User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 256
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible. Having been a lifelong fan of 3D platformers, I could easily see the potential of the short demo (Robot Rescue) that came with PSVR, to have a full game is like a dream come true!
  2. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission is a superb game; the promising result of tasking a group of clearly talented game designers and developers with building a game around a brand new medium like VR. The game expertly executes every idea it brings to the table. There's charm throughout, derived from excellent animation, art direction, FX and SFX, right down to the interactive credits sequence. AstroAstro Bot Rescue Mission is a superb game; the promising result of tasking a group of clearly talented game designers and developers with building a game around a brand new medium like VR. The game expertly executes every idea it brings to the table. There's charm throughout, derived from excellent animation, art direction, FX and SFX, right down to the interactive credits sequence. Astro Bot Rescue Mission claims our first 10 out of 10 because it's full of smart VR game design, and plays plays to the platform's strengths while avoiding its weaknesses. In addition to having the right amount of content to leave the player with a truly satisfying experience, it's hard to imagine many ways in which the game could have been better made. Best psvr game out !period.
  3. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game, this sets a new standard for all VR titles, and is a triumph among all platformers as well.
  4. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This game is phenomenal. I've been looking for a reason to dust off my psvr, and this game is the platformer we needed to continue the trend of vr.
  5. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This game is a must buy! Best looking game for PSVR, even on the OG. do yourself a favor and join the fun.
  6. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    Think about it: when was the last time you truly felt the emotion of awe? Awesome is one of those overused words that people have forgotten that feeling that it is attached to. Do you remember your first time at your favorite theme park as a small child? Do you remember the way your mouth dropped open and your cheeks curled into a smile; your eyes wide and some kind of sound likeThink about it: when was the last time you truly felt the emotion of awe? Awesome is one of those overused words that people have forgotten that feeling that it is attached to. Do you remember your first time at your favorite theme park as a small child? Do you remember the way your mouth dropped open and your cheeks curled into a smile; your eyes wide and some kind of sound like "whooooaaaah" mixed with a deep guttural involuntary chuckle?

    Want to remember what awe feels like again?
  7. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    An absolute joy to play its does seem like this could be VRs breakout moment as the game would not work as well without it. Game combines the best of Sonic and Mario games past to give PlayStation its best ever platformer. - Absolutely essential for all PSVR owners and if you don't own a PSVR get one to play this!
  8. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Jeremy was right. This is the real deal. It truly is VR's Mario64 moment. It's just unfortunate that it's a lovely 3D platformer, as people get all bent out of shape when they don't understand what that means. It's not comparing it to Mario 64, but instead that game's impact on gaming and its particular genre. This really is a watershed moment in VR.
  9. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Simplesmente genial,artistico, imerssivo, divertido, sensacional!!!
    Esse é um grande momento pra quem ainda não pegou o VR! Esse game junto com Moss beiram a perfeição! Parabéns a Japan Studios e a sony pelo excelente trabalho!
  10. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    A masterpiece, the best VR game ever! Thank you so much for this game sony, I feel in my childhood again!
  11. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Tienes que ser muy haters y no haber jugado este espectacular juego para ponerle una mala nota, ...lo que siempre soñé de un Mario galaxy visto desde el interior del juego
  12. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    It's the best game.
    It was a game that I felt after a long time.
    It's the best game to give you a new feeling and a new feeling.
  13. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Absolutamente sensacional.

    Un juego de plataformas original, fresco y divertido. Hay momentos que tienes que forzar un poco el cuello para poder alcanzar a ver algunas zonas, pero se perdona. No solo hay que controlar al personaje, a veces uno, como jugador, tiene que hacer también cosas, como esquivar con la cabeza las bolas de tinta que lanzan los calamares (y que entorpecen la
    Absolutamente sensacional.

    Un juego de plataformas original, fresco y divertido. Hay momentos que tienes que forzar un poco el cuello para poder alcanzar a ver algunas zonas, pero se perdona.

    No solo hay que controlar al personaje, a veces uno, como jugador, tiene que hacer también cosas, como esquivar con la cabeza las bolas de tinta que lanzan los calamares (y que entorpecen la vista) y romper con la cabeza algunos carteles. Seguro más adelante hay más cosas con las que interacturar con el cuerpo.

    Me parece fantástico, porque realmente hay 2 protagonistas. El robot que controlas y tú mismo, trabajo cooperativo.

    El género de las plataformas elevado a siguiente nivel.

