• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2018
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 125
  2. Negative: 22 out of 125
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2018
    10
    I have played Yakuza 0, Kiwami, and now this.. Yakuza Kiwami 2 is one of the best games I've ever played in a series so far of 10/10 games for me. I can't wait to play Yakuza 3 and give my review of it and possibly continue the 10/10 trend this series has spoiled me with so far.
  2. Sep 28, 2018
    10
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 is one the greatest open world games every made. As with all the Yakuza games, it is open world done right as it's map is not a massive one that you'll find in most open world games but is smaller and jam packed with things to do as there is no wasted space in the game and makes the cities of Kamurocho and Sotenbori, the game's two setting's, feel truly alive and lived in.Yakuza Kiwami 2 is one the greatest open world games every made. As with all the Yakuza games, it is open world done right as it's map is not a massive one that you'll find in most open world games but is smaller and jam packed with things to do as there is no wasted space in the game and makes the cities of Kamurocho and Sotenbori, the game's two setting's, feel truly alive and lived in. I have known about the franchise since it's PS2 days but always overlooked it as I thought it was simply Japan's inferior version of the GTA franchise, it wasn't until January of this year when I was given Yakuza Kiwami that I discovered how very wrong I was and since have played every Yakuza game available to PS4 and can't get enough. Yakuza Kiwami 2 is by far the best entry in franchise to date and shows publishers what a remaster can and should be. Running off the new Dragon Engine, which was created for Yakuza 6, the game runs smoothly allowing you to run in and out of buildings with mostly no load screens when your just exploring the city. The graphics are top notch from the many buildings and bright neon lights of Kamurocho to the more calm and subtle Sotenbori. The combat is more akin to Yakuza 6 than to the first Kiwami as you do not have combat styles, but has a deep upgrade system that adds plenty to Kiryu's and Majima's skillset. You can also equip up to three weapons you can pull out in battle and three pieces of gear to help bolster your defense and give you more resistance to knives and guns. The mini games are as always fun and enjoyable from Karoke, to a weird one where you take pictures of models, two golf minigames, and even classic SEGA arcade games that will keep you occupied for several hours. It also brings back the Clan Creator minigame from Yakuza 6, adding some new features to it and has it's own storyline that is quite enjoyable. The story is pretty much the exact same as the original PS2 game but adds a brand new story featuring fan favorite Goro Majima and serves as a sort of epilogue of his Yakuza 0 story, although you don't unlock the first chapter of his story until you complete chapter 5 of Kiryu's story. Both Kiryu's and Majima's stories are some of the best the franchise has seen thus far and will have you laughing, clinching your fists, sitting on the edge of your seat, and maybe even teary eyed. The game also has side quests called sub stories that are all worth completing, as some are some of the craziest and weirdest stories you'll ever see in a game, and completing them reward you with new allies, gear, weapons, experience and more. You can complete this game in about 20 hours if you focus strictly on story and don't do much exploring, but you'll see very soon that would be a waste as there is easily another 50+ hours of side content for you to enjoy. This is one of the best games of this console generation and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for something with a great story and brilliant characters.
  3. Aug 29, 2018
    10
    Having never played the original Yakuza 2 for the PS2 (my entering point in the series was Zero, then Kiwami, then a leap to 6 and now this one), I have to say this is the best experience I've had with the series so far. In my personal opinion, the story is the best of all the ones that I've played and, although more streamlined when compared to Zero and Kiwami, I felt the combatHaving never played the original Yakuza 2 for the PS2 (my entering point in the series was Zero, then Kiwami, then a leap to 6 and now this one), I have to say this is the best experience I've had with the series so far. In my personal opinion, the story is the best of all the ones that I've played and, although more streamlined when compared to Zero and Kiwami, I felt the combat experience to be the most responsive yet (you "feel" every punch and kick you throw during battles). Exploration is also even more rewarding this time, with a perfect mix between new attractions and the revamped fan-favorites that have been a staple of the series. Because of its accessibility, I'd say this is certainly a Yakuza not only for long-time fans of the series, but also for newcomers alike.
  4. Aug 31, 2018
    8
    A very nice gameplay and wonderful story. Totally recommended. Narrative and combats are a great mix in this title.
  5. Sep 1, 2018
    9
    Almost 10/10, but there are some things missing things from the original game (ultimate battles substories , mini games and most important thing they completely changed chapter.12 or 13) and i still loved the original dojima no ryu style but thats ok
    ofc the game is great and story is great and the new cabaret substory is fantastic
  6. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    The series created by Toshihiro Nagashi (who was the supervisor of Shenmue I), began to gain much fame and visibility after the launch of Yakuza 0, having managed to achieve success like never before seen in the history of the franchise. But who knows Yakuza certainly will not be surprised because, except for the Yakuza: Dead Souls, it is a series that has been progressively deliveringThe series created by Toshihiro Nagashi (who was the supervisor of Shenmue I), began to gain much fame and visibility after the launch of Yakuza 0, having managed to achieve success like never before seen in the history of the franchise. But who knows Yakuza certainly will not be surprised because, except for the Yakuza: Dead Souls, it is a series that has been progressively delivering titles with more and more quality. In August of last year, SEGA decided to announce the remake of Yakuza 2 for PlayStation 4, Yakuza Kiwami 2.

