• Publisher: Deck 13
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2018
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 14 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2018
    0
    A non-exclusive game with customary, exhausting (obviously fast-paced) combat and generally unimaginativeness. Try not to purchase this game, such purchase justified regardless of your cash.
  2. Oct 7, 2018
    0
    Crosscode is that kind of game, which is being shilled everywhere, yet when you play it whilst ignoring the overall shilling of it, you will realize how awful it actually is.
    It, like almost every Indie game these days, has fast-paced combat, unoriginal design, and much more of that sort. Overall, it's a pretty inconsequential and generic game.
  3. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Crosscode is a beautiful gamingexperience filled with so much details and so much carefulness.
    This is one of this rare gems that you just need to experience. Yes - some puzzles may be difficult, but in a time, where "handholding" the player every step, it`s just refreshening to see a game do something difference for once.
    The mechanics are intuitive and the gameplay fastpaced and
    Crosscode is a beautiful gamingexperience filled with so much details and so much carefulness.
    This is one of this rare gems that you just need to experience. Yes - some puzzles may be difficult, but in a time, where "handholding" the player every step, it`s just refreshening to see a game do something difference for once.
    The mechanics are intuitive and the gameplay fastpaced and challenging in a good way. The difficulty is fullfilling and much needed, because right after you beat one of this passages you'll feel accomplished.
  4. Oct 15, 2018
    9
    Who loved old SNES Games like Terranigma will absolutely love that amazing game :)

    Only downside is that puzzles can be tedious and there is no easy way to skip it..
  5. Oct 17, 2018
    9
    Do you want a super polished, content rich and long game? Then this game is for you.
    20 bucks for a game like this is a steal. This is one of those games that constantly rewards you for exploring by giving you better equipment and finding a lot of fun puzzles that can make it easier for you to move around. The puzzles in this game are extremely well made and can get super challenging in a
    Do you want a super polished, content rich and long game? Then this game is for you.
    20 bucks for a game like this is a steal. This is one of those games that constantly rewards you for exploring by giving you better equipment and finding a lot of fun puzzles that can make it easier for you to move around. The puzzles in this game are extremely well made and can get super challenging in a good way because beating them just feels sooo good.
    The combat in this game may seem simple,, especially in the beginning of the game, but as you progress forward you'll see that the game forces you to think more tactically, Story got me really hooked and definitely had some of those "one tear" moments. If you like indie games, dungeons with fun combat, amazing boss fights and 2d rpg games you will love this game. It just feels so good to play.
    Also,..
    People giving this 0/10 and hating on everything are simply just people without hearts. i cant believe how disrespectful and immature some people can be against indie-developers instead of giving them good constructive criticism with a positive attitude. I also see some people giving a bad review when they only played about two hours of the game.
    Please don't review this game or any type of game if you never actually played through the whole thing. Its like reading 10 pages from a book and then calling the entire book bad. Simply stupid.
  6. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Very good game! The graphics and animations look phenomenal and the work that has been put into this game was probably very much! The music reminds me of a lot of classic games and it is quite motivating too. If you're looking for a game that reminds you of the good old SNES era this game is perfect for you.

    I cannot understand why so many people rate it so badly. The work that went
    Very good game! The graphics and animations look phenomenal and the work that has been put into this game was probably very much! The music reminds me of a lot of classic games and it is quite motivating too. If you're looking for a game that reminds you of the good old SNES era this game is perfect for you.

    I cannot understand why so many people rate it so badly. The work that went into this game is probably more than the work that went into any other indie game I know.
  7. Nov 4, 2018
    10
    So here is my first review battling the fake 0's simply because the game deserves it:
    If someome happened to reimagine some SNES classics like Secret of Mana, Terranigma and the likes of these combined with the experience developers have made in the past decades then this might be the result.
    In short: It is awesome. To me personally as someone who has been gaming for >32 years the
    So here is my first review battling the fake 0's simply because the game deserves it:
    If someome happened to reimagine some SNES classics like Secret of Mana, Terranigma and the likes of these combined with the experience developers have made in the past decades then this might be the result.
    In short: It is awesome.
    To me personally as someone who has been gaming for >32 years the story feels pretty fresh. Big parts of it can be found here and there in several Anime/Manga, but in games the setting is definitely still rare.
    The main character is very likeable, partly because of surprisingly well done facial expressions in the dialogues.