    Creo que es el mejor juego VR y uno de los mejores plataformas de la generación.
  14. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Excellent game (2 hours in) - Allthough i can't find all my little friends, some of them are really hard to spot :)
  15. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    I’ve been visiting Metacritic for years and created an account just to write this review. Where on earth did this game come from? It wasn’t even on my radar until last week. Picked up the physical copy today and was blown away nearly instantly. Graphically it’s doing stuff that I didn’t even think was possible with the PSVR. The music is catchy as heck. Most importantly, gameplay isI’ve been visiting Metacritic for years and created an account just to write this review. Where on earth did this game come from? It wasn’t even on my radar until last week. Picked up the physical copy today and was blown away nearly instantly. Graphically it’s doing stuff that I didn’t even think was possible with the PSVR. The music is catchy as heck. Most importantly, gameplay is incredibly fun. PSVR (and VR in general) needs more games like this. A billion kudos to the developers for delivering an honest to goodness, polished killer app for the PSVR.
  16. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. This game is a masterpiece that will put a big smile on your face from start to finish and even after you removed the headset. Visually breathtaking, easy to pick up and a pure joy to play, it is probably the best VR game to date and everyone should give it a try.
  17. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    The game absolutely deserves the praise it's getting. It's not hype, it's genuinely the most fun single player VR game I've ever played. If you have a PSVR it's a no brainer. I'm not sure if it's worth buying the headset just for this one game, but if you have the money to do so then jump on it!
  18. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    This is legit. I didn't really like the Playroom... but this is just incredible. It's like the next evolution of Mario type games. I am just blown away by this game, even with all of the hype... I didn't know what to expect.
  19. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    I actually did not believed that this game is such a masterpiece. It is undoubtedly the Best VR game so far and one of the best platformers in history in general.
  20. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    ASTRO BOT: RESCUE MISSION
    if you have PSVR you must play this game
    It truly is VR's Mario64 moment is absolutely incredible
  21. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is the best VR game so far available for PSVR. Yes, there are already very good games like Resident Evil 7, Super Hot, Skyrim VR, but this one is THE game that could bring people to buy the headset.

    Brilliant to play, beautiful to see, wonderful music to listen, and the VR effect is the best ever. There are 20 levels, 6 boss, 26 challenges and a sandbox game where you can
    This is the best VR game so far available for PSVR. Yes, there are already very good games like Resident Evil 7, Super Hot, Skyrim VR, but this one is THE game that could bring people to buy the headset.

    Brilliant to play, beautiful to see, wonderful music to listen, and the VR effect is the best ever.

    There are 20 levels, 6 boss, 26 challenges and a sandbox game where you can collect things and play like a mini-openworld platform game. Awesome.
  22. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    Lovely from start to finish and the game that all PS VR owners should own and delect with. Mario 64 is forever a milestone of 3D platforming but Astro Bot gives similar wow moments with VR. More please!

    This for you, John.
  23. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! It plays like a Nintendo Platformer in VR. What more could you ask for. It has you leaning around corners to see platforms. Standing up to see over ledges. It is just pure adorable fun. Also with the bright blue skies, palm trees and beaches, it is the perfect game to be playing as we go into October, with darker evenings and winter approaching. I can't recommendOMG! OMG! OMG! OMG! It plays like a Nintendo Platformer in VR. What more could you ask for. It has you leaning around corners to see platforms. Standing up to see over ledges. It is just pure adorable fun. Also with the bright blue skies, palm trees and beaches, it is the perfect game to be playing as we go into October, with darker evenings and winter approaching. I can't recommend this game enough. I will find every last robot in every level!
  24. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    One of the best platform games not only in virtual reality, but in the whole generation. If you complete some of the challenges as you unlock them, the game can last about 10 hours. If you pretend to complete it at 100% (and you will want to do so), raise this amount about 5 more hours. In all that time, you will enjoy as a kid. A must have.
  25. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    This is the game VR has been waiting for. It's casual enough to show off to your friends as a tech demo, really showcasing the effect that VR can have on a genre that has been through every iteration possible. However, this game can be very challenging at times as well. It finds a perfect balance, and accomplishes exactly what it set out to do; give you a platforming game, the likes ofThis is the game VR has been waiting for. It's casual enough to show off to your friends as a tech demo, really showcasing the effect that VR can have on a genre that has been through every iteration possible. However, this game can be very challenging at times as well. It finds a perfect balance, and accomplishes exactly what it set out to do; give you a platforming game, the likes of which you've never played before.
    This game contains some of my favorite gaming moments of the year. For much of the 8 hours I've put into it, I had a giant smile on my face. Many times I would break out in excited laughter, for just how clever many of the levels are and the secrets hidden throughout.
    With a $40 price tag, I wouldn't blame you for hesitating to buy it and wanting to wait for a sale. But if you purchased a PSVR headset with the hopes of a new way of experiencing gaming, this is the game you have been waiting for. Don't hesitate, I promise it's worth your time and money.
  26. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    The best VR game so far and one of the best platformers of all time now ! if you have PSVR you must play this game ,if not this game is the best reason to buy a headset for sure !
  27. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    The game is just awesome. everyone that likes vr like me will have so much fun with this game, i wish xbox exclusives should be made with so much detail and work like this game.
  28. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    My first review on Metacritic. I love this game. My fav PSVR game for sure. I only felt inclinded to post this due to Johndyce's unhelpful review. This is for you John.
  29. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    3D platformers will not be the same anymore. This game is incredible. Looks and play amazing on the Pro. Would be great to have more future content as DLC.. Great job Japan Studio
  30. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    Best PSVR game so far.
    - Great fun gameplay (it is pure joy to explore)
    - Clean and beautifull graphics - Fun boss fights - Interactive enviromnent (grass, etc,...) - Solid lenght and replayability (you will replay jsut because it is fun) - Clever and inovative use of VR - No notion sickness Im not aware of any other VR game that excels in all these areas. Yes, there are other
    Best PSVR game so far.
    - Great fun gameplay (it is pure joy to explore)
    - Clean and beautifull graphics
    - Fun boss fights
    - Interactive enviromnent (grass, etc,...)
    - Solid lenght and replayability (you will replay jsut because it is fun)
    - Clever and inovative use of VR
    - No notion sickness

