Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 17 out of 18
  1. 80
    It's not without its issues, but these are the kinds of experiences that really stick in the mind, and I'd rather that that yet another stock-standard action game that neatly fits within structures that we've already seen dozens of times before.
  2. Nov 13, 2018
    47
    While it misses the mark in general and douses the hopes I had when I first saw the E3 2018 trailer, The Quiet Man does have some value. It’s reasonably priced despite its issues and brevity, and if you’re looking for something a little different, it’s worth a look, just keep your expectations considerably tempered.
  3. Nov 5, 2018
    45
    I really want to enjoy The Quiet Man. But with seriously flawed design decisions, either in terms of screenplay or mechanically as well as dramatically, it becomes tedious too soon. And that is saying something for a game that last only three to four hours.
  4. Nov 2, 2018
    43
    Perhaps the most disappointing thing about The Quiet Man is that it presents a world I want to know more about. I like the idea of a deaf vigilante-esque antihero doing his best to find the good in a world of darkness and violence, even if it means having to become a force of darkness and violence himself. However, in the case of The Quiet Man, that strong premise is squandered by lazy development decisions and incredibly odd artistic choices.
  5. Nov 5, 2018
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Nov 2, 2018
    40
    As you might have gleaned I'm totally into this eccentric insanity more often than not, but there's a limit.
  7. Nov 12, 2018
    35
    First of all, hats off to Square Enix for trying something different. We would’ve loved for this game to be good, but it fails at pretty much everything it tries. It’s a sad outcome for an interesting concept, and we hope this doesn’t discourages the team from trying to make something unique again.
  8. Nov 9, 2018
    35
    Despite showing signs of a strong vision, undercooked mechanics and a nonsensical story propel The Quiet Man to miss the mark in just about every way, causing its best ideas to deteriorate into forgettable gimmicks.
  9. Nov 9, 2018
    30
    I want to call The Quiet Man a farce, but farces are funny. This game is just a conceptual catastrophe that does everything wrong and nothing interesting.
  10. Nov 9, 2018
    30
    Square Enix and Human Head Studios had an idea, but the final product is a true disaster which misses its point in every aspect with appalling gameplay and a lousy storyline. Maybe one of the worst games of 2018.
  11. Nov 7, 2018
    30
    The Quiet Man is a failed experiment, but unlike other games that share this fate, it doesn't seem constrained by budget or technical limitations – but rather poor execution and abnormal design choices that cause its own undoing.
  12. Nov 9, 2018
    25
    The Quiet Man is one of the worst games I have ever played, but forcing me to play twice to experience the audio left an even worse impression. While withholding all dialogue until the second playthrough is an interesting concept in theory, it added little to The Quiet Man's already terrible story, making the second run even more of a chore than the first.
  13. Nov 7, 2018
    25
    The Quiet Man is so bad, we can't shut up about it. A great idea is totally killed by bad gameplay and full motion video we simply can't get our heads around.
  14. Nov 6, 2018
    20
    Inexplicable design.
  15. 20
    A terrible idea poorly realised, with a mixture of pretentious, gimmicky storytelling and banal combat that is almost awe-inspiring in the full extent of its incompetence.
  16. 20
    Despite being successful as something to joyously mock for its absurdity, The Quiet Man is a catastrophic failure on every level. It’s perhaps telling that the nicest thing you can say about it is that everybody involved got a lovely selection of clothing out of it.
  17. Nov 2, 2018
    20
    There’s nothing else quite like The Quiet Man, and there’s a reason for that. The blend of FMV and interactive combat sequences fails on every level with an unfathomable plot that raises far more questions than it answers, and encounters that fail to explain themselves and do little to engage. The Quiet Man is the most baffling release of 2018, to the point where a post-mortem investigation into its sheer existence sounds so much more exciting than this bizarre and convoluted comedy sketch.
  18. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    We give The Quiet Man a point because it exists, and some people worked on it, but it is easily one of the biggest trainwrecks in the history of video games. Gameplay is awful, narrative is awful... nothing can be saved, and no one would ever have the patience to play it once and then download the New Game Plus DLC that includes sounds to understand something. It's just too painful.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 7, 2018
    The worst of pretentious story games and brainless beat-em-ups combined - with an insulting gimmick that's all its own. [Avoid]
  2. Nov 2, 2018
    Nonsensical, ugly, broken, and often hilariously incompetent, The Quiet Man is confusing gibberish from beginning to end. Speaking of the end… hoo boy!
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 97
  2. Negative: 67 out of 97
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Trashhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhuhh!
  2. Nov 5, 2018
    0
    A game about a deaf guy that can only be appreciated by blind people.

    As a middle-aged gamer that's getting a little tired of the lack of
    A game about a deaf guy that can only be appreciated by blind people.

    As a middle-aged gamer that's getting a little tired of the lack of ideas in the industry these days, I was genuinely excited to play this one. That enthusiasm faded pretty quickly though when the game reached a scene about 30 minutes in where the protagonist and a female character get into the backseat of a car and proceed to have a (mostly) one-way conversation for the next 10 minutes. Given that my character is deaf, there was no dialogue for the entire sequence, leaving me sitting there wondering what the f**k this woman's problem was. I mean, who does that? Who sits next to a deaf kid in a car, presumably knowing full well that he's deaf, and engages him in 10 minutes of conversation? There's a special circle of hell for that kind of ignorant cruelty – a circle of hell that should now be reserved specifically for game developers that create games that contain such scenes. I respect Square for trying something different for a change, but holy crap is this game trash. The idea that I need to play through a SECOND time to "get the story" is rubbish. Few would subject themselves to the full 3 hours of torture that The Quiet Man brings to the table, only the most masochistic among us would do it twice.
  3. Nov 1, 2018
    1
    Seldom do I encounter a game which so aggressively and effectively convinces me that I am hated. Both in an abstract and in a personal sense.Seldom do I encounter a game which so aggressively and effectively convinces me that I am hated. Both in an abstract and in a personal sense. Every part of this game drips with a contempt which is focused solely on you, the player, as you stumble through what I can only describe as a cacophony of visual unmeaning.

    Metacritic warns that reviews must not contain spoilers, and I guarantee that I am unable to provide any. This game's "story" progresses via long, drawn out dialog scenes. They run up to 15 minutes, with very little action. The protagonist of the game is deaf. Significant time is also spent watching pianos being played and songs. Of which you hear none of. You are deaf. I want to tell you that I am joking. I want to tell you that this is a gag review.

    But all I can tell you is not to play this game.

    1 point out of 10 because I enjoyed heckling and writing this review.