Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Oct 31, 2018
    70
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is unlikely to create masses of new fans for Gwent, and its adventure mode effectively admits this. However, it allows those looking for an entertaining tale to enjoy one without letting CCG elements and other gameplay elements get in the way. Meanwhile, fans of Gwent should appreciate the opportunity to apply the game to a wider adventure and be tested with the special scenarios. To those ends, Thronebreaker is a worthwhile endeavour that will please many, if perhaps not delight.
  2. Oct 26, 2018
    70
    Thronebreaker is a great solution for players that value amazing story and beautiful graphics over everything else. Despite some minor gameplay issues and unrealized potential of the game, players will have a lot of fun. If you miss the world and lore of The Witcher, it's definitely worth to check this title.
  3. Oct 18, 2018
    70
    Thronebreaker struggles as a card game but excels as a Witcher game due to its rich narrative and excellent, if simple, worldbuilding.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 19, 2018
    Thronebreaker proves card games can tell a story every bit as punchy and provocative as the blockbusters it takes inspiration from. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Oct 18, 2018
    When I first encountered Gwent, both in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt and Gwent: The Witcher Card Game, learning to play the game felt like work. But Thronebreaker fully breaks its systems down into bite-sized portions and succeeds at making each one interesting in its own right. So far just about every puzzle, every challenge has been a delight. Thronebreaker feels playful, and succeeds at making learning Gwent an enjoyable experience.[Impressions]
  3. Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales has a few problems with pacing and a dry story in places, but otherwise it’s a decent singleplayer spin-off of Gwent and the cards are worth a shuffle.
  4. Oct 18, 2018
    If you liked any of the Witcher games, novels or Gwent, then I would implore you to buy Thronebreaker. It’s like a 30-hour long easter egg, filled with references, inside jokes and an engaging story with an empowering lead.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 325
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is a perfect game. If you are done with it, then try Gwent: The Witcher Card Game.
  2. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This game is just awesome. The story is amazing with interesting and engrossing characters and the gameplay is fun and surprisinglyThis game is just awesome. The story is amazing with interesting and engrossing characters and the gameplay is fun and surprisingly innovative. It has a lot of twists and makes you think. I just love how story and card gameplay create this epic tale in your head. Very refreshing design. Oh and the voice acting, sound and music are top notch. Im 10 hours in and can't stop playing :)
  3. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This game is an absolute blast. CDPR done it again. If you told me that a card game would be one of the best games of 2018, I probably wouldThis game is an absolute blast. CDPR done it again. If you told me that a card game would be one of the best games of 2018, I probably would have laughed you off. However, I'm very pleasantly surprised.