    Im not aware of any other VR game that excels in all these areas. Yes, there are other good VR games, but they are short. Or long games, but these are ugly with low resolution. Or they are long and looks good, but have akward controls and give motion sickness, etc. Astro Bot is the first AAA VR game, that get whole VR right in all areas and for this erasons feels liek the first propper VR game and not just tech demo or port of a TV game.

    It has been said alraedy, but Astro Bot feels like a completelly new game experience. And for this reasons it is such a blast. It is not such because you are playing awesome game. But you are experiencing and exploring someting new that you never seen and experienced before. That is something that for example RDR2 can not offer (it will be awesome game, but it will play in a way you are very familiar with).
  31. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    If there is any Virtual Reality game that deserves 10 out of 10 rating than there it is.
    Sony found their own Mario.
  32. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    This game is a solid 9 out of 10 but this score should cancel out the frankly ridiculous zero score someone left. The graphics are top notch, probably the best yet on PSVR if not any VR game. Definitely a milestone in VR gaming, my only criticisms would be that the levels are a bit too linear and overall the game is a bit too easy.
  33. Oct 10, 2018
    10
    Its a strange feeling you get when you know your not just playing a game but one of 'the' games of a generation, and that is definitely what Astro Bot brings. From the amazingly well designed levels to the cute interactions you have with the main character Astro Bot, its all so extremely well polished and just real good fun, light-hearted and enjoyable. This is one of my favourite gamesIts a strange feeling you get when you know your not just playing a game but one of 'the' games of a generation, and that is definitely what Astro Bot brings. From the amazingly well designed levels to the cute interactions you have with the main character Astro Bot, its all so extremely well polished and just real good fun, light-hearted and enjoyable. This is one of my favourite games ever (VR and non-VR) and i would highly recommend it to everyone.
  34. Oct 14, 2018
    10
    This is the most fun I have had with a Platformer since I played Super Mario World for the first time Decades ago. This genre that has become some what stale and repetitive over the year is reinvigorated with VR tech which adds new way to play and adds an amazing level of immersion by placing you in these amazing beautiful worlds. For me it was like playing the amazing Wii U game "SuperThis is the most fun I have had with a Platformer since I played Super Mario World for the first time Decades ago. This genre that has become some what stale and repetitive over the year is reinvigorated with VR tech which adds new way to play and adds an amazing level of immersion by placing you in these amazing beautiful worlds. For me it was like playing the amazing Wii U game "Super Mario 3D world" but I was right there in the world with the character, not a bystander. The future is bright for PSVR.
  35. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    It is one of the best PSVR game this year. The other one can be the firewall zero hour for different type.
    This game is a 3D VR platform game. Decent VR image quality and magic level designs. You can imagine a PS's Super mario.
  36. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    This game is pure joy, I can not stop giggling while playing. First I was thinking this is most for kids, but boy I was wrong. Another game proving how freaking cool VR is.
  37. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    AstroBot from the VR Playroom got his own game. I just got my PSVR about 2 weeks ago and played the Robot Rescue mission game and loved it. Come to find out this little gem was on its way. Im glad i didn't have to wait around for 2 years! Came on the train at the right time! Now as for the game- It's great! WOW FACTOR IS THERE CONSTANTLY. I thought the comparisons of "this gens Mario 64AstroBot from the VR Playroom got his own game. I just got my PSVR about 2 weeks ago and played the Robot Rescue mission game and loved it. Come to find out this little gem was on its way. Im glad i didn't have to wait around for 2 years! Came on the train at the right time! Now as for the game- It's great! WOW FACTOR IS THERE CONSTANTLY. I thought the comparisons of "this gens Mario 64 had to be way out of line but honestly.... this is game changing. I'm floored. I don't want this game to end- it is THAT GOOD. Pick it up if you're looking for something good in VR. Obviously VR is still in it's infancy and we aren't going to get 50 hr plus games for another few years sooooo..... get real people. For now, this is as good as it gets! LETS KEEP VOTING THIS UP! HERES TO DLC!
