User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 83
  2. Negative: 12 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    7
    The saddest thing about Call of Cthulhu is that there are LOTS OF PROMISING MECHANICS THAT WERE USED ONLY ONCE OR TWICE DURING THE GAME. Sanity mechanics, weird vision effects, tunnel view, color dissortion and unreal visions... are there but only used a couple of times. Mechanic for dialogs, clue sighting, and using your skills are nice, but misused.

    Apart from that, story is
    The saddest thing about Call of Cthulhu is that there are LOTS OF PROMISING MECHANICS THAT WERE USED ONLY ONCE OR TWICE DURING THE GAME. Sanity mechanics, weird vision effects, tunnel view, color dissortion and unreal visions... are there but only used a couple of times. Mechanic for dialogs, clue sighting, and using your skills are nice, but misused.

    Apart from that, story is intriguing and in line with the Mythos, maybe more in the line of August Derleth instead of Lovecraft, but good anyway. There are some plots that are roughly inserted into the story but it's ok, I've seen worst movies.

    Game last for 7-8 hours, first 3-4 hours are frustrating as you can take no choice and game doesn't require any skill, you just have to keep walking, listening and reading, even dialogs ara futile as the result is the same no matter what you choose to say.
    Then the game turns into a good 1-2 hours of stealth game in some bigger scenarios. You've already invested a lot of time and until that point you doesn't have the feeling that you're actually playing.
    And then the game rushes to the final confrontation with a level where you have a colt 1911 gun (it is supposed you have it all the time but up to this level you havent showed it not even to yourself) , but you can go thru the level with just a couple of shots if you don't want to kill randomly (again using stealth).
    In the middle you can find some puzzles that are pretty basic, some of the just determines the way you reach the same end of the chapter.

    In the end I liked the atmosphere very much, art director made a good job there, that's why the game gets a solid 7, but price tag is high having ZERO replayability, and most of the game is just a "movie".

    FINAL THOUGHTS: If you are a hardcore Cthulhu Mythos fan, you'll enjoy the game with all its flaws. Ending was great for me, I was shouting "CTHULHU FTANG IA IA IA" repeteadly during the last 5 minutes of the game. But you can wait a bit to get a good deal, on xmas Steam sales it will probably go below 50%.
  2. Nov 10, 2018
    2
    The saddest thing about Call of Cthulhu is that there are LOTS OF PROMISING MECHANICS THAT WERE USED ONLY ONCE OR TWICE DURING THE GAME. Sanity mechanics, weird vision effects, tunnel view, color dissortion and unreal visions... are there but only used a couple of times. Mechanic for dialogs, clue sighting, and using your skills are nice, but misused.
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    5
    если вы не играли эту игру не чекайте эту рецензию потому что я могу спиздануть что нибудь лишнего хотя ничего из спойлеров здесь нет не ссыте

    я не играл в первую часть, я не фанат тентакли, я не читал его книги и вообще не шарю в этой теме. оцениваю игру как обычный геймер что ли. прошел игру за 4-5 часа, если бы много времени не проебал по пустякам или не болтал или не рассуждал о
    если вы не играли эту игру не чекайте эту рецензию потому что я могу спиздануть что нибудь лишнего хотя ничего из спойлеров здесь нет не ссыте

    я не играл в первую часть, я не фанат тентакли, я не читал его книги и вообще не шарю в этой теме. оцениваю игру как обычный геймер что ли.

    прошел игру за 4-5 часа, если бы много времени не проебал по пустякам или не болтал или не рассуждал о диалогах уверен прошел бы её намного быстрее. в начале игры нам дают возможность прокачать некоторые способности или навыки и ты думаешь вау это прям будет как в рпг играх типа фаллаут нью вегаса со своим красноречием но это не так. эта поебота влияет только на концовки которые ты сможешь выбрать в конце игры. в слове о концовках их всего лишь 4 и по правде они неплохие ничего другого я о них сказать не могу.

    в техническом плане графон хуже первого дисонорода но блять лагает нахуй местами по 30 фпс, даже не местами а 50-60 проц геймплея. геймлея в этой игре нахуй нету, это ебанное кинцо с кац сценами, анимации просто ужасны, найди ту вещь в куче говна, вернись туда и найди то говно, стелс уебищный, это не игра а блять 3д версия игр жанра point and click.

