User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 70
  2. Negative: 11 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2018
    8
    If you have a Switch and you're a Diablo fan, then this game is well worth it. Being able to take Diablo with you, and play offline is great. This is the full-fledged game, with great graphics, sound and full frame rate. Online play works well, but has no communication or trading between players. You can just zerg together until you hit the highest level content where communication becomesIf you have a Switch and you're a Diablo fan, then this game is well worth it. Being able to take Diablo with you, and play offline is great. This is the full-fledged game, with great graphics, sound and full frame rate. Online play works well, but has no communication or trading between players. You can just zerg together until you hit the highest level content where communication becomes essential. Disappointing neither Nintendo nor Blizzard has a solution for this, so you'll have to look to a 3rd party app if possible. The game is also a battery killer, my Switch gets about 4 hours of mixed on-line and off-line play taking the battery from 100-0%.

    If you've never played Diablo before and enjoy an interesting story action RPG, with lots of variety in classes and equipment, along with endless dungeon crawling, then you'll probably enjoy this game a lot. It's definitely fun and I can recommend it.
  2. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    After playing the DOOM, Fortnite, and Paladins ports i had given up on high resolution, high frame rate games coming to the Switch, But boy was i surprised by Diablo 3, They ported this game right and the performance shows, A must have on the console
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    Its very surprising to see Diablo 3 a Blizzard IP on the switch, But its even more surprising to see it run at 60 fps constantly and a good resolution! If you are a fan of loot based games, RPGs, or online multiplayer, This is the game for you! As a PC gamer, i gladly say this is the best way to play Diablo 3 without a doubt.
  4. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    A great RPG that consumes the player with a vast amount of class, armor, and weapon variety. Fight your way through dungeons alone or with friends. A dark and mystical story isnt much, but its enough to give you a reason for the grind, and the world around you. Would HIGHLY recommend!.
  5. Nov 2, 2018
    9
    The best way to play Diablo 3. Period. Its just unfortunate that the game is near the end of its life span, But if you have not played Diablo 3 yet, There is no excuse. You can easily get hundreds of hours on this game. Smooth and stable 60 fps throughout, tons of content, and online multiplayer make Diablo 3 on the switch, a exciting ride.
  6. Nov 3, 2018
    9
    I didn't like D3 at launch (probably the worst launch i ever seen)

    Friends of mine played a lot after ROS in seasonal HC, and i came back to play with them, i enjoyed it. Now the Switch version isn't the best looking visually (mostly the characters). Outside that it's the most enjoyable version of D3 i've seen by far. Local MP, on the go MP are an absolute blast, Offline seasonal
    I didn't like D3 at launch (probably the worst launch i ever seen)

    Friends of mine played a lot after ROS in seasonal HC, and i came back to play with them, i enjoyed it.

    Now the Switch version isn't the best looking visually (mostly the characters).
    Outside that it's the most enjoyable version of D3 i've seen by far.

    Local MP, on the go MP are an absolute blast, Offline seasonal HC is great for farming. The game is perfect for short on the go session. You take the train, you pot the switch, you launch a rift or a bounty, you don't even the the time of the travel pass.

    Regarding the control, i feel like console control are better than PC controls, directly controlling with the stick feel a lot better.

    Overall, it's imo the ultimate version of D3.
  7. Nov 5, 2018
    9
    My girlfriend and I have been playing this together and it's a really really fun co op game. 60 fps and no stuttering at all, great addition to the Switch library, especially for someone like me who has never played Diablo.
  8. Nov 2, 2018
    9
    Really good like the first one only problem I have is the style and the camera might not be for everyone but if you forgot about that its a really good game if you have the money definitely try to get it.
  9. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    Played the game before, but this is the ultimate version for me. Truly excellent!
  10. Nov 3, 2018
    5
    Don't buy the hype and the fanboy 10/10 scores. There is nothing about this which is 10 out of 10 except for portability. It is objectively the worst modern console version of Diablo 3: 960p while docked, frame rate drops, particle effects and enemy density at low (if not lowest) settings, online coop behind Nintendo's half-assed Switch Online service, the list goes on.

    First Skyrim,
    Don't buy the hype and the fanboy 10/10 scores. There is nothing about this which is 10 out of 10 except for portability. It is objectively the worst modern console version of Diablo 3: 960p while docked, frame rate drops, particle effects and enemy density at low (if not lowest) settings, online coop behind Nintendo's half-assed Switch Online service, the list goes on.