  38. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Superb game. Charming visuals and atmosphere and fantastic usage of the visual capabilities of the Psvr. The general controls don’t add anything to the genre on their own, but the design of puzzles and movement around the 3d environment far surpass what can be done on a flat screen.
  39. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    This game just wow what an absolute master class on how to make a 3d platformer. Cute lovable characters, catchy memorable sound track, beautiful individual art style.
    PSVR has it's self a mascot roll out the plush toys.
    The game also makes wonderful use of the dualshock touchpad. Giving you tools to help astro bot on his adventure turning you into a second character in the game. Level
    This game just wow what an absolute master class on how to make a 3d platformer. Cute lovable characters, catchy memorable sound track, beautiful individual art style.
    PSVR has it's self a mascot roll out the plush toys.
    The game also makes wonderful use of the dualshock touchpad. Giving you tools to help astro bot on his adventure turning you into a second character in the game.
    Level and game play design makes perfect use VR to show off all that it can offer. A real must have game stop reading this and just buy it!
  40. Oct 17, 2018
    10
    I absolutely love this game!!! it is seriously like a super mario game in virtual reality. the environments are beautiful, the characters are fun, it is just a great time being in this VR world and rescuing the little bots...hands down my favorite VR game to date. I have not finished the whole game, but I sense it is not super long as there appears to be only 5 worlds, that being saidI absolutely love this game!!! it is seriously like a super mario game in virtual reality. the environments are beautiful, the characters are fun, it is just a great time being in this VR world and rescuing the little bots...hands down my favorite VR game to date. I have not finished the whole game, but I sense it is not super long as there appears to be only 5 worlds, that being said there is a lot of replay ability in my opinion going through and making sure you find everything in each world. Buy this game and enjoy!!!
  41. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    The more I play the later levels from world 2,3,4,5 are getting much better!
    This is the best platform games I've ever played. So much joy and smile!
    Some mechanics are really VR exclusive. It is the benchmark for how to design a great VR game.
    And the music are soooooo good!
    I really love 2-2 and 3-3 and 5-2! And all the boss fights!
  42. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    I've had the PSVR headset since it released back in 2016 and have tried most of the VR games, never had as much fun with a VR game as Astro Bot. It's Amazing what they've accomplished with this game, it takes full advantage of the PSVR and delivers an incredible experience, it's definitely a must buy for any PSVR owner!
  43. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    I've had my PSVR for a little over 8 months now, and I've had some great experience, some not so great experiences, and a lot of pretty good experiences. And along came Astro Bot.

    It's been years since I've really been interested in cutesy platforming games. I have nothing against them, they just haven't really been my type of game since more realistic games have come about due to
    I've had my PSVR for a little over 8 months now, and I've had some great experience, some not so great experiences, and a lot of pretty good experiences. And along came Astro Bot.

    It's been years since I've really been interested in cutesy platforming games. I have nothing against them, they just haven't really been my type of game since more realistic games have come about due to improved graphics. The last time I probably really looked forward to a platformer was during the Sega Saturn days with Sonic the Hedgehog.

    But something about the trailers for Astro Bot caught my attention. The trailers showed a game that looks like it was creating new ways to game by using VR. So I bought Astro Bot.