    говоря про музыкальное сопровождение ничего не сказать, наняли тайпикал композитора который заебенил обычный блять невыдающися мрачный ост.

    эта игра нихуя не стоит своих денег, 1500 блять вы там не охуели? красная цена этой игры это 500 рублей.

    вообщем полная хуета, но местами в принципе было прикольно посмотреть на кац сцены и прочее. ставлю этой игре оценку. 5/10
  4. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Very atmospheric game. For lovers of creativity Lovecraft the most it. The graphics are not at an ideal level, but for me this is not the main thing.
  5. Oct 29, 2018
    7
    Call of Cthulhu
    From Chilling to painstaking
    Call of Cthulhu is a 7 and a half hour long first person adventure game where you plays as private detective Edward pierce in 1924 Boston as he investigates the death of the Hawkins family The game starts out super creepy and mysterious, dead sharks and whales all over the place, an island that feels like a ghost town just waiting to smack
    Call of Cthulhu
    From Chilling to painstaking
    Call of Cthulhu is a 7 and a half hour long first person adventure game where you plays as private detective Edward pierce in 1924 Boston as he investigates the death of the Hawkins family
    The game starts out super creepy and mysterious, dead sharks and whales all over the place, an island that feels like a ghost town just waiting to smack you with some Scooby doo mysteries to solve, I was instantly sucked in…
    And this type of game needs to pull you in with its atmosphere and story.. Because there is no combat aside from a tiny section towards the end that I won’t show for spoiler reasons. .but it’s all about exploring and investigating, finding items and clues, talking to different characters to solve the mystery of what happened to the Hawkins family and what’s the deal with these creepy paintings that’s all over the island…
    As you play through the game you’ll unlock points to increase your ability to lock pick for example or unlock new dialog options to help guide you towards one of this games multiple endings.. Your choices do matter here... down to the books in the world that you read…
    Which are worth seeking out as they can increase progression for your skills of medicine and occultism…
    as you explore and search for clues there will be moments of piecing together a scene batman style…
    I was just so in love and intrigued with this game…
    Until about hour 2… this is when the game just loses control, goes all over the place and just feels completely unfocused and like a chore to get through…
    so much sneaking around places, constant plot twists.. And when I mean constant I mean constant… and it’s like the same plot twist over and over and over and over... again for spoiler reasons I won’t say what the plot twist is... but its done with literally every character you come across in the game so by the games end I was completely confused, not understand what’s going on, which characters were still around, why they were around, how they are important for any of this..
    it’s just a mess and it’s a shame because of how strong this game starts out…
    Call of Cthulhu could’ve been a great condensed 5 hour game, but there seemed to be an obsession with let’s make this game longer just because, lets constantly throw in the same plot twist and reuse areas the player has already seen just to make the price point seem justifiable
    Don’t get me wrong, I still think Call of Cthulhu is creepy and worth playing…
    It’s just that I believe once you start to feel like you’re over it.. You’re not missing out on much if you chose to just walk away
    I give Call of Cthulhu
    a 6.5/10
  6. Nov 9, 2018
    2
    I think this is the first game in which I had to watch cutscenes and forced encounters longer than actually having control over my character! And when I had control, most of the time the gameplay was that of a walking simulator except for a few sneaking or action sequences. RPG elements and dialogue options are a huge mess, where you never know what they are really good for! Level designI think this is the first game in which I had to watch cutscenes and forced encounters longer than actually having control over my character! And when I had control, most of the time the gameplay was that of a walking simulator except for a few sneaking or action sequences. RPG elements and dialogue options are a huge mess, where you never know what they are really good for! Level design and graphics are okay, but character animations and facial expressions bad. The only great thing was the back-in-time-investigation mode...
