean there's virtually nothing about it which encourages tactical play or justifies the bar’s addition. Plus, terrible hit detection effectively negates the advantages of health.

    The much touted Blackout mode will be unrewarding for many. Flushing out enemies, kill assists, or providing squad mates with upgraded weapons earns no points. Blackout is a polished PUBG. Nothing more, nothing less. Zero innovation. There’s nothing worthwhile here for people who aren’t battle royal fans.

    BO4 is a missed opportunity.
  10. Oct 23, 2018
    0
    Very bland multiplayer, same battle royale as all the other battle royales, zombies too overly complicated and unfun, and the worst problem is no campaign
  11. Oct 12, 2018
    8
    We can all agree that the Call of Duty series is very repetitive, and this game is no exception, but that doesn't mean it is bad, the Battle Royal is fun, the Zombies mode is engaging and fast paced, and the multiplayer has all of the gamemodes the series is known for.
  12. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    Best the series has been in years. Packed with multiplayer content, Zombies content and Blackout has a nice leveling system to keep you coming back. PC version also runs beautifully.
  13. Oct 12, 2018
    8
    this game is great and really great fun with friends. i loved the zombies and while im tired of battle royale it give a nice and differant taste then anything on the market. but why i bought the game was multiplayer, which has flaws like some of the other modes. the main thing for me is balancing issues that where in the beta but ignored by treyarch for the game release. some guns are justthis game is great and really great fun with friends. i loved the zombies and while im tired of battle royale it give a nice and differant taste then anything on the market. but why i bought the game was multiplayer, which has flaws like some of the other modes. the main thing for me is balancing issues that where in the beta but ignored by treyarch for the game release. some guns are just to good even for a COD game. Battle Royale is great but gets old after a while for me as the game is the same, just differant landings and stuff. i think this game is worth my money but i beleive that some will hate it because it isn't you traditional game. if your actually tired of the same formula for multiplayer then this is it. most of the game also runs great but sometimes just lags, or even freezes. these are only bugs in the first day that i saw and should be adressed in a couple days. i think you should deffenately try this game but dont get your hopes up.
  14. Oct 15, 2018
    8
    I'm liking the game so far, mainly playing the multiplayer mode but Blackout and Zombies is also pretty good. Best COD for a long time IMO.
  15. Oct 12, 2018
    4
    Extremely lackluster, Black Ops 4 promised to be more than your average multiplayer experience however aside from a battle royale mode casually thrown in to appeal to PUBG and Fornite audiences there isn't all that much extra on offer to justify Black Ops 4's price tag.

    Specialist HQ: Specialist HQ replaces story mode in Black ops 4 and is inspired heavily by Rainbow Six Siege's
    Extremely lackluster, Black Ops 4 promised to be more than your average multiplayer experience however aside from a battle royale mode casually thrown in to appeal to PUBG and Fornite audiences there isn't all that much extra on offer to justify Black Ops 4's price tag.

    Specialist HQ:
    Specialist HQ replaces story mode in Black ops 4 and is inspired heavily by Rainbow Six Siege's Situations mode. The mode encompasses 10 missions one for each specialist and serves as a tutorial mission. After each mission the player is awarded a star and a piece of cut-scene that when put together serves as the games "story". i use the term "story" very loosely as the cut-scenes lack context, make no sense and only confuse even the most intelligent of players. The only positive from this mode is the narration by SGT Frank Woods, voiced By James C. Burns, who maintains his trademark humor

    Zombies
    Zombies is back and as complicated as ever. I feel like i'm the only person sometimes who misses classic zombies. The thrill of running around, chugging perk sodas and mowing down zombies with pack-a-punched weapons. In a sense Black Ops 4 still does contain these elements, however, with class systems and an over-reliance on Easter eggs over survival, zombies continues its downward spiral into mediocrity with great maps being devalued by unneeded mechanics.

    Blackout
    The main draw of Black ops 4 is its unoriginal battle royale mode. Implemented solely to cash in on what is the current fad in gaming. Blackout is exactly what you would expect from a battle royale game. Dropped into battle with nothing more than your clothes, you collect gear and kill every other player until you or your team are left victorious. For those who are attracted to battle royale modes, you will likely have a great deal of fun. However if you hate battle royale of don't care much for it like me, you'll find that BO4 does little to change your outlook. The map itself is okay and aside from some baron areas and the noticeable decline in graphics, the game mode does run pretty well. I find myself placing in the top 5 on a frequent basis however while the mode is for the most part is smooth, i find myself having little fun with the mode itself.

    Multiplayer
    Black Ops 2 will be forever in my heart as the time the franchise peaked with its multiplayer. Every other game in the franchise has tried to "innovate" in some way or another and failed to reach the same heights as BO2. Whether it be Ghost's significantly decreasing the time to kill or Advanced Warfare adding jump packs or BO3 adding wall running and classes there has been a need to innovate the series regardless of whether or not its the right direction or not. Black ops 4 strips most of these "innovations" keeping only classes, a shorter time to kill, and the health bar system from WW2. Classes are for the most part unbalanced and limit player class customization, though restricting the players throw-ables and specialist abilities to 1 option per class. This means that while some characters will be able to hold a cluster sticky bomb others will only be able to hold a flashbang. The shorter time to kill is also a pain in the ass and throws skill out the window in exchange for who has the itchiest trigger finger. The health system is also completely redundant. As the player has to manually recharge their health by pressing button on their controller, this takes the player out of the action for half a second as their health goes back up. While this system would make more sense if health recharges were limited, a complete lack of limitation of how many times you can heal yourself in a single life makes the entire mechanic ridiculous as you have to remember after each encounter to press a button to recharge your health. The maps featured in Black ops 4 are also pretty average for a COD game and feature the typical three lanes of death: one path on the right, one of the left and one in the middle. Games end up playing extremely similar to one another and are pretty lackluster.