    I can honestly say that not only did the game live up to the trailers, it has surpassed them. Astro Bot creates worlds that allow you to do things that flat gaming simply can't do. The way you interact with the environment simply isn't possible without the use of VR, and the team that created Astro Bot has done some extremely creative things, surpassing some of the great things that have already been done in VR by other games.

    And the love and attention that went into making this game really shines. Astro Bot is a very, very polished game, with superb visuals and gameplay. This is a VR game that should not be missed.
  44. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    I've been waiting for the developers of Robot Rescue on the PSVR Playroom to release an actual Game of the same nature and ASTRO BOT DELIVERS on that promise!!..... This is absolutely a dream come true for VR platforming and this game show the true capability of VR platform games!!!....simply amazing!!
  45. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Finally an innovation in 3D platforming. After playing this I now think so much less of Super Mario Odyssey. This game makes me think of how great Rachet & Clank would be as a VR game. This game is definitely a VR system seller
  46. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    The best VR game (besides RE7) on any platform, and one of the best gaming experiences I’ve ever had. It is a MUST BUY. And that includes buying a PSVR if you need to. This game combines many lessons and highlights from other platformers and VR games and yet manages to carve out its own unique identity. Astro Bot has a ton of ideas of its own also. It reminds you of a mario game whereThe best VR game (besides RE7) on any platform, and one of the best gaming experiences I’ve ever had. It is a MUST BUY. And that includes buying a PSVR if you need to. This game combines many lessons and highlights from other platformers and VR games and yet manages to carve out its own unique identity. Astro Bot has a ton of ideas of its own also. It reminds you of a mario game where as the game goes on, you’re introduced to new mechanics and play styles all the way until the end. Each level is a work of art and quite unique. I could go on and on about this game, but take my advice (as someone who owns 3 headsets), Astro Bot is a major breakthrough for VR GAMES — not tech demos — actual games that feel like games and are uniquely suited to VR.
  47. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    By far the most fun I've had playing any video game this year. Games like God of War and Spider-Man were excellent but they felt a little like playing great looking versions of last gen games. Astro Bot makes you feel like you are playing a video game from the future and it honestly made me feel like a kid again. The graphics and sense of scale are incredible. The controls are perfect. TheBy far the most fun I've had playing any video game this year. Games like God of War and Spider-Man were excellent but they felt a little like playing great looking versions of last gen games. Astro Bot makes you feel like you are playing a video game from the future and it honestly made me feel like a kid again. The graphics and sense of scale are incredible. The controls are perfect. The main levels are brilliant, the challenges are fun, and the boss fights are epic. There is a ton of content for a $39.99 game. This is easily my favorite game of the year. A must buy game for any PSVR owner and one of the 10 best games I've played this generation.
  48. Oct 11, 2018
    10
    Astro Bot is special.

    When i see people saying stuff like 'modern games are not innovative', the first thing that comes to my mind is 'you have been playing the wrong games'. Thanks to indies and VR, we have had a level of experimentation in gaming we haven't seen in decades. Back to Astro Bot, this game is simply brilliant. I can only compare my experience with this game to how i
    Astro Bot is special.

    When i see people saying stuff like 'modern games are not innovative', the first thing that comes to my mind is 'you have been playing the wrong games'. Thanks to indies and VR, we have had a level of experimentation in gaming we haven't seen in decades.

    Back to Astro Bot, this game is simply brilliant. I can only compare my experience with this game to how i felt when i first played Mario 64. It's so fun and unique, that i find myself playing whole levels with a smile in my face!

    VR does add most of the magic, but even without it, Astro Bot would be a good game. The visual direction is beautiful, the gameplay is simply perfect and adds tons of new unique ideas. The best part is that both, new and old mechanics, work equally well, and with a surprisingly high level of polish. They also implemented mechanics from older games, but they don't seem forced. The whole gameplay formula reminds of 3D Mario games (but with its own identity), and there are subtle 'easter eggs' everywhere...like the formation of the levels, reminiscent from Kid Chameleon.

    The soundtrack is also fantastic. Every single song is memorable.

    The only negative aspect i see is the lack of a harder mode. Once we finish the campaign, it would be cool to have the option to play a more challenging version of each level (no checkpoints, faster moving platforms, tougher enemies, etc.).

