User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 79
  2. Negative: 15 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    Undertale has everything to be a good game, people are endearing and funny, the atmosphere is nice, the music is beautiful in short the game is a masterpiece if you are a fan of RPG or not I advise you strongly to try it
  2. Sep 23, 2018
    10
    I have always looked away from this game until now that it's on switch and I realize now I was such an idiot. This game uses mechanics I have never seen in an RPG where your skill can decide how much damage you take / give while most RPG's make me just click the a button to skip the text and attack again. Also, while most games just show one method of defending, this game shows differentI have always looked away from this game until now that it's on switch and I realize now I was such an idiot. This game uses mechanics I have never seen in an RPG where your skill can decide how much damage you take / give while most RPG's make me just click the a button to skip the text and attack again. Also, while most games just show one method of defending, this game shows different methods of defending and sometimes attacking but never stalls on it so you can have a new experience and not have to play a repetitive game over and over.

    UnderTale also has great replay-ability because even though the map does not change, your actions on certain people can change how the game is played and theirs multiple endings to make the game always feel new and fresh.

    When I was a child I had this ability known as "Sucking at games" which would make the game way more fun learning and getting better at bosses like Mario Galaxy 2 the Perfect Run would just be a good time spender but games will all use the same format which is why i have lost the feeling of learning a game but this is new and inspiring giving me the nostalgic feeling I have wanted for a long time, learning, trying different methods of killing bosses.

    In conclusion, UnderTale has a great story line with new kinds of methods of attacking and defending and in my total of 10 hours of playing I can say this is one of the best games I have ever played and I'm not just saying that because everyone else likes it, It has a great chunk of story on it's bones and I can't wait to see whats the next ending I can get. Thank you Toby Fox for giving me this feeling again I haven't felt in a long time.
  3. Sep 29, 2018
    8
    This game has a fantastic story, simple gameplay mechanics and great art design and music. The game is very easy to pick up and very enjoyable to see through. The character's talking noises can get a little irritating but something very easy to overcome
  4. Sep 27, 2018
    10
    It's a masterpiece. From mechanics, to character design, to level design, to music, to little details, toward the variety of choices. The list pretty much goes on, and at fifteen dollars? There are very minor issues, more-say gripes which comes down as niche-picking, (but what game comes without those?). It's more a story based game, with mechanics and graphics that may not appeal to theIt's a masterpiece. From mechanics, to character design, to level design, to music, to little details, toward the variety of choices. The list pretty much goes on, and at fifteen dollars? There are very minor issues, more-say gripes which comes down as niche-picking, (but what game comes without those?). It's more a story based game, with mechanics and graphics that may not appeal to the modern age, but those that seek what this game provides, it does so with a heart throbbing punch.

    Easy 10/10.
  5. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Absolutely a must-play. A masterpiece RPG lovers and haters alike. Please give the game an actual chance before just posting a negative review.
  6. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This is the best indie game ever made. No doubt. It looks and sounds beautiful. The characters all have their own special charm. The world around you is wonderfully designed. The music is amazing. The stories are very well done, namely the Pacifist story. If that didn't give it away, this is one of those games where every single choice you make affects the ending of the game. Say you don'tThis is the best indie game ever made. No doubt. It looks and sounds beautiful. The characters all have their own special charm. The world around you is wonderfully designed. The music is amazing. The stories are very well done, namely the Pacifist story. If that didn't give it away, this is one of those games where every single choice you make affects the ending of the game. Say you don't kill anything and do a bunch of other really specific stuff. You'll get the Pacifist ending. If you play through the game normally (and most likely blindly), you'll get the Neutral ending. But if you literally go around hunting for enemies to kill, eventually none will show up. Do this in every area of the game, and you'll get the Genocide ending (and one of the hardest boss fights every made). Overall, Undertale is modern masterpiece. Just don't go looking up fan-art of Undyne x Alphys... I've seen some s***.
  7. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 10/10 great dating sim. Got to date a skele-dude and get beat up by his brother. Fight a fish. Date a dinosuar. Date the fish. Beat up a doll in a sink. What else is needed in a video game? Also died 100 times by a goat. Just thought I'd mention that.
  8. Oct 8, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a masterpiece. The jokes are funny, the atmosphere is relaxing, the music is well done (due to the fact Fox is a composer), the characters are likable, action is provided, and some of the twists are definitely shocking. In the True pacifist Ending, you are just stricken with sadness due to the fact that despite saving everyone, you cannot save one monster. My one small complaint is the graphics and sprites. I highly recommend playing this game on PC, PS4, PS Vita or Nintendo Switch.
  9. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    I’ve heard of this game but never played it. Now I have and it’s interesting to see why people loved it back then. I love the humor and jokes in the game it’s very entertaining and a very fun game to play when you have nothing else to do.
  10. Oct 2, 2018
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Holier-than-thou, preachy, moralistic, emotionally manipulative game that criticizes you for doing things it's designed to do without even being morally consistent