    After the events of Yakuza Kiwami, Kazuma Kiryu is obliged to speak to the Tojo Clan due to certain events, in order to alert the serious consequences that were approaching and to propose a plan of action. 248/5000
    Well, in relation to story mode, it is just like the other Yakuza; can transmit that feeling of anger, that desire to cry because of some emotional moments and always with those exceptional Japanese voices. Not to mention that it is stuffed with epic battles and "dynamic intros" to fill the eye. As you can see, it's still a Yakuza. Kiwami 2 uses the same Yakuza 6: The Song of Life graphics engine, and although I am not very favor with the 30 FPS, I must admit that eye candy and super stable frame rate can make me forget it.

    Kamurocho, as always, could not miss Kiwami 2. What is also back is the city Sotenbori that was already present in Yakuza 0 and 5. The gameplay and system upgrades are exactly the same as the Yakuza 6: The Song of Life, little or almost nothing has changed. And we have more Heat Actions (and some old ones returned) in relation to the 6 and I have to confess once again, that despite being somewhat violent, I didn't restrain the laughter in some Essences. Now during the fighting we can pick up and store certain weapons from the streets of Kamurocho and Sotenbori so that we can use them on other occasions. Speaking of news, we have a new mode, called Majima Xonstructions, which is something similar to the Clan Creator of Yakuza 6, with the difference that we have to defend certain materials of the delinquents. We can always spend Yens to do Scounting or improve materials or vehicles to strengthen our base.

    One of the weaknesses of Yakuza 6: The Song of Life was that the fights at the Coliseum and gambling had been withdrawn. Well, they're back in this Yakuza Kiwami 2. This despite the case of games in casinos only have Blackjack and Poker and the case of the Japanese game betting, we have only the Oicho-kabu and Koi-koi. We have a way in which we photograph women in moments that are a bit perverted, but still have their fun. In the Club SEGA we have the UFO Catcher, Virtual-On, Virtua Fighter 2 and a mini-game... in the bathroom. All this is part of Japanese culture. Also we have as always the Mahjong, Karaoke, and another mini-games.

    This time the Kazuma Kiryu will not be a Hostess Clubs customer, but rather, a manager. And as such, the player will have to pay attention to the requests and mental health of the Hostesses when they have clients, so that the club will have fame and money. And in Kiwami 2 we have a little extra, in which we can play with the wackiest hero in the Yakuza series, Goro Majima. This is a small scenario that explains certain events between Yakuza Kiwami and Kiwami 2. Since Majima always uses a knife in his right hand during fights by definition, the player cann't pick up objects and the list of Heat Actions he can perform is very limited compared to Kiryu. But even so, it's a powerful and fun character to play.

    We also have the Bouncer Missions, which are challenges in which we have to "clean" the enemies of the streets of Kamurocho and Sotenbori. About the soundtrack, I can only say that it is as wonderful as the rest of the series. The game is also full of funny side quests to entertain the players. It is impossible not to love Kiwami 2, even with its tiny flaws such as Pool and Bowling absences. Undoubtedly, this is one of the best Yakuza ever.