    I just hope this game sells as much as it deserves, because after Astro Bot, a sequel would be a day one to me.
  49. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    Where did John get his ridiculous score of 0 from? This game is beautiful and an absolute joy to play. Ignore John - this is a must buy game!
  50. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Makes me feel 30 years younger!! This is the best £25 ive ever spent. This will put a great big smile on your face, i sure hope its poularity leads to added levels in the future. I WANT MORE !!! Well more until red dead 2 releases at least!
  51. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    An incredibly fun game to play, such clever use of VR in a 3D platformer takes the genre to another level. I'm not a huge fan of platformers but this game is pure magic. So many moments that had my grinning, laughing and singing along. Each level gets better and better and the boss battles are great. We implored Sony to make a full game of the Robot Rescue level from Playroom VR and theyAn incredibly fun game to play, such clever use of VR in a 3D platformer takes the genre to another level. I'm not a huge fan of platformers but this game is pure magic. So many moments that had my grinning, laughing and singing along. Each level gets better and better and the boss battles are great. We implored Sony to make a full game of the Robot Rescue level from Playroom VR and they delivered a trully remarkable game.

    Finished the main game in about 10 hours (i don't rush through games) and now going back to collect the remaining bots and chameolions I missed.

    All the levels are great but if I had to pick a favourite it would be 'Bots and Goblins'.

    Already looking forward to Astro Bot 2. Surely Sony will keep this new VR IP going.
  52. Oct 10, 2018
    10
    Joy, Joy, Joy! From the moment it loads, Astrobot had me smiling from ear to ear and gazing around in wonderment and it just keeps giving. Each time you settle into a play mechanic or theme, it throws something new and unexpected into the mix that keeps the buzz going.
    Full of its own unique charm, surprises literally around every corner, an ear worm of a soundtrack, and tight platformer
    Joy, Joy, Joy! From the moment it loads, Astrobot had me smiling from ear to ear and gazing around in wonderment and it just keeps giving. Each time you settle into a play mechanic or theme, it throws something new and unexpected into the mix that keeps the buzz going.
    Full of its own unique charm, surprises literally around every corner, an ear worm of a soundtrack, and tight platformer controls, all making for an unforgettable gameplay experience and one of the best I've had in a long time period, let alone in VR. These sorts of experiences don't come along too often but when cutting edge hardware and creative design come together to make something special like this, it is a classic in its own time and for sure will be fondly remembered along with the greats.
  53. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Wow i didn't expect that. I absolutely love this so far i recently played spiderman and just didn't enjoy the game play much at all it was super repetitive and boring while Astro Bot here instantly put a huge smile on my face. The camera in 3d perspective as the camera is brilliant. The game is quite funny aswell amd the bot is adorable.

    Could only imagine a crash bandicoot return in
    Wow i didn't expect that. I absolutely love this so far i recently played spiderman and just didn't enjoy the game play much at all it was super repetitive and boring while Astro Bot here instantly put a huge smile on my face. The camera in 3d perspective as the camera is brilliant. The game is quite funny aswell amd the bot is adorable.

