User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 97
  2. Negative: 67 out of 97
  1. Nov 9, 2018
    0
    El videojuego es uno de los peores del año 2018 y tal vez uno de los peores de la historia. Hay bugs, incoherencias en la trama, clichés de los latinos, el protagonista parece un maniquí con un repertorio limitado de acciones. Sin embargo, la equivocación más grande del juego es que no hay sonido para tratar de hacerlo inmersivo. Una copia fallida de Hellblade, en este juego laEl videojuego es uno de los peores del año 2018 y tal vez uno de los peores de la historia. Hay bugs, incoherencias en la trama, clichés de los latinos, el protagonista parece un maniquí con un repertorio limitado de acciones. Sin embargo, la equivocación más grande del juego es que no hay sonido para tratar de hacerlo inmersivo. Una copia fallida de Hellblade, en este juego la protagonista sufre una enfermedad mental, pero en The quiet man tenemos que meternos en la perspectiva de un sordo que solo él entiende lo que ocurre. El videojuego no es recomendable.

    In English
    The video game is one of the worst in 2018 and perhaps one of the worst in history. There are bugs, inconsistencies in the plot, clichés of Latinos, the protagonist looks like a mannequin with a limited repertoire of actions. However, the biggest mistake of the game is that there is no sound to try to make it immersive. A failed copy of Hellblade, in this game the protagonist suffers a mental illness, but in The quiet man we have to put ourselves in the perspective of a deaf man that only he understands what happens. The video game is not recommended.
  2. Nov 5, 2018
    0
    A game about a deaf guy that can only be appreciated by blind people.

    As a middle-aged gamer that's getting a little tired of the lack of ideas in the industry these days, I was genuinely excited to play this one. That enthusiasm faded pretty quickly though when the game reached a scene about 30 minutes in where the protagonist and a female character get into the backseat of a car and
    A game about a deaf guy that can only be appreciated by blind people.

    As a middle-aged gamer that's getting a little tired of the lack of ideas in the industry these days, I was genuinely excited to play this one. That enthusiasm faded pretty quickly though when the game reached a scene about 30 minutes in where the protagonist and a female character get into the backseat of a car and proceed to have a (mostly) one-way conversation for the next 10 minutes. Given that my character is deaf, there was no dialogue for the entire sequence, leaving me sitting there wondering what the f**k this woman's problem was. I mean, who does that? Who sits next to a deaf kid in a car, presumably knowing full well that he's deaf, and engages him in 10 minutes of conversation? There's a special circle of hell for that kind of ignorant cruelty – a circle of hell that should now be reserved specifically for game developers that create games that contain such scenes. I respect Square for trying something different for a change, but holy crap is this game trash. The idea that I need to play through a SECOND time to "get the story" is rubbish. Few would subject themselves to the full 3 hours of torture that The Quiet Man brings to the table, only the most masochistic among us would do it twice.
  3. Nov 6, 2018
    2
    Is very difficult to understand the reason of an importante software house to publish a trash like ''the quiet man''. A ridiculous film with some patethic and easy combat phase. It seems incredible but in all history of videogame the best sliding beat 'em up it's still again capcom's final fight
  4. Nov 4, 2018
    1
    I have never laughed so hard, then the first 20 minutes of this game. Oh my god! The level of cheese the acting it was so bad and when it flipped to me fighting I just started laughing and couldn't stop. I decide to try and play properly so I look up controls, but there picture diagrams, abstract at that. WTF he's deaf not illiterate you can write words ! Just an absolute disaster butI have never laughed so hard, then the first 20 minutes of this game. Oh my god! The level of cheese the acting it was so bad and when it flipped to me fighting I just started laughing and couldn't stop. I decide to try and play properly so I look up controls, but there picture diagrams, abstract at that. WTF he's deaf not illiterate you can write words ! Just an absolute disaster but total success as a comedy.
  5. Nov 4, 2018
    0
    This is not a game at all. You should be ashamed to sell this expensive. What the hell are you thinking? No matter how I look at garbage games, this is not a game. This is like watching a movie without saying anything for three hours. And the graphics are boring. This is an unbelievable graphic in 2018. This is the worst game ever. It's stupid to make this thing, so I gave it zero. I hopeThis is not a game at all. You should be ashamed to sell this expensive. What the hell are you thinking? No matter how I look at garbage games, this is not a game. This is like watching a movie without saying anything for three hours. And the graphics are boring. This is an unbelievable graphic in 2018. This is the worst game ever. It's stupid to make this thing, so I gave it zero. I hope this will be ruined forever.
  6. Nov 3, 2018
    1
    Solo una pregunta, ¿Por qué Square-Enix, porqué?
    Esto no es un juego, es algo muy distinto.
  7. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trashhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhuhh!
  8. Nov 1, 2018
    1
    Seldom do I encounter a game which so aggressively and effectively convinces me that I am hated. Both in an abstract and in a personal sense. Every part of this game drips with a contempt which is focused solely on you, the player, as you stumble through what I can only describe as a cacophony of visual unmeaning.

    Metacritic warns that reviews must not contain spoilers, and I guarantee
    Seldom do I encounter a game which so aggressively and effectively convinces me that I am hated. Both in an abstract and in a personal sense. Every part of this game drips with a contempt which is focused solely on you, the player, as you stumble through what I can only describe as a cacophony of visual unmeaning.