    As a fully priced game there is little to justify the heavy price tag. There is a distinct lack of content, that blackout and zombies fails to account for and the entire experience feels half done. Sure there are three zombies maps in the base game, but BO1 achieved that feat aswell and that had a campaign!. Now, I won't bring up Campaign anymore, because Treyach has been vocal in this not being one of the games features and its only fair to critique what is in the actual game. But in the being said the game is a bare bones experiences, if you like killing things to no end, you'll like Black Ops 4, however if you like a bit of depth to your game and some story, you probably won't like Black Ops 4
  16. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    This is the most fun I've had in a CoD game since MW2. Treyarch knocked it out of the park, and trading the single player for Blackout (the best battle royal game to date), three zombies maps, and more multiplayer maps than usual was well worth it IMO. Don't listen to the low scores trying to sabotage user reviews. This is the highest critic reviewed CoD game we've had since MW2 for aThis is the most fun I've had in a CoD game since MW2. Treyarch knocked it out of the park, and trading the single player for Blackout (the best battle royal game to date), three zombies maps, and more multiplayer maps than usual was well worth it IMO. Don't listen to the low scores trying to sabotage user reviews. This is the highest critic reviewed CoD game we've had since MW2 for a reason.

    It's also worth noting that I'm usually pretty negative when it comes to this franchise. It hasn't been amazing for some time. Previous Black Ops games were good, but not amazing like MW1 and 2. This is back up to standard. Give this game a chance and you won't regret it.
  17. Oct 12, 2018
    2
    I wand my 60 euro back bad game. Not word the money boring and still the same and noting compare to pug.Also the same 50 euro pass for the same crappy maps. Even free the same thing from CoD
  18. Oct 23, 2018
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 brings a lot to the table.

    Blackout is the best battle royale at launch that I have played. It is very well optimized, has great weapons, gadgets and attachments to make each match feel different from the previous one and allows the player to adjust strategy to achieve Victory. The multiplayer has a few different mechanics from any previous COD installment
    Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 brings a lot to the table.

    Blackout is the best battle royale at launch that I have played. It is very well optimized, has great weapons, gadgets and attachments to make each match feel different from the previous one and allows the player to adjust strategy to achieve Victory.

    The multiplayer has a few different mechanics from any previous COD installment to include health bar, self-healing and operator gadgets in place of the tradition grenade button. It has taken some getting use to but I enjoy the changes made to this part of Black Ops 4. It makes the multiplayer experience feel fresh but doesn't stray too far from the core Call of Duty gameplay.

    Zombies is still a very strong staple to the Call of Duty series. I like that there are 3 zombie experiences to choose from at launch and an addition 4 zombie map if the customer buys the deluxe version of the game.

    The elephant in the room for this years installment of Call of Duty is the absence of the campaign in the game. I understand the that many customers are upset with this decision by Treyarch and have chosen to not purchase the game. If you are a gamer that only plays the Call of Duty titles solely for the campaign, then this game does not have what you are looking for. It does offer 10 operator missions to play through, but those are really to teach you how to use the operators in the multiplayer mode.

    Overall, this game was designed for the gamer that enjoys multiplayer and playing with friends. It delivers on the multiplayer experience with an excellent battle royale mode, a different take on traditional COD multiplayer, and the most amount of zombie maps at launch for a Call of Duty title.
  19. Oct 15, 2018
    10
    If you're like me and you enjoy a good battle royal game, but have issues with the clunky feel of PUBG, or perhaps can't get into the building aspect of Fortnite, this game might be for you.

    In my opinion, this does the battle royal game genre better than the rest. The fluid feel of the call of duty controls, combined with the pubg realism, and fortnites smoothness. (quads can get a bit
    If you're like me and you enjoy a good battle royal game, but have issues with the clunky feel of PUBG, or perhaps can't get into the building aspect of Fortnite, this game might be for you.

    In my opinion, this does the battle royal game genre better than the rest. The fluid feel of the call of duty controls, combined with the pubg realism, and fortnites smoothness. (quads can get a bit laggy at the moment, but i'm hoping that gets addressed or smoothens out over time).