    Unfair morality: I'm expected to sympathize with the monsters who plan to murder an innocent child, have already murdered several children, and also plan to commit genocide but I am criticized if i cross a similar line, killing is only treated seriously when the player commits it and not the monsters

    Emotionally manipulative design:
    - Frog during tutorial tells you that some enemies need to be weakened to be spared, sparing Toriel is unintuitive so a on a first run if you haven't been spoiled you will probably try to weaken her but the hit that should weaken her is uniquely set by design to do enough damage to kill her
    - Sans judges your actions and tells you the "true meaning" of rpg terms in the ui (EXP stands for Execution Points) right before the end of game where it makes no sense in-universe since at this point most of the deeds have already been done, the intention is clear that during an unspoiled playthrough you're supposed to kill occasionally and then get caught off guard and feel guilty at the end when you're judged, as a result of this design Sans comes across as a preachy moralistic hypocrite

    Characters: With the exception of Sans and Mettaton characters are dumb enough to be pets, clearly they were intended to be endearing but I found them to be obnoxious, Sans comes across as preachy, moralistic, and self important, I did like Mettaton though

    I Really Hate Sans:
    - Even during a genocide run Sans makes no real attempt to persuade or stop you from killing monsters, even Papyrus who he supposedly cares deeply for. Instead he makes immature holier-than-thou threats that achieve nothing ("ur gonna have a bad time"). He only likes to judge you for killing monsters while glossing over the actions and plans of the monsters. What kind of person would tell you "u shouldve done better ur a bad person for killing" after having been chased through a hostile environment of people who want to murder you, have murdered people before you, want to commit genocide, and have been impaling you with spears and **** ?! The monster's motivations are irrelevant because the player is an innocent victim under no obligation to sympathize with the assailants and the promise to Toriel to "protect" the player doesn't remotely justify any of this

    The rules of the world are not believable, it seems that anything goes. Player's unique ability to manipulate time is a major plot point, it's explained that the player has the ability because he or she is the most "determined" being in the Underground. Flowey loses the ability because only one person can manipulate time. The rule is too simple to be believable. Humans are an entire race of beings and the player is probably not the most "determined" being in existence. There's a whole world outside the Underground, what makes the Underground so special that you get to time travel only when you're in it? Why does the place that the humans sealed the monsters just happen to be this special? What are the boundaries? Who or what judges "determination" in order to determine who gets to time travel and how? Is it just a stat to be compared?

    Meta shock value is cheap

    Has charm in presentation and great music but the story and characters offend me which are the main draws of this game

    rant over
  11. Sep 21, 2018
    1
    Don't believe the lies. There are those who will tell you that Undertale is one of the most unique, charming, and creative RPGs ever made. There are people who will tell you that the music is spectacular, that the characters are incredibly likeabe, and that Toby Fox has crafted one of the most beloved video games of all time.

    These people have NEVER played a video game before or since
    Don't believe the lies. There are those who will tell you that Undertale is one of the most unique, charming, and creative RPGs ever made. There are people who will tell you that the music is spectacular, that the characters are incredibly likeabe, and that Toby Fox has crafted one of the most beloved video games of all time.

    These people have NEVER played a video game before or since they played Undertale. The game offers nothing of value as a video game. The gameplay is lackluster and uninspired. The plot, clearly designed to subvert JRPG tropes, feels hackneyed and forced. And the often praised humor reminds me of how children will do something stupid and laugh.

    It falls far short of the games that very clearly inspired it. Earthbound, Cave Story, Shin Megami Tensei, and its contemporary indie titles, such as Shovel Knight, Freedom Planet, Stealth 2, Thumper, or virtually any other major indie Switch release.

    Undertale is increasingly garnering a reputation for being one of the most overhyped video game titles ever made. It is amazing how fans of the title, to this day, write off very real criticisms towards the game under the belief that the game is only disliked because of how popular it is.

