User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    Wow, what a great game. I was a little afraid that it's one of those "Hipster graphic look" games that don't amount to much of a game, but I was wrong. Great gameplay, great graphics, interesting worlds to explore... I love the "no words" approach, it doesn't make things easier, but hey...makes it all the more mysterious. Love it!
  2. Sep 14, 2018
    7
    To start off the art and atmosphere of this game is fantastic. You traverse through a world filled with new items and enemies to discover and the lack of hand holding really pushes the atmosphere and amplifies the feeling of discovering something new. However, where this game really falls short is its difficulty. I love challenging games, but Hyper Light Drifters challenge seems to beTo start off the art and atmosphere of this game is fantastic. You traverse through a world filled with new items and enemies to discover and the lack of hand holding really pushes the atmosphere and amplifies the feeling of discovering something new. However, where this game really falls short is its difficulty. I love challenging games, but Hyper Light Drifters challenge seems to be artificial and unfair. There were many points in the game where i had no idea why i died or what i died too which was really frustrating after dying multiple times on a given area having no idea what to do differently. After being hit you character is also stunned for a short period by certain attacks leaving him opened to get pummeled and essentially die in one hit. This type of difficulty is only made worse by the lack of tools you have to make quick in puts. After attacking with your sword, your character has serious lag before being able to attack or dash out of the way of an incoming attack. Furthermore, the difficulty spikes seem completely random. The first part of the game can contain areas much more difficult than the proceeding areas. It feels random whether the next room or boss will be difficult or not. (spoilers) An example of this is that the first boss of the game was very challenging compared to the second boss of the game which can easily be beaten on the first attempt. Overall, the atmosphere and theme of the game saves it from its lack of fair, fast paced gameplay
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    This game is powerful in almost all areas. The combat, art, music, and visual storytelling are just amazing. Most people may not agree with the wordless storytelling. In fact, it can kind of be troubling as to figuring out what certain upgrades do when a player wants to purchase one as it is all done with visuals. But to some, it's great to just let your imagination fill in the blanks.This game is powerful in almost all areas. The combat, art, music, and visual storytelling are just amazing. Most people may not agree with the wordless storytelling. In fact, it can kind of be troubling as to figuring out what certain upgrades do when a player wants to purchase one as it is all done with visuals. But to some, it's great to just let your imagination fill in the blanks. As for the music I can say without a single doubt that this is disasterpeace's best work. The synthy tracks just add to the layer of mystery surrounding this destroyed sci-fi world. All in all, it is a definite buy!
  4. Sep 6, 2018
    10
    the art, the music, the scenery, the atmosphere, the story : everything is WoW !|
    its racefully paced in combat and its a contemplative experience when exploring or encounter new things.
    i've never experienced a game that says so much but there is not a single word written in this game. You never read or hear someone speaking to you. You have to figure it out by yourself. I have goose
    the art, the music, the scenery, the atmosphere, the story : everything is WoW !|
    its racefully paced in combat and its a contemplative experience when exploring or encounter new things.

    i've never experienced a game that says so much but there is not a single word written in this game. You never read or hear someone speaking to you. You have to figure it out by yourself.
    I have goose bump just writing this short review.
  5. Sep 16, 2018
    3
    I really love this game - I played through the whole thing on PS4 and was excited to try the Switch version as it was advertised (and often reviewed) as smooth 60FPS. This is very much not the case. Even walking around with no enemies on the screen is slightly jerky and in combat with lots going on the slowdowns are awful. I'm very disappointed. I've tried restarting my Switch as someI really love this game - I played through the whole thing on PS4 and was excited to try the Switch version as it was advertised (and often reviewed) as smooth 60FPS. This is very much not the case. Even walking around with no enemies on the screen is slightly jerky and in combat with lots going on the slowdowns are awful. I'm very disappointed. I've tried restarting my Switch as some have mentioned but it made no difference. I find it very odd that some people report no slowdowns at all and a lot of other people say it's stuttering all over the place. I would avoid this version.
  6. Nov 11, 2018
    9
    Reverb duck, original version was 30fps on all platforms... now theyve been updated and the worst drops on switch are 40-50fps, which is FINE, the game basically runs just as well on switch as anything else but its portable too... switch is the best platform to play this game on for that reason
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    95
    A near-perfect dayglow samurai dream. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 20]
  2. Oct 22, 2018
    90
    If you groan every time you see another 2D action-RPG on the Nintendo eShop, don’t be dissuaded by Hyper Light Drifter: Special Edition. While it borrows from the Zelda blueprint and games that have followed, it is packaged so perfectly that it stands above the rest. The depth of its vivid world goes beyond what you see on your screen. There’s more lurking there, and you’ll want to discover it all.
  3. Oct 8, 2018
    90
    Hyper Light Drifter is a jaw-dropping experience no matter the platform you play it on. What started as an engaging masterpiece in 2016 continues to be just as rewarding and worthwhile of a video game in 2018. With the Nintendo Switch you get the valuable bonus of being able to take this journey with you anywhere you want and believe me when I say this is a journey you will not want to step away from once you start it.