    In the end, if you like the idea of fortnite, but can't get into the building aspect, this game might be for you. I personally feet his is the best call of duty experience that I've had since black ops 2.
  20. Oct 15, 2018
    9
    Blackout is addictive and fun, and multiplayer is the best the game has provided in years. Also, with three full zombie maps, it's a game that is not lacking in content, despite no campaign. Highly recommend.
  21. Oct 20, 2018
    0
    A boring ugly novelty that quickly wore off. I got bored after just an hour or so. And NO CAMPAIGN!! This is the first Call of Duty game that doesn't have a story campaign to play. No campaign means this years entry is half a usual Call of Duty game. But is it half the price then? Because half the game half the price, right? That's fair. But Nope, of course it isn't, don't be silly, it'sA boring ugly novelty that quickly wore off. I got bored after just an hour or so. And NO CAMPAIGN!! This is the first Call of Duty game that doesn't have a story campaign to play. No campaign means this years entry is half a usual Call of Duty game. But is it half the price then? Because half the game half the price, right? That's fair. But Nope, of course it isn't, don't be silly, it's full price as usual. I won't be buying any further Call of Duty games after this, that's it.
  22. Oct 19, 2018
    0
    Es una pena en lo que se ha convertido Call of Duty. No poner un modo historia formal apostando solo por el multijugador online que antes era un complemento en el título de cada año. Además, obliga al jugador a pagar el servicio online de la consola. Solo le venden al público que ya tiene posicionado su producto. Sus ventas se deben a que copió el modo battle royal. Hay un parche de 50 GBEs una pena en lo que se ha convertido Call of Duty. No poner un modo historia formal apostando solo por el multijugador online que antes era un complemento en el título de cada año. Además, obliga al jugador a pagar el servicio online de la consola. Solo le venden al público que ya tiene posicionado su producto. Sus ventas se deben a que copió el modo battle royal. Hay un parche de 50 GB como si el disco del juego que uno compra estuviera vacío.

    In English
    It's a shame what Call of Duty has become. Do not put a formal story mode betting only on the online multiplayer that was previously a complement in the title of each year. In addition, it forces the player to pay for the console's online service. They only sell to the public that has already positioned their product. His sales are because he copied the battle royal mode. There is a 50GB patch as if the game disc that you buy is empty.
  23. Oct 27, 2018
    1
    Utterly disappointed

    NOT dedicated servers as promised. Game is not smooth campaign removed but still charge you for the additional maps that could of replaced the campaign. All the maps are tweeks of old maps from previous games and no new creations and the new ones are poor. Graphics are not brilliant like Battlefield and that is a fantastic experience with true dedicated
    Utterly disappointed

    NOT dedicated servers as promised.

    Game is not smooth

    campaign removed but still charge you for the additional maps that could of replaced the campaign.

    All the maps are tweeks of old maps from previous games and no new creations and the new ones are poor.
    Graphics are not brilliant like Battlefield and that is a fantastic experience with true dedicated servers.
    I stopped playing COD since Ghost and the experience is different and completely destroyed my confidence in the franchise and will not be purchasing future COD games.

    I honestly want my money back
  24. Oct 13, 2018
    0
    This game is beyond horrible, it doesn't even have a campaign. There are Specialist missions with story instead, which are poorly designed compared to the traditional campaigns. You can't even play those offline. The gun mechanics are trash. The gun sounds are a joke. The physics are horrible.

    Blackout mode is just a cheap version of Battlefield. The developers promised the "best and
    This game is beyond horrible, it doesn't even have a campaign. There are Specialist missions with story instead, which are poorly designed compared to the traditional campaigns. You can't even play those offline. The gun mechanics are trash. The gun sounds are a joke. The physics are horrible.

    Blackout mode is just a cheap version of Battlefield. The developers promised the "best and most refined mechanics" in the trailer, yet the mechanics are terrible. You can't even destroy any buildings. This game mode lacks vehicle variety. There are no jet fighters, or any planes to be found. Zombie mode lacks innovation. The regular Multiplayer is boring and repetitive. The maps are about the same as the last game, with a fresh coat of paint.

    The worst part of this game is that it requires a 50 GB patch to play. That makes the physical copy pointless. You can play multiplayer and Zombies with bots and splitscreen offline. But what's the point of having any of that if you need Internet to play? Not everyone has good internet, and it's pathetic how anti-consumer the developers are. The CODs before WWII didn't required internet. I don't recommend this game at all. Internet required games are a disgrace
  25. Oct 12, 2018
    0
    The game just feels cheap! Reused maps, 3 shot consistent kills on normal, boring art style, and gun game similar to a free-to-play. It honestly feels and plays like Lawbreakers, that super successful game that lasted a few months and peaked at 7,500 players... The reused maps and classes from the black ops series feels the worst. It's fine for nostalgia to toss in a few, but every classThe game just feels cheap! Reused maps, 3 shot consistent kills on normal, boring art style, and gun game similar to a free-to-play. It honestly feels and plays like Lawbreakers, that super successful game that lasted a few months and peaked at 7,500 players... The reused maps and classes from the black ops series feels the worst. It's fine for nostalgia to toss in a few, but every class from Black Ops 3 is back, and maps from Black Ops and Black Ops 2 appear in the NORMAL playlists. It's down right lazy.

    Not to mention the fact there is no single-player campaign or loot system (CoD WWII). It seems the only reason this game was even released was for the Battle Royale mode. That mode should have been a stand-off so that the rest of the game could come together.