  7. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Call of Cthulhu (2018) is easily the best game based on the H.P. Lovecraft mythology that has ever seen the light of day! The story itself is gripping, as well as the setting, narrative structure, presentation, dialoges, atmosphere, investigation style and mechanics are superb! The voicing is very good, too! Well, the graphics may be not the best you can expect from a game in 2018Call of Cthulhu (2018) is easily the best game based on the H.P. Lovecraft mythology that has ever seen the light of day! The story itself is gripping, as well as the setting, narrative structure, presentation, dialoges, atmosphere, investigation style and mechanics are superb! The voicing is very good, too! Well, the graphics may be not the best you can expect from a game in 2018 sometimes, but that does not matter, since they are good enough.
  8. Oct 30, 2018
    6
    I will quote AppTrigger
    "What started out as a promising, unnerving recreation of a tabletop RPG became a rushed, unfocused mess racing to the finish line that leaves players’ input almost meaningless. Call of Cthulhu is a dressed-up horror walking simulator that pitched itself on misleading terms, bungling its story while being light on gameplay or its RPG roots."
    To the point.
    I will quote AppTrigger
    "What started out as a promising, unnerving recreation of a tabletop RPG became a rushed, unfocused mess racing to the finish line that leaves players’ input almost meaningless. Call of Cthulhu is a dressed-up horror walking simulator that pitched itself on misleading terms, bungling its story while being light on gameplay or its RPG roots."
    To the point. Misleading title, no real input from the player, but hey, you can walk!
    Someone comment on price, but I don't think it's developer fault, more like publisher's, and I don't want to FOCUS on that (pun intended).
    I don't like liars, I've never returned to No Man's Sky and I won't. Same here, there is a lot of misleading pieces of information and I feel like someone lied to me about this game. Maybe I just imagined something more watching the trailers, I don't know. But to be honest, decide for yourself. Watch first 1 hour on youtube and buy if you must. I would rather watch it than play it because it's one of these games.
  9. Nov 2, 2018
    8
    PLayed and finished in 13 hours. I'm satisfied: the story is intriguing, able to respect the original writing. I loved the "investigate+explore+stealth" gameplay. The only weak part is the action moment. However, a very good Lovecraftian game. Recommended for "Lovecraft & Chaosium fans".
  10. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    In this game, the graphics are not the strongest side, but a very good quest component, atmospheric history based on gloomy creativity, dialogues, investigations. Silent chapters when you need to hide yourself looks good. Very good chance to get acquainted with the works of Lovecraft
  11. Oct 30, 2018
    5
    5/10
    This game costs 45$.
    45$/7h = 6,5$/h And what do you do for most of the time? You walk. From point A to point B. B to C, and so on. Some greedy bastards decided to triple the price of a simple walking simulator with Lovecraft franchise in the background. Don't you even listen to this 10/10 fake reviews, it's not a masterpiece. It would be 7/10 game with a decent price. You know
    5/10
    This game costs 45$.
    45$/7h = 6,5$/h
    And what do you do for most of the time? You walk. From point A to point B. B to C, and so on. Some greedy bastards decided to triple the price of a simple walking simulator with Lovecraft franchise in the background. Don't you even listen to this 10/10 fake reviews, it's not a masterpiece. It would be 7/10 game with a decent price. You know what you can buy with 45$? Let's see... A quadrocopter with 1080P 5.0MP Camera Selfie drone. Or this game. It's just a bad deal and the developer should react.
    Please, while playing this game prepare a timer and every one hour place 6,50$ on the table. When you are done send me a message how long you endured. It's just painful to watch a mediocre game with good marketing to be praised by anybody. Stop it. Don't buy it. Find something better.
  12. Nov 4, 2018
    10
    It doesn't hit every point perfectly but its a great lovecraft game and thats what is important to me.
  13. Nov 5, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. !!!VERY MUCH SPOILER!!!
    I played two "Call of Cthulhu" games, one from 2005 and this one. Both are "Lovecraftian" in their own way of sense, both are similar to Lovecraft great works.