    But to the gameplay just focusing on the points that matter the most to me as everyone can watch a trailer:
    It's a great mix of puzzles and fighting. Fights which are often enough not a no-brainer and puzzles for which the same can be said. I feel taken seriously as a player who has played the classics. I understand some parts can be frustrating but as you can adjust the difficulty for both fights and puzzles this is not a problem anymore. In addition we have internet, not like back in the times of SNES - but you should not get stuck like ever with a bit out-of-the-box thinking.

    Graphics wise it is full of details and very atmospheric (also due to the music or it's absence at the right time!).

    One other thing, but an important one to me: The learning curve feels as perfect as possible compared to any other game I have played. Period.
    Mechanics are introduced well and the puzzles/fights both get gradually harder just in the right speed. At the same time it does not feel to me like there is an unnecessary repetition of the same use of abilities. I only missed an explanation of lv2/3 combat techniques, but that could be my fault overreading something. I don't know.

    As a last thing I want to say that only comparing it to the SNES classics is not exactly right. Combat is more fast paced and both the RPG and exploration parts are way bigger. Perhaps it is a Witcher 3 in a smaller 16 bit world put in a blender with those SNES classics.

    But if you have any love for these mentioned other games: Go for it!
  8. Nov 7, 2018
    9
    I've played it some time ago and I remember that it was a great game. I forget about it till tomorrow. And I just played it till 3 AM, wake up today with my alarm clock and drank double coffee. Yep, it's definitely a good game. I gotta run, but it's worth your time.
  9. Oct 8, 2018
    8
    TLDR:
    Don't buy this unless you are really into (difficult) puzzles and want to get involved in the story for the long haul
    The Good: Good Combat Great Story Lots of puzzles Exploration The Bad: Some puzzles are annoying/infuriating Story takes a long time to ramp up Gets grindy at points (I suggest just buying equipment) The map in general is nice, but the pathing some
    TLDR:
    Don't buy this unless you are really into (difficult) puzzles and want to get involved in the story for the long haul

    The Good:
    Good Combat
    Great Story
    Lots of puzzles
    Exploration

    The Bad:
    Some puzzles are annoying/infuriating
    Story takes a long time to ramp up
    Gets grindy at points (I suggest just buying equipment)
    The map in general is nice, but the pathing some dungeons have you take is atrocious
  10. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    this is my favorite game of all time. if you like rpgs and the trailer looks interesting to you then check out this incredibly underrated little gem.
  11. May 20, 2017
    6
    The combat in this game is fantastic on a mechanical level. The combination of the combat, puzzles, great enemy design and compelling AI make for an overall near perfect gameplay experience.
    However, the game has some flaws in the systems and rules around the gameplay. The character development is very similar to typical jrpgs, i.e. while there is development, it is very one dimensional
    The combat in this game is fantastic on a mechanical level. The combination of the combat, puzzles, great enemy design and compelling AI make for an overall near perfect gameplay experience.
    However, the game has some flaws in the systems and rules around the gameplay. The character development is very similar to typical jrpgs, i.e. while there is development, it is very one dimensional with very few choices to make outside of equipment. The talent tree might be large, but it's mostly filled with poor +x% of y talents and the few gameplay changing ones are very binary. Overall there is no real replay value due to this linear character progression.
    There are a few other unlucky design decisions, but overall the gameplay is damn good.

    The graphics obviously aren't modern, but they are still highly pleasurable for the eye. Only flaw is that the devs not only copied the snes art style, but also the snes level size. Having to go through loading screens after progressing 2 screen lengths is not acceptable anymore today.

    The sound is great and captures the feeling of old school action rpgs. Not much else to say about it, full marks on sfx and music.

    The only real flaw of CrossCode is the story.
    The setting is extremely unoriginal to anyone with some knowledge about jrpgs. The real mmorpg setting is a dead horse that really doesn't need any more beating. It really oozes the impression of a 40 year old obese virgin living in his mothers basement.
    The characters are beyond cheesy and couldn't be any more clichéd. Some of the are straight clones of 80s anime characters.
    The silent main character is an extremely poor choice and highly non entertaining. Then again, she probably wouldn't have anything interesting to say to anything other than 'yes'.
    The plot is presented in such a drawn out and most of the time uninteresting way. Yet at other times it's overly dramatic and again horribly cheesy. All of that is already present in the horrible intro / tutorial.

