User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 94
  2. Negative: 21 out of 94
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    9
    Actually it’s not a wonderful game. However you can’t stop play it again and again. You can enjoy this world, and find some special view to this world. Don’t lose your mind and find the truth.
  2. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    A fantastic atmosphere! If you a lover of Lovecraft, you will probably love this game.
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    2
    A terrible walking simulator. The game holds your hand from the beginning till the end without giving you any gaming value. The mechanics can be summed up like this: walk to the object, activate instinct mode, wait for the cutscene. Do that for 10 hours and congrats, you beat the game.

    Everyting about this game feels empty, cheap and lazy. Here's a quick list of things that went south:
    A terrible walking simulator. The game holds your hand from the beginning till the end without giving you any gaming value. The mechanics can be summed up like this: walk to the object, activate instinct mode, wait for the cutscene. Do that for 10 hours and congrats, you beat the game.

    Everyting about this game feels empty, cheap and lazy. Here's a quick list of things that went south:
    -Only one shambler as a direct paranormal opponent - really?
    -Hud-screen is littered with stupid messages and shining markers (the devs think you're an idiot)
    -instinct mode
    -Level design
    -Pacing
    -Character animations
    -Glitches
    -Lackluster endings and story
    -RPG elements (Why are they here? Almost no effect on story)
    -No horror element (only 2 semi-scary encounters)
    -Farting lanterns
    -Focus Home Entertainment

    One of the biggest disappointments this year, avoid this garbage at all cost.
  4. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Very atmospheric game. For lovers of creativity Lovecraft the most it. The graphics are not at an ideal level, but for me this is not the main thing.
  5. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    this games is just beautifull if you are a fan of lovecrafth enjoy this masterpiece
  6. Oct 31, 2018
    8
    I loved to play this game but there is a lot to break down. First of all anyone who is a fan of the tabletop coc or has read the novel should play this. Second I’d like to mention this game has great world building and really does a great job in immersing the player in the theme of madness. Unfortunately this is where I have to end my compliments for this game. The game suffers majorly inI loved to play this game but there is a lot to break down. First of all anyone who is a fan of the tabletop coc or has read the novel should play this. Second I’d like to mention this game has great world building and really does a great job in immersing the player in the theme of madness. Unfortunately this is where I have to end my compliments for this game. The game suffers majorly in the character building. For someone like myself who is a big dnd fan it’s not that big of a deal but in the video game market characters are shallow, forgettable, and in some moments in important scenes you will be like “who is that again?” Second the game looks like something that was supposed to be on the xbox360. It’s not bad but again in the market it’ll be off putting for people. Lastly for many who are looking for a horror game that’ll keep you up at night it’s not this. While I believe the game is tense and has a few great scenes it pans out a lot like a story game. Again I want to reiterate that is not bad for the target audience. But please be warned that this is made for a small crowd of people. If you are looking for a game that makes you question reality. Come truth seeker. If not there are plenty of other games.
  7. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    If you like an atmospheric game and a fan of Lovecraft you should definitely get this, for those not obsessed with the best graphics and solid gameplay, worth a buy and try!
  8. Nov 4, 2018
    3
    Would be a good game if it did not shoot itself in the foot with 2 stupid design decisions. I love point-and-click adventures of the 1990s, like Full Throttle, Grim Fandango, Gabriel Knight. This game is similar to those except you gain skills and use a controller not a mouse.

    However, none of those games ruined the entire experience by floating a bright white light over every single
    Would be a good game if it did not shoot itself in the foot with 2 stupid design decisions. I love point-and-click adventures of the 1990s, like Full Throttle, Grim Fandango, Gabriel Knight. This game is similar to those except you gain skills and use a controller not a mouse.

    However, none of those games ruined the entire experience by floating a bright white light over every single thing you can interact with - even doorknobs! That's right, and you CANNOT turn this feature off. Every single book or letter you can read, every drawer you can open, every doorknob you can turn, has a bright white light on it -- so the whole game is basically just walking to each light and clicking. It's like a hand-holding walkthrough is built into the game that you cannot get rid of. Also, even some of the WALKING is done for you. At certain moments the game takes over and you're on a rail as you walk along and talk to a person. Very very very bad ideas. These just spoil the game for me. So I have uninstalled until they fix these things. If they fix these things.