    Not worth more than $30, at best.
  26. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Best COD ever.
    Battle Royale - Played PUBG for over 400 hours, didn't care too much for Fortnite. Won't ever touch PUBG again, shooting mechanics can't be beat in BO4.
    Multiplayer - Heist mode owns, Counter Strike style cash buy system with no respawns. No jetpack, wall run BS, boots on the ground with modern setting, the traps add more variety to the gameplay. Zombies - Looks good,
    Best COD ever.
    Battle Royale - Played PUBG for over 400 hours, didn't care too much for Fortnite. Won't ever touch PUBG again, shooting mechanics can't be beat in BO4.
    Multiplayer - Heist mode owns, Counter Strike style cash buy system with no respawns. No jetpack, wall run BS, boots on the ground with modern setting, the traps add more variety to the gameplay.
    Zombies - Looks good, hard to stop playing BR or MP to give it a decent try.
    Campaign - Who cares that it doesn't have one, seriously go play your nofriendo switch.
  27. Oct 12, 2018
    4
    This game is painfully average.

    The multiplayer was slowed down to make it more "tactical", 5v5, no exo suits, increased health, and larger maps. The multiplayer feels very meh. It's dumb fun, nothing else. Zombies is a convoluted mess, why is there all this extra stuff? Why was so much time spent on a mode that was MADE to be simplistic? Who remembers when you spawned, got a gun,
    This game is painfully average.

    The multiplayer was slowed down to make it more "tactical", 5v5, no exo suits, increased health, and larger maps. The multiplayer feels very meh. It's dumb fun, nothing else.

    Zombies is a convoluted mess, why is there all this extra stuff? Why was so much time spent on a mode that was MADE to be simplistic? Who remembers when you spawned, got a gun, and could see how long you can survive? I do, now it's over complicated with custom classes, abilities, elixirs, etc all this useless stuff for a game mode that could be so fun if it had simplicity. But it doesn't.

    Blackout is fun, really fun. I enjoy it, I'd choose it over PUBG any day. But at the cost of a campaign. Why is this game called black ops??? The battle royale mode is pretty fun, at the cost of a core feature from the series. If it's worth it or not, that's up for you to decide. To me, it wasn't.

    Specialist HQ, is sorta like situations from Rainbow Six Siege. Getting to know how the multiplayer operators work, and somewhat of their backstory. It's not a visceral, war story. It's basic, and generic.

    Overall, Black Ops 4 is a dumbed down version of Black Ops 3. Insanely complicated zombies, slower paced multiplayer, and a game mode created to follow a trend, at the cost of a campaign. Don't buy this game for $60, wait til its $30 in the next few months. It is not worth the price of $60.
  28. Oct 12, 2018
    0
    Feels like they put all their apples into the battle royal which made the whole thing lackluster.
  29. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    Buy this call of duty, it's the best since 2009 and that's saying something, ignore the haters just because they could be bad at the game.
  30. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    This is the best cod ever. It's the Most fun cod game since bo2. Bo4 is one of the best Call of Duty game since bo2. It has the bo2 and mw2 vibe coming back. blackout is one of the best modes in cod history. the only bad thing about this game is no single player but with all of that. this game has earned my money. This game is way better than fortnite,pubg, and battlefield 5. This is theThis is the best cod ever. It's the Most fun cod game since bo2. Bo4 is one of the best Call of Duty game since bo2. It has the bo2 and mw2 vibe coming back. blackout is one of the best modes in cod history. the only bad thing about this game is no single player but with all of that. this game has earned my money. This game is way better than fortnite,pubg, and battlefield 5. This is the best shooter of 2018 period.
  31. Oct 18, 2018
    0
    Same garbage, year after year, with a weak battle royale mode throw in to try and save face.
  32. Oct 16, 2018
    7
    Pros:
    en multijugador han puesto mapas tradicionales de Black ops. Los zombies son más difíciles.
    Contra: Es un buen juego pero tiene serias carencias y defectos. - El juego cada dos por tres se cuelga y te tira de este. - El sistema multijugador tradicional es decepcionante, ya que por obligación debes de elegir un personaje y adaptarte a sus especialidades. - No hay historia. - El
    Pros:
    en multijugador han puesto mapas tradicionales de Black ops. Los zombies son más difíciles.
    Contra:
    Es un buen juego pero tiene serias carencias y defectos.
    - El juego cada dos por tres se cuelga y te tira de este.
    - El sistema multijugador tradicional es decepcionante, ya que por obligación debes de elegir un personaje y adaptarte a sus especialidades.
    - No hay historia.
    - El sistema blackout da tirones y no va fino.
    - En el modo zombie, cada vez meten más tonterías. Los mejores zombis y el mejor modo eran los del black ops 1 y 2. Pese a que los escenarios mejoren, las “ máquinas” pierden su gracia. El modo más divertido a mi parecer, son los zombies del black ops 2 nuke town.
    - En los modos pantalla dividida, las letras se ven muy pequeñas y es imposible leerlas. Además es obligatorio iniciar sesión. Ya no sirve el invitado.
  33. Oct 14, 2018
    0
    Here we are at last... Call of Duty without a campaign. Am I surprised? F**k No! In fact I even predicted it in my CoD WW2 review. This is a sad day day indeed, the CoD i know and love has completely lost its identity. Back in the day, CoD was a franchise that focused on singleplayer then added multiplayer as a bonus. Now CoD wants to copy every other thing that's popular right now;Here we are at last... Call of Duty without a campaign. Am I surprised? F**k No! In fact I even predicted it in my CoD WW2 review. This is a sad day day indeed, the CoD i know and love has completely lost its identity. Back in the day, CoD was a franchise that focused on singleplayer then added multiplayer as a bonus. Now CoD wants to copy every other thing that's popular right now; overwatch, battle royale... It's just disgusting. Guns now have recoil, players have health bars, healing is done manually, multiplayer characters have unique abilities and supers... None of this is Call of Duty. And what about the battle royale mode? It sucks! Just like every other battle royale out there! Who even asked for battle royale? Give me my story campaign back!! I'm not even going to talk about zombies, I'm tired of zombies, everyone's tired of zombies.
  34. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    i am giving it a 10/10 to compensate the boogers who give 4 and lower because they don't like how other players play. My real score would be a solid 8/10. Best COD since Black Ops 2.
    i am giving it a 10/10 to compensate the boogers who give 4 and lower because they don't like how other players play. My real score would be a solid 8/10. Best COD since Black Ops 2.
  35. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Classic case where you should listen to the critic reviews over the user reviews. This game is outstanding. Best COD since Black Ops 2.
  36. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    This game was amazing a bit boring in the specialist HQ but still fun. multiplayer is fun and fast paced as always but with the twist of the healing mechanic made it even more enjoyable. Blackout is a great mode with a fun and engaging gameplay and challenge. zombies is always great in treyarch games and i think they knocked it out of the park with this one in my opinion it's the bestThis game was amazing a bit boring in the specialist HQ but still fun. multiplayer is fun and fast paced as always but with the twist of the healing mechanic made it even more enjoyable. Blackout is a great mode with a fun and engaging gameplay and challenge. zombies is always great in treyarch games and i think they knocked it out of the park with this one in my opinion it's the best zombies we have had and the 3 base maps are just fantastic and classified is worth the price of the black ops pass alone i have to say these maps are in my top 5 zombie maps of all time. specialist HQ is fun but boring in long periods but still enjoyable. Overall this is the best cod in years and the people giving this 0-4 the just don't understand what this game is and people who complain there is no campaign that dose not mean its not good
  37. Oct 21, 2018
    6
    Blackout is great. Unfortunately that's the only thing that's worth buying the game for. Zombies and adversarial multiplayer are still fun but they feel like every other generic multiplayer shooter out there. The classes add some value but not much, and there's no real urge to use the class abilities over the standard run and gun.