    Ultimately, any element of the story is more or less bad - so bad that it really sours the experience one could have with the great gameplay. Even just a slightly more generic setting would have warranted a much higher score. But as it is, the story is just killing everything. Even if you are a massive japanophile, you will feel insulted over the impudent copying of cheesy jrpg clichés.

    In summary:
    gameplay 9/10
    graphics 9/10 (if you accept 2D)
    sound 10/10
    story -5/10 (yes the story is so bad it negatively impacts everything else).
  12. Oct 10, 2018
    10
    The game is amazing if you like the retro 2d games I.E. Metroid, Zelda, nother various snes games.
  13. Oct 12, 2018
    8
    Great game that is marred by some frustrating game design issues.

    Pros: Great 2D graphics that have more charm and detail than most 'indie' games. Great soundtrack. Great story and excellent writing. Combat is fun, fast paced and challenging. Cons: Too many puzzles. The seven dungeons that you play through are filled with them. The pacing feels off because of this. The
    Great game that is marred by some frustrating game design issues.

    Pros:

    Great 2D graphics that have more charm and detail than most 'indie' games.
    Great soundtrack.
    Great story and excellent writing.
    Combat is fun, fast paced and challenging.

    Cons:

    Too many puzzles. The seven dungeons that you play through are filled with them. The pacing feels off because of this.

    The difficulty of the puzzles can be too much for a casual player. A lot of the puzzles are time and precision based. It creates an argument for the use of cheat engine to slow them down enough for some players.

    The combat gets really hard after the halfway point. Not impossible but definitely a difficulty curve.

    Most side quests are fetch quests and leveling becomes very hard once you've grinded for a bit, making sidequests almost mandatory if you want to be on a level playing field.
    Bottom line:

    Excellent story, graphics, music and gameplay. The puzzles are a bit too much and can be very frustrating with how precise and quick you have to do them. The devs have stated they were considering implementing a more casual friendly mode.

    If you hate puzzles, stay away for now. It's a great game but it will infuriate you to no end. For those who loved Lufia 2, this probably is right up your alley. The game is excellent and the story is very well told and written but it won't be for everyone with how many puzzles there are.
  14. Dec 8, 2016
    10
    This is one of my favorite games this year. One problem with it right now is that there isn't a lot of story, but again its in beta. For 20$ you get 15+ hours of single player fun. And that's with the beta. Even more when the full game releases. I would recommend this game even before I would recommend AAA titles like BF1 and Titanfall 2. You can even play a demo hereThis is one of my favorite games this year. One problem with it right now is that there isn't a lot of story, but again its in beta. For 20$ you get 15+ hours of single player fun. And that's with the beta. Even more when the full game releases. I would recommend this game even before I would recommend AAA titles like BF1 and Titanfall 2. You can even play a demo here http://www.cross-code.com/en/start
  15. Oct 4, 2017
    9
    Pros:
    - Quick, tight combat with plenty of special move/upgrade combinations.
    - Incredible visual anime design that all feels like it was from the 16-bit era. - Great soundtrack and sound effects. - Lots of side quests and grinding opportunities. - Not too easy. Has a nice, hearty difficulty level in the beginning. - Pretty deep story, lots of characters with fleshed out
    Pros:
    - Quick, tight combat with plenty of special move/upgrade combinations.
    - Incredible visual anime design that all feels like it was from the 16-bit era.
    - Great soundtrack and sound effects.
    - Lots of side quests and grinding opportunities.
    - Not too easy. Has a nice, hearty difficulty level in the beginning.
    - Pretty deep story, lots of characters with fleshed out personalities.