    Verdict: The Yakuza Studio always manages to surprise in each Yakuza and this Kiwami 2 was a sublime work of the producer.
  7. Sep 3, 2018
    8
    A ton of fun but very much a massive expansion to 6, still it improves on it in many ways with a solid main campaign and a ton of side missions, some as large as some smaller games.
    That said this while there is a bigger gap from 6-K2 than from 0-K1 this is still very much a Yakuza 6.5 rather than a 7 so I'm hoping that Shin makes a much bigger jump.
    I also hope they dial back the RPG
    A ton of fun but very much a massive expansion to 6, still it improves on it in many ways with a solid main campaign and a ton of side missions, some as large as some smaller games.
    That said this while there is a bigger gap from 6-K2 than from 0-K1 this is still very much a Yakuza 6.5 rather than a 7 so I'm hoping that Shin makes a much bigger jump.
    I also hope they dial back the RPG elements as it's a little to easy to find yourself overpowered or underpowered, it's honestly something most of the more open action games need to do.
  8. Sep 3, 2018
    8
    Overall, Kiwami 2 was a solid experience. Its story was a little wobbly at times, but it wraps up in such a way that its hard to leave unsatisfied. And sure, there are some issues here and there, but it still stands as a fun time to be had. Check out mainmenugames.com for more.
  9. Sep 3, 2018
    6
    This game could be the most perfect Yakuza game, but for some reason authors add a piece of crap: 26 bouncing missions with 3 diffictulies on each. So full completion is impossible without HUGE and stupid grind.
  10. Sep 16, 2018
    9
    Game Genre

    Third Person Action Adventure Open World Story The strength of all Yakuza games is the story and this game’s story takes it to another level. Kiwami’s story was good but not really live up to Yakuza 0’s story. Really thinking about it, Yakuza 0’s story is probably better just because with 0 throughout the entire game I was engaged. The quote on quote “problem” with
    Game Genre

    Third Person
    Action Adventure
    Open World

    Story

    The strength of all Yakuza games is the story and this game’s story takes it to another level. Kiwami’s story was good but not really live up to Yakuza 0’s story. Really thinking about it, Yakuza 0’s story is probably better just because with 0 throughout the entire game I was engaged. The quote on quote “problem” with Kiwami 2 is the has a lot of lulls in the middle and it started to lose towards the middle-end of the game. Towards the end, the story does start to pick up but then during the final chapter, the train is off the rails. What happens is just **** crazy and I loved every second of it.

    Favorite Character

    Majima continues to be the best part of the Yakuza series. He’s not in a ton of scenes but every time he makes an appearance, his performance just steals the show. He is a special character and is one of my favorite characters in all of video games.

    Puzzles

    One thing that the Yakuza franchise lacks is puzzles.

    Gameplay

    The gameplay is very basic. Its a very small but condensed open world and the combat is a very simple beat em’ up. The combat is one of the weaker parts of the game but the nice thing is, each game is loaded with mini-games. These mini-games range from arcade games to bowling, to baseball to running cabaret club. There are a ton of options for keeping yourself busy.

    Bosses

    This is a crux of the Yakuza formula. Bosses there are a number of bosses in the Yakuza franchise and in each game, you will typically go back and fight the same one a number of times. Each time you fight them, they get a little stronger. The boss battles are funish, they at least shake up the game’s formula a little bit.

    Mission/Level Design

    Every chapter is pretty much set up the same way, start at Point A and then go to point B which takes under a minute to get there. Talk to some people or fight some people (sometimes both), then move to point C, D, just keep going until you reach the chapters final boss.

    Music/Sound Design/Voice Acting

    I don’t remember much about the music so it’s not too noticeable. There is voice acting but its all in Japanese, it seems like the voice actors are good but I don’t Japanese so it’s hard for me to say.

    Recap: The Good

    Story

    Majima

    Mini-Game Variety

    Recap: The Bad

    N/A

    Recap: The Okay

    Bosses

    Combat Music
  11. Sep 11, 2018
    10
    This is one of the best sequels I have ever played. I thought Kiwami was amazing but the quality of this just overwhelmed me to say the least.

    - The combat system is completely overhauled to allow seamless fighting, where you feel the weight of each punch and kick. - People singing praises of this game's story aren't kidding, it really is amazing and compelling. Its like watching an
    This is one of the best sequels I have ever played. I thought Kiwami was amazing but the quality of this just overwhelmed me to say the least.

    - The combat system is completely overhauled to allow seamless fighting, where you feel the weight of each punch and kick.

    - People singing praises of this game's story aren't kidding, it really is amazing and compelling. Its like watching an intense movie plot.

    - Characters bring life into the story. Ryuji is the best antagonist in all the Yakuza titles I've played thus far and possibly in my video gaming experience, I really grew to like him as I played. Kawara has a heartfelt backstory that really lets you sympathize. Sayama is a great companion/ love interest.

    - Having just finished Majima's saga, I am a happy customer. We learn why Majima left Tojo to start a construction company between Kiwami and Kiwami 2.

    - The Cabaret Club minigame returns from 0 as good as ever. I spent several solid hours on this storyline. Clan creator AKA Majima Construction has improved from its amazing start in Yakuza 6 and is very addictive. Don't even get me started on the Sub-stories, play for yourself.