    Note that if you go to Cyanide Studios' web site to ask about this, you will find that Cthulu is not listed among the games they are accepting inquiries about and they state they will not respond to any questions about games not listed. So there is no opportunity to get support for this game from the developer!!!! Believe it or not.

    THUMBS DOWN
  9. Nov 1, 2018
    8
    Someone on the Steam Forums compared the game to an Call of Cthulhu pen and paper session and that's a pretty good comparison. The evening starts off with the new storyteller who's still a bit shy and messes up their notes and quite often just doesn't manage to make a good scene tranition. They eventuall work through it and the game starts to gain speed. It's fun and everyone's having aSomeone on the Steam Forums compared the game to an Call of Cthulhu pen and paper session and that's a pretty good comparison. The evening starts off with the new storyteller who's still a bit shy and messes up their notes and quite often just doesn't manage to make a good scene tranition. They eventuall work through it and the game starts to gain speed. It's fun and everyone's having a good time. As the evening goes on however, he's having a beer to much and the session starts to get a bit weird. However, everyone had fun and you leave in a good mood.

    The graphics are average at their best and pretty bad at their lowest. Puzzles are alright and there is no combat system. It's primarily narratively and stealth focused. It's also not a lovecraftian monster cabinet - which is good, because the game is at its best when there isn't a monster around. Much like Soma, which is a good comparison as well.