    Cons:
    - It's **** hard as ****

    This is one of those games that you really want to be good, and then it manages to surpass your expectations. I have never played a game like it. It's like an updated Chrono Trigger or Secret of Mana, but with the amount of depth that a 2-D Nier Automata would have. CrossCode turns out to be an unexpectedly high achievement in the modern action RPG genre.
  16. Oct 8, 2018
    0
    Dieses Spiel gehörte zu meinen am meist erwarteten; so frustriert; Was für eine schlimme Neigung. Diese Geschichte, die allgemein annehmbare Qualität, Gott, aus welchem Grund würde irgendjemand in einem solchen Ausmaß Ärger machen? Es ist ein Fall von durchschnittlicher Qualität, zum Wohl Gottes, quäle dich nicht mit etwas so Geringem! Man denke an jene Fälle, and jene Menschen, die soDieses Spiel gehörte zu meinen am meist erwarteten; so frustriert; Was für eine schlimme Neigung. Diese Geschichte, die allgemein annehmbare Qualität, Gott, aus welchem Grund würde irgendjemand in einem solchen Ausmaß Ärger machen? Es ist ein Fall von durchschnittlicher Qualität, zum Wohl Gottes, quäle dich nicht mit etwas so Geringem! Man denke an jene Fälle, and jene Menschen, die so etwas taten, und für ihre Tat büssten!

    Ich gebe zu, ich machte das Beste aus der außergewöhnlich schlechten Interaktivität, aber das ist es nun. Schrecklich für ein geschichtszentriertes Spiel; somit gehört es zu den, von mir gespielten, schlechtesten Spielen.
  17. Oct 1, 2018
    10
    This game is a 16bit action/rpg on CRACK. I'm serious, it's like a drug, after purchasing it on steam I played for 12 hours straight and the morning after I did it again, ****
  18. Jan 31, 2017
    10
    Amazing game!!! My SNES and Assassins Creed gave birth. The love that went into this game is amazing!! Thank you Deck 13. This retro action JRPG is my new Therapy
  19. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    I Don't understand the 0 ratings on this site. This RPG has to be one of the best 16-bit like experience out there. The Story, dungeons and game-play is amazing. Give it a try!
  20. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    Seems legit, 9 people make 0 rating reviews on the same day, all with gibberish names and only 1 review made.
    Why? Why would you do this to such a great game?
  21. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    Crosscode was quite the unexpected surprise for me. I went in with zero expectations, but found an incredible experience along the way.

    The combat was fast paced and challenging. The puzzles within the dungeons were deep and thoughtful. The music was inspired by and even sampling some of gaming's best, among which were songs like "Chronopolis" from Chrono Cross. (I happen to be a huge
    Crosscode was quite the unexpected surprise for me. I went in with zero expectations, but found an incredible experience along the way.

    The combat was fast paced and challenging. The puzzles within the dungeons were deep and thoughtful. The music was inspired by and even sampling some of gaming's best, among which were songs like "Chronopolis" from Chrono Cross. (I happen to be a huge fan of Yasunori Mitsuda.)

    The game doesn't feel completed yet. It honestly seems like the ending areas were a bit rushed and cramped together. The story feels incomplete.

    However, the gameplay was so enjoyable in its own right that it more than made up for it. As the saying goes, "It is greater than the sum of it's parts".
  22. Sep 27, 2018
    9
    I recently discovered this game and I have been loving every second of it. The story didn't grip me at first but everything else is done excellently, I'm surprised more aren't talking about this wonderful gem
  23. Oct 1, 2018
    9
    A lot of indie games attempt a retro-revival of the 16-bit era, but none do so with the massive scope, smooth modern gamefeel, meticulous design sense, carefully curated pacing and loving attention to detail of this masterpiece.
    CrossCode surpasses Secret of Mana in deep action-rpg combat and memorable storytelling.
    CrossCode surpasses Zelda: a Link to the Past in polished gamefeel,
    A lot of indie games attempt a retro-revival of the 16-bit era, but none do so with the massive scope, smooth modern gamefeel, meticulous design sense, carefully curated pacing and loving attention to detail of this masterpiece.
    CrossCode surpasses Secret of Mana in deep action-rpg combat and memorable storytelling.
    CrossCode surpasses Zelda: a Link to the Past in polished gamefeel, exploration and ingenious dungeon-puzzles.
    It is however, an original creation - not merely re-tread of tired formulas. I am in awe of the scope and quality of this open world, yet I never feel alone, aimless or tired amidst it all - the characters are charming, the story is gripping, the mechanics keep evolving and deepening - I cannot wait to keep playing!!
  24. Feb 24, 2017
    10
    Great in terms of content, fits in well with the original story, plus gives a nice refreshing feel. I like the new interface and content additions. Bug were and always will be during game releases,
  25. Jun 17, 2017
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I've ever played, even in its incomplete state. Everything about it is on point. The puzzle design is genius, the combat system smooth and satisfying, the spritework beautiful and the tunes very pleasant to the ear - but the greatest thing about the game is its stellar story. It is very lighthearted, and at times, admittedly a bit cheesy too, but somehow itQuite possibly the best game I've ever played, even in its incomplete state. Everything about it is on point. The puzzle design is genius, the combat system smooth and satisfying, the spritework beautiful and the tunes very pleasant to the ear - but the greatest thing about the game is its stellar story. It is very lighthearted, and at times, admittedly a bit cheesy too, but somehow it still manages to make you fall in love with the one-sided, yet deep characters, thanks to the well-written dialogue and the detailed, expressive portraits used during cutscenes.