    - Music score is once again top-notch.

    - Can't wait for 3-5 Remasters and the new detective spinoff, Judge Eyes.
  12. Sep 10, 2018
    9
    If someone were to ask me what the most complete Yakuza experience was, I'd point them in the direction of this game. While Yakuza 0 might be the best game in general, this was the game that Sega used to clean up alot of the problems that came with the upgrades they made to Yakuza 6, while delivering a good story and some of the best substories in the series in general.
    I'm glad they
    If someone were to ask me what the most complete Yakuza experience was, I'd point them in the direction of this game. While Yakuza 0 might be the best game in general, this was the game that Sega used to clean up alot of the problems that came with the upgrades they made to Yakuza 6, while delivering a good story and some of the best substories in the series in general.
    I'm glad they cleaned up alot of things from 6 to Kiwami 2. The combat has a better feel to it, with weapons playing a much larger role this time around after they were almost banished into obscurity in the last game. The story is still very good, and still extremely over the top, especially towards the end. I'd certainly suggest saving this for your 3rd game in the series, since that's what it was designed to be with the small mini reboot the series saw for Kiryu's storyline. And it's good to see the progression from Yakuza 0 to Kiwami 2 and just how well they handled what could have been just a simple remaster, instead making it into a full fledge brand new game. While there are definitely some sticking points, most of the problems I had with the game are minor in the grand scheme of things. And with this being Kiryu's last truly new experience in the Yakuza series before a new character is eventually introduced in Yakuza 7, he goes out in a very strong note and one that I would definitely recommend to series fans, who have at least played Yakuza 0.
  13. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    I won’t be able to add much that hasn’t already been said. While I still personally have enjoyed Yakuza 6 overall a little more than I have with Kiwami 2, it’s been a fantastic and more refined “second entry” in terms of the Ryu Ga Gotaku team using the new Dragon engine.

    The story has been entertaining as i’ve Come to expect from a Yakuza title. Kiryu continues to represent some of the
    I won’t be able to add much that hasn’t already been said. While I still personally have enjoyed Yakuza 6 overall a little more than I have with Kiwami 2, it’s been a fantastic and more refined “second entry” in terms of the Ryu Ga Gotaku team using the new Dragon engine.

    The story has been entertaining as i’ve Come to expect from a Yakuza title. Kiryu continues to represent some of the best a protagonist of a video game series can represent. The story is engaging and characters all believable. Combat is improved over that of 6 which makes sense seeing as how 6 was the entry point for the team to begin to get used to the new engine. It’s a lot more varied and less repetitive than that of 6.

    This game is huge. The story isn’t super long and can probably be completed in 15-20 hours if mainlined, but the Yakuza games are designed to be those that you take your time with. While meandering around and divulging in eating at restaurants or taking part in absurd sub stories can sometimes seem at odds with the urgency of the main storyline, they are genuinely enjoyable and engrossing on their own. Kiwami 2 builds upon all the strengths of previous titles as well as upon the new engine and this can be stated enough; it streamlines the whole system and, if not for being partially restrained by being a remake of a PS2 title, would easily feel like the most modern example of what this series has become.
  14. Sep 24, 2018
    8
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 delivers a good game but still with a lot to improve due to it is based on the mechanics of Yakuza 6