    Metacritic warns that reviews must not contain spoilers, and I guarantee that I am unable to provide any. This game's "story" progresses via long, drawn out dialog scenes. They run up to 15 minutes, with very little action. The protagonist of the game is deaf. Significant time is also spent watching pianos being played and songs. Of which you hear none of. You are deaf. I want to tell you that I am joking. I want to tell you that this is a gag review.

    But all I can tell you is not to play this game.

    1 point out of 10 because I enjoyed heckling and writing this review.
  9. Nov 1, 2018
    1
    1. This isn't a game

    2. The fighting in this is broken and clunky 3. The game crashed an hour into playing 3 times 4. The deaf parts make the cinematic parts useless and stupid (you don't learn anything since you can't hear anything) 5. How long it took to download is ridiculous: 7 hours (RDR2 downloaded in less than an hour) This may have started as an interesting idea but
    1. This isn't a game

    2. The fighting in this is broken and clunky

    3. The game crashed an hour into playing 3 times

    4. The deaf parts make the cinematic parts useless and stupid (you don't learn anything since you can't hear anything)

    5. How long it took to download is ridiculous: 7 hours (RDR2 downloaded in less than an hour)

    This may have started as an interesting idea but ultimately it fails. At least it is only $15
  10. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    squer is dead.............game over...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  11. Nov 4, 2018
    8
    The Quiet Man is misunderstood. If you’re expecting The Bouncer 2 or a competent beat-em-up, avoid at all costs. This game was experimental in a way that requires a second playthrough to truly appreciate what it was trying to achieve, even if it never quite hit the mark.

    You should know that my impressions are skewed from a streamers perspective. I played the game on Twitch and got to
    The Quiet Man is misunderstood. If you’re expecting The Bouncer 2 or a competent beat-em-up, avoid at all costs. This game was experimental in a way that requires a second playthrough to truly appreciate what it was trying to achieve, even if it never quite hit the mark.

    You should know that my impressions are skewed from a streamers perspective. I played the game on Twitch and got to laugh with my viewers at the broken and janky combat, ridiculous scenarios in the live action cutscenes and best of all, craft theories as to its meaning.

    You see, according to PSN Trophies, only 25% of people finished the game, meaning most of them are not aware that “beating” the game is only just the beginning. I don’t think this is a spoiler since it is widely written about online, but a patch is planned for release for one week after its release. This isn’t an “oops, we’re sorry you hated our game, here’s some voice acting to make it better,” it’s calculated and part of the overall experience. Your first playthrough is meant to confuse, it’s meant to inspire discussion with friends to try and piece together all of the loose ends and plost twists. The second playthrough will supposedly answer all of our questions, making the second playthrough pivotal to what The Quiet Man set out to do.

    It’s a game meant to be streamed, or played in a room with friends, or discuss with others who have played it in a Discord server and then revisited a week later to see who guessed what correctly.

    You might be saying, “but why not just immediately open New Game+ for the dialogue after I beat it? Why the week wait?” Perhaps they overestimated the hype, but my guess it to avoid spoilers. Most people will probably only impulse buy this in the first week and then it will fall into obscurity, only to be rediscovered in a PSN Flash Sale for 90% off. That week allows most people that want to play it the ability to do so without fear of spoilers. It may not be the best way of approaching it, but I can say I am hyped to play again and find out exactly what was going on in the game.

    The last thing I will leave you with is a comparison: Imagine if the next Star Wars film was released without any audio or subtitles. Fans are in awe at what’s unfolding on the screen, all the betrayals, plot twists, and unanswered mysteries. A week goes by allowing fans to speculate, without spoilers, as to why characters did what they did on screen. Then, finally, the full film is released to answer all questions. That’s pretty much the best way I can sum up the experience of The Quiet Man. It inspires discussion (or in some people’s perspective, disgust), but in the end of the day it took a very bold attempt at something unique that we have NEVER seen before in the industry, even if it’s rough around the edges.
  12. Nov 1, 2018
    8
    It’s actually a pretty crazy idea how the devs did this game. Combining both cinematic live drama with in game elements. The fighting system is derived from what I see as Jason Bourne influence. Overall it’s a 3 hour movie/game. With its $15. Price tag, I’d say it’s Well worth a play through.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 17 out of 18
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    47
    While it misses the mark in general and douses the hopes I had when I first saw the E3 2018 trailer, The Quiet Man does have some value. It’s reasonably priced despite its issues and brevity, and if you’re looking for something a little different, it’s worth a look, just keep your expectations considerably tempered.
  2. Nov 12, 2018
    35
    First of all, hats off to Square Enix for trying something different. We would’ve loved for this game to be good, but it fails at pretty much everything it tries. It’s a sad outcome for an interesting concept, and we hope this doesn’t discourages the team from trying to make something unique again.
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    We give The Quiet Man a point because it exists, and some people worked on it, but it is easily one of the biggest trainwrecks in the history of video games. Gameplay is awful, narrative is awful... nothing can be saved, and no one would ever have the patience to play it once and then download the New Game Plus DLC that includes sounds to understand something. It's just too painful.