    As I said, Blackout is great and definitely worth
    Blackout is great. Unfortunately that's the only thing that's worth buying the game for. Zombies and adversarial multiplayer are still fun but they feel like every other generic multiplayer shooter out there. The classes add some value but not much, and there's no real urge to use the class abilities over the standard run and gun.

    As I said, Blackout is great and definitely worth playing for any fan of the genre, but paying full triple A price for a single mode is just too much of a stretch.
  38. Oct 28, 2018
    6
    Black Ops 4 still has the potential to be a high end entry in this overly repetitive franchise but it is held back by launch day issues and no excuse to justify it. Treyarch had 3 years to complete this game and even cut out the campaign entirely which surely lightened their load to do so and make the deadline. On top of this, Beenox and Raven took over production of the Blackout mode, toBlack Ops 4 still has the potential to be a high end entry in this overly repetitive franchise but it is held back by launch day issues and no excuse to justify it. Treyarch had 3 years to complete this game and even cut out the campaign entirely which surely lightened their load to do so and make the deadline. On top of this, Beenox and Raven took over production of the Blackout mode, to make things easier as well.

    There is no excuse for the 20hz and 30hz server refresh rate on a AAA multiplayer title releasing in 2018, especially when the beta was at 60hz. The frame rate drop and amount of awkward 50/50 gun battle fights, dying behind walls, super bullets, etc. is beyond excusable for multiplayer and blackout. I cannot speak on zombies, as I have little interest left in that mode since I have had enough 4-5 hour sessions in previous titles.

    + Hero shooter aspect integrates well
    + Blackout mode is enjoyable when optimized
    + A multitude of customization options is always welcomed
    + Nice to see some old maps brought back to life
    + Gunplay is fun when optimized
    + New MP modes are fun (especially Control)

    - No excuse for abysmal server refresh rate
    - Half the MP maps are remastered
    - Blackout can experience terrible frame rate drops
    - Spawning is absolutely broken
    - Xbox does not receive any new content at the same time as PS4
    - EKIA system is terrible
    - Too many aids in multiplayer to help detect everyone, leads to brain dead gameplay and promotes "camping"

    Overall, WW2 had an absolutely terrible launch, this game is not too far behind. I have played CoD since CoD2 in 2005, this game has potential to be great, but it needs a steady stream of updates to fully optimize it, and it should not have been released this way. That being said, I am still having fun with friends in this game and will not give it a red rating because it honestly does not deserve one. AngryShark92 is the tag for xbox, see you all out there!