    Could only imagine a crash bandicoot return in this form after this. It has infinite potential.
  54. Oct 17, 2018
    10
    I can't even put my joy in words. This game makes me feel like an 8 year old again! Sony is doing incredible things in this game, covering new grounds for gaming as a whole. This is an absolute system seller for PSVR! Do yourself a favour and buy a PSVR if you don't own one already.
  55. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    22 years ago Super Mario 64 was released and changed gaming forever. 2018 should IMHO have been the year of Super Mario VR, but Nintendo failed the VR watershed, too bad! Astro Bot Rescue Mission is by far the best PSVR game and VR game in general (I own both Vive and PSVR). Until now my favorite VR experiences were Windlands and Vivecraft. ABRM is what Super Mario VR should have been. A22 years ago Super Mario 64 was released and changed gaming forever. 2018 should IMHO have been the year of Super Mario VR, but Nintendo failed the VR watershed, too bad! Astro Bot Rescue Mission is by far the best PSVR game and VR game in general (I own both Vive and PSVR). Until now my favorite VR experiences were Windlands and Vivecraft. ABRM is what Super Mario VR should have been. A new standard which will change gaming forever. Can't wait for ABRM 2!! John you are a troll!
  56. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    Whimsy, delight, and charm combined with tight platforming controls + VR = an essential for any fan of games. Polished, well designed, brilliantly executed chunk of gaming goodness. Don't hesitate on this one, it is not to be missed.
  57. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    I don't normally write reviews but I decided to counteract John's review and his score of 0. It's fine not to like a particular type of genre but why waste your time putting down something almost everyone else seems to be having a good time with? I'm tempted to give his favorite Firewall game a zero except that I actually like that game.
    Anyways, John, this perfect 10 is for you.
  58. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    This game was not on my radar but i decided to buy it after reading many positive reviews online. I am glad i did pull the trigger because reviews are correct and this is exceptional platformer in VR. Everything about this game is exceptional. Level design , cute characters, lovely music, beautiful, sharp graphics on PS4Pro. Game is a great value with many hours of none stop fun. This isThis game was not on my radar but i decided to buy it after reading many positive reviews online. I am glad i did pull the trigger because reviews are correct and this is exceptional platformer in VR. Everything about this game is exceptional. Level design , cute characters, lovely music, beautiful, sharp graphics on PS4Pro. Game is a great value with many hours of none stop fun. This is a must have for PSVR owner and great excuse to pickup PSVR bundle and jump on the wagon of future of gaming. You will not be disappointed.
  59. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    This is the game to prove VR is the next step in entertainment. There was that feeling you had when you played the original Mario and super Mario 64. The same feeling of “something new” is here. If you are waiting for vr to take off this and firewall are enough to jump in.
  60. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    Absolutely superb in every way and showcases how VR can elevate a stale genre. Highly polished and the 40 euro is a bargain, I would have paid 60 for this easy. It's a must play.
  61. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    Hands down the best PSVR, no, best VR game of all time. This game shows what VR can offer in the truest sense. You can only play this on VR. The only flaw about this game is that you will not like it if you hate platformers.
  62. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    One of the most polished and visually stunning PSVR games to be released. An absolute joy to play and highly recommended for young and old. A must have game if you own PlayStation VR.
  63. Oct 2, 2018
    8
    One of the best VR game, which is not just sitting in a vehicle of standing in room. Gameplay looks like a new Mario franchise but more than Mario.
  64. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    Game is great, Playing this in PSVR, you wonder why aren't there more games like this? 3RD person VR is clutch. Not that common vomit inducing 1st person style that's tanking the system. In my opinion this could very well be PSVR's #1 game. You don't have to try it before you buy it.. Just buy it.
  65. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    As a 43 year old jaded gamer, who is tired of the same old dark ultra realistic first person shooter games that have flooded the market, this 10 out of 10 platform gem resurrected my inner child and warmed its way into my heart as my personal favorite of all time. The total immersion of VR cannot be conveyed in words, but suffice it to say that the polish, attention to detail, scale, colorAs a 43 year old jaded gamer, who is tired of the same old dark ultra realistic first person shooter games that have flooded the market, this 10 out of 10 platform gem resurrected my inner child and warmed its way into my heart as my personal favorite of all time. The total immersion of VR cannot be conveyed in words, but suffice it to say that the polish, attention to detail, scale, color palette, rendering, and overall gameplay in VR is an experience which not only set the bar for ALL VR experiences, but redefined next gen gaming and the future of the metaverse. I believe this game FINALLY proved the power and value of joyful and beautiful escapism in VR. Gaming doesn't have to be only for 16 to 40 year old wannabe sociopaths mowing down fields of bodies. Make fun gaming experiences that take us away from the horrors of the world. No matter what games you like to play though you owe it to yourself to drop $40 and get this game ASAP!
  66. Oct 6, 2018
    10
    Лучшая гоночная игра из когда либо выпущенных.
    Великолепная графика, огромный автопарк, шикарная физика для аркады.
    плойка сделала конкретный отсос
  67. Oct 15, 2018
    10
    For me the best game! When you go through the levels and you have most of the time a big smile in your face! It's so amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  68. Oct 3, 2018
    9
    a top platform game in VR, using VR immersion to very good effect to help with exploration and interaction. 3rd person games are not what I expect from VR - I want to be the hero, not the cameraman to the hero. So, 1 point taken from an otherwise truly excellent game of pure unabashed platforming joy.