    If you're thinking about getting the game in its early access, it is very much worth it, although the story is a bit scarce as of now. CrossCode is a shining example of a well-executed early access game; regularly updated with tons of new content, and the developers, RadicalFIshGames, are very transparent and host gamedev streams weekly and also communicate on Discord on a daily basis.

    P.S. The game was made by RadicalFishGames, do not give credit for Deck 13 for creating this masterpiece, they are just the publisher (to you who thanked Deck 13 in your review).
  26. Nov 30, 2017
    10
    Easily one of my favourite games on steam at the moment. Beautiful 2d graphics. Combat is really nice and fluent. Contains a lot of references to other populair movies and games. Simply Amazing!
  27. Nov 13, 2016
    10
    Omggggggggggggggggggggggg what a awesome game! I remind the good times of snes and ps1 consoles, all the stuff on the game, graphics, sound, OMG it's SOOOOOO nostalgic!!!!
  28. Oct 9, 2018
    3
    Meh. Precisely, this is what the game is, a "meh". A lot of developers think, sudden increments in health and damage are what make for difficulty, but it doesn't. The very bad combat (of course, fast-paced combat, as turn-based was too hard to code again) combined with its abhorrent story results in, at best, a 3. The story has no depth whatsoever, neither do these characters.
    Ignore the
    Meh. Precisely, this is what the game is, a "meh". A lot of developers think, sudden increments in health and damage are what make for difficulty, but it doesn't. The very bad combat (of course, fast-paced combat, as turn-based was too hard to code again) combined with its abhorrent story results in, at best, a 3. The story has no depth whatsoever, neither do these characters.
    Ignore the obvious shilling of this game, people think their stupid comparisons with AAA titles would make this game stand out, but it does the exact opposite. It proves the desperation of the fans, the desperation for it to be something special, even though it is not, going as far as to comparing it to timeless masterpieces like The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
  29. Oct 9, 2018
    0
    It will, like all of the other Indie pixel **** rot in my Steam library. What a bad game. Its story, gameplay, **** everything, all sucks.
  30. Nov 3, 2018
    9
    One of the best rpg's i've ever played.
    The story is so good, and the developers promise more with free updates and probably a future dlc.
  31. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Fantastic indie game. Reminiscent of old school action RPGs like Secret of Mana. Incredible combat system, very polished. Good story and character development, I'll keep this spoiler free. Memorable soundtrack, tons of puzzles. Completionists can easily sink over 100 hours or more in this game. Each area is hand crafted and boss battles are unique. They're still adding content, even afterFantastic indie game. Reminiscent of old school action RPGs like Secret of Mana. Incredible combat system, very polished. Good story and character development, I'll keep this spoiler free. Memorable soundtrack, tons of puzzles. Completionists can easily sink over 100 hours or more in this game. Each area is hand crafted and boss battles are unique. They're still adding content, even after 1.0 released! Can't wait to see what's next, and in the future what other games they make.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    90
    CrossCode is an outstanding title that is completely worth your time investment. It is beautiful, compelling and a ton of fun.
  2. Nov 11, 2018
    84
    CrossCode is a funky, charming and sometimes even too extensive action RPG with a pleasant nostalgic side.
  3. Oct 21, 2018
    84
    A labour of love that serves as homage to 16-bit RPG classics and MMOs, but also manages to stand on its two feet, even though technically not everything is as solid as it should be.

Warning: file_put_contents(): Only 0 of 219044 bytes written, possibly out of free disk space in /home/admin/web/telezritel.net/public_html/vendor/doctrine/cache/lib/Doctrine/Common/Cache/FileCache.php on line 254