    If the game was actually good, how the fans behave should not matter.

    If you do not already know who Toby Fox is you will not enjoy Undertale. It is not a good game.
  12. Nov 13, 2018
    8
    Undertale is a good and unique game, although not without its flaws.

    The gameplay, writing and art are a weird yet mostly successful mix of comedic self-parody and earnestness. The core fighting mechanic involves controlling a little heart, dodging obstacles to avoid damage. To engage with the enemy, you can choose either to fight or to interact and talk. It's unique, fun, and the
    Undertale is a good and unique game, although not without its flaws.

    The gameplay, writing and art are a weird yet mostly successful mix of comedic self-parody and earnestness.

    The core fighting mechanic involves controlling a little heart, dodging obstacles to avoid damage. To engage with the enemy, you can choose either to fight or to interact and talk. It's unique, fun, and the game constantly riffs on the concept.

    There are a handful of puzzles. They are okay but not inspired.

    The writing is full of jokes, meta-humour, and absurdism, and there are a cast of memorable characters. I enjoyed this side of the game a lot.

    I found the story mixed, though. The broad strokes of an underground realm of mosters is good, but it's overly complex and confusing, partially due to a reliance on exposition dumps, and there are about twenty endings, which rob the game of its narrative momentum about halfway through and start to grate. I wasn't very emotionally engaged.

    The art is very basic, largely in the spirit of self-parody, but about half of the character designs are actually really strong, and there are some pretty environments. However, the other half is pretty bad. Some of the in-world character designs are not even intelligible, and there's an absence of animation which, while joked at, seems lazy.

    The music is unreservedly excellent.

    Overall, if just due to its sheer oddity, I have to recommend playing this.
  13. Nov 5, 2018
    5
    eh it was ok

    kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  14. Oct 24, 2018
    5
    Undertale has some unique mechanics which are interesting, such as the mini-game you play to mitigate any damage you receive, however for an RPG the storyline seemed overly simple and the humour is fairly basic. I found this game underwhelming after reading all the extremely positive comments, especially if you consider that at the time of writing it's almost ranked the same by players asUndertale has some unique mechanics which are interesting, such as the mini-game you play to mitigate any damage you receive, however for an RPG the storyline seemed overly simple and the humour is fairly basic. I found this game underwhelming after reading all the extremely positive comments, especially if you consider that at the time of writing it's almost ranked the same by players as Zelda BOTW (8.5) and Mario Kart (8.6). I'm a big fan of 8 bit games, but I wouldn't recommend this to a friend.
  15. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    There is so much to love about Undertale. i have played hundreds of video games in my life, but nothing ever made me feel quite this way before. Taking inspiration from the Earthbound series for its quirkiness and sincerity, Undertale twists that formula into something new. Instead of kids against a world of corrupt adults and alien beings, we have in this game a lone child thrust into aThere is so much to love about Undertale. i have played hundreds of video games in my life, but nothing ever made me feel quite this way before. Taking inspiration from the Earthbound series for its quirkiness and sincerity, Undertale twists that formula into something new. Instead of kids against a world of corrupt adults and alien beings, we have in this game a lone child thrust into a society of mostly well-meaning monsters. Will you disrupt the monsters' world with your entrance, or will you find a way to see them as people, too?

    I find it hard to rank my favorite video games, but I think more fondly of my time with Undertale than I do of any other game. That may change with time, of course, but I can't think of another experience that generated this kind of instant nostalgia. I can't recommend this game enough. Please do yourself a favor, give it a try -- and don't go looking for spoilers!!!
  16. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Undertale has an interesting story plot, simple game mechanics and music that seems to enhance the atmosphere of the game. The game is very enjoyable and I'd recommend it to anybody who has not tried it out yet.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    95
    If you haven't played Undertale before, you will want to pick this Switch version up to experience what everyone's talking about for yourself. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 17]
  2. Oct 25, 2018
    100
    One of the most original modern JRPGs of all time, and beatable at the fraction of the time. Once you get over its primitive aesthetic, you’ll soon realise why everyone else has been so captivated by Toby Fox’s creation.
  3. Sep 25, 2018
    90
    Toby Fox's work is not just an anecdote: it is perfectly well-thought out. It hides something that connects directly or indirectly to anyone who has spent too much time with a gamepad in his hands.