    First Skyrim, now Diablo - 6 year old ports that are the worst versions of each but charging full $60 MSRP and inexplicably getting 10/10 reviews simply because you can play them "on the go". There's more to playing a game then being able to play it on my lunch break and I'm not willing to sacrifice quality for portability. Limited portability at that, given the Switch's lousy battery life.

    If you already have this on PS4, XBO or PC, there's no reason to spend yet another $60 on this.
  11. Nov 3, 2018
    6
    It’s fun to take places, but it’s $60 bucks for the worst port of this game from six years ago. I don’t know what I’m looking at half the time when battles get going and the frame rate dips. Not sure what the praise is. Aesthetically speaking it’s super badass, but oof is it hard to look at. I did my part in supporting another old, third party port, but might be the last time I do that forIt’s fun to take places, but it’s $60 bucks for the worst port of this game from six years ago. I don’t know what I’m looking at half the time when battles get going and the frame rate dips. Not sure what the praise is. Aesthetically speaking it’s super badass, but oof is it hard to look at. I did my part in supporting another old, third party port, but might be the last time I do that for Switch. I don’t think taking it out every once in awhile is worth the loss of resolution, frame rate or price. Ready for what 2019 brings to the Switch!
  12. Nov 5, 2018
    10
    An amazing adaptation and feat to get this game to run so buttery smooth on the machine. An amazing, amazing port.
  13. Nov 8, 2018
    9
    Let's get this out of the way... the Switch is simply not the graphical peer of its other console and PC versions. And I would contend it actually looks WORSE when docked than in handheld. There are definitely some rough edges graphically.

    Another problem is the lack of cross-play, but that was something I knew going in, so I can't be TOO irked about it. Still would have liked to
    Let's get this out of the way... the Switch is simply not the graphical peer of its other console and PC versions. And I would contend it actually looks WORSE when docked than in handheld. There are definitely some rough edges graphically.

    Another problem is the lack of cross-play, but that was something I knew going in, so I can't be TOO irked about it. Still would have liked to carry my PC characters and jump in, though.

    That said, I still think it has quickly become my platform of choice for the game. Diablo 3 wasn't exactly known for its stunning visuals to begin with, and if you're coming from previous games in the series, you shouldn't be terribly turned off by it.

    Because most importantly, it keeps game performance up. It didn't matter how crazy the action got, I don't recall even the slightest hiccup in frame rate or processing. Blizzard clearly valued frame rate over fidelity, and it was absolutely the right choice.

    Meanwhile, coming from the PC version, I was honestly surprised how much smoother and more intuitive this game was to play from a controller over the PC's mouse and keyboard controls. It felt infinitely more natural, and I haven't felt compelled to touch the PC version in the last week.

    If you don't have Diablo 3 yet, this is the version you should get. Even if you HAVE another version, this is worth double dipping for.
  14. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    Having previously owned the PC and PS4 edition of Diablo 3 I must admit that I am literally perplexed at how incredibly well this game runs on Nintendo's little machine. It also looks and plays wonderful in undocked mode and is quite frankly a perfect game for gaming on the go.

    Unless you already are bored to death with Diablo 3, you cannot go wrong with this game.
  15. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    best diablo 3 ever, in all the systems this is the best of the best. carlos styles me la pela
  16. Nov 11, 2018
    10
    I originally had this game on PS4 but could not get into it. The portability of the switch allows you to jump in and out dungeons.

    The graphics are more than good enough and although the resolution can take a hit, the game runs at a steady 60fps. The only negative is that this is a full price release (Dark Souls was only £30). There is enough game content to justify the price but it
    I originally had this game on PS4 but could not get into it. The portability of the switch allows you to jump in and out dungeons.

    The graphics are more than good enough and although the resolution can take a hit, the game runs at a steady 60fps.

    The only negative is that this is a full price release (Dark Souls was only £30). There is enough game content to justify the price but it is available much cheaper on other systems (Swirch tax).
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Nov 12, 2018
    85
    Diablo III Eternal Collection is a very good bet on the Switch thanks to its light graphics engine, the impressive load of content (everything available)and a well made gameplay that cleverly uses the controls available on the console.
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    90
    Diablo III Eternal Collection is the best version of a classic game, and on Nintendo Switch it makes more sense than ever, whether playing alone or with others.
  3. Nov 9, 2018
    85
    An impressive adaptation. Solid as a rock withoutappreciable loss of quality and with all the content to date.