    Disclaimer: As much as it was fun for me to write lengthy extended reviews that went in depth and were written upon completion of the experience. They are not met with the criteria of whether or not it was actually "helpful", and more based on whether people agree with you or not, due to this and other restrictions and flagging, comprehensive reviews are a thing of the past for me, at least on here.
  39. Oct 26, 2018
    8
    Gamertag alfonspartan:
    60 hrs juego
    Pros: multijugador con los mapas mas emblematicos, mecanicas iguales a black ops 3, doble salto adios. Especialistas y armas descentes. Fluides en el combate. Blackout lo mejor en battleroyale, comparando a mi punto de vista con pubg y fortnite. Zombies , muy bien rescataron la esencia del zombis de black ops. Contras: precio, por dios, el precio es
    Gamertag alfonspartan:
    60 hrs juego
    Pros: multijugador con los mapas mas emblematicos, mecanicas iguales a black ops 3, doble salto adios. Especialistas y armas descentes. Fluides en el combate.
    Blackout lo mejor en battleroyale, comparando a mi punto de vista con pubg y fortnite. Zombies , muy bien rescataron la esencia del zombis de black ops.
    Contras: precio, por dios, el precio es exagerado, laggeos constantes y crasheos. Caidas muy seguidas de fps. Y muy pocos jugadores maximo 6vs6 , cuando antes eran 9vs9. Asi que en generam bien pero pudo ser mejor
  40. Oct 21, 2018
    10
    I can't see why everyone is so down on this amazing game. I honestly think scrapping the campaign was a great decision and much in favour of the multiplayer, which is not lacklustre like WW2's multiplayer.

    Honestly I have never been a zombies fan since WaW's Nazi Zombies mode but now I am more into the popular mode. I love the guns and difficulty as well as the size. It's HUGE!
    I can't see why everyone is so down on this amazing game. I honestly think scrapping the campaign was a great decision and much in favour of the multiplayer, which is not lacklustre like WW2's multiplayer.

    Honestly I have never been a zombies fan since WaW's Nazi Zombies mode but now I am more into the popular mode. I love the guns and difficulty as well as the size. It's HUGE!

    Blackout, for me, is the one thing that had to be spot on. I love Fortnite, and was expecting a BR like Fortnite, just less... cartoony. And boy did they deliver! The fast and frantic action packed BR mode is like setting your shorts on fire during Winter with a skeleton chasing after you with a machete, just less ridiculous.

    I couldn't have cared more about this entry. It's the joint 1st best CoD game ever, with the incredible Infinite Warfare. 10/10
  41. Oct 25, 2018
    7
    Blackout is one of the best battle royales out there if not the best. Really fun and polished but sometimes it can take 5+ minutes for the lobby to fill specially in third world countries. Sadly suffers from constant crashes which often happens right after victory screen and you guessed it, the win doesn't count nor kills or merits.

    Multi-player is great but only if I ignored all the
    Blackout is one of the best battle royales out there if not the best. Really fun and polished but sometimes it can take 5+ minutes for the lobby to fill specially in third world countries. Sadly suffers from constant crashes which often happens right after victory screen and you guessed it, the win doesn't count nor kills or merits.

    Multi-player is great but only if I ignored all the glitches, server issues (greedy Activision I shall say), slow matchmaking, wrong hit markers, inaccurate nat, higher ping than other games, crashes,...etc

    Zombies is surprisingly good and still fun as in previous games. At first I was annoyed because of the lack of juggernaut but later I got used to it. What was frustrating is the game crashing at high lobbies without even updating my stats.
  42. Oct 12, 2018
    6
    I want to love this game, but the terrible servers and plain brokenness of the game makes it very hard to enjoy it
  43. Oct 16, 2018
    9
    From someone who has been playing Call of Duty since Modern Warfare One came out, this is actually a good Call of Duty. Infinite Warfare was down right bad. WW2 I wanted to like, but just couldn't do it. Then across Black Ops 1 - Black Ops 3, I have put over 800 hours into multiplayer alone.

    And this game I could see doing it again. B04 is a different Call of Duty. And you know what,
    From someone who has been playing Call of Duty since Modern Warfare One came out, this is actually a good Call of Duty. Infinite Warfare was down right bad. WW2 I wanted to like, but just couldn't do it. Then across Black Ops 1 - Black Ops 3, I have put over 800 hours into multiplayer alone.

    And this game I could see doing it again.

    B04 is a different Call of Duty. And you know what, they did it, and they did it mostly right. It has a few issues and a few minor inconveniences, but what game doesn't these days. Maybe it is moving the way of bigger games, such as Overwatch and towards a more eSports approach, but hey, I understand staying relevant to the industry.

    I think it's genuinely great that for years, people complain about CoD being the same thing over and over, but when they make big changes like this year, a majority go back to saying "I miss the old CoD".

    ---Blackout
    Blackout is good. Better than Fortnite and PubG, in a personal opinion. I'm not a builder therefore I dislike the Fortnite aspect, and PubG still seems clunky to me. Blackout seems polished and making it to the finally 10-15 people is genuinely exciting, especially with the large swathe of weaponry and gadgets available.
    The XP though is a pain. You only earn XP for getting a full kill, not even a down, placing top 10, or winning, and that can be rough. That's the only negative thing I have to say and I bet some tweaks could definitely help that.

    --Zombies
    What put Treyarch on the map. so Black Ops 2 and 3 had...Alright zombies. I never got into it. But now. Again. It's bringing me back to Ascension and Der Riese days. IX is a really fun and a pretty solid map design and is the one I see myself playing more and more. Voyage of Despair I played once and was pretty crazy and intense, though it seemed a bit cramped, could turn to be fun as well.
    Honestly, I'm excited to get back into Zombies again...

