User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 9 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2018
    10
    REALISM! REALISM! REALISM! Keep going Codemasters, you make it good. I can't imagine what you'll deserve to us in next year ;)
  2. Aug 29, 2018
    10
    Absolutely nails the two main categories for me: gameplay and graphics. I wouldn't say I'm a hardcore sim racer but the handling feels amazing. You really notice the tyre performance change depending on wear/rain. Speaking of rain, the dynamic weather adds to the already top notch graphics. After rain you'll notice the sun shine through onto the track & grandstands just a little bit moreAbsolutely nails the two main categories for me: gameplay and graphics. I wouldn't say I'm a hardcore sim racer but the handling feels amazing. You really notice the tyre performance change depending on wear/rain. Speaking of rain, the dynamic weather adds to the already top notch graphics. After rain you'll notice the sun shine through onto the track & grandstands just a little bit more each lap.
    Plenty of game modes as well so replayability is high.
    I'm yet to play online so can't comment on that. Keen for it though.

    The only flaws I see are in the inconsequential stuff in career mode, like in the interviews you don't even have time to read the responses let alone choose one. & the animations are all the same before each session.

    A must buy if you have a wheel and don't already have F1 2017
  3. Aug 30, 2018
    8
    There's an immediate noticeable difference in driving physics compared to 2017 that's well worth the upgrade (played on a controller with no assists). ERS adds welcome depth in managing your energy resource through a race (think of it as F1 nitrous), and this time tyres can properly overheat or go cold like you see drivers battle with IRL. Ranked multiplayer is a great addition too, takingThere's an immediate noticeable difference in driving physics compared to 2017 that's well worth the upgrade (played on a controller with no assists). ERS adds welcome depth in managing your energy resource through a race (think of it as F1 nitrous), and this time tyres can properly overheat or go cold like you see drivers battle with IRL. Ranked multiplayer is a great addition too, taking notes from GT Sport and iRacing which helps improve the experience all around (as well as region matchmaking).

    Hoping there won't be much game breaking bugs. If you are into motorsport games this is a solid pick.
  4. Sep 5, 2018
    9
    This is probably one of the best Formula One games in a long while in terms of both gameplay, quality graphics, physics and does sufficiently enough in content.

    Playing with a wheel, you can note that the physics have substantially changed from 2017 which can especially noticed on the kerbing on the tracks. Not to mention that the way the cars feel is a fair bit more pleasant in
    This is probably one of the best Formula One games in a long while in terms of both gameplay, quality graphics, physics and does sufficiently enough in content.

    Playing with a wheel, you can note that the physics have substantially changed from 2017 which can especially noticed on the kerbing on the tracks. Not to mention that the way the cars feel is a fair bit more pleasant in comparison to last year as the car feels like it glides around the circuit thanks to the downforce.

    The career has some neat editions including interviews and upgrade department resets, both of which are neat and are hopefully expanded on in the coming years. AI have certainly improved for the better and are more aggressive and will fight each other which is fresh for an F1 game. ERS is an interesting and well done addition to the game which adds another element to overtaking of one chooses to use it manually. I am glad that there is an option to have ERS automatic for those people who aren't as experienced in using it. The practice programmes I believe have been edited somewhat and I like how when you install any upgrade, it gives you a chance to get a small sum of extra resource points.

    For their time, the graphics blow a lot of other games out of the water as nearly everything is visually stunning. There are a few minor tweaks to be made but they don't impact on the overall quality that much. Sometimes though on PS4, I've found that the resolution of some images and cars can be blurry however, it fixes itself after 5 to 10 seconds. It's probably due to the hardware.

    The amount of content is good enough and has everything you'd expect in terms of the 2018 season. The helmet selection is large enough as is character choice. I do find it unfortunate how i cannot go under the HAR abbreviation anymore thanks to Brendon Hartley. Classic content hasn't been added to all that much but the content that is there can be considered as quality. I feel that classic tracks should have been a thing in the game, especially seen as we lost Sepang this year. Maybe we will be seeing DLC content with more cars and tracks in the future of the game but only time will tell that at this point.

    Really the only thing I could think of to improve the game next year is to have pre-season testing at the start of every season in career mode as a way to earn more resource points prior to the start of the season. It'd be an interesting addition and would improve realism.