    In the end, if you're looking for an interactive lovecraft story, this game is currently your best bet as far as i'm aware off. If you look for a lot of cool lovecraftian monsters and a bigger focus on combat, this game might not be what you are looking for.
  10. Nov 1, 2018
    10
    Incredible game for a small studio. They catch not only the pressure of the environment but also the claustrophobic and horrific places of a good Lovercraftian book putting you in a place blurring the line between sanity and insanity for moments making you questioning if that was the right choice or just a trap of the destiny.
    It's true that you will find lack of action, maybe the sounds
    Incredible game for a small studio. They catch not only the pressure of the environment but also the claustrophobic and horrific places of a good Lovercraftian book putting you in a place blurring the line between sanity and insanity for moments making you questioning if that was the right choice or just a trap of the destiny.
    It's true that you will find lack of action, maybe the sounds could be made it better for some situation or the graphic quality it's not as a AAA game but for something of this caliber made it for a small group of people show that story can be delivered in a nice and terrific game and opening the universe to the people who didn't read the books to look at it.
    A-mazing job.
  11. Nov 4, 2018
    0
    This game is so bad that I simply get urge to write my first review on metacritic so you guys can evade mistake that I made - and that's wasting 65$ on this piece of crap!
    First of all, this game have no value more than 10$. Even the lower price can't justify how much this game is bad. Graphics looks like games that I played on PC 15 years ago and not good ones though. I mean guys, the
    This game is so bad that I simply get urge to write my first review on metacritic so you guys can evade mistake that I made - and that's wasting 65$ on this piece of crap!
    First of all, this game have no value more than 10$. Even the lower price can't justify how much this game is bad. Graphics looks like games that I played on PC 15 years ago and not good ones though. I mean guys, the graphics are so bad that I, as player, find it very offensive. Its **** 2018, and this is PS4! How can they publish this anomaly, I don't know.
    Animations are, well, can't find right words to describe it, complete disaster. If I didn't pay to play this game, I would laugh. In my case, after throwing 65$ I felt dullness all the time during 10 hours or so of gameplay that I will forget as soon as I finish writing this review.
    Game mechanics - there is none. I mean this is basically awful walking simulator. Every aspect of gameplay is not fun at all. You walk around, clicking x on marked objects and that's it. Many cut scenes, and then talking, clicking, walking. If you call that mechanics - ok. I call it - ****
    I only finished this game cause I paid it so much, and because of the story. I like lovecraftian theme, but here even story is nothing special. At least i got 25 plus trophies in one, and defenitly only run trough this horrible game.
    In game there is no scary parts, few jump scares, not even psychological tension, nothing.
    There is a couple of attempts to integrate smart "find right solution/combination" to be able to progress further, but that fails big time too.
    To wrap it all up: don't pay 65$ for this game. Dont pay 25$. Dont pay 15$. Wait to go under 10$ or be free on PS+ cause they will do that, otherwise nobody of sane mind will play this game. And even then, you will find this as biggest **** in PS4 history. This is after KHOLAT worst game that i own (so far i have around 70 games).
    At least you will definitely find what true horror means. And that horror doesn't lie where it should, it lies in total ugliness of this game in every possible aspect.
  12. Nov 8, 2018
    9
    I have to admit that I'm a big fan of Lovecraft's work, and had been looking forward a lot to this game (and Next year's "The Sinking City") as Lovecraft's influence is all over the place, but work actually based on his (and Derleth's) universe is rather rare (and in most cases they aren't any good)
    So I was rather happy to open this game and find that the game is filled to the brim with
    I have to admit that I'm a big fan of Lovecraft's work, and had been looking forward a lot to this game (and Next year's "The Sinking City") as Lovecraft's influence is all over the place, but work actually based on his (and Derleth's) universe is rather rare (and in most cases they aren't any good)
    So I was rather happy to open this game and find that the game is filled to the brim with nods to all of Lovecraft's work (both Cthulhu and otherwise), the atmosphere is spot on, even with the more last-gen look of the graphics it still works. When it comes to gameplay it's a bit more old-school then current games are, for me it felt like a game you loved in the mid 2000's and re-opened after 10 years, and you realize it's really as good as you remember it.
    Sure the AI and gameplay feel a bit dated, but it really did not bother me at all because everything the game did well (story, atmosphere,mechanics, ...) it did so well that the lesser points (graphics, dodgy FPS sequence) just didn't really bother me.
    I played trough the game twice now (PS4) and am thinking about a third play trough with a different build to experience some of the scenes in a different way.
    Now, I do have to admit that maybe if this wasn't a Lovecraft game I might have liked it less, but let's face it, it is a valid reason to like something more.
  13. Nov 4, 2018
    5
    Obliba psychologických hororů oprášila slavnou povídku H. P. Lovecrafta, která jako adaptace deskové hry zaujme především dobře napsaným příběhem. Znalce spisovatelových děl sice nepřekvapí, ale ani nenahněvá, protože k mytologii přistupuje s úctou a pokorou. Po žánrové stránce jde o průměrnou detektivku, na kterou vývojáři ještě nedorostli, neboť snahy osvěžit vyšetřování plížením neboObliba psychologických hororů oprášila slavnou povídku H. P. Lovecrafta, která jako adaptace deskové hry zaujme především dobře napsaným příběhem. Znalce spisovatelových děl sice nepřekvapí, ale ani nenahněvá, protože k mytologii přistupuje s úctou a pokorou. Po žánrové stránce jde o průměrnou detektivku, na kterou vývojáři ještě nedorostli, neboť snahy osvěžit vyšetřování plížením nebo akcí jsou spíše kontraproduktivní. Oproti tomu vydavatel vyrostl až moc a spletl si ligy. Do té nejvyšší ještě zdaleka nepatří.
  14. Nov 6, 2018
    7
    A fun and atmospheric game that I played through once and probably won't revisit. The bad parts (the unnecessary shooting section) are generally overshadowed by the atmospheric gameplay sections and if they make a sequel, I'll give it a shot.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Nov 9, 2018
    60
    For all intents and purposes, Call of Cthulhu should have been amazing. Every element is there and it’s clear the studio had lofty ambitions, in as much as it’s clear they were working to an incredibly tight budget. Give this studio a bigger budget and a project they believe in, and I’m confident they’ll break myriad ceilings but Call of Cthulhu isn’t the breakthrough I thought it should have been. And it’s not helped that it has emerged in the year of polish by way of a number of other Triple-As, lead ceremoniously by Red Dead Redemption 2.
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    60
    For most of the time Call of Cthulhu moves in the right direction, but mechanically and in terms of storytelling always gets lost. While it tries to lure you into this world, it always loses grip on intensity, freedom and above all, challenge - thus losing the player in the process.
  3. Nov 5, 2018
    70
    Call of Cthulhu is a beautifully twisted cosmic horror. Although it has it’s issues here and there, and doesn’t look as good as you would expect a PS4 game to look, it has enough moments to really grip you and keep you playing. The story is an example of really great writing, with enjoyable characters and a mind-bending plot. The gameplay is solid, with only certain segments that become frustrating and repetitive.