    -Story: good, interesting but with a few empty moments.
    -Combat: similar to Yakuza 6, adding a few moves but not enough to see make a diference. A huge flaw is the lack of the move list, not knowing all the Heat Actions and the lack of tutorial for the Extreme Heat Mode.
  15. Aug 29, 2018
    10
    Best Yakuza game since 0. Gameplay is arguably the best and the story is very engaging but not quite as dragging as 6. Battle music (and difficulty) has been revamped and mini games (old and new) are in most abundance for the franchise which are delightful "segways" to take a break from the deep narrative. Must buy for Yakuza fans. Highly recommended for 1st time players as there is anBest Yakuza game since 0. Gameplay is arguably the best and the story is very engaging but not quite as dragging as 6. Battle music (and difficulty) has been revamped and mini games (old and new) are in most abundance for the franchise which are delightful "segways" to take a break from the deep narrative. Must buy for Yakuza fans. Highly recommended for 1st time players as there is an option where you can recap events from Kiwami. Brilliant stuff!
  16. Sep 24, 2018
    10
    A 10/10 no questions asked. I payed 44,99 Euros and I don't regret a single Cent. The story, the minigames and everything in between is simply beautiful. I did basically everything you could possibly do in this game (except Shogi and Mahjong since learning these games would take an eternity) and it's simply one of the best games for such a price. Do NOT skip out on this game I promise youA 10/10 no questions asked. I payed 44,99 Euros and I don't regret a single Cent. The story, the minigames and everything in between is simply beautiful. I did basically everything you could possibly do in this game (except Shogi and Mahjong since learning these games would take an eternity) and it's simply one of the best games for such a price. Do NOT skip out on this game I promise you a marvelous experience all around, you will NOT regret buying this game.
  17. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    Another strong Yakuza game that will undoubtedly fall under the radar. Unfortunately, Yakuza games do not get the publicity they should, and as such many miss out on this series. The plot is great, the engine runs like a charm, the characters are gripping and engaging. This is one of the few stories that you truly find yourself invested in and wanting to finish, but not really wanting theAnother strong Yakuza game that will undoubtedly fall under the radar. Unfortunately, Yakuza games do not get the publicity they should, and as such many miss out on this series. The plot is great, the engine runs like a charm, the characters are gripping and engaging. This is one of the few stories that you truly find yourself invested in and wanting to finish, but not really wanting the fun to end.
  18. Sep 9, 2018
    9
    I'm giving this game a 9.5 out of 10! My god, this game was fantastic and almost flawless that to me in my opinion that it is a lot better than Yakuza 6. Everything from the improved combat, to the minigames and more of the returning and new extra side content in Yakuza 2/ Kiwami 2! I am so happy that I played this game for 14 hours straight, and the best part of this game is the new movesI'm giving this game a 9.5 out of 10! My god, this game was fantastic and almost flawless that to me in my opinion that it is a lot better than Yakuza 6. Everything from the improved combat, to the minigames and more of the returning and new extra side content in Yakuza 2/ Kiwami 2! I am so happy that I played this game for 14 hours straight, and the best part of this game is the new moves and heat actions as well as for the story and my god I really loved the story in this game it is probably one of the best in the series in my book and its really good than 0's story especially when the story was a little darker and more connected from the Jingwoen Mafia and Goda Ryuji the best rivalry/ antagonist ever in the Yakuza series. But overall I really have nothing to complain about the game other than the fact that Majima's story was very short but that's about it. Anyway, it's a fantastic game I highly recommend it!
  19. Oct 2, 2018
    9
    A fantastic plot from start to finish, Yakuza 2 is a masterpiece in storytelling and to add to that it features roaring and ruthless combat expanding upon what Yakuza 6 offered in the superb Dragon Engine. Yakuza Kiwami 2 is quite possibly the definitive Yakuza experience to date.
  20. Oct 16, 2018
    8
    Esta vez, Sega nos deleita con el remake de Yakuza 2.

    Yakuza Kiwami 2 llega a nuestras manos gracias al poder del Dragon Engine, desarrollado exclusivamente para la saga Ryu Ga Gotoku.

    Una vez más, encontramos un juego que argumentalmente es muy bueno y mejora en todos los apartados técnicos el clásico de PlayStation 2.

    Imprescindible.
  21. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    In my opinion, the best Yakuza game so far. But i'm missing the real estate game from Yakuza 0.
  22. Nov 4, 2018
    8
    Story:6
    Gameplay:8.4
    Mechanics:10
    Characters:8.7
    Details:8
    Sounds:8
    The real vote should be 8.5
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Sep 27, 2018
    90
    It’s an odd feeling to be back in Kamurocho after wishing a bittersweet farewell to the Dragon of Dojima. Even though Kiwami 2 doesn’t quite achieve the emotional highs of the Song of Life, the polished gameplay as well as one of the finest antagonists the series has to offer makes it a must play for Yakuza fans, whether they played the original on the PS2 or not.
  2. Sep 24, 2018
    85
    Minor flaws aside, Yakuza Kiwami 2 is a great reimagining, reworked with love and pride by a team who clearly understand what makes their games shine. Even though there are loads of Kiryu’s adventures to choose from at this point, this one stands apart as one of the best. It may not dethrone 0 as the definitive Yakuza experience, but it’s still an excellent entry in its own right and has essentially become the gold standard by which all remakes should be measured.
  3. Sep 19, 2018
    87
    Overall, Yakuza Kiwami 2 is one of the best entries in the franchise. It's the technically most advanced and includes many improvements that significantly enhance the experience while also telling a gripping and satisfying story. It's not perfect, with a sometimes slow progression system and a few hit-and-miss additions in the side content. Some fun additions from previous iterations could've made Kiwami 2 even more special.