    --Multiplayer
    Where to begin. Honestly. I enjoy it. I play hardcore so the self healing doesn't typically apply, though I find it to be an interesting mechanic and moderately enjoy it then the auto regen. I kind of miss the 6v6 but I think the 5v5 is alright.
    Search and Destroy is great and I really enjoy it, plus Domination is fun if you can prevent the spawn killing. I look forward to some updates about the spawn killing.
    Gun progression is simple. Camo challenges are here like before, and time to rack up headshots to get that Dark Matter baby! Challenges seem a bit easier in many aspects and specialists are unique and I like it, except for some are pretty awful in hardcore as you die before you can even activate the ability.

    Maps are good, and I look forward to seeing more. I even am glad that brought back old ones. Firing Range is a wonderful classic as well as Slums and Jungle. Most new maps are good. I struggle with some, but again, I believe it is the spawn trapping that gets me. Search and Destroy the routes seem pretty great.

    Multiplayer, to me, is fun again. If you liked B02 or B03, it will still have that same feel and progression with some new features tossed in.

    --Campaign
    Yep. There isn't one. And honestly. That isn't an issue. Yeah, I miss it. But why dump so many hours into developing something that 50-70% of the base will play once, maybe twice. Yeah. It's good and I enjoyed it, but I mean. I'm not heart broken like many others. I haven't done the specialist stories yet so I can't say anything about that. I just think that yeah, we raise our glasses in remembrance of something that was good, but is now gone due to a online perspective for a large, multiplayer based developer.

    I give it a 9 for Superb Blackout, Thrilling Zombies, and Exceptional Multiplayer. With a few updates and some of the content they mention about releasing. I think this could be one of the best for Treyarch.
  44. Oct 16, 2018
    9
    I'm gonna keep as this simple as possible. First , I wanted to dislike this game I really did. Lets be real, Treyarch has been going down the money hole for a long time and I HATE when companies do this. IE Bungie. I figured this would be a slightly revamped version of BO3. In some ways yes it is, there are a few character crossovers and yes there are some specialty items that make aI'm gonna keep as this simple as possible. First , I wanted to dislike this game I really did. Lets be real, Treyarch has been going down the money hole for a long time and I HATE when companies do this. IE Bungie. I figured this would be a slightly revamped version of BO3. In some ways yes it is, there are a few character crossovers and yes there are some specialty items that make a return. Yes the weapons are a little boring after awhile but the amount of new material and things you can do VASTLY outweighs these issues and I quickly found myself overlooking them entirely.

    First off the sheer amount of new multiplayer game modes can keep a standard gamer involved and entertained for months on end. The gun play is solid and very fun, definitely has some updates to movement and play but most average players wont notice the difference. The maps are interesting and breath life into each game. Old maps are offered along the way with the new giving you a dose of nostalgia here and there. The big question was will the new health bar be annoying and to me its not at all. its actually a breath of fresh air.. Its nice after dueling it out with another player and taking heavy damage to know exactly where your health stands and can quickly mend yourself for the next row instead of simply laying down and waiting the red flinch to recede. The slide is available when running but no more bounding around through the air and off walls which was also nice to get rid of.

    Blackout.... pretty much the sum version of PUBG I was always hoping for. The map looks pretty good. Environment detail is "slightly" rough but over all design is great and allows for varied engagements. Bullet dynamics is also spot on. I mean I felt like a real marine sniper taking pop shots at a target 700 yards away and trying to take calculate bullet drop like a pro. Weapons again get kinda old but I am sure this will be mended in the future. Vehicles are pretty simple to drive and helicopters offer a new exciting way to get around the map. Overall Blackout is a blast but made even better with friends.

    As far as Zombies goes i haven't played a lot of it. The times I have played its been way more fun than expected. Lots of changes fun and intriguing maps. if you love run and gun games go ahead and do yourself a favor and pick this up
  45. Oct 22, 2018
    9
    Other than the server issues, great game 3rd CoD ive owned best one for sure. Blackout and zombies is awesome, mp is solid though seems to me like the hit detection isnt the best. Recommend the game.
  46. Nov 3, 2018
    8
    While not a perfect Call of Duty game (Those being Cod4 and Blops2 personally) it does do things right in the areas it matters. Thankfully no advanced movement outside a grappling hook, all the specialists feel unique to play. I'm a huge time zombies fan and kinda don't like the new perk system but the variety of the perks makes up for it. Voyage of Despair sucks in my opinion and theWhile not a perfect Call of Duty game (Those being Cod4 and Blops2 personally) it does do things right in the areas it matters. Thankfully no advanced movement outside a grappling hook, all the specialists feel unique to play. I'm a huge time zombies fan and kinda don't like the new perk system but the variety of the perks makes up for it. Voyage of Despair sucks in my opinion and the other 3 are good with Blood of the Dead my favorite of them. I wish the game had campaign it sucks it doesn't and i'm growing tired of battle royale, it's fun with friends to mess around in but a co op campaign would have been perfect. Decent game but could have been much better
  47. Nov 7, 2018
    0
    I don't think i have ever rated a game a zero before, but this is such a backwards step and feature-lite 'package' with so little features that interest me to the point there is no reason for me to buy this, i feel compelled to give it a dead zero.