    With a few small bugs here and there as well, it means that I believe that this game is a 9/10. It is more than worth buying and is nearly the best title under the Formula One licensing.
  5. Aug 24, 2018
    10
    Firstly let me take this moment to congratulate Codemasters on what is the best looking F1 game ever. Visually stunning, graphically awesome, ok the real drivers aren’t perfect but is close. But for me it’s the gameplay that takes the crown. So the game opens with you picking your driver, trying to pick someone who likes me, always fun, from face, helmet, then name and nationality. ThenFirstly let me take this moment to congratulate Codemasters on what is the best looking F1 game ever. Visually stunning, graphically awesome, ok the real drivers aren’t perfect but is close. But for me it’s the gameplay that takes the crown. So the game opens with you picking your driver, trying to pick someone who likes me, always fun, from face, helmet, then name and nationality. Then the menu screen. Forget the rest and pick career mode. This is where like all the critics have raved about the biggest improvements on last years. And let me say this, you will want to play all 3 practice sessions ok. Let me explain. You are given little challenges to complete and in the process get yourself up the leaderboard and get that number one spot. Then qualifying, oh wow it’s a one shot one lap shootout, but the great thing is the lead car is a ghost, say it could be Vettel or Hamilton, or anyone for that matter, beat the ghost car in one lap you've bagged pole position. And just to note for those new to this, well there isn’t many of us new to it when it comes watching this great sport but playing it is a very different animal. Just start on beginner and go from there. To sum it up, the greatest F1 game ever made.
  6. Oct 5, 2018
    0
    the same game 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28,29,30,31,32,33,34,35,36
  7. Nov 10, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a game. I haven't had this much fun with a driving/racing sim since Gran Turismo 1 and 2. I never previously touched an F1 title, but I've been a patron of Codemasters' rally games since they first started producing them. Recently, for whatever reason, I developed an urge to play something that didn't involve the usual lot of GT and production vehicles. Having now played through an entire season calendar, I'd strongly recommend F1 2018 to anybody keen on driving/racing sims.

    As one who's usually only interested in reading the negative aspects of a game, I'll skip to my list of [minor] cons based on version 1.14. Note that despite these cons, it's a highly enjoyable sim and a worthy purchase.

    - Some textures appear fuzzy, taking a second or two to load properly. Some textures appear fuzzy and stay that way. This is not obtrusive nor immersion-breaking. The most obvious examples are certain sponsor logos.

    - Career mode settings cannot be readjusted after commencing a new career (to my knowledge). This includes difficulty level. You might wish you had this ability when attempting Monaco's infamous Circuit de Rage Quit. Conversely, you might wish you had this ability when it becomes apparent that the game is too easy, three race weekends in.

    - Cutscene animations are reused over, and over, and over. Although they can be skipped, this may break immersion and make for a slightly less exciting experience.

    - Certain cutscene animations make no sense. Example: Vettel fist pumping after finishing 7th. Neither he nor his teammate won a podium spot, and both his driver and constructor standings dropped. So, what exactly is he celebrating?

    - Procurement. I like that certain vehicle parts fail randomly (or predictably, depending on one's perspective). What I don't like is that I'm somehow responsible for procuring spares. It's an aspect of the game for which I have zero interest. I get that in a true driving/racing sim, I'm going to have some involvement in maintenance with regards to mitigating wear and tear. But, I'm ultimately a driver - not a purchasing officer. Let somebody else handle it.

    - Blame. Why am I being scolded like a petulant child by some corporate skirt? I was leading by a gap of more than 10 seconds in the final lap before my car's quantum discombobulator decided to crap itself - causing me to finish last. Maybe if she'd hired a qualified purchasing officer, incidents like this would seldom occur.

    - You can rewind and redo that corner so that you'll live to drive a couple hundred yards before crashing into the next one, but you can't rewind and redo botched contract negotiations. Currently, the only solution is to restart the game before it saves.

    - The penalty to one's reputation level with their team for choosing the wrong answer during a press interview is sometimes too severe. The amount of reputation lost in this scenario can equal nearly as much as the amount gained from winning a race. However, press interviews can also be reattempted if the game is restarted before it saves. This technique will not wipe your preceeding race results.

    - Carl, the sole mechanic for all F1 teams, only ever recommends the most expensive vehicle upgrade a player can afford. I feel his recommendations should rather be based on telemetry and what is likely to benefit the player most considering their racing style.

    - My final con isn't one that can be helped, unfortunately. I'm all for climate stuff and saving whales, but boy do these new hybrid F1 cars sound terrible. I'll save you some effort by saying that Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda have the least annoying sounding ride of the entire 2018 season roster. But, that doesn't mean it sounds good. Every vehicle in the modern line-up sounds like some combination of dying electric shaver, hedge trimmer, vacuum cleaner, blender and vibrator. Luckily, the game lets you drive a variety of historic F1 cars on the side - and most of them sound great. Especially, the 2003 Williams FW25 (available via DLC).
  8. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    It's the best F1 game since F1 2012, and everything feels and looks like the real deal. As a racing game fan it's probably the best racing game of 2018 after FH4.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 9, 2018
    89
    Continually evolving with each new iteration, F1 2018 is still the definitive F1 racing game. Just don’t expect any new game-changing mechanics or additions.
  2. Games Master UK
    Oct 4, 2018
    87
    Don't expect huge changes over last year, but this is still a better game both on and off the track. [Nov 2018, p.82]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 22, 2018
    90
    While classic content and damage still feel underwhelming and the formula has been tweaked rather than reworked, this has the best career mode in any racing game. [Issue#154, p.91]