    may it help bring the light to many poor flatgamer souls...
  69. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    First off...I do NOT write reviews! I created an account just to review this game ! This game is absolutely awesome!! I own WAY to many games.... I checked review scores from ALL over the internet just to see who would half ass rate it so I never would visit there site ever again because they had NO clue what makes a GREAT game and right then I knew there reviews were totally ignorant !First off...I do NOT write reviews! I created an account just to review this game ! This game is absolutely awesome!! I own WAY to many games.... I checked review scores from ALL over the internet just to see who would half ass rate it so I never would visit there site ever again because they had NO clue what makes a GREAT game and right then I knew there reviews were totally ignorant ! ... I have had psvr since day one and haven't played it in over 8 months I played this now and blown away! And now Im back and buying more games because it renewed my interest with VR !! 10 of 10 !!
  70. Oct 2, 2018
    0
    The gameplay is very short - around 5 or 6 hours which is a terrible value. This game does nothing new, I don't even understand third person VR and how it brings anything new to the table. If you like quirky characters you might like this. Otherwise I'll be playing Firewall Zero Hour
  71. Oct 19, 2018
    10
    ABRM presents platforming at its best, neatly brought forward a gen through very effective use of VR. Playing through this was as mind bending as the first time I played mario 64 and controlled the 'free camera buttons' for the first time. Revelatory gameplay moments abound and just that bit more sophisticated a platformer to control than the also excellent Moss (although turning 180ABRM presents platforming at its best, neatly brought forward a gen through very effective use of VR. Playing through this was as mind bending as the first time I played mario 64 and controlled the 'free camera buttons' for the first time. Revelatory gameplay moments abound and just that bit more sophisticated a platformer to control than the also excellent Moss (although turning 180 degree pivots is more than a little akward on my sofa!). What suprises is the level of polish on display here - it really impresses and I am left with a silly grin on my face at all times playing the game. The music evokes that 90's japanese sense of cool. If you even slightly like mario 64 and have psvr this is a MUST.
  72. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    This game does nothing new. If you like quirky characters you might like this ever but it's so fast you miss the action and fun of the fight .
  73. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    This game is truly a unique experience, every PSVR owners need to play this.
  74. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    If the mascot was mario on this guy we wouldn't hear the end of the praises. It's built around vr your inside the 3d platformer remember. The level design is up, down, left, right you wouldn't even know what I mean but it forces you everywhere.

    Anyway this isn't just that the level design is astoundinggg and that because of the vr and that 3d depth It uses every single mechanic you can
    If the mascot was mario on this guy we wouldn't hear the end of the praises. It's built around vr your inside the 3d platformer remember. The level design is up, down, left, right you wouldn't even know what I mean but it forces you everywhere.

    Anyway this isn't just that the level design is astoundinggg and that because of the vr and that 3d depth It uses every single mechanic you can think of and it looks just beautiful while at it. Think Pixar level graphics in 3d but jooollllllllly jooollllly good fun while moderately challenging too. There's level designs that'll take you back to sonic underwater levels but like 50 gazillllllin times better and then a little awesome karting bit too that took me back to megaman x5. It's just incredible the level design I thought I saw it all in the first 3 levels but holy **** did it just keep getting better and better.

    Honestly Astrobot is one of those times you just stand up and salute the creators. Just phenomenal on every level. I played each level on repeat 4 times already. Even after the Plat I want more.

    Exceptional!

    Been a good 20 years since I smiled as much as this over a video game.
  75. Nov 4, 2018
    10
    Astro Bot is an absolute Master Class study of fun and creative level design in a VR space. I'm not sure it's possible to play this game with out smiling. It's hands down must play and must own!

    Astro Bot is an awesome game that continually wowed and surprised me. With each level I played, I thought I had discovered my new favorite level. It just keept getting better all the way to its
    Astro Bot is an absolute Master Class study of fun and creative level design in a VR space. I'm not sure it's possible to play this game with out smiling. It's hands down must play and must own!

    Astro Bot is an awesome game that continually wowed and surprised me. With each level I played, I thought I had discovered my new favorite level. It just keept getting better all the way to its fun and creative conclusion.

    There are many good games now that make PSVR worth the investment, but this game by itself makes it worth the purchase. It's a true system seller and more than worthy of all the good reviews it's gotten.

    For those of you old enough to remember the feelings of pure fun and joy you had the first time you played Mario 64 in the 90's, be prepared to have those feelings again!

    If you own a PSVR and dont have this game, buy it now or at least try the demo! There is a free demo available on PSN that let's you play the first 2 levels of world 1 and part of the Boss fight. These levels are fun, but the full game only gets better and more creative!

    If you are on the fence, but interested in VR, now is the time. This is a game for people that love games and will convert all that try it into believers of 3rd person platformers in VR!

    You are in for a treat as this is the best display of VR on PSVR and the best platformer on any headset at the moment.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Edge Magazine
    Nov 9, 2018
    90
    There are some VR games that still make our stomachs flip, but this captivating adventure is one to make the heart soar. [Christmas 2018, p.118]
  2. Nov 8, 2018
    90
    One of the most impressive applications on gaming of VR. ASTRO BOT is a must have to all the owners of a PSVR.
  3. Games Master UK
    Nov 1, 2018
    90
    Both a meticulously crafted adventure and a fabulous PS VR showcase - one of 2018's nicest surprises. [Issue#336, p.79]