    Call of Cthulhu 2018 is really good game and faithful to mix of "Call of Cthulhu" and "The Shadow over Innsmouth" with many new own story elements. Game is also faithful to Lovecraft misogyny, as most females in game are antagonists (Hawkins...) or anti-heroines (Cat), but they have much more strong roles then in original Lovecraft arts.
    Now to the game itself.
    Game graphic is probably weakest point of game. Good for game from 2008 or 2010, but not from 2018. On other hand, game is more "indie-like" and also worse graphic can be helpful to build lovecraftian atmosphere. In games, especially at end, are various beautiful sceneries and scenes.
    About RPG elements. RPG system itself is very good, however in game, it got only very few place to be active and useful. Thats second very weak point of game.
    About endings. Some commenters, especially on Steam Community, comparing CoC with Telltale games. I think its very unfair. As I played Telltale games, I can say that four endings on end of CoC are very more diverse and various then "endings" in Telltale games. But while they are various, they are still lovecraftian, full of suffering and loses. For most time, I was fascinated by game.
    Atmosphere, side-infos and side-story of whole game are very good and interesting. Last negative is price/game quality. Price between 45-65 euros is really hard overshoot!!! 25-35 euros will be adequate for game of this quality and gameplay time.
    Still, I recommend the game, especially if you are Lovecraftian fan and follower of Great Old Ones...
  14. Nov 1, 2018
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Игра очень атмосферная, мне как фанату творчества Лавкрафта очень понравилась,однако по какой-то причине концовка меня не задела...
    Прошел на концовку с альтернативным ритуалом... Думал что хотя бы покажут последствия концовки, а нет, вот смотрите как вашего персонажа упекли в психушку.
    Другие концовки тоже так себе.
    Скрытая концовка не особо смягчила ситуацию, просто показали что ничего не случилось, Сара умерла и все. А где же показ того во что превратился Даркуотер? Отрывок из газеты, где пишется что произошло бедствие и там никто не живет?
    Что с культистами?
    Единственная нормальная концовка - Ктулху. По эпичности, по остальному тоже такое себе...
    Не понимаю зачем вообще нужен был "Бродяга". Просто чтобы принести ножик... И все!
    Насчет графики люди жалуются,но мне она понравилась. Более-менее.
    И денег своих не стоит
  15. Nov 12, 2018
    6
    Don't trust to the system requirements, as the game runs really well, even on 1 GB GPUs. But it Is not worth the price now (after release/launch), since there is only story-driven campaign and nothing else, within the game's content.
  16. Nov 7, 2018
    7
    Очень долго ждал эту игру и наконец удалось ее опробовать.
    Первое что хочется сказать – спасибо что не забыли величайшего писателя Howard Phillips "H. P." Lovecraf, который внёс огромный вклад в данный жанр. Спасибо что создали качественный проект под названием –аж волосы дыбом встают– Зов Ктулху!
    Учитывая уровень графики, оптимизация слегка хромает (как на самых низких настройках, так и
    Очень долго ждал эту игру и наконец удалось ее опробовать.
    Первое что хочется сказать – спасибо что не забыли величайшего писателя Howard Phillips "H. P." Lovecraf, который внёс огромный вклад в данный жанр. Спасибо что создали качественный проект под названием –аж волосы дыбом встают– Зов Ктулху!
    Учитывая уровень графики, оптимизация слегка хромает (как на самых низких настройках, так и на самых высоких, притормаживает в определённых местах). Но я думаю не беда, разработчики учтут ошибки (услышат голоса фанатов) и "пофиксят".
    Есть напряженные моменты в игре. Да-да! Очень даже неожиданные. Атмосфера зашкаливает! Такое ощущение будто это Ты, ходишь там, туда-сюда, а не играешь за персонажа. Вот настолько круто сделали.
    Если вы любитель данного жанра (особенно Ловкрафта) то вы не должны пропустить эту игру, ибо претендует на хорошую игру с интересным сюжетом и безумной атмосферой!
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 8, 2018
    76
    Call of Cthulhu has a lot of promising features, but it should have stayed just a detective game. The horror elements are not implemented well and they seem misplaced.
  2. Nov 6, 2018
    59
    A mediocre detective game with predictable stealth and a surreal story that runs out of steam near the end.
  3. Nov 6, 2018
    50
    It’s not so much that Call of Cthulhu is irredeemable as much as it feels flawed. Less than the sum of its parts, I’d say. Any one aspect of Call of Cthulhu sounds intriguing in isolation, but put them all together and it’s a mess of disparate elements, all fighting for control.