    My main grip with this game (such as it is), is the lack of a campaign/story mode.. this was the main and sole reason i personally bought
    I don't think i have ever rated a game a zero before, but this is such a backwards step and feature-lite 'package' with so little features that interest me to the point there is no reason for me to buy this, i feel compelled to give it a dead zero.

    My main grip with this game (such as it is), is the lack of a campaign/story mode.. this was the main and sole reason i personally bought these titles before, for the military themed campaign, without that, this just seems like a really lazy product and extremely poor value for money and money grab on the behalf of the publisher, and is now an empty shallow PvP only experience with a now obvious online reliant shelf life before it becomes essentially a glorifies mug coaster... without a campaign, this is a huge backwards step and something less, not progress, especially compared to the feature packed Black Ops 3, with two campaigns, Co-Op capable campaign and Split screen for all modes, this Black Ops (i don't even know why it's called Black Ops as its nothing to do with Black Ops operations) is an insult after such a comprehensive Black Ops 3.

    I hope this is not a sigh of things to come for Call of Duty, because if it is, i will never be buying a Call of Duty again.
  48. Nov 7, 2018
    0
    Lag o tempo inteiro servidores sul americanos bugados respaw ridiculo não valeria a pena perder tempo nem se fosse free to play. O jogo é tão ruim que no xbox ja morreu blackout nao existe e leva mais de 40 minutos pra achar uma sala multiplayer.
  49. Nov 10, 2018
    7
    This game is fun, but it’s not as good as the last few in the series. The multiplayer is great. The weapons are great, and I like how you can see how much health the enemy players have afte you hit them. The zombies mode is great. Each map is detailed and full of zombies to fight and weapons to find. The Blackout mode isn’t very great or even that fun in my opinion. Their isn’t a storyThis game is fun, but it’s not as good as the last few in the series. The multiplayer is great. The weapons are great, and I like how you can see how much health the enemy players have afte you hit them. The zombies mode is great. Each map is detailed and full of zombies to fight and weapons to find. The Blackout mode isn’t very great or even that fun in my opinion. Their isn’t a story mode, which isn’t a big deal, but it was always my second favorite mode after multiplayer (except for this game because their isn’t a story). I recommend it if you like the multiplayer or zombies modes a lot, but if you want a story or a great Battle royale then not. I enjoyed it though.
  50. Nov 7, 2018
    8
    I gotta be honest. You die really fast in multiplayer. You have little to no reaction time after getting shot at. If you have a high enough sensitivity, maybe you can turn around and get a glance at the people putting lead in your back. Now, no campaign. When I told someone I knew who used to be a fan of COD (not anymore) that they were ditching the campaign, he told me that the buyersI gotta be honest. You die really fast in multiplayer. You have little to no reaction time after getting shot at. If you have a high enough sensitivity, maybe you can turn around and get a glance at the people putting lead in your back. Now, no campaign. When I told someone I knew who used to be a fan of COD (not anymore) that they were ditching the campaign, he told me that the buyers were paying $60 for half a game. I half and half agree with that. First of all, we all knew the Call Of Duty campaigns were getting stale. I barely know anyone who finished the WWII campaign, so I agree with ditching the idea. Second, battle royale. It's fun. Way more fun than fortnite, but maybe not as satisfying when you get a HOT sniper kill. I like the idea of zombies in the battle royale and the fact that they drop loot. Overall the battle royale is really good. Zombies are basically the same, so I won't get into that much. In gun game, every game you have the same set of weapons, in the same set order. At least in WWII, the set of guns changed each round! Gun game is fun, but I wouldn't call it my favorite mode, however, chaos domination is. The specialists are cool, but seem a bit too similar to overwatch heroes. That's all i really have to say. If you like games like overwatch, buy this game, but if you want a solid campaign, stay clear.
  51. Nov 12, 2018
    7
    While the game does have its saving graces, it does have a few bad things about it. The servers in blackout for one are absolute garbage, secondly the connection between people in multiplayer and zombies are a bit annoying at times as it is not server based, it is pair to pair, I am well aware the game has only been out for a month so we should give treyarch time to fix all of the glitchesWhile the game does have its saving graces, it does have a few bad things about it. The servers in blackout for one are absolute garbage, secondly the connection between people in multiplayer and zombies are a bit annoying at times as it is not server based, it is pair to pair, I am well aware the game has only been out for a month so we should give treyarch time to fix all of the glitches and fix the servers, but 1 month to most including me is more than enough time to fix that kind of thing
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 30, 2018
    80
    Deprived of its usual solo campaign, Call of Duty Black Ops 4 looks more like a patchwork than a whole, tight experience. Nonetheless, its multiple game modes, among which the first AAA Battle Royale, have enough to offer.
  2. Oct 22, 2018
    90
    Still, as rich in content as Black Ops 4 might be, it does exclude a segment of shooter fans that have no interest in multiplayer or competitive gaming, or don’t have a community of gaming friends to play with. Solo players can have a lot of fun with Black Ops 4, though ranking up in multiplayer can be a bit of a frustrating slog through hours of humiliation at the hands of experienced series veterans. The new Blackout mode is probably the best point of entry and promises to be an entertaining game of choice for months to come.
  3. Oct 21, 2018
    90
    Call of Duty Black Ops 4 is one of the best multiplayer shooters of the year. Its new proposal and the Battle Royale